Republic of Sg Yacht Club RSYC

zenn

Hi gals...

Serach,
Ya RSYC oni charge GST so should be 1+ oni. Also, not necessary buffet will be more fun. My client had his buffet style and he told me ppl tends to leave shortly after makan. Hence, you not necessary ve the chance to mingle wif guests.

For me, I had mine chinese dinner but cos mine oni 250pax so I ve alot of times going round chatting wif friends. In fact the moment we came down from first march in, we went round mingling wif guests and we had lots of fun too hehe

Hi Pearline,
Hey keep us updated ya hee

ccat

Zenn,
i tot buffet more suitable for an open air outdoor affair...yours was chinese dinner in the function room? i am intending to hold mine outdoors.

ccat

hi, gigi
i've no gotten pricing yet jus tati saw from prev postings that a table cost $620 so assumed that it was w/o the gst/ svc chrg and stuff and oso the marquee.

$620 icldg marquee sounds pretty ok...

but i tot buffet is $58/ pax and if marquee gona cost $4k, for my case where i hv only 120 guests then the total cost will be 6960 + 4K =10960...so tat makes out to be $91 / pax!

unless i got my facts wrong...

zenn

Hi serach,

Nope mine outdoor too. The price of marquee varies wif the no of pax. I paid $4.6k for 250pax so if yours oni 120pax, it shd b lesser. But understand fm the gals that the price of marquee has increased...

pearline

Hi Serach

$620 is for outdoor sit-down dinner like wat Zenn had. Indoor sit-down dinner is abt $468.

As for the buffet, Eddie, who is the Sales Mgr mentioned that he is going to do some revision. If I'm not wrong, the $58 is for buffer in fucntion rooms, so understand that they won't just add in the marquee cost like that as you must also deduct out the cost for not using the function rooms.

Anyway, as mentioned, I will be seeing him tomorrow so perhaps can give you more information. You may also like to kick off by asking for quotation since all of us, Zenn, Fish and me actually gotten very different kind of quotations.

Heard from Zenn that the food is not bad. Except some hiccups, she pretty enjoyed herself...

ccat

Hi Gigi/ Zenn,
thanks so much for the info...really like the place but worried abt the cost and dun wan anything exceedg $70/pax. appreciate all yr help! keep me posted on yr discussion wif eddie! thanks much! i must find time and make a visit there soon to talk to him.

zenn

Hihi...

Serach, the cost for buffet will definately higher than sit down dinner. That's also one of the reason why we choose sit down over buffet

pearline

Met Eddie yesterday and still no concrete quotation for the buffet.
He also mentioned that the Marquee is abt $7K but subject to his further negotiation with the vendor. He advised us not to take the package and do a break down. But we calculated if the marquee costs 7K and the buffet abt $45per pax then it's already abt $70+ per pax based on 300 guests and without decor.
Anyway, he told us that he is waiting for approval for the buffet package which he has just revised to something like the sit-down dinner whereby the price will be more reasonable. He is supposed to revert before this year end.

Serach, will update you with the details then...

cindeekoh

hey gers

was actually very keen on RSYC when i saw the pix on their website...but after hearing the many hiccups that happened...i am really having second thots...frankly, is this a place that you would recommend to ger frens? just wanna see the appeal level of the place.

another place i am considering is fort canning loh. but think not gonna be as nice as RSYC...am very intrigued by the sail march in lei...hehehe

zenn

Pearline,
Did you tell Eddie that mine was $4.6k? Question him why increased by so much? You only keen buffet? Cos I find that its kinda X leh.

Hi cindee,
Hmm.. its a difficult question hehe Cos the place is really lovely but mgmt really ve problem. Putting my the problems I encountered aside, we n the guests enjoyed very much n its really a memorable experience.

pearline

Hi Zenn

I haven't mentioned to Eddie about you yet...just in case he got fed up by us, all use you as a "weapon". Haha

My hubby loh...like buffet....no $ still so picky..sob sob. I asked Eddie y the price is so illogical as compared to the sit-down dinner. Based on the sit-down dinner, outdoor is like $150+ more than the indoor one so if I calculate based on 30 tables, the marquee only abt $3-4K mah. He told me cannot compare...he also dun understand y the mgt packaged it that way even before he joined RSYC...anyway, initially such events are not encouraged to be held there since it's a MBR's CLUB.
He explained that is y he is submitting a new proposal for approval loh.
But I think I like Eddie's honesty. He told us a lot of couples complained that he is very slow in response and he admitted becoz he is too occupied. He just got an assistant but yet this lady is quite weak in health so he still needs this lady to be more settled down so that he can have more time to look into all these wedding packages.

