Sembawang Green BTO sep 06

joyfull

Wow, a big hand to Finn for his hardwork in sending the quotations and explaining so much to us..

Thanks Finn, got your quotation. Really detailed price breakdown. If I meet Patrick, should ask him to give you discount..

VernonMummy, My initial estimation for my reno is about 10K including aircon (thinking of system 4 - which is about $3.5-3.9K.

Honestly speaking, I've asked about 3 quotations including Ho Bee. Roughly $10K-$11K without aircon, hob, hood, sink. All these are minimum liaoz..

So I'm thinking of reducing to system 3 (roughly $2.5K), still need to get fridge ($800) and washing machine ($600). (I'm not even considering having TV yet. PC Show is now on... sigh.. no budget liao.) Plus movers about $500, water heaters $500.... Maybe need to incur about another 5K after reno.

I'm keeping reno low because there are some other costs that are inevitable... Ultimately may hit $16K..

Maybe we can get together for get-to-know session after we move in. Then we can have many DIY things to share with..

joyfull

As for lightings, I found these 2.

Silic Lighting Centre
509 Balestier Road, Singapore 329848
(From Forum. A lady named Jenny is very helpful.)

Holly Lighting & Electrical
607 Geylang Rd, 389546, Singapore
p: 67483633 f: 67494937
(From friend, cheapest he ever found..)

devilboy

Hi Joyfull

Thanks. I go check out the lightings this weekend with my wife, as we will be buying hobs, hood and basin and tap around that area.

Last week I went to 168 Trading @249 Jalan Besar , the pricings also not bad. The services very good and they have an eye for your needs, I see alot of contractors going there to purchase the lights. You guys can check it out too.

I am not so sure for others, but for 489 (For those facing gardens), I think we are pretty safe without aircon at the living room, because our general directions of the hall are facing north. But sometimes... it's the timing when you do renovation affects your decision, it the June~August period, one of the few hottest months in Singapore. I personally wanted a Ultra strong aircon (Ceiling Mount System) from Daikin but of course I cannot afford.... hahahah

devilboy

Hi Joyfull

Just to give you a morale boost... PC show price is not exactly attractive. So no worries, try the Katong Mall MegaStore, it's comparable to Audio House and is slightly cheaper.

bigfish

i know everyone is already talking abt the reno and stuff for the flat...

But... ...

YEAH!!! I'm finally getting my keys next friday!!!
i just saw the updated status on HDB.
-490er...

So now i must buck up in finding my ID liao... think the earliest i can reno is in Aug lor...

bigfish

HAHA.. i already met some of them when i went to see those in Blk 488.. i jus simply tell them i've already signed a ID/contractor liao, then they wld jus walk away w/o saying anything... a bit rude but then at least they dont pester me...

devilboy

Hi Vernon'sMummy I think it should fit you well... but do meet up with Patrick to finalise those cost... I think with a aircon in, it should sit nicely with your budget.

young_jes

For those with non-park facing unit, can share and let me know where are you placing your shoe cabinet? Cos I'm can't figure out where to put it in my mini flat unless i build a feature wall cum shoe cabinet. But.. feature wall is ex...

devilboy

Hi Bigfish... Kudos to you, these ambushed contractors deserve it. Hahahaha... Because some of them are quite annoying sometimes...

prolin_g

I am from 487 and no news about the keys yet. Heard from 1 ambush contractor that HDB 1st assessment on 487 is on last tuesday. Think 487 will be the last to collect keys but hopefully can get it by this month end.

prolin_g

Me too. Hope to move in before lunar 7th month. If not will be after that already as I don't really wish to move in during 7th month.

devilboy

Hi 487ers... I think it should be soon... the last time 488 collected the keys.. 489 collect 2 weeks later... given the fact 490 will collect the keys next friday, I think by 1st week of July, the keys will be ready.

nichiyobi

Anyone here taking bank loan already get keys?

I think I will get last cuz I haven't even approach any bank. I try appeal for HDB loan and very stupid that they say bank must reject you then they will consider your HDB appeal else they say no need submit all the appeal documents.....well.. its an APPEAL!!! Why can't they figure that out.

devilboy

Well Nichiyobi

The thing about our gov is that... it must be stated by the bank "Sorry, cannot loan you"! But even with this... HDB will again check your history to see if you are capable to repay... but the simplest way and it will work (For this I only heard from some), go gatecrash into MP meets the heartlanders session...hahahaha...

ottermum

we called them today asking approximately when 487 getting our keys...

she said ,"erm i check for you..."

then ,"dunno leh dunno leh...you wait lor... wait lor"

!@#$%^&*!!!!

nichiyobi

They are not very helpful at all. HDB now is getting too commercial and haiz...maybe they should change to hdb.com.sg.....no more .gov... where are the good days where our govt take care of us... making sure everyone have a home of their own?

I am taking bank loan and I am still very unsure in event bank reclaim my flat due unforeseen circumstances especially now econ crisis..... who will the bank sell the flat to? How much they will sell it? Can't believe it.... imagine... bank sell the flat to open market at near 280k and earn all the profit while we are homeless.

prolin_g

Hi Nichiyobi,

If the Bank repossess your property and sold at $280k, your bank outstanding loan is $100k, then they will return you back the difference of $180k. However if the collateral is not enough to cover the outstanding, then you have to top up the shortfall.

Banks will usually have a panel of agents to help them source for buyers. Advertisement might also be run for the sale. For most cases, banks will usually sell at a lower price then owners selling themselves in the open market (Owners will try to secure a better price to sell whereas they are only interested to sell your property to cover their outstanding)

For flats, usually if you default payment for a total of 6 months, then they will start to take action against you.

