Sembawang Green BTO sep 06

young_jes

Anyone has any gd reference site for kitchen cabinet designs?

Think the cons about engaging contractor is that we have to do colour coordination ourselves, and that's something i'm not very gd at!

young_jes

Finn,

Thanks! Will drop by to steal some ideals, managed to get some inspiration from some websites as well. Think its easier for me to show the contractor the picture than trying to decribe to them in words. A picture says a thousand words!

BTW, have you started on your reno already? or are you starting after 7th mth?

devilboy

Hi Jes

My reno starts today (Electrical Wiring, Bases and Kerb)... the only glitch is that I need the HDB to flatten my concrete flooring as I opted out OCS. Now have to wait for HDB to do my floor and also aircon to run the pipes. As I am engaging another contractor to perform engineered wood flooring for my living room and bed rooms, I need to arrange the timing correctly. Luckily Patrick willing to help coordinating the work, else its' a big big headache. I think my renovation should cover in 3~4 phases. The project completion date is before 20th August (BTW, 20th August is the start of hungry ghost festival).
So for the 490 (non-ocs) who will be getting their keys this week or next... go down to the Sembawang HDB branch and fill in the form for the flattening of the flooring, 3~4 weeks waiting time... if everything goes well, mine should start flattening next week (Still Praying).

devilboy

Hi Kirvin

Engineered wood is a hybrid between laminated and hardwood (Parquet). So is their pricing. The Americans and Europeans are using this for their home as this promotes recycling and lesser trees being cut and more importantly feels like hard solid wood but at half the price or lesser. Not many family in Singapore does this, I am like doing an experiment, taking some risk here. fyi, most schools and shopping complex are using Engineered wood now for flooring rather than hard wood and laminated.

Basically Engineered wood is having a thin piece of hardwood (~5mm) on a piece of chemical treated plywood or recycled chipboard. The advantage over solid wood of course is the price and the advantage over laminate is the durability. As for the negativity aspect of the material, there is definately some. Wood being wood, Engineered wood will inherits some of the negative properties from both Hardwood and Laminate as well. I done this research for quite some time... hahahaha...

young_jes

Wah.. congrats on the start of your reno! Hope everything will be smooth for you. The engineered wood seems pretty good, let us know how is it after you've moved in?

Btw, are u staying in 488 or 489?

bigfish

yeah, i heard abt the concrete floor flattening thingy.. But Finn, can you give more info on it?
All those non-OCS, would need to do that for their reno (laying of the tiles and wood for the living and bedroom)??

Finn, like some reno guru hee hee.... always so much info/advice given... THANKS

devilboy

Hi Big Fish... I am still in the learning process. So I am not guru, actually took tips from the fellow forumer here too.
Back to topic BigFish. If you opted out of OCS, they will give you a RAW concrete flooring. It's uneven and got spikes & bumps here and there. You cannot perform flooring of any form.
Option 1:
Go to the Sembawang HBD branch, which is just opposite the MRT station, below is the NTUC mart, so you probably can't miss that building. Signed up the form, and they will contact you when they will come and smooth out and flatten your floor. The person will tell you to wait for 3~4 weeks. But I got the lastest news is that they will do it this Saturday. So it's only 2 1/2 weeks, but HDB as HDB, always cover arse even it is not necessary.
Option 2: Get contractors to do it. Contractors can do it immediately but at a cost of $1000.00. Basically from my contractor, he says not much difference, unless you are desperate to move in ASAP, you scarifice money for time.

