Sembawang Green BTO sep 06

faz_inc

Hi sharon lin. I'm staying at blk 489. How bout u? Btw my level there already has another neighbour staying in but we have not talk yet cos there are stayin 1 corner beside the lift.

hipposheep

hi princesspig84,
wanna meet us, 2.30pm, this sat, at 488 letter box.? if want,pls. email me so that we can talk more inside this email.

cherinet

Yoz! Raynard.. Haha.. So have you started your Reno? So far any showflat around that area? Wanted to go see see to get ideas.

rainnerainne

Finn,

I guess i ask the right person as my house is the same as yours, beside the lift.
Can i check with you on your house pipings? Did you do any layout of it?

devilboy

Hi Raine

I am not sure who is your installer, but this have work well for me so far. It's a little ugly actually but once your painting is up... it does looks 'OK'. Maybe it's the system capabilities, turning on 3 aircon at the same time seems to cool pretty well and fast.
1147166.jpg

princesspig84

where is my neighbour?my id juz fabricate my carpentry n 2molo goin dwn put tings.hippo,2.30pm ok 4 me!i mge winniegal.nw using hp,dun noe hw 2 copy email.lol

raynard

Hey cheri_evo, i've just started my reno, the house is super dusty and messy..There are some showflats, they got write outside the lifts..

Rainne, so which level are you at?

azuma

Raynard,

I am staying below u guys
Just decided on my reno today, hope to start soon before the seventh month.

raynard

Hi Azuma, Ya staying at lvl 3 or 4? cause I saw some units with windos opened from outside and should be renovating today too..

cherinet

I just bring one renovator to see my house today. Seems like the design will be a difficult one especially the kitchen due to limited area space. there are also no space for me to do the cabinet at the bomb shelter also.

devilboy

Hi Cheri

Yes... modern 4 room flats are really small and compact in design. If your contractor/ID is experience and good, he will ask you to skip alot of capentry works and works on colours and space design. So the best part for renovation for small house. Focus on the minimum and basic requirements and add on as you go by. From 3D drawings it might look fabulous but the real thing is one hell of a difference.

cherinet

Hi Finn, yes you are correct. My contractor really requested us to skip alot of things. There are really quite alot need not to do. We have focused more on our MBR and Living Room only. The rest will be simple.

devilboy

Yeap Cheri

So I was pretty surprised by the ambushed contractors offering us walk-in wardrobe, given the size of our rooms... putting in a wardrobe is already an challenged... talked about walk-in wardrobe.... hahahaha only then I realised, they are quite smart in making business... when you build walk-in Wardrobe... there is litte space for you to place your bed and they will offer you platform bed... thats another $1000... wahahaha...

prolin_g

Did anyone notice that the aluminium panel beside the windows have 2 tones at night? Matt and Glossy patches bronze in colour. I cannot see it in the day but at night is very obvious. Not sure if its HDB defect or ID fault.

My ID say he go to a few house and see and its all like that. He say confidently that he will bring me around tomorrow to see other showflats windows and if if I'm the only one, he will rectify, else he will report defect to HDB together with me.

Anyone have the same issue? I'm from 487.

cherinet

Hi Finn, you are living at which floor? u have the same floor plan as mine. this is problem that i am facing now cos the 2 bedroom is too far from my MBR which i dunno whether i should put aircon at the 2 other rooms. cos i'm afraid it will cost alot for the piping. as it is not a short distance.
Regarding the ambushed contractors who kept walking here and there at our blk, i dun reali bother them much. My contractor does not recommend me for the walk-in wardrobe bcos there is reali no space and dun even talk abt the platform bed. He told me that the platform bed is outdated already. He said he will try to help me to minimize the cost of the reno and also if those not necessary, he suggested we can dun do it. Example the bomb shelter, when the door is opened, i do not think we can build a fake cabinet nor shoe cabinet already. He suggested to put wallpaper to beautify it which costed around $1k. I have decided to check with HDB to purchase the small corridor outside and build a gate there. So it can put my shoe rack and bicycles there. My fren bought it, costed less than $1k.

cherinet

Is there anyone shortlisted any ID/Contractors for my reference. Cos currently the contractor is introduced by my freight forwarder (check out http://www.choonbock.com.sg). He is my freight forwarder's army fren. This contractor only do referral business as this is his family business. His young brother also an ID/Contractor. Although he might not charge me that high but i still wanted to make comparision.

