Sembawang Green BTO sep 06

rainnerainne

Xuan Ting,

we are neighbours then.

Did the unit in Level 6 hack their rooms for the WIW?

Guys,

Anyone know whether we can buy the corridor outside the house since it is new?

devilboy

I think the term WIW is badly used in this term. The WIW offered by the contractors are nothing more than shelfs and partition to keep your towels and t-shirt. Not the kind of walk-in wardrobe you desires with all your clothes beautifully hang or shoes that can be placed is an order. (*Unless someone scarifice one of the bedrooms, masterbedroom toilet or storeroom to become a WIW).

xuan_ting

Hi Rainne

Ooh, u also from Blk 487, which level? I'm from level 6

That unit in level 6 Blk 488, their WIW is inside their masterbedroom lor. I just feel really too cramp le lor. If in future, they want to put baby clot, sure no space one. But for those unit which face the park, might be still be able to do the WIW ba. Anyway, I will just do the built-in wardrobe in the masterbedroom, due to that place restricted there. Dun think can buy those off-the-rack one and put into that space which behind the door.

xuan_ting

Hi Cherylkjh

As baby still small, so normally ppls will put the baby cot inside the masterbedroom lor. If do up the walk in wardrobe, sure no space to put the baby cot le

young_jes

A contractor also quoted me a different price just when I've decided to sign with them.

Intially they wanted to use my house as showroom, but because we took 2 weeks to consider, they've already got another flat as showroom. And because of that, they are not willing to offer the same quotation, as they insist that the previous quotation is at "showflat rate" and they are not making much profit from there.

After much negotiation, they quoted another price which is about $200 more, but try to smoke me with lower quality materials like semi solid classic door (when intially they've promised solid veener) and normal glass instead of tempered glass for display cabinet.

Just before signing on the line, i backed out as there are already some negative vibes between us. They feel that we've bargained too much and they are not making much profit from us while we don't feel comfortable with they way they handled our case. I'm afraid that they will charge me more hidden cost because they are not happy with the lower price they have charged for the main items.

Now i feel relieved that I've chosen to back out, because I would rather pay more to have a peace of mind.

Not trying to badmouth any contractor, but just wanna share my experience with my fellow neighbours.

Always check all items on the quotation before signing the agreement, and make sure that all that has been agreed is written there. Insist on having it written down even if he say that its not important. Never take verbal promise as a promise.

xuan_ting

Hi Jes

Thanks for sharing with us
Is it the contractor which inside Blk 488? Can give us some hint about the company name? Thanks

devilboy

Hi Jes

These contractors knows that since we got the keys and they believe we might be in a rush. Very disappointed... 1st qoutation is reasonable but it's ain't cheap... 2nd qoutation is extortion! HaHaHaHaHa

young_jes

Yes yes.. very disappointing indeed! I think now that they have alot of deals on hand they don't care about those "not so profitable" business. He even show me his quotation book and imply that he has so many deals now, so he don't need another showroom. The way he behaves is as though he is doing me a favour by doing up my house for me! Gave me 3 days dateline and say that he will not give me the same price if i don't take up within 3 days. still can say "already quote you so cheap, how can still reserve price for you?"

Now i regret why i almost chose him over the nice and sincere contractor that i've shortlisted earlier.

Although the uncle quoted me slightly higher, but he is very honest about all the costs involved and experienced enough to guide us thru the renovation process.A very nice and repectable
uncle who gives many advices to me and hubby without pushing us to take up his service.

Now i know i must go with my instinct and go with someone i'm comfortable with, instead of being attracted to a "cheap package". But nvm, i'll treat it as a lesson learnt.

young_jes

Hi xuanting,

the contractor has a showroom at 488.

Disclaimer: What i've posted is just a personal experience, may not happen to everyone. I've spoken to the showroom flat owner before, and she seems quite happy with their service. so i guess it depends on individual.

ladykirvin

Just opened my door today in the morning! Very excited now...

Actually when the contractor has too many deals, i am abit concerned about the quality of work when he has so many to deliver.... I dont like the attitude of the contractor that Jes posted.
*too YA YA PAPAYA*

devilboy

Hi Kirvin

I think so... actually... the contractors doesn't do any work other than sales talks... If they are doing serious work, they should be busy running around checking on their workers. No offence to anyone. Yes we pay for the contractor services and his time spend on management, this is a must but if he is busy walking around bringing people to see showflat, what is he managing at the end of the day?
The only reason we use contractors is because most of us have no clue where to get those skills workers that we need and we also need a license contractor *This is the HDB law. Sad ah!!!

nichiyobi

Sorry to say this but after seeing all the feedback, I seriously think.... i will NOT engage any of contractor/renovator that hang around 488 and having show flats.

Some time I wonder why only those few people are there to get jobs. We all know clearly that the economy is not good now. Either they super hard core sales or their usual normal daily sales are not so good. There must be some reasons why we dont see those reputable IDs or reno company that appear in magazines or have own show room or those who done many good reno appear there at the blk.

