Sembawang Green BTO sep 06

jascmy

Yes, I'm having that problem. The main door is very stiff and have to use our strength to hold on to it to prevent it from closing before all the ppl come in or leaving the house.

Can't imaging next time when we bought a lot of groceries from market and we still have to use strength to hold on to the door for us to go in together with all the heavy groceries.

jascmy

A-Pinglim,

Its fixed to the door? Not the normal kind of door stopper right? Cos the gap between the door and the floor is very small, I can't fit my door stopper in.

devilboy

I also feel the doors are pretty heavy... and the hydraulic arm that suppose to add resistance/reduce slamming was not exactly working really well.

heman

I did complain to the building service center about the main door stiffness. But they are saying this is normal and they will monitor. But what I think is that if anyone of you also think that it is stiff, should complain to them. So that collectively they will look into the matter seriously.

Bare in mind that we are paying for the HDB. We should get what it supposed to be.

raynard

think the door arm can be adjusted right?cause my dad also did the same for my current house just by using a screwdriver

yukifire

Hi Bigfish

Have gotten my keys today..totally agreed with you that the bathroom tiles in the common toilet really cannot make it..haiz..and the master bedroom is so small =(

Kenna ambushed by 2 contractors who brought us to 2 showflats at blk 488 level 7 and 489 level 2 respectively..but we just see see look look...

jascmy

If you are buying your bathroom or kitchen accessories from HOE KEE. Use a calculator to count the prices to ensure that they are right before you go.

I just had a very bad experience with them.

The sales person promise to give us a discount for each items.

The receipts printed with prices of individual items different from what is shown on the price tag cos price tag shown after GST but receipt is before GST. All items add up then calculate amt of GST in total below the receipt. Similar to normal invoices used for business transactions between companies.

I did not check on the price of individual items with GST is correct with price tag plus discount cos my mental calculation are not super good. Troublesome to get a calculator from them to count too cos I bought in total 6 items. There is also a queue behind us waiting to pay. I just check to ensure that price of individual items are below the price stated on price tag.

When I reach home, I got a calculator out to count since I'm having a rest after carrying so many heavy things. I was shocked that the price of individual items after I add in GST is the original price without discount given at all.

I called them up and they ask me to go back to the shop immediately (I stay quite far from the shop and I don't drive). I had no choice but to went down again. I suggested that they should have their receipts printed with GST for individual items. They can have they own backend accounting system to calculate price without and with GST for they own accounting records. They need to make things clear to customers.

The cashier told me it has been their practice and no customers had complain to them. If I'm not happy, I can complain to CASE.

What kind of service is this!!

daffier

If I'm not wrong, it is because your door is fire rated door which must have door closer so it will close automatically..

like stairacse doors in shopping centers..

it is for your safety.. if it is too loose n unable to close your door so u have to close it yourself means u are responsible for your own safety once HDB once 1 year defects liability period is up..

piggylover

hi 487 neighbour!!

get to heard key will b release on 10/Jul. hopfully is a real news for everyone ya! must montior closely for gd news! =)

devilboy

Hi JasCMY

Felt sorry for your mishap... during my days of walking in and out of stores... my experience grows... When you walk in stores (Especiallys those in Jalan Besar and Geylang) The first thing I ask, does the price include GST? If the salesman says no... then I would ask him to give me best price in GST... If you do not, they will do the calculation first and add in the GST later. My experience happens in Jalan Besar, I ask the salesman to jot down the items I need and proceed on to the calculation... after calculation and bargining we got a pleasant figure and I thought we have a good bargain... but when we are about to close the deal... the GST kicks in. I am very thick skin to tell the guy, I will consider and shall come back. When over to the next shop, I did the same and the GST kicks in as well. Lastly I decided to change my tactics and ask first... boss... no point you discount $20 for a $300 item and kick in GST later. The man replies... no lah... GST I place in one... then ok lor.. I negotiate and eventually we got the things we want at the price being jotted down by him. The things we have is almost the same from the previous 2 stores.

devilboy

Hi Guys

Got my aircon piping in already. The people from Best Tech is quite professional. They came in explained to me that they have done a few units here and how the piping should be routed. The routing is very long infact (When I see how it ran across my house... I am thinking how lucky that I did not order my furnitures... new measurements and calculation is needed hahahaha The routing done on the ground rather than hidden in the L-BOX and Ceiling. Patrick was kind and went there to help to supervise. Solid services from both Best Tech and Ho Bee.

devilboy

Hi guys

Do consider IKEA for toilet and kitchen accessories. They are cheaper than stores outside. But of course the quality might be poorer... I got my mirrors and toilets accessories today at IKEA.

nichiyobi

Hi Finn,

Sorry if i missed...Your unit is face park or outside one? When you mentioned "The routing done on the ground", so is it just like above the floor skirting? Can share some pic with us? Thanks!

devilboy

Hi Nichiyobi

1) My unit is facing the garden

2) I do not have skirting, as engineered wood like Laminates, does not require skirting. hehehe I do like the idea without it... looks neat and save cost.