Hope that the bank will reject you so that HDB will grant your loan.

princesspig84

its hard to make decisions! I wanna a contractor but my hubby dun seems convinced about it..

ID will be better marz? What I noe is more ex.. T_T

I haven decide anything yet..just bought a simmons mattress that was put in their warehouse first only..

nichiyobi

Hi prolin, I now hope the bank will really do a valuation of the new flat like my friend said and the interest will be lower. 1% for a 100k is really a lot when it spread over years.

Hi princesspig,

How much you brought the simmons mattress and where? Simmons mattress is really one of the best you can ever have.

young_jes

princesspig84,

Think unless you find a really gd ID, otherwise contractors and the so called "IDs" are about the same. Its quite tough to find a real ID nowadays. Most of them are just salesman cum coordinators. Maybe you can speak with a few IDs and contractors and just go for the one that you are most comfortable with.

After i spoke to a few IDs and contractors, i can't see any significant difference between the two. Except for the fact that contractors are more hands on, can tell you off hand what can be done, and what not. "ID"s are more concerned about the aesthetic feel.

devilboy

Hi Princesspig84

Personally, if I got a fat pocket, I will get ID to design for me, provided you get yourself a good one. Contractors mostly are those who does what you want but they usually do not care about the colour co-ordination, space saving and styling. Some contractors basically just recommend based on experience. If you are really not into design or completely have no idea what to do with your flat, ID can save you alot of problems.

devilboy

Hi Edwin
I am going for Toshiba. I think the REGZA series are pretty value for money (Can get a RX series 46inch Full HD for $1799). Personally I think Panasonic and Sharp are very strong contenders as both have their unique strength. Sharp famous for it's LCD clarity and colors... But for Panasonic, their strength is more on Plasma rather than LCD. I am not a fan of Korean Electronics... Here is a website for our reference. http://www.youreviewelectronics.com/

bigfish

jessie, reno is probably done in aug cos firstly, i've yet to confirm on my ID and i am still shopping around for a ID that i am okie with. Secondly, if i do reno during the lunar 7th month, then those contractors got lesser projects on-hand so dont rush for time...

From what i know ID would help to design and also draw up a more detailed pic for the contractors to be able to visualise the works needed to be done. ID also can help you source for items, like those lamps, taps etc you like but cant find...

ID is definitely more ex, but save time and effort lor... And i personally think that bcos ID comes up with 3D drawings of all the things you want, i have a better idea on what looks good or not.. like previously i really like the idea of having a full height cabinet beside my fridge where i can build in my oven and my microwave.. but after the drawing came up, the kitchen looks super cramped, so i changed the design to make it spacious.. if i jus had gone ahead with to reno according to what i initally feel, then might end up with a cramped looking kitchen.

contractors wise, you must have a clear idea of what you want to do and also go down more often to the site to see the works done.. (if got ID, also need to go site to see see, but not as frequent)...

yukifire, so excited hor?! I'm finally a proud owner of a flat... hee hee...
Btw, my flat faces outside, you??
any other 490ers?

winnie_gal

Hi Finn, ur contractor charge u 12k quite reasonable lolz..my also bout cost this price...

Jes; i'm doing shoe cabinet cum feature wall at the bomb shelter area...

princesspig84

Nichiyobi- I bought it at OG sale last few months.
Good deal I tink.. UP is about 2K+ near to 3K, I bought it at 1.7k

I think now should have also. Go take a look all if you are interested..

We sort of decided to engage an ID, but $ is the main factor.
Maybe ... will not reno so soon barz...and I also dun noe when...

devilboy

Hi folks
Basically, in the market, there is only 2 types of HD but up to 8 variations of display modes. The 1280X720 and the 1980X1080. While there are i and p which means interpolated and progressive. and frames per seconds (Some call them as Hertz as in frequency of refresh per second, Hz) 24, 25, 30, 60. I used to be in the wedding video business... so kinda ok with such numbers. Most Digital TV broadcast (MioTV/CableVision) will relay signals on 1280x720 60i (faster in data transmission). If you are not using your TV to play PS3, BLueRay... basically HD ready is all you need. Market HD ready resolution is 1366 x 768. No worries, for the entire world to adopt Full HD broadcast will take a very long time in terms of technological architecture building.

In layman's terms
HD ready means the TV is capable of accepting HD signal and display on the screen.
Full HD means the TV is capable of acepting any HD signals till 1920 X 1080.

Depending on your needs, you do not exactly need FULL HD. If you are just watching TV series from broadcast, HD ready is good enough. But if you are the geek type who owns PS3, BlueRay player and home theatre PC system, a FULL HD will give you the extra edge.
Most recommends that if your screen is bigger than 42, you can spot the difference noticably when playing a Blueray DVD or PS3 game. If your screen is 42 and below, HD ready and Full HD is not exactly an concern for both games, movies and broadcast.

ladykirvin

You guys taking the instant heater option or what? I cant find the pipe to connect to the instant water heater, since it's concealed piping?

winnie_gal

kirvin: i also bot the instant heater.. if i rmb correctly i bot cornell brand de...
i pass to the electrician just install leh... ytd i tried to on the heater it works...
they should help u install...

young_jes

Hello Sharon,

is it easy to install the instant heater? I rmb 1 showroom contractor say our flat cannot install instant heater cos its all hidden pipes.

I would prefer instant heater to storage/gas heater.

a_pinglim

we also install for instant heater one.
no problem, still can install.
just that you can not choose hot or cool water because the water came from instand heater (ie.1 pipe only.)

nichiyobi

Hi PP,

Those of you who brought instant electric heater, how you all lay the wiring? run through the bathroom wall to switch outside the bathroom? Or the wiring can be conceal? meaning outside toilet just turn on can use liao?