Republic of Sg Yacht Club RSYC

zenn

Hi Pearline,
Oh if inclusive of marquee then reasonable lah. My time was $428 per table + $4600 for marquee for 25 tables.

No idea abt keppel club. Err where is the place?

Hi fish,
Hey then stick to it lah. Its definately a memorable wedding. Yes its abit inconvenient but if your guests drive, its quite easy to find the place. If not, they can always take the free shuttle bus.

Hi Jas,
Think Eddie is the only person incharge. He kinda 'bao ka liao'

zenn

221476.jpg

ccat

hi zen,
the 1st pix is not at the Beacon right? Do you have more pix at the Beacon? planning to hold just either luncheon/ dinner there...may have 80 guests and jus afraid will be cramp with 8 tables...any suggestions?

zenn

Hi serach,

No the first one is at foreshore.

You having at Beacon only or inside too? You mean to ve 8 tables of 10pax each? I dun think so leh. Why not ve the buffet line in the beacon and makan inside?

ccat

hi zenn,

So how much does the whole set up cost for foreshore? including rental of place....the seat covers?...etc???

email them abt opening up the inside for me but they gave me a flat NO and din offering any other alternatives....so reconsidering the venue now.

next place on the list is Raffles Marina.

zenn

Hi serach,

Check ur email...

I only paid for marquee and the dinner. Decor and seat covers are included. Understand from Pearline that now they includes marquee cost in the dinner too.

You been to the place? Perhaps you might wanna take a look urself?

Oh if you considering RM, then you can consider Bistro - can save on building marquee hee Btw, I think RM buffet more x rite?

ccat

hi zenn,
think my yahoo something wrong, can resend to [email protected] ?
sorry...
anyways, planning for a sit down thingy...havent decided whether to do a lunch or dinner....what so u recommend?

pearline

Hi Zenn

I think yrs is slightly cheaper leh. Wat I understand from him that they are going to increase price every year....but let say if you book within this year for a yr 2006 wedding, they will follow current year price. So more worth it but it depends on whether you want to take the risk loh.

Keppel Club is somewhere along the PSA area too. So I thought scenary will be pretty similar...heee

Hi Jas

Have you gone through any negotiation with RM? I love the place but location is a concern. The other concern is the coordinator. She simply refuses any negotiation. You ask her this and that, she will tell you, sorry, this is the best package...very reasonable already, cannot throw in anymore. So my hubby and I were not very happy with the attitude.

The other thing to note that if you are also concerned abt cost, RSYC only charges GST but I think RM charges all the svc charge and prevailing taxes.

I think Eddie is the only coordinator there. Actually quite concerned abt their svc since Zenn also shared abt her experiences. He took abt 3 weeks - 1 mth to come back to me on the quotation and we are damn pissed off. Lucky he replied to my last reminder.

I shall be going down to see him in early Dec. If he does not have concrete plan and quotation for me, I will give RSYC up. If he can't even give us a good svc now, I doubt how he can coordinate my AD well...sad to say, nice theme that they have but poor service.

Hi Serach

When is yr AD? I think you have to predict the weather first. If you want lunch, then you may have to be prepared that it may be more humid.

zenn

Hi serach,
I ve resent. Pls check but cos mine is rom setup so will b diff...

Hi pearline,
I booked mine last yr so perhaps thats y mine is cheaper.

Oh personally prefer dinner cos its more cooling n relax mood.

Have you been to RSYC n Keppel club urself? I dun think the view is the same.

As for RM, I m surprised that you are unhappy wif the coordinator cos according to RM thread, the gals seem to b praising the coordinator -_-

babu

hi zenn,
your set up was nice!! like to have outdoor dinner as well, but my fh is a 'polar bear' can't take heat..hehehe.. that why we have no choice but to settled at indoor...
who did ur flower arrangement btw? looking for florist now. u got any more pix to share or not? always like to admire outdoor decor..

my friend's is a member at RSYC too, used to hang there alot last time, like the place and it always very windy when i do my dinner and drinking there.. kinda miss the place liao, shall go there very soon..

zenn

Hi babu,

Thanks! Well like wat u said its always v windy so dun ve to worry abt heat. And since its a outdoor wedding, can b more casual. My hubby wore shirt n vest during boat sail in for our first march in. Wore his jacket for second march in but took off after our yum sheng. Anyway since you ve already decided, just enjoy! Btw where is ur dinner?

I engaged the same florist which RSYC used but I did meet up wif him b4 hand n tell him what I want

Ok will upload later...

babu

hi zenn,
hmm... very nice.... romantic...thanks for sharing!

mine at beaufort sentosa, can't have outdoor, so try to find somewhere that is near my dream lor... Beaufort is nice, but still prefer outdoor.. another mth to my AD, quite excited thou. infact, i did make enquire there last time, but in the end still settled at sentosa.. hope it come out well..

going to have my solem in the villa, that is why looking for florist to decor the villa.

zenn

Hi babu,

You are welcome. Oh beautfort is a nice place too but theirs not cheap rite?