devilboy

Hi Cherie

Here is what I have experienced... be it Best Tech/All Best/Gain City or whatsoever, it is stated that there is no extra charges of piping in HDB. So when you show your floor plan and they offer you the price... that is the final price. So when Best Tech come over to install the piping, there is no extra charge. And as long as your contractor is willing to be there to supervise the installer, they will not anyhow do, the best is during installation, you go over and keep asking them question and supervising them, this will make them very on the ball. Piping is extremely ugly when your house is not painted and you do not have furniture to cover up, but when you painted your house with Final Coat, viola... it looks awesome. But of course there are dead spaces around. Whereby you can work around it like buying a smaller sofa set. For example, with the trunking, I cannot put sofa that is longer than 2.5 meters as it will look out of proportion. ***The good thing about our units is that the Bay Window acts perfectly as another siting alternative. Once your furniture is up and good, it will help to cover the dead spots and your place will look awesome... And YES!!! tested and proven, by me at least... depite the long cable and laying... the aircon still cool the room pretty fast... *Maybe our room is small to start of with...hehehehe

cherinet

Hi Finn, wow.. so you have approached Best Tech in the end? So far all of these 3 you have went to check for quotes and Best Tech has given you the lowest price? May i know the rates plz.. Because my contractor said he will ask his air-con expert to discuss with me. so i need to have a rough guide on the price. Which Best Tech/All Best/Gain City you have went? IMM?

devilboy

Hi Cheri

Do take note... Best Tech only pros Mitsubitshi Heavy Industries and they offer the best price for MHI, so I took Best Tech offers.... if you are looking for other brands... you might want to look at other place. As for the KFLEX cabling... yes.. they provide K-FLEX Class 0.

I like the functionalities of Mitsubitshi Heavy Industries system 3, so I took them. Do check on their website to learn more.

Do note that MHI and Mitsubitshi Electric StarMex is 2 different brand. StarMex is expensive for all the ads fees to Mr Jack Neo... if you are getting StarMex, think of Toshiba, Panasonic and Sanyo instead. Alot of happy users with these brands...

devilboy

Aircon places I have being to:
IMM: All Best, Best Tech and Gain City
Toa Payoh: Courts and Best Tech

Mitsubitshi Heavy Industries (MHI) System 3.
SCM60ZG-S / 3 x SKM28ZG-S
Best Tech IMM/TOA PAYOH => $2600
Gain City => $2700
All Best => $2680
Courts => Do Not offer MHI

Experience with Best Tech Toa Payoh
Salesman: Anson
Honest with his recommendation. Of course he promote MHI. He look out for your budget, recommend what system to use and what is Invertor and Non-Inverter purpose. R410 or R22 Refrigerant. Look at your floorplan to see if your selected system is feasible, but his knowlegde on this not very power, ask us to do it inside the L-Box, his technician can and say... cannot... must do it on the ground. Took Mitsubitshi Heavy Industries for it's overall features, functionalities and price. Good after sales service, he help to push the installation date for me 1 week ahead of schedule. Give me the right contacts to settle some piping comestic issues. So I really have a pleasant working time with him. If you on budget, he recommends Sanyo Invertor for $2200 I think, but he did mention the model was a little old.

All Best: They are busy a lot of client when I visit, just a few stuff brochure to me, advise on a few brands.

Gain City: Their salesman quite interesting... push Mitsubitshi Electric StarMex. Best in Singapore, very easy to clean. Dun buy MHI, it's a waste of money. Comment on Best Tech services... but frankly, when I shop, I need product information more than your gossiping of your competitors. Anyway, its does turns me off a little.

Courts: Their salesman are pretty clueless on alot of things. I ask them about invertor and non-invertor... straight away he said.. dun waste time, get invertor... save electricity. But the main purpose for Invertor is to regulate the power when you turn on all the 3 rooms at the same time and for a pro-long period as it have seperate engine. In layman terms for Invertor, If Room A is not cool, the the engine A will spin more, but non-invertor runs on single engine, thus it will just spins when 1 room is not cool. If you only turns on a room at any one time or you just use for a few hours before sleep, then your invertor is pretty much useless, like for small family. The energy savings is based on the same specs and turn on at the same time.

