Republic of Sg Yacht Club RSYC

pearline

Hi Fish

Mine is still long long way...my AD is planned to be in Mar 2006 mah, so most likely will have it only around July/Aug next yr so that they can have sufficient time to do up the album well.

I am requesting to take the PS first then choose my AD gowns near Dec 05 or early 06, so my PS will be on OTR gowns only. I have the same concern as you, afraid that the gown will be out of fashion by the AD.

In general, do you know how fast the gown fashion changes?

zenn

Hi Pearline,
One was taken at the Beacon and the sunset was at Foreshore.

Thanks! I did tell my BS that I will b having outdoor dinner so she design something less formal or I should say more suitable for outdoor.

I paid $1k+ for my AD but cos I signed up last yr so I dont think the rate still apply now. Yes I did engage a videographer.

RSYC only provides the big screen. You ve to bring or they do charge for the projector. I managed to borrow from friend...

Hi fish,
Great! My email is [email protected]

Hey I like utopia's work! I bet ur photo must b v nice too.

fish

Hi Zenn

You look fabulous in the red kwa! I love kwa but somehow I just don't look good in it....
My colleague said my face is too 'western'.
haha.... I like Utopia's work too. All the pictures look so nice... but somehow mine don't look as good.... I guess the subjects matter a lot lah... hahahah

I've uploaded my pictures last night but don't know why when I sign in today... Yahoo just refuse to let me in. Will try again tonight or tomorrow morning.

I didn't take any pictures in RSYC though. We didn't have the time to go that many places. We started photo shooting at 11am, Travis wanted to end by 5pm.

Hi Pearline, suddenly remember I forgot to reply your email on the menu. The dishes of my original menu are only available in Menu B... the more expensive menu. I guess I got a good deal then.

As for fashion trend, I don't think it changes that fast.... its the use of material that changes from time to time. From what I read in the latest Bridal magazine, lace is in right now. But then, god knows what is in next year. If you stick with material like Duchess Satin and Organza, it should be quite safe. Also, classic designs like halter neck, spaghetti strap and bustier are always in fashion, so should be quite ok too.

Is yours a MTM package too? Wouldn't you want to wear your MTM gown for your PS? My package only include my MTM wedding gown, MTM evening gown and rental of kwa. So you can only see me wearing these 3 pieces in my photos. Plus my t-shirt and jeans photos.

zenn

How's ur weekends?

Fish, I find ur photos ok wat. Guess you ve high expectation :p Saw alot of Utopia signature sytle hehe

Hey ur WG has very long tail? If so, you ve to b careful on ur AD.

pearline

Hi Fish

Thanks for the photos. Yr gowns and photos look nice. I love this kind of casual concept.

While, my package only includes 1 MTM, so it can be WG or EG. For photo shooting, other than taking with the WG and EG, they offer 2 more gowns OTR for studio shooting and 1 gown for outdoor.

Yah, I very confused too leh, that's why dun know wat to do. From my friend's experience, he advised that I give them abt 2-3 mths to do the album so that if you need any changes to be made, it can be in time. MTM also need abt 2-3 mths and actually I hope to settle everthing by abt Jan 06, so if I count down, I may need to choose or MTM my gown near next year July/Aug if I want it for photo shoot as well, so I very scare my gown will be very out of fashion by then. ????

Hi Zenn

I agree with you! Fish, you may have to settle fast with yr gown if it's long tail and probably change to yr EG asap loh. If not, movement can be quite inconvenient.

fish

Hi Girls

Watch the Incredibles last night.... great show! And bum into HK actor Wu Zhen Yu (Francis Ng) on my way back home... hahaha... my colleague says I keep bumming into actor and actresses.

Hi Zenn, actually Hubby and I don't have very high expectations. We know we are not that gorgeous, so no matter how good the photographer is, we'll still not look like supermodels... hahaha...
I'm quite happy with most of the pictures. Some of the pics I don't like but hubby insist on taking them. End up now when he look at them, he also complaint they looked terrible.
I think the casual shots are the best of the lot.