Well, Cindee, the outdoor one can accomodate max of 40 tables but Eddie will need to get approval for abv 30 tables coz they need to close up their BBQ areas for their mbrs which means rev losss to them. I also agree with Zenn that you should go down and have a look and talk to Eddie. But if you also looking for buffet, I will advise you to go down early next year as the status of his new proposal will be out by then...if not, it's a wasted trip as you will not be able to get the detailed quotation.

Overall the venue is very nice, as for the unpleasant hiccups, I think we should thank Zenn here for sharing with us her experience as we can highlight those issues to Eddie to avoid the same thing to happen again...unless there are other things that will go wrong again...hahaha

Anyway, help from friends will also be very essential to prevent all these. On the AD, you will be very tied up so it's good for u to get some of yr good friends to do all the necessary check for you...get them to be the event mgt team that day!

BTW, when is yr AD?

fish

I'm back! Eddie sent me an email. He quote me $620+ per table for outdoor dinner... include tentage, seat covers, fans, lights, blah blah blah.

I think I'll sign up that one loh and throw away my old contract... Have calculated, even if he were to quote me $4.6K for marquee, it'll still work out to be $612+ per table... so not much difference. But if I stick with old contract and he die die want to charge me $6K for tentage, it will be $668+ per table.

But what I don't understand is how come he charge Zenn $4.6K, me $6K and Pearline $7K for the marquee. The pricing is so different!!!! I've asked my hubby to fix up an appointment with Eddie in January. I want to settle this once and for all.

Hi Cindee, max capacity of foreshore deck is only 30 tables. I think it may not be possible for you to hold your dinner there if you've 38 tables.

ccat

hi fish,
you know wat? i getting alil confused wif all the difference in pricing...jus a recap...so yours will be at the foreshore for
(1)how many guests? (2)buffet or sit down dinner?
$620+ for a table of 10 (inclusive of tentage all is pretty decent....
jus wondering if your is $620+ /table only cos you've got many guests....mine will merely be 150 MAX....so cost/ pax may increase.

cindeekoh

thanks zenn, fish and gigijrt

so is it max 30 tables or 40??

ya....agree with u all the places really very nice. the pix posted by zenn really very nice. sighz...but hoh, i am very particular abt service one lei. can i hv eddie's number? maybe i would just call him and ask if he can hold 40 tables. if not, then no pt considering also. sighz

pearline

Hi Fish

So he is suggesting you to take the current std package loh. Actually he did mentioned to us that $7K is an estimation. Just like what he told you before, if there are more functions held during that period, then he will be able to get a better price from the vendor...very jia lat hor...poor biz negotiator...personally feel that in biz pt of view, he shd fight for a std price from the vendor!

Hi Serach

The $620+ per table is their std package price for outdoor wedding with marquee so dun worry that he will charge you more if you have less guests...this price is for outdoor sit-down dinner. Min tables is 15 so you will have to take this max number liao. Perhaps you may consider to invite more pple to ensure you will not have too many empty seats.

Fish's and Zenn's package was different from the current one as they signed up like sometimes last year whereby I think this std package was not out yet. They actually offered like 400+ per table and charge the marquee separately. So I think all these caused yr confusion.

If you have seen my previous threads, they are still trying to revise the buffet package price as currently the pricing is $55+ per pax excluding tentage cost. Quite high!

Hi Cindee

To confirm, they can take max of 40 tables but like what I mentioned, Eddie needs to get approval for abv 30 tables...this was what he told me on last Sat when I met up with him coz I also afraid that mine may stretch to abt 30+ tables. Anyway, his number is 67689294. You may like to call him to forward you more details.

When is your AD? I suggest you arrange to meet up with him to see the package first so that he can make the necessary application for approval to confirm if they can take yr 38 tables if you are keen to hold yr wedding there.

pearline

Hi Zenn, Fish

BTW, how many parking coupons were you given?
Their current package only gives away 20 when they have 100 over lots...I feel it's so little....

zenn

Hi gals...

Pearline,
You cant compare the price btw chinese dinner n buffet. It dun work proportionally hehe

Ya Eddie always tell me that this is a member's club so all priorty is given to members dan to ve more sale. Can tell he flight very hard but its hard for him to get approval from the board.

Think I had 30+ coupons but no use lah. On my AD, they had a event n in the end think less dan 10 managed to park inside

Yes yes, you gals must ve a main coordinator to help you to run the show. You wont ve the time on that day to take care of everything.

Fish,
Your $6k is based on how many tables and Pearline's $7k for how many tables? Think no of tables makes a diff rite?

Serach & Cindee,
Yes mine is old package so dun use mine as guide...

fish

Hi Pearline

Thanks for explaining on my behalf!!
I've forgotten how many coupons Eddie will be giving us. But I remembered he said the guests can park on the road outside the club; he'll write in to seek approval or something like that.