But if you calculate your reno timing well... you contractors can start kitchen, toilet, aircon piping and etc. Getting HDB to do your smoothing and flattening doesn't affects much.
When you get your keys, your contractor and you will walk the ground and prepare the things you want and identify the things you need. Drawings and negotiation will take some time. This will happen even for ID. Dun forget, usually aircon piping will run in the ceiling and get conceal by L box if you have any and usually, it is better to run the pipes first before the flooring.

puikiah

For yr reading esp those being harrassed by the contractors. The contractor out there might have infringed the terms of the registration scheme.

http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10214p.nsf/WPDis/Registered%20Renovation%20ContractorsTerms%20of%20HDB%20Registered%20Renovation%20Contractors'%20Scheme?OpenDocument

10. Touting

The Contractor shall not tout or harass the lessee or occupier of any HDB flat in order to solicit for business in any way, including but not limited to: -
the display of building materials, signboards, posters or other literature at corridors, void decks and other common areas of HDB blocks of flats, surrounding car parks and motor vehicles parked thereat; or
the advertising and promotion of services and/or products by the use of loud hailers or other audio visual equipment.

yukifire

Hi Bigfish & Finn

I believe you are refering to cement screeding before we can start to lay laminates etc...remember to get your contractor to check after HDB has done it..to ensure that the job is properly done..
my friend have a bad experience recently whereby the contractor engaged by HDB did a lousy job and hence need to redo the cement screeding causing delay in the reno.

devilboy

Hi Yukifire

Yes... so screeding is the word, thanks... learned a new word. And yes you are spot on, many have commented that screeding by HDB are done in a rush with no proper quality. Thus either you and your contractor must check.

winnie_gal

my heater is install by the electrian de.. so no idea how he fix... wahahha...

i only know that i can't use to use hot water or cold water..hehehe...

my renovation is bout to complete...

young_jes

princesspig,
haha.. nvm lah.. u not in a rush to move in right? Den slowly reno lor.. I think i will only start after 7th month..

princesspig84

yap, not in the hurry to move, staying in my mother house all the while for 20 odd yrs..

Sharon- Haven leh..

Nth done, only bought small thingy.. one hotflask from OG,my sis kept one extra light for spare room,extra tap. Haha.

My mama kept asking me to go and see lightings. But nth is cfm yet from me.. Duhz..

joyfull

Wow, Finn thanks for the Full HD and HD Ready explanation.. Talked to Patrick this evening. Most likely to have similar quote like yours. Opted out OCS, and had laminated flooring in the rooms. Patrick agreed to do the coordination work for the cement screed, lamination guys. First time I heard engineering flooring..
I'm getting laminates from Supreme Flooring. Was told that it was coated with aluminium oxide. Scratch proof and will not peel off (child-safe)..

Hi Yukifire and Bigfish, hmmm facing school? Me too.

Bigfish, i did some drawings to and was thinking to i full height shelf so that the stove and basin area looks more spacious. But that will reduce table top area. Spoke to a contractor and realize not practical.

devilboy

Hi Guys

I made a trip to geylang today and to my disappointment, the lighting prices are not exactly cheap. Went to a few shops and notice that the lights they offer are slightly more expensive than the ones I see in Jalan Besar. So, I would recommend you not going there. One example, a dual tube downlight cost roughly 28~40 in Geylang and while I was at Jalan Besar, it's 20~35. Even the crystal lights are $20~$30 more. So for those who haven't got their hobs, hood, basin and lights, Jalan Besar is one place you should not miss. Hobs, hood and Basin I recommend Chuan Heng Hardware Trading at 144 Jalan Besar. For Lightings, there is a shop beside Chuan Heng (The is a bus stop infront of the shop) selling lights. Their prices are really good.

semajrok

I'm a new addition to the posts here.Will be staying in Blk 489, #12-115.

Wondering anyone staying in an unit of similar design to mine? Was wondering how to run the air-con piping across the living room to link up between the masterbedroom and the 2 separated bedrooms....HDB's design at times can be unfriendly...sigh...

mouse_81

Pls advise me do we need to install window grilles in both toliet and the small window leading to the aircon ledge ?

devilboy

Hi Ant

It depends if you got kids or children or not. If you do installing the grills will prevent them from climbing. But it's never foolproof. I have not seen anyone installing grills in the toilet window pocket.

bigfish

I jus came back from collecting my keys.. Heehee. so many forms to sign..