According to Jit, my WG train is of 'standard length'. Don't know what that means but I guess it isn't too long. The really long one is the cathedral train. No worries, I run around wearing my WG during my PS without anyone helping me to hold up the train so I guess I should be able to manage it on my AD.

Hi Pearline, it depends on whether you want your WG to be inside the album or not. I don't think WG designs will change that fast.... changes are not drastic from year to year in any case. If you really want to play safe, you can choose those classic designs one with minimal detailing first. You can check with your designer whether you can add on more detailing nearer your AD or not.

pearline

Hi Fish

Haha, can see that you are a very active person. I have total confidence in you to manage the train but just make sure your hubby don't step on it. Hahaha....

Hmm, I think French does not have much design to choose on...so shd be quite safe to make my gowns earlier. Just that I quite kiasu...scare that later I see nicer gown then regret on my choice...heee. Never satisfying one.

Hi Zenn

BTW, I like the click and flip thing on the web that you sent us. How much did you engage them to do it for you?

zenn

Hi fish,

Nice show ya? Gd cos my hubby wants to watch this show too hee

Oh if standard ok lor. Cos outdoor if too long will b v troublesome. Since u already settled ur gowns n PS, guess u can b quite relax...

Hi pearline,
I was lucky to get it free cos they just started then so we are like helping him to advertise. You can email Ken to check the charges.

Personally I will prefer to ve my gowns in ur PS album. Cos on AD, not so many shots alone hee

pearline

Anyone has the intention to watch the Thai show "Shutter"?

Personally feel that the show is quite nice with some twist of the story towards the end. If you like horror show, may like to go for it.

pearline

Hi Zenn

Yeh, I watched the show last week. Very funny, probably becoz it's a Thai show so when you come to some horror scenes and most pple got shocked but then later all started to laugh.

After thinking through, I think both Fish and you are right loh. Should involve the gowns for the PS, anyway I think the basic fashion won't change so fast.

Thanks for all!

zenn

Gd morning gals...

Pearline,
Your wedding 2006 rite? Talk to ur bs n work backward the timing. You should be discussing the design ard 6mths (+/-) b4 ur AD.

Think now u ve to settle first will b ur venue...

fish

Hi Hi, Gals!!!

Pearline, I think like what Zenn say, you might want to settle the venue first. Having the venue confirmed will help you determine design of your gown. A ballgown style will not suit the casual feel of a marina club. But a floaty dress will look too casual if you hold your wedding in a hotel ballroom.

pearline

Halo gals,

Rt...the consultant actually advised me to try out the OTR gowns near June or July so that can start on the MTM if I can't find anyone that I like.

The most crucial thing for me now is to finalize on the AD and like what you say the venue. I think have to book the venue sometimes in Mar 05 rt? I heard most of the brides in this forum saying that venue has to be booked 1 yr in advance?!

Everyone around me kept saying y I so "gan cheong"...2006 wedding now start to plan...sob sob...am I really too excited???

zenn

Hihi...

Pearline,
Which part of 2006 is ur wedding? Ya usually book 1 yr b4 hand. Well, nothing wrong to book earlier lah. At least u wont b so rush mah.

I agreed wif Fish as venue will determine ur gown design...

Fish,
So wat r u bz wif lately?

pearline

Hi Zenn

Mine shd be March 06. Hopefully our ideal date is auspicious...if not have to crack the stupid brain again. Checking out on the date probably after CNY. Too lazy now...heee

Zenn, so wat r u busy with too? Now that u have settled down, anything happening on hand? Where did you go for your honeymoon?

zenn

Hi pearline,

Actually not exactly v early lah. Next wk dec liao leh. Are you waitin for tong shui and getting ppl to 'check' the date? Cos tong shui wont b out by then. N again, if you dont ve a date, you cant place ur booking too.

Went Hua Hin n BKK for HM. Actually Hua Hin nothing much but the resort v nice hee

Now that wedding is over, kinda very free. In fact more bz wif work... N kpo over u gals wedding hee

pearline

Hi Zenn

Wow, you also go for relaxing honeymoon hor? My ideal honeymoon is to go different parts of Australia...I simply love their slow pace of life but if no money then maybe just go any resort loh . Nowadays holiday anytime also can go mah.