Hi Zenn
I told Eddie that we're looking at 25 tables but when I called him, he said he worked out the cost based on 20 tables. If $7K is for 25 tables, and I continue to stick to the old contract, I'll probably end up having to pay $708+ per table. In that case, its more worth for me to switch to a new contract.

Serach & Cindee
I find it strange that buffet is so much more ex than Chinese dinner also. But that time, I didn't question Eddie as I was specifically looking out for Chinese dinner.

pearline

Hi Zenn

Yah loh...he told me cannot compare...it just doesn't make sense even to him...wat to do? Haha

Mine is abt 25-30 tables so I think slightly more than Fish's...probably that's y the price differs?!

Very jia lat hor...such outdoor wedding tends to be more disorganized.... Eddie even mentioned to us that we will have to do our own coordination with the wedding card printing vendor...he will just give us the contacts.

As for parking, he kept saying not a prob...wat can park along the road or West Coast Park...just abt 10 mins walk. Imagine the guests are all dressed up, who want to walk that far and smell of perspiration. Actually my greatest worry is really the parking loh...think alot of guests will complain...

zenn

Hi gals...

Pearline & Fish,
They already ve approval to let the cars park along the road (outside rsyc). Usually parking will not be a problem but me suay lor - clashed wif thier event so my guests ve to park so far. My bro-in-law was so angry abt it
But glad that non of my other guests complained but still paiseh rite...

pearline

Zenn, understand how u feel...the worst thing to expect is complaint from relatives and direct families, which is usually the case. I am just afraid that we may meet something like yrs becoz they will never know if they have their club events on our wedding date mah. I think if there are enough lots along the road is still ok, it will be more unpleasant to get pple to park at West Coast Park and walk there esp if there are some selfish drivers who simply like to park one small car in 2 lots, hahaha....

cindeekoh

hey gers

thanks for all the info manz. really useful.

Hi Gigijrt
my AD is still far lah...a bit kiasu...hehehe...it is only gonna be on the 7th of oct 2006. still very far hoh? but i got a lot of things finalized liao. so we taking things slowly loh.

pearline

Hi Cindee

I think it's good to have some idea in mind first. Mine is around March 06 and I also have my Bridal package finalized and now is the dinner venue loh. Like our "Snrs" (Zenn and Fish)here advised, usually you have to book the venue 1 yr in advance. Nowadays, Sporean very kiasu liao so u also must "snatch".

Haha, look around but if you are looking for outdoor marine view, there are really aren't many places in Spore.

cindeekoh

hi Gigijrt

we hv also finalized our BS...just hv not sign the package only...hv been 2 busy to go down loh.

as for the venue, we actually wanted to have it in my bf's garden one...can hold between 16-20 tables...but we having 40 tables...initially supposed to spread it out over 2 days one...sat night dinner and sunday afternoon lunch but realized it is gonna be very tired for the both of us, including our helpers. so looking for another place loh. as of now fort canning and RSYC loh. prefer the latter cos think the location is more magical than the first.

but if i book wiuth RSYC, is it too early for eddie to seek approval for 40 tables? wat if their own members last minute wan to use the bbq pit lei?

was wondering if it is too early to call on eddie. his service already so bad....then he if see me still so long, wait he 'ignore' me how? heheh

cindeekoh

as for booking of venues, noe of late 06 brides who have already booked their venues lei. but theirs are hotels so guess not so much to worry abt

pearline

Hi Cindee

Which BS you looking at?

Well, if you dun mind about location, then you can consider Raffles Marina. A much nicer place which is all of ours' first choice but we are concerned abt the location and guest will complain.

I think if you are sure you want RSYC, u can check now. If I'm not wrong, Fish also confirmed with them last yr when her AD is next yr.
Fish, am I rt har? Heee...

Eddie is not like that lah...Mine also considered quite far from now but he also "entertained" us mah. Well, I think I do agree that he is just too busy right now to handle us and many others out there.What I can say abt him is he is very receptive to creative ideas and also initiate to give u his 2 cents worth of advice loh.

Understand that they are actually going to be more agressive in this "wedding business" so by the time may attract more crowd.

Once they confirm that he got the approval, get him to state in B&W so that they can't void. I think that's not a prob.

fish

Hi Cindee, Pearline

Pearline, my case is different lah. I booked last year because my AD was supposed to be this year June, but it was postponed to next year because my MIL passed away suddenly before the AD.