And the officer there helped us to apply for the cement screeding thingy liao.. so we got the form to jus pass to the branch office, then can liao lei.. but he mentioned that this cement screeding is done only for rooms that needs to do laminates, living room if laying tiles then no need... is that rite? or we should do the whole house???

Joyfull, you're from 490 too??

etzcsf

Is it a must to do cement screeding if you want to do laminate flooring for the room? Please advice. Can we apply online instead of going down to hdb?

bigfish

Finn, I collected the keys from HDB and came back to office to work.. only going up tomolo to see.. anyway, i went to 488 to peek a bit a few weeks back and was already being 'ambushed'.. but cos i keep telling them that i've already got a contractor, they wld soon jus leave you alone..

but seriously i am still sourcing for my ID.. any recommendations or suggestions??

Edward, according to the guy at HDB, must apply it at the branch offices one.. and i did heard b/4 (from Finn and a ID) that cement screeding is required so that laying of laminates can be done nicely.. not good to have uneven surface..

devilboy

But... however my wood flooring contractor says it not 100% necessary have your floor screed for laminate or engineered wood. Because they can lay a plywood underneath to flatten the ground. However... if you do it this way, your flooring can rot faster. Because there are pockets of air gap between the plywood and the concrete. Especially if it's in the bedroom where you will turn on aircon at night and in the morning when you go to work, condensation will form at the pockets of air gap, all plywood used for laminates and Engineered wood are water resistant and not WATER PROOF. Thus, when your water vapour starts building inside the plywood, it will make the material weak which will eventually leads to cracks and breaks. Of course this usually happens over a period of 1~2 years.

yu83

hi bigfish im from 490 also,facing school..i was there at hdb ard same time keke maybe we walk past each other...

joyfull

Hi greeners,

I haven't been updating this table for quite a while.. And i'm now a bit lazy to scroll back past posts. So if you are not inside this table, please post it .. I'll update asap..

<table border=1><tr><td>487</TD><TD>488</TD><TD>489</TD><TD>490 </TD></TR><TR><TD>05. Jessie (dustystar) </TD><TD>05. a_pinglim </TD><TD>02. andrew_xing </TD><TD>10. hckt </TD></TR><TR><TD>06. khet13 / Hui (huhu) </TD><TD>05. Sharon Lin (winnie_gal) </TD><TD>06. riax </TD><TD>10. suhailah </TD></TR><TR><TD>07. raynard </TD><TD>06. mech </TD><TD>07. Kirvin (ladykirvin) </TD><TD>xx. bigfish </TD></TR><TR><TD>09. piggylover </TD><TD>07. f3rris83 </TD><TD>11. Joey Lim (doraemon_lim) </TD><TD>xx. navajo78 </TD></TR><TR><TD>10. xiaofeizhu83 </TD><TD>09. stevenjunior / Diadia (#123) </TD><TD>11. princesspig84 </TD><TD>xx. yu83 </TD></TR><TR><TD>13. cuddly_miumiu </TD><TD>13. kumpong </TD><TD>12. royzzz </TD><TD>xx. yukifire </TD></TR><TR><TD>15. Baobei (cherylkjh) </TD><TD>17. Patsy (patgav) </TD><TD>12. Kor James (semajrok) (#115)</TD><TD>xx. Dorean (piggymousey) </TD></TR><TR><TD>15. desmer </TD><TD>xx. kwoni </TD><TD>13. Heman </TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>16. edwin_teoh </TD><TD>xx. chanelgay </TD><TD>15. joyfull </TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>17. ariesci </TD><TD>xx. Puikiah (puikiah) </TD><TD>17. Teresa Chang (teresa45) </TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>xx. nichiyobi </TD><TD>xx. BoraBai (baij0001) </TD><TD>xx. Finn (devilboy) </TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>xx. Maonut </TD><TD>xx. xiaotingdang </TD><TD>xx. Phang En Sen (phang) </TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>xx. simplet0tz </TD><TD>- </TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>xx. Ang (rangerabc) </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

And if you are new, we also have a group at http://sembawanggreen.multiply.com