Well, my parents know someone like "fortune teller" so will be seeking his help. Personally I dun like to make unnecessary trip to such place so very reluctant to seek advice now. My parents will always go to him during CNY so can get them to help....heee

Another prob is I can't get hold of Yr 2006 calendar with public holidays date specified. Have to at least standby a few mah so that no need to make another trip down to the "fortune teller" again. Any idea where I can get it?

zenn

Hi pearline,

Ya a relaxing one. Almost dun feel like coming back hee Initially wanted to go NZ but v x so decided to postpone to later.

Hmm.. so you can oni book after CNY lor? Hey I know there is a way to check 2006 PH. Perhaps u wanna to start a thread to find out?

pearline

Hi Zenn

Thanks for your advice...I very lazy leh...heee

Well, I think there is no real rush for me to book the venue since my AD still abt 1yr plus away. After CNY shd be ok.

At this moment, I am starting to do our venue hunt so that probably after CNY, we will just confirm on the venue and negotiate for more perks. If not, I dun think we will be free early next year too. Must be busy preparing for CNY.

NZ is also a place I am exploring but there are so many places within Australia that I want to go so planning for a trip within the country itself shd be cheaper hor? Hahaha.

Hi Fish

Wat abt u? Where are you going for honeymoon?

fish

Sorry... haven't been able to come in as frequently as the past few days. Work is starting to get seriously crazy now. Tons and tons of reports to do.... can't see light at the end of the tunnel until maybe February next year. Have been working 12 hours a day since last week.... very shag man.

I ask for permission to work from home today and tomorrow cos there's renovation work going on next to my workstation... very noisy and dusty and the smell of paint makes me very giddy.

Still have not thought of HM venue leh. Hubby wanted to go Greece, Turkey or Egypt. I tot of going western part of Europe (Spain, Italy and France). We always can't agree on holiday locations so that's why I only travel with him once. Since then, we never travel together... we all go separately with our friends... kekekeke...

Hi Zenn.... sorry, but what is Hua Hin?

zenn

Hi gals...

Pearline,
So beside RSYC, what other place you considering?

Yes Aust is so much more cheaper. Actually there r alot of nice place in Aust too. I miss 'The Rock' @ Sydney hee

Fish,
Hua Hin is 3-4hrs drive from BKK. Its a island but not developed yet...

Wow u like 'sold' to the co hee. Are u Auditor?

pearline

Haha...seems like we are so interested in Fish's career?!

Hi Zenn

Other than RSYC, we are considering Keppel Club (though knows nuts abt it till now), Orchid Country Club, Riverview Hotel...errh...still researching leh.

Actually my hubby prefers Ctry Club and for me it's fine but definitely must have room for the couples then more convenient mah so this also limited the choice of ctry club that we can explore with...probably Chevrons and I am trying to fish information for the new safra club at Mount Faber.

Any idea of other ctry clubs with room and also maybe good views like sea view?

What were the venues which you explore in previously?

zenn

Hi Pearline,

*high 5*! hee Fish must b thinking we v kpo hehehe

You looking at outdoor or ballroom? If ballroom, OCC grand ballroom very nice! But require quite high min table.

I attended a wedding dinner @ Chevron. Overall ok but nothing special. One thing to take note when holding at club is people tends to think that its cheaper and angbao mayb lesser too...

Spore dun ve many outdoor wif sea view. Some other 'not so common' venues will be Botanic Garden, Mt Faber, Zoo (pretty interesting leh), Asian Civilisation Museum (i seen a set up b4, very nice! but very x n cannot occupy alot of ppl), Chijmes, Spore Art Museum, Grassroot Club and there is another club in Changi but I cant remember the name.

pearline

Hi Zenn

We are considering bth outdoor and indoor loh. Yah OCC needs min 40 tables but I think if you really want to invite shd be able to meet the numbers.