I REALLY heard the man told me the level 7 unit aircon was not part of the package. He even told me if you want can get another to do it ok and they help supervise it.

Maybe will wait till that unit almost complete and go see it again to determine why its worth 25K.

I was thinking about the 25K.... maybe...
Kitchen = 4K
Wardrobe = 1.5K each = 4.5K (I think they only do 2... give and take 1 convert to study table)
Window grills = 1.5K
Painting = 1K
Bathtub + screen = 1K (I assume)
Featured wall x2 = 3K (Store room and TV console)
Altar = 1.5K
Sliding door to Kitchen = 1K

Total = 17.5K

++++GST, RST, DST etc Give 20K.

No aircon, no flooring, no change of doors, no false ceiling, no extra wire point observed and too many puzzle and doubts.

Are we all talking about the Level 7 unit that face the park???

joyfull

I've got my keys too. I'm quite skeptical about the contractors around our place too.. An advice from friend is that we should get some recommendations from friends/colleagues or relatives. Because they had experience with their contractors and their worksmanship.

It seems to me like a scam that a certain contractor goes to everybody and claim that some other units have engaged them. When you sign with them, they will tell others that you have engage them... ??!!

Anyway, I've looking for minimum reno.. Hope to keep below 10K. including aircon, hob, hood & sink. Not forgetting that we need washing machine, fridge and lightings, sofa, dining tables and chairs, water heaters and movers too.. So if you over-focus on reno then you might end up over-budget 10k++++ budget.

I'm doing laminates in bedrooms(exclude in 10k) , tiles and doors (ocs opted out), kitchen cabinets, shower screen, raised platform for fridge, cabinet, and washing machine, window grills for all.... (Possible???)

Recently went to jalan bersah to 'feel' how's the prices of lightings. If you want a normal PLL lighting, about $25 (21W) to $45 (40W).. Installation of lighting is $35 for first unit and subsequent $7 for each. An uncle advice us to get the renovator to include installation of heater and lighting. Otherwise, you will have to incurr another cost..

joyfull

By the way, search other forum and saw recommendations of Ho Bee and Tau Interior.

But the thread about Ho bee is since 2007. Any feedback if their service and worksmanship is still as good.

As for Tau, read a thread that Uncle Winson is friendly and professional. but a bit far.. tampines leh...

Pls comment about these 2 ren, if any..

nichiyobi

Hihi joyfull,

For me.. I think I will do those necessary first. Those that can be done later can always slowly add on to your flat since you can't sell your flat for the next few years!!! So slowly enhance it!!!

why no neighbors email me their quotation??? So sad.

cherylkjh

joyful
actually i m quite interested in geting ho bee to do my hse. cos of the good comment at Renotalk.

but still waiting to see my hb side. cos his fren oso recommend..

anyway i m oso scare abt those contractor hanging ard our place... are their business so bad tat they need to hang ard there???

xuan_ting

Cherylkjh

Hmm, some might business bad, some might not lor. So, if u get any brochures from them, first must check thru HDB website, to see whether they are active & got any bad points or not lor. For Ho Bee, there are some bad comments on it too. Just that dun know how true is it. This apply to Tau Design too. May be diff ppls got diff point of view on it. So headache mann

young_jes

Ant/Xuan Ting,

I cannot explicitly say which contractor, cos don't want to kill their reputation also, as mine may be a isolate case lah. But.. he is not at level 7.

joyfull,

i may be engaging Tau, cause the uncle is really nice and professional, if you read 1 page back, you can see that i recommended him before. He helped me check my house defects and gave many advices, not pushy at all. will be going down to his office this sat, and will sign the agreement if nothing goes wrong.

After the scary experience i have with the showflat contractor, i can't wait to sign with uncle winson cos now i don't want to be attracted by "cheap package" which comes with so much heacache and unhappiness.

Most prob i will only start reno after 7th month, so if you don't mind waiting i can give you my overall feedback and you can come my house to see workmanship after that. But so far so good, he gives me the best impression after i've spoken to so many contractors.

If I still encounter major problems after i sign with Tau, den i really don't know what to do liao.

Think sometimes reno depends on luck also.

mouse_81

Hi Jes,
i understand but pls do share with us on the contractor's info. Can i have his surname or which showroom he's doing currently? Hope you can help on this. I also dun want end up enganging the wrong contractor to do my new hse. Thks.

devilboy

Hi Mouse_81

The best bet for you is that you find out more from your friends and relatives who have previously done renovation. Get these people (Contractors whom you are being refered to) to give you a qoutation first. As these contractors may or may be those having showroom, they will qoute you the best price and have a rough idea of what is going to be done. Most importantly, you must know what you want to do. I found out that in renovation especially people like me with little cash to spare, have to really take some time off and do homework. You can see those contractors sitting there chit chatting among themselves, there is a chance that they might are in cahoots... hahahaha

young_jes

Hi Ant,

If you really want, maybe you can pm me if you've shortlisted any contractor there? I'll let you know if he is the one. Hope you understand cos i don't want to jeopardise their potential business unnecessarily just because of 1 unhappy experience. There may be many many more happy customers (like the showflat owner) and maybe i'm just the unlucky one.

