Republic of Sg Yacht Club RSYC

pearline

Hi Zenn

Seems like you have always been very fast in catching new shows ah!

Hi Fish

Which JC were you in? I guess you must be quite surprised too that why people around you got married so fast right?

I think you better dun wait for Eddie to call leh...maybe he can't even remember your existence. U know lah...I guess you also can see him only on Sat and he is like on leave if not it's his off day as he only works on alternate Sat. Then he says he knocks off at 6pm on weekdays.

I still asked him if he has any appt for the coming Sat and he said "no"...he is waiting for appt leh....hahaha

zenn

Fish,
Poor thing. Dont overwork ya hee

Well time flies. Esp when comes to gathering dan we will realise we all old liao -sob- hehe

Ya ya you ve to call Eddie! He very forgetful one!

Pearline,
Actually ve not watch show for long time hee

fish

Hi Hi gals!

My hubby has called Eddie yesterday. He said he cannot give me the $4.6K quote that he gave Zenn because there were more than 1 booking at that time. Aiya, I think its just bullshitting lah. We think he's trying to get us to sign the new package like what he offers Pearline. A fixed cost per table for outdoor. This will work out to be cheaper per table as compared to if we paid $6K for the marquee.... that will work out to be $720 per table liao.

Pearline, I'm from NJC, gals you leh? Maybe we may end up being