Apparently the candle managed to last for awhile but I dun think thro out whole nite. Frankly speaking, I completely forgotten abt it cos too bz mingle wif guests hehe

zenn

Babu,

Hey can you request to make use of the banquet decor (eg flower stands) during ur solemnization?

I recyled mine too hehe Save $$$ :p

babu

zenn,
ya i am thinking of recycle the flower too, but i got diff theme lay... one winter, one ocean.. that why i thinking of asking e florist to use more blue flower cos winter and ocean can used blue as well...

me going to have alot of candles as well, cos i love candles!!!

zenn

babu,

Gd idea! Initially I wanted to spend on solemnization too but after thinkin kinda not v worth cos its going to last awhile oni hee

I love candles too! So romantic rite hehe My VIP tables supposed to b wif candles too but the florist made a mistake

pearline

Hi Zenn

I have not been to Keppel Club yet. Found them over website search but already requested for their quotation and same thing like RSYC, no reply...

I would like to take a look at their pricing first loh. Problem is there aren't much information on their website and yet they dun feel like responding...quite irritated by all these svc level...

fish

Hi Zenn

Wow.... the setup is so romantic!!!

Me and hubby confirm we'll still stick with Yacht Club. We sign the package in 2003 so hopefully the price will still stand.

But from your incidence, I think I need to get the florist and bus company contact from Eddie and do the coordination myself....

pearline

Hi Fish

I think you shd try to get help from your buddies to take care of the coordination. Since Zenn has given us very good advice and warning, personally feel that you should bring out all these highlights to Eddie when you meet up with him again to ensure nothing of such should happen...of course without mentioning Zenn

You should just concentrate on ensuring that you look pretty pretty on the AD!

Hope you can share with us your experience then...

fish

Hi Pearline

Heehee.... yah, I'll definitely highlight these issues to Eddie. Don't worry, won't mention Zenn. When I signed up with him, I've already highlighted to him that the availability of the bus is very important to us since many of our guests don't drive. In fact, we're also paying for one more bus. At the same time, I'll get the contacts from him so that I'll give reminder calls to the vendors just before the events.

Oh, btw, when you try to get quote from Eddie, did you ring him up or you just send email? Don't bother sending email, he has never replied a single one of my email. Even for the contract, after he emailed to me, he called me and asked me to call him after I signed the copy and fax to him.

So, a much more effective to get him to respond is to call him. He's a friendly chap but seems to be busy all the time.

zenn

Pearline,
Wats the website for keppel club?

Fish,
Great! I am sure you will ve a memorable one too
The price is stated in the agreement rite? If so, they should stick to the price on the agreement. Btw ve u decided on the date?

So ve u decided on lunch or dinner? Outdoor too? Aiyo so excited for you hehehe

Btw, I ve Eddie involved when I met up wif the florist. Oh pls get the florist to write down what you guys discussed cos he did not n when I asked him if he can remember he said no problem but still he made mistakes.

Ya you better call up the bus driver the day b4 ur AD.

Yes yes better call Eddie then email cos he is not good wif computer stuff hee

fish

Hi Zenn

I just noticed that in your photos, all your seats have seat covers. I remember Eddie mentioned that they will not be using seat covers. Did you pay for the seat covers yourself?

As for the florist, I thought the decoration is standard? Did you change some of the decorations? Need to top up for the change or not?

Hubby called Eddie yesterday. He said he'll revert with the quote for the marquee within 2 days. Banquet price and menu will remain as per the contract. Yeh!!!
I like the old menu better.... the dish are more presentable than the new one that he showed us in March this year.

Yup, my AD is 26 Jun next year. We'll settle for a sunset dinner. Hope to start dinner by 6.30pm and end the entire event by 8.30pm since school term starts the next day and children need to go to school. Will get the guests to come in by 5.30pm.

pearline

Hi Fish

We went down personally instead and then later liaised through emails as he was out for a retreat and supposing someone else should be reverting to us lah.

I think now they changed a lot leh. The quotation that he given to me is inclusive of everything, the dinner, the decor, seat cover and the marquee. But seems like yrs and Zenn's one, they charged separately. He told me he will advise the "charge separately" plan if we want a buffet as he personally feels that the wedding package price for buffet is too high.

Thanks for his advice but he did not tell us the quotation everytime we consulted him, just kept saying dun take the package and anyway he wants to do some revision but no time yet, so my husband is so irritated.

That's y if the next round we go see him and still no concrete plan from him, we will give up on them.