3) My routing is done 2~4 inches above the flooring. The technician mentioned, it needs different heights for the water to flow...

sorry... did not take any pictures.

nichiyobi

Anyone here taking HDB bank loan already collected keys? Didn't receive any letter from HDB ask me get ready the loan leh. So when I receive letter don't think it will be for collecting keys. Most likely ask me go get bank loan.

xuan_ting

Nichiyobi, I will taking bank loan & still not yet receive any letter from HDB for settling the balances payment. Did call HDB 3 days ago and the officer say Blk 487 will only be ready on Jul09, status just like what we see if log in to MY HDB lor.

xuan_ting

Nichiyobi, yes, I already sign the loan agreement with the Bank. The only HDB document I bring to Bank is the one which I print out from 'MY HDB' website. That print out will show the unit I bought, the outstanding balances payment & the status of the flat. U will need to submit your latest CPF contribution history for a certain period too.

nichiyobi

XuanTing, may I know how many percent you loan and what is the interest rate offered by which bank? How long they took to approve the loan? Did they offer reno loan too?

mouse_81

hi all, i went to the Seahorse outlet at sembawang shopping centre this afternoon n was attended by a rude and attitude service staff. i wanted to buy a foldable mattress which has an expensive type n a cheap type. so i ask wat is e difference. then the guy staff reply me 1 is cheap n the other is ex loh. i was damm angry n pissed off with his answer n i just walked out of e shop.

xuan_ting

Nichiyobi, I loan less than $100K from Maybank. The promotion rate had ended since last month. They took less than 3 weeks to approve the loan. They do offer renovation loan too, but I dun need it. If you loan more than $100K, you can approach more banks to ask for more details.

Btw, any Blk 487 residents here, had receive any letter from HDB regarding the balances payment? As we need to settle the balances payment before proceed to get the key of the house. Thanks.

devilboy

Hi Yukifire

I am not doing any laminates for the flooring.. My entire flooring is engineered wood Bedrooms and Hall. Do refer to my previous posting on the solid wood, engineered wood and laminates.

devilboy

Hi Guys

My kitchen cabinet is completed except for the solid surface. I think it looked fantastic in terms of the work Ho Bee team have done. It was really great. As I am doing an L-Shape kitchen... There was like a 10~15 cm space gap. The contractors did not ignore it, instead, they made a pull out shelf for bottles. I am very happy... they did not consult me or anything and they just go ahead and make it. It's really awesome. Now I have no worries about where to place those bottles. So I strongly recommend Ho Bee for those who needs a contractor.

daffier

Ant, for e same type of Seahorse mattress, e diff between e ex n cheap mattress is e type of foam.

e ex type is 1 whole piece of foam, e cheap type is those loose foam..

cherylkjh

any comment abt fortuna reno and thien ho??
went to our place yesterday to look ard. being stopped by a few contractor.. went to see afew showflat as well.. wow....

i m looking forward to collection of my key
but i m still interested in HO BEE

piggylover

hi 487 neighbour!!

i got the info frm 1 contractor from showroom in other blk. the worker of 487 told them final inspection had completed on last wed, key are expected to release by 10/Jul. cant assure news is confirm, but at least got an ideal of the timing. hopfully everything went as wat told. haha..

nichiyobi

Actually this part i am confused. Are we suppose to get the bank loan ready before HDB inform us? Or they will send letter to us inform us in advance to get ready all the loan documents? The flow of the process is totally like non of HDB biz since they already know we going for bank.

yukifire

Finn >> Thanks. Will check out your previous posts.

To all >> I have also been stopped by a few contractors. Some even follow me up to my unit while some stalked me and started knocking at my door while some even attempted to open my main door themselves. Luckily I locked it after my first encounter with one who opened my main door and came into my house himself. I find that this is totally unacceptable. This is definitely touting, which is illegal. So frustrating. Totally fed up. Cannot even have some peace to inspect my unit. Haiz...

devilboy

Hi Vernon'sMummy

I saw Thian Ho's work, I think it's not too bad. Personally I will give Fortuna a miss as I think the way they qoute is ridculous.

xuan_ting

Nichiyobi, hmm, I proceed to get bank loan first as advise by the HDB Officer lor. I also thought I must get the letter from HDB for balances payment before proceed to get bank loan. But the officer say I should proceed to bank first, as bank also need time to approve the loan agreement which quite true lor.

jascmy

yukifire,

I have the same experience too. We even have sembawanger who stay in other blocks (for more then 5yrs) came knocking at our doors requesting to view our unit and commented that ours is bigger then their cos their unit is only 80+sq fit and how the shipyard affected them initially etc etc...... About 2 encounters leh in each day we visited our hse. Really feel like our unit is a showflat.

Now, as we have finish renovation, we have people knocking at our doors for installing security feature at the gate, buy locks and asking whether need curtains etc etc...

Sian! Can't even have a peace of mind to clean up my house.

Want to put a ''Do not Disturb'' sign ourside my door liao.

devilboy

Hi people

It's definately feels sucky being nice. Those silly ambushed contractors seems to have poor memory... I told one uncle like at least 5 times and everytime I went to my flat... they will still ask me the same question. But now that 490 have taken their keys... there is alot of more peace now... for 490ers... just keep praying 487ers take their keys fast.... hahahaha

raynard

Thanks Piggylover for the info! I'm so looking forward to it now and can't wait to start reno right aftter key collection..

Finally a place to call my home.. =p

jascmy

Oh ya, Thanks for reminding that HDB gave us a ''Do not Disturb'' sign in our package. Hahaa... will bring it and hang it outside my door next time I go to my house.