Cindee, actually Eddie is very friendly but gives good service but it seems like he's a 1-man show. That's why he keeps delaying and 'procrastinating'. I was won over by his personality. At the moment, you don't have to worry too much about availability of RSYC as RSYC is a member club. So at the moment, they're still not very aggressive in advertising their availability for wedding dinner. Chances are you don't have to fight with others to book there. But not sure when they're going into advertising... things might be different then.

zenn

Hi gals...

Pearline,
Haha you really funny. Actually I also dunno where most of my guests parked on my AD. Was told at next building -_-

Cindee,
Wow u even ve ur date decided. Is that ur anniversary date? Hee Actually not very early lah cos in 2 weeks time its gonna 2005 liao.

pearline

Hi Zenn

Oh, understand from Eddie too that can park at next building but guests have to pay by themselves loh coz it's cash card payment one...so you can imagine more complaints. Hahaha.

zenn

Hi Pearline,

Ya ya think most of my guests parked there! So far I m lucky that they did not complain to ME lah. Hopefully not among themselves too hehehe

cindeekoh

Hi Hi Gigijrt

y BS is Bridal Concept. a small humble place...actually they used to hv a shop at bugis junction...but their biz has expanded and they moved to seah street...the service there very gd and sincere loh...so decided on it.

we dun fancy raffles marina cos of the distance too. my bf was joking that should we have the dinner there, we can then go jb for our honey moon...hahha..

gigijrt and fish
thanks, it sure is a relief that eddie is actually a very nie person to work with. i am more comfortable abt rsyc now then before...thanks.

hi zenn
neh...our anniversary is actually 14th of sept...but that week usually is school's CA so cant take leave loh. wanted dec but his mom said rainy season...so the other date i like would be 7th oct loh. like number 5 and 7. so got one 7 very gd liao....hehee...we just choose a date convenient to us loh...that week...should not be too bad cos the final yr exams ard the second and third wk of oct loh. me a teacher and he is also gonna be a teacher after his honours degree. so we hv to work ard the sch calendar loh.

zenn

Hi cindee,

I understand what you mean. My friend who is also a teacher had his in Mid Oct cos its not convenient to take leave...

silhouette

Hi hi

I am new here & would like to know what is the max capacity to hold wedding dinner at their ballroom? I guess it should be cheaper to hold it indoors?

cindeekoh

hey gers

went to see the place liao. very nice and simple. but as of now, still thinking abt it cos our tables may overshoot 40...that would also mean if we are taking the place, hv to split into 2 diff days. sighz.

the whole reason in us choosing a different place is because we dun wan 2 days....our own garden can only hold 20 tables....now with more than 40 tables, we are back to square one. sighz....stuck manz

hi carole
their ballroom can hold max 20 tables

zenn

Hi gals..
Hows ur xmas?

Carole,
If I am not wrong the ballroom can hold 20 or 25 max. But personally finds the ballroom ok oni...

Cindee,
Think the place will b too small for 40+ tables. What other places you considering?

zenn

Hi carole,

Are you referring to Raffles Marina? In fact RM was my first choice but drop the idea cos of distance, they oni ve buffet and its more x too... But its a very nice place hee

pearline

Hi Carole

I did not go to Raffles CC but passed by there b4. Personally did not consider it. Firstly becoz the outlook of the place seems to be a bit old though I think inside there looks quite good as shown in many bridal magazines. The other factor is it's also just a few mins drive away from Raffles Marina. If u consider RM too far then this location is not going to be ideal too right? It's also within the industrial area, so will still give you the "TUAS impression".

Actually u can look into popular places now like JBP, Zoo or Orchid Ctry club?

zenn

Hi gals..

Carole,
Think Raffles Country Club is a normal country club rite? I dun think there are any sea view. If so, you may wanna consider OCC instead?

cindeekoh

hi zenn

well, dun noe about the other venues loh. this venue seeking thing is making me tired manz. now just hope that we can hv only 35 tables. so it wun be so cramped and i dun hv to look ard for other venues.

zenn

Hi cindee,

Think u really ve to work out ur list b4 going round looking for venue (at least can avoid unnecessary extra work) hee

pearline

Happy New Year! Here comes 2005 but unfortunately all ended off with a sad 2004.

Wish all of us the BEST for the new year.

I have not gotten any update from Eddie hence no news for you gals yet.

Take care, all the Pretties....will keep you gals posted once Eddie gets back to me on their latest buffet package

pearline

Need a little help here.

Anyone heard of any comments on the following hotels or restaurants?

Hotel Phoenix, Hotel Rendezvous, Allson Hotel, Fook Yuen Seafood Restaurant at Raffles City and 88 Restaurant?

zenn

Hi gals...

Pearline,
I visited Hotel Rendexvous ballroom once n personally find it kinda dark. Will b attending one wedding at 88 this May. No comments for the rest. You considering them?