As for the decor, you can request as per yr theme but it depends on the kind of flora you are using. If you are opting for much expensive flowers like calla lilies, they will sure ask for top up.

The menu which was given to us is also those open options one leh. No fixed menu. For each kind of category, there will be a few choices to pick from. If you want, I can email to you the menu to take a look.

Hi Zenn

The website for Keppel Club is www.keppleclub.com.sg

zenn

Gd afternoon gals,

Fish,
No I did not pay for the seat cover. I cant remember exactly what happened but I did bargain for it during discussion.

As for decor, Eddie is very flexible. As long as you are using within the amt they pay to the florist it will b ok. That's why I got Eddie along when I met up wif the florist. Try not to meet florist yourself cos certain things he may not b sure if Eddie wanna pay n may ask u to pay instead. If Eddie around can ask immediate or u can try getting Eddie to pay hehehe

How much was stated for the dinner and marquee?

Pearline,
What you mean by no concrete plan for you? Thought you ve the quote liao?

Cant access the website leh

pearline

Hi Zenn

We are actually considering the outdoor buffet but Eddie said it's more exp. The cost is actually $55 per pax excluding marquee and decor...yet he did not tell us the actual quotation for everything.

Then he kept advising not to the the wedding package for buffet coz very exp, better to take the break down one, but again he did not tell us the cost...so end of the day we only gotten concrete quotation for the sit-down dinner.

You try http://www.keppelclub.com.sg/html/

fish

Hi Pearline and Zenn

Thanks for the info! Hmmm.... maybe when I next meet up with him, I'll ask him for the seat cover. Seems like things change a lot liao.

At the time I sign the contract, mine was $428 per table. Marquee costs is separated. He said about $3000 to $5000.

But when I did a calculation based on Pearline's quote of ballroom vs outdoor per table costs, if a person book 20 tables, the marquee costs should be about $3K only.

Hi Pearline, can you email me the menu Eddie has given you? My email is [email protected] Mine was a fixed menu but it includes garoupa and sharks fins. From what I know, now they no longer offer this menu.

pearline

Hi Fish

No problem, I can forward to you. Eddie is quite good when you see him personally so probably you can check it out with him on the menu again loh.

Personally I think becoz you have signed the contract, he might not be able to give those lump sum quotation to you but he may be good enough to throw in something else for you.

Hope to hear good news from you so as to boost up all our confidence!

zenn

Hi fish,
Yes the new menu does not includes garoupa and sharks fins but you can talk to Eddie cos I took the new menu and changed to garoupa and sharks fins too hee

Hi Pearline,
Yes buffet is more x than chinese dinner. That's the reason why we settled for the latter.

Hmm.. so you waiting for the quote for marquee now? $55 includes everything (decor, seat cover, etc) rite?

pearline

Hi Zenn

Not sure leh. When I last spoken to Eddie, he told me he will give me the contacts of the florist to liaise directly and he will charge the marquee and buffet separately. So what does that mean? I have to pay the decor separately as well? That's why we are waiting for more detailed clarification when we get to meet up with him.

Actually very jia lat, to me I like the venue as it's romantic and I would say the outdoor dinner cost is still ok though not as budgeted as we wanted. My husband is the one who demands more of the AD as he doesn't like the traditional kind of March-in, Yum Seng, take photos...to him is like putting up a show. Hence he prefer those buffet style which allows more mingling around...and there is a cost attached to it....

We have problem comprising on this...now I know why a lot of people say couples always quarrel when planning for the wedding.

zenn

Hi pearline,

Hmm.. then I guess you really ve to double check wif Eddie.

Actually even if its chinese dinner you can mingle around too. Wat we did was we had boat sailed in as first march. As we were at the boat prior to that, both of us were not at reception to receive the guests. So the moment we came down from stage, we went round mingling wif guests and thanks them from attending our wedding. As we only ve 25 tables, we finished taking photos (after 2nd march in) pretty fast so we went round talking to friends again. Since its outdoor, it can b pretty relax.

Even if you going to ve buffet, you will ve round tables for them too rite? So guests will go back to their seat after taking food. More or less the same lor - thats how I feel lah

pearline

Hi Zenn

You are right, actually my hubby is more agressive. Haha. He wanted the BBQ buffet...but that is going to be much much more exp.

Aiya, I think he likes those western style, in fact he wanted to separate to 2 days and have this outdoor buffet only for friends as we think relatives are more comfortable with sit-down dinner. He loves the casual concept with friends ever since he attended his friend's wedding at Alkaff Mansion but unfortunately the place has closed down

Personally I dun really like to separate into 2 days. I am those who like to slog all at one go rather than "suffer" twice...heee

BTW, would you mind telling me which BS were you under? Can email to me your photos at RSYC? I would like to see the gown that you wore there....if you dun mind lah...