Think if you tread carefully and be prudent to all contractors, it should be fine.

Finn,
Think both of us are quite skeptical about the contractors that do touting below our blks now. So you shortlisted any contractor already? or still looking around?

I wanted to finalise contractor soon so that i can decide on design theme soon enough for me to buy my furnitures and stuffs during GSS..

Anyone spotted any good deals? Wonder if i should buy my dining set/bedsheets/kithen utensils so early..

Heard PC show is coming, anyone going there to buy TVs?? Will there be another PC show in Sept/oct?

devilboy

Hi Jes

I might finalizing my contractor soon. So far, I have got my lightings, Air-con, water heater (City Gas), hob and sucker, washing basin for kitchen. Maybe I am skeptical... but more importantly, I dun like people playing with my time and money.

I notice this on my way to work... maybe anyone free might want to check it out over the weekend http://www.mattress-centre.com/concrete5/

heman

Hi Finn,

May I know where is your City Gas water heater is going to be mounted on? What about the gas line? Is it going to run around the kitchen and through the service yard?

young_jes

Hi Ant,

I've activated my PM.

Hi Finn,

Where did you go for all the hob/hood and basin?

Anyone installing vanity cupboard for bathrooms?

devilboy

Hi HeMan

According to my contractor who advises me, if you want hassle free, get City Gas as you only require 1 unit however there are drawbacks, the water heats up slowly (Takes 5~10mins)... the piping in our flat are already at default. For those who want to install City Gas, the warm water only applies to the the Toilet shower head. The price of the system is $190 and installation is $50, I dun know if your contractor can install for you this I have yet to find out.

Hi Jes

I am getting it from a shop at along Jalan Besar, cannot remember the name but it was on near Kelantan Road. I am not going for designer or branded hobs and hoods, going for practical ones. Ellane, Italy design but made in Malaysia. Their prices and their services are very solid. Please pop by over the weekend.

rainnerainne

Hi Xuan_ting,

Am 1 floor lower than you.

Yes, i m curious how the WIW going to be as the room is soooo small.

I saw another design by ID which really do WIW for the master bed room w/o hacking. I will go down and view the actual thing this weekend and update you.

rainnerainne

Jes,

Am installing vanity cupboard for bathroom so am looking at different design as the bathroom is really very very small.

The layout for my MB toilet sux as the shower head is hiding behind the door.

xuan_ting

Rainne

That showroom flat in level 6 of Blk 488 who do WIW inside, without hacking too

Have just call Ho Bee, tomorow shall email & ask for quotation then. See how their pricing. Everything really need luck to process it. Must pray hard.

devilboy

Now I hope 487 and 490 have their keys as soon as possible... hate to see those contractors lingering at the 489 lift. Need some peace now to go up to my unit... hahaha

xuan_ting

Finn

U have to bear with it, cos Blk 487 & 490 should be only collect keys around Jul ba. U just walk fast fast to the lift, dun eye to eye contact those contractors, hahaha :D

raynard

Hi Finn, are you installing rain shower using the City Gas water heater? I called up city gas and they also can't be sure if that water heater's water pressure is strong enough for the rain shower.. Any advice?

ladykirvin

I settled most of my electrical appliances - hood, hob, oven, washing machine, fridge, TV. Only short of air con and HTS.

Since i opted in OCS, i only need to do minimum renovation as well. I probably get in the carpenter on-site to give me an accurate quote and just do electrical, plumbing, ceiling, painting with a contractor.

Are you all aiming to shift in before the 7th lunar month starts? hee hee hee...

I also buay tahan those contractor, they are there really early lor. We left ard 8am after open door... already got one approaching us liao.

devilboy

Hi Raynard
I guess the "Rain Shower" you refering to are those huge shower heads that commonly used in resorts? My contractor have advised me that using the city gas does not give you alot of water volume. If you guys are looking to build Rain Shower and Bath Tubs, the city gas option is out as they are too slow to make any impact you want with both peripherals. The reason I want City Gas is simple. 1) Cost Savings 2)
No need to spend extra money install and laying additional power over my toilet. Recommendations are that if you are using Electrica Units, Rain shower are good. If you are using Bath tubs, you should opt for Storage tank.

young_jes

rainne,

Are you going to remove the original basin so that you can have the vanity cupboard? The contractor say cannot use original basin for vanity cupboard but i don't want to throw away the orignal basin, cos i find it such a waste. So still considering, cos i really want to have vanity..

Finn,
I saw the brochure for Ellane before, design quite nice, will drop by to take a look soon.
How much did you pay for the set? any promos now? Do they sell ovens as well?