Thought of Zoo and JBP too but my parents already commented that the place is smelly...hahaha

zenn

Hi pearline,

Oh dan OCC is a gd choice for indoor.

My hubby dun like Zoo n JBP too but I thought its quite a fresh idea hee

fish

Hi Pearline

I've checked out Chevron before.... it looks like a Chalet... no aircon at the reception area... a bit stuffy. At least RSYC has a lot of seabreeze coming in... so even without the aircon, its okay.

As for Zoo and Botanic Gardens, it is very expensive I think. I think may costs up to almost $1K per table, if you take into account the beer, marquee costs, rental of the location, table linen, corkage charges. JBP has a better deal. I was initially thinking of holding it at The Lodge... its air conditioned, so not smelly at all. But my dad says its too far.

I've checked out British Club via email... never been on location since they can't fit in the number of guests I have. But I think the ambience should be very good. And they have only buffet style which suits your needs. How many tables are you looking at?

The Pines is also not bad. Its about $680+++ per table I think. Can't really remember. And its near town, not in ulu places.

pearline

Hi Fish

We are also looking at abt 25-30 tables. Wanted to consider Pines but a bit off our ideal budget. We hope to get something below $650 after all the taxes and svc charges.

People like us want cheap and good...hahaha...my sixth sense just tells me that we may end up settling between OCC and RSYC but my husband does not believe in me....we will see....

Hey, BTW u have not tell us what's your profession?

pearline

Hi Zenn

Not sure yet leh. Probably within the next 2 weeks since he said that he is more available in Dec.
Any advice or "warning"? Haha...

zenn

Hi pearline,

No warning lah hahaha Basically he is very friendly and flexible so you can tryin bargaining with him hee Oh as he is pretty bz, so its gd to get him write down whatever you guys discuss...

pearline

Hi Zenn

Yah loh...I think Banquet sales is not their priority. The other day when I called him, he was still trying to get more information from me to identify which couple were we...

On the other hand, I got better follow up service from other clubs and hotels. They are the one who kept calling me for status.

zenn

Hi pearline,

I understand what you mean. Afterall, RSYC is still a member club so I guess their attn will b on member n club activities...

fish

heeeheeee.... keep my occupation a secret lah... its a deskbound job but in a niche market.

Gotten a quote from Eddie at last. He quote us $6K! That's a lot! I'm trying to get some external quotes to see how much he's overcharging us. But the quote includes the fans and lighting. Zenn, just to check with you did you ask Eddie to exclude the lighting part?

fish

Hi Zenn

Its for 23-25 tables. I've obtained some external quotation.... its only 3K plus to 4K. Don't know why he always mark up by a few thousand.
I hate bargaining but looks like I've no choice but to bargain with him. If its a few hundred dollars, I can still close 1 eye but its about $2K difference leh. Worse come to worse, I'll forfeit the deposit and look for another venue.

pearline

Hi Fish

I heard from many brides that they have difficulties to get a venue for next year's wedding. If you have to look for another one now, I'm afraid you may face great problems.

I thought Zenn mentioned that she was charged abt $4K plus for the marquee? Like what Zenn told me, the marquee that Eddie supplies may be different from those that we get quotation from. The one that Eddie has is with the internal supports well covered up.

zenn

Hi fish,
I paid $4.6K. If necessary, you can quote me to Eddie. My wedding was just few months back so cant be that great rite?

Yes like wat Pearline mentioned, the marquee maybe different. Did you ask ur vendor does it includes light, fan, internal cover and plastic sheets (in case rain)?

Hi Pearline,
Didnt know next yr so popular ya?

fish

Hi Zenn and Pearline

I called Eddie yesterday. I told him its too pricey and he said it is indeed pricey because he's only giving me an estimate. He says he needs to work it backwards. Don't know what he means. But all I know is that it should not be done this way. He should get the quote from his vendor and tell me the price what. Its ok if he mark up a little, but to mark up a few thousand is really too much.

I told him the quotes I can from external vendors are around $3-4K. In fact, the most expensive one (Monogolian hexagonal shape one) is only $5K. He said he'll calculate and call me when its done. Geez.....