Of course sometimes it down to luck for which system you get and the installation. A lot of negative feedback was on Best Tech in the renotalk and other SG forum in 2007/08 and early 09. Piping sweating and poor workmanship. I do find mine pretty OK after testing, no sweating found but not sure for future, I guess they might have improved on their service, even their technician is pretty friendly as well, he noticed my wife is pregnant then and tell her. Dun come in, I promise I will do it perfectly for you, well.. it's not perfect but it's pretty good.

cherinet

Hi Finn, thanks alot for your recommendation. At least i have a rough guide now. Regarding the Gain City at IMM, i'm quite disappointed with their sales staff there also. Reason is because, my current hse's aircon are bought from them. Our aircon controller is spoilt and my mum took the controller to check with them whether they still have this model for sale. As it is an old model, this controller is has to be purchased from the factory itself and he given my mum the factory's address. However, the sale person told my mum dun buy the original one lah, cos it will cost over $100 to get it and asking my mum to get it at the DIY store. It is cheaper and cost only $30+. We bought it at the DIY store but can't work & we are unable to refund but to change for something else. We have no choice, my mum made a trip down to the factory to buy it. Too our surprised! It costed us less than $30! I wondered why the Gain City told us the original one cost over $100? This tells me that they are not professional at all!

devilboy

Hi Jessie

Think twice... aircon in the hall is quite challenging. The hall is roughly at 350~400 sqf. It will need a 12K BTU unit to cool your hall. And if your rooms are separated and the trunking needs to be on the ground, it will stick out of nowhere. Hiding in the False Ceiling and L-Box is quite risky... should your piping suay suay *leak over there (High possibility as piping usually leaks at bends due to slow flow of vapour), removing them down to repair is one thing, re-painting is another and not to mentioned, it might spoil some of your electrical down light. From what I have understand, there is a certain degree of complication should your piping needs fixing in the L-Box... you must write down black and white... nowadays contractors smart liao... as long as you dun do according to their recommendation, they will write... owner takes risk. Prefebly, it might be better if you opt for a portable unit in the hall...

devilboy

Hi Kirvin

Good question!!!! I haven't install door bell yet!!! ANy recommendation where to buy and how to install???? This is one area I missed out.

dustystar

Thanks for ur advice Finn. Thinking abt it so decided to sought advices from u experienced guys.

I am thinking whether to purchase a sep aircon unit in the living room so that the piping is nt connected with the room one. This would mean that I would haf another compressor and the piping in the Living room one will run in the common toilet. Dunno wan to do this or not.

Vex...

jascmy

My lighting shop gave us the door bell as free gift. Then our contractor helped us installed for free. Hehee....

jascmy

Hi Azuma,

I bought from Light Arcade, address: 321 Balestier Rd Singapore 329748. Price and service very good. Can look for salesgirl Jane.

devilboy

Hi Jessie

Please look at EuropeAce EPAC12E
12,000Btu/hr... portable system... no need to install piping and trunking... might suit your hall... and the best part... it's moveable...

charmer

Hi Jessie,

I got a system 4, 3 FCUs for 3 bedrooms and 1 FCU for the living room. Wanted a separate system for the living room but the air-con ledge not big enough for 2 CUs. Not sure what is your layout. For me, I managed to install the living room's FCU on the wall between the wall between he living room and the bathroom. So the pipings are actually more or less covered by the FCU itself and thus not obvious.

raynard

It's quite common practice that lights shops will throw in dell bell FOC, from wat I read in forums. The lights shop which I went to also throw in the dell bell FOC when we asked if he will give us door bell right.. :p

devilboy

Hi Raynard

I think it's pretty resonable they dun give it to me... Coz my wife already squeeze them dry with all the prices...hahahah

bigfish

looking at the chats now, looks like most are into the reno or moving in liao... soon, the blocks wld be filled with pple liao...

btw, anyone doing wood flooring for the bedrooms?? (beside finn who used engineered wood for the whole place)
need some advice like if plywood underlay is necessary and etc..

cherinet

Hi bigfish, i have went to see an ID yesterday and has asked about doing wood flooring for bedroom. However, he has advised me that maintanence will not be easy cos i will be the one doing the mopping of the floor and my mop will not very that dry. so in the end did not do..

cherinet

Anyone knows is there any showflat in Blk 487 to 490 at this moment? i wanted to get some ideas for my flat leh.. or is there anyone do not mind that i can view their hse? haha..

devilboy

Hi Andrew...

42K for reno without future is extremely hot..and
Even for 5-Room and EC is consider high. But still I believe it's possible... wish I have that kind of money

bigfish

42K?! probably the materials used for more ex (like marble flooring, all granite top, glass doors and etc...) but it is definitely high price range for a 92sqm flat..