No obligation ok? My email add is [email protected]. Thanks!

Hi Fish

What abt you? Which BS are you under? How do you find the "new style" of menu?

fish

Hi Pearline

Hahaha... seems like mine and your role is reverse. Actually initially I've also tot of throwing Chinese dinner for relatives at RSYC and having a BBQ at the Beacon for friends the next day since Eddie gave us 2 days stay at the club. But that was because my original date (this year) was Sat, so I don't mind doing over Sat & Sun. But hubby was the one who don't want to suffer twice. Since our new date next year is a Sunday, then having 2 days event won't work anymore.

I've checked out British Club too. They have a very nice setting (from the pictures they sent me) but they only offer buffet style and the maximum number of guests they can accomodate with buffet style is only 180. My dad and my brother are very against the idea of having buffet. My brother's wedding is also buffet style. The elderly guests have a tendency not to eat because they don't have the stamina to keep standing or walking to and fro to get food. Also, they are some guests who will leave immediately after they've eaten their fill, so my brother find it a bit demoralizing when he wants to take photos with them and they have already left. So, actually sit-down dinner is a better choice especially if you have a lot of elderly and very young relatives.

My BS is Silver Lining Bridal Couture. You leh?

fish

Hi Pearline

Hahaha... seems like mine and your role is reverse. Actually initially I've also tot of throwing Chinese dinner for relatives at RSYC and having a BBQ at the Beacon for friends the next day since Eddie gave us 2 days stay at the club. But that was because my original date (this year) was Sat, so I don't mind doing over Sat & Sun. But hubby was the one who don't want to suffer twice. Since our new date next year is a Sunday, then having 2 days event won't work anymore.

I've checked out British Club too. They have a very nice setting (from the pictures they sent me) but they only offer buffet style and the maximum number of guests they can accomodate with buffet style is only 180. My dad and my brother are very against the idea of having buffet. My brother's wedding is also buffet style. The elderly guests have a tendency not to eat because they don't have the stamina to keep standing or walking to and fro to get food. Also, they are some guests who will leave immediately after they've eaten their fill, so my brother find it a bit demoralizing when he wants to take photos with them and they have already left. So, actually sit-down dinner is a better choice especially if you have a lot of elderly and very young relatives.

My BS is Silver Lining Bridal Couture. You leh?

pearline

Hi Fish

I think Buffet style needs a lot of coordination, if not can be quite messy!

Wow, I love Silver Lining but my husband signed up with French. Yr gown must be very nice!

zenn

Hi Pearline,

I just emailed u my ps photos. Think there is one taken in rsyc. Did not upload my AD cos too many hee. Oh my bridal was Camellia @ penisula.

Btw wat kind of table seating ur friend had for his buffet?

Hi fish,
You going to change again? So when you meeting Eddie to discuss the details?

Fish & Pearline, I am like pearline - prefer to finish everything in one day. V tired leh hehehe Also, ve all the excitement at one day mah :p

fish

Hi Zenn

Ehhh....change what? Sorry, didn't catch it.

Eddie still haven't gotten back to us on the marquee costs yet. But its okay, I still have more than 8 months to go so its ok to wait for his response.

Camellia's gowns are nice! If you don't mind, can I see your PS photos too?

zenn

Hi fish,

Oh i tot u going to change to British Club hehe my mistake. How many tables you having?

Wats ur email? So how's ur process of designing gown? When PS?

fish

Hi Zenn

I think most likely 24 to 25 tables.

My email is [email protected]. Who's your PS and AD photographer?

Hahaa... my gown has been tailored long ago. I had my PS in March this year. I think by the time I have my AD, my gown will look out-dated liao.

zenn

Hi fish,

Oh same as mine. I had around 25 tables too.

Mine is Kelvin who is now wif chris ling. I engaged him for both my PS n AD. How abt u? So you must ve collected ur album? Any photos to share?

pearline

Hi Fish

If u have photos, show me too ok? Heee....
My email add: [email protected]

Hi Zenn

Got it...which part of RSYC did u take that photo at? Yr room? Wow, you look gorgeous leh...though cannot see the full gown but I feel that the design is very stylish and suitable for RSYC venue.

Can share how much were u charged on the AD photography? Did you have videography too?

BTW, did you have the montage to show har? Realize that RSYC package does not include the audio equipments, furthermore it's outdoor, so if I want to show the montage, how ah?

fish

Hi Zenn, Pearline

Yup, I've already have my album. My photos are in hard copy though. Have to scan the proof prints and upload. Will send you the link on Monday. Zenn, can I have your email addy?

Hi Pearline, when will you be having your PS?

My photographer is Travis from Utopia.