Hi Zenn, I did tell the vendor its for wedding and needs to include light, fan, internal lining, chairs, stage etc.... one of them actually attaches pictures for me to see so that I know what the tents will look like when they are set up. Thanks for your offer, Zenn. Really, 'Gan Ji Bu Jin'! I'll see what he says when we next meet up. If its still so pricey, I'll ask him to dig his old records to see how much he charge you.

Really big headache man...

pearline

Yah loh, I'm quite surprised too. Personally has a friend's friend also cannot find a dinner venue for next year wedding. Funny thing is it seems like yr auspicious days are also others' auspicious days.

I very anxious now liao...Mine is early 2006, would it be that others are also starting to place their booking? Haha...

I going to get my parents'help to check on the dates liao...think cannot wait till CNY.

zenn

Hi gals..

Fish,
If you can get less than $4k, its very gd price. The one Eddie used is consider A-line marquee.

Oh no problem lah. I am so excited for u gals hee...

Pearline,
Looks like nowadasy singaporean really getting more KS hee. Ya you better check ur date soon so that at least you can make a tentative booking...

So ve u visited the rest of the venues?

pearline

Hi Zenn

I have been to Orchid Country Club before but may be going down again as I would like to explore into the outdoor venue.

Have you heard of any comments on Downtown East? I am considering them too but their package does not include parking so not sure if negotiable for them to throw in.

Ai...actually not many venues in mind leh...very tired liao.

Meeting up with Eddie on 18th Nov and probably going to Keppel Club on the same day too.

How many choices did you look at the other time to compare?

zenn

Hi Pearline,

I was considering OCC garden too. Went to see the set up but don't really like it. We only visited a few and the moment we went to RSYC, my hubby and I love the place and we settled for that hee. Lazy to source around. Anyway Spore dun ve many outdoor wif sea view...

Which part of Downtown East? No feedback on this so far.

Err.. you mean 18 Dec rite? Hee..

pearline

Hi Zenn

So sorry...thought I still living in November...heee

There are 2 places at Downtown East, one is their ballroom and the other is the D'Marquee but D'Marquee needs at least 50 tables.

I also very lazy leh...so I told my husband most likely will settle with RSYC or OCC. Y u dun like the outdoor setting of OCC har? Too simple?

zenn

Hi Pearline,

Oh I seen the D'marquee b4 but nv been inside. Its a aircon marquee?

I am not sure is the outdoor OCC still the same. The last time was a 'garden something'? Its actually at the atrium facing the garden. Hmm... not v nice lor. Also, as compare btw garden n sea, we prefer the sea view hee You seen the OCC outdoor setting b4?

pearline

Hi Zenn

I have never beern to the D'marquee and OCC outdoor setting. But if I'm not wrong the D'marquee is air-conditioned one.

Anyway, also had a discussion with my husband. He still prefers to have those buffet concept so if Eddie can give us a good quotation, we may be like you settle with RSYC loh. We also prefer sea view.

Wanted to meet Eddie next Sat but he will be off...looks like I will have more exciting update for you gals only after the following week.

Hi Fish

How's your negotiation har?

zenn

Hows ur weekend? Went to watch Bridget Jones - nice show!

Pearline,
Gd luck to ur negotaiton wif Eddie too and hope to hear gd news from you...

Fish,
Ve not seen you ard for awhile. Bz wif work?

fish

Hi hi gals

Haven't pop by for quite a while. Was rushing a few reports last week.
Plus new colleague join us and my boss want me to teach her, so a little tight for time.

Had my JC class gathering on Sat. Its so fun! One of my classmate is going to be a mummy next year. So far, half of the gals are either married or going to be married soon. Haizz.... time really flies. We were joking that the gals have become better looking over the years while the guys have deterioriated... and the guys rebuked that it was because they are not wearing makeup...hehehhe...

Still have not heard from Eddie yet....He's supposed to call me to arrange a day to go down to the club for a discussion.... aiyo, at the rate he's going, by the time, he arrange for a meeting, maybe my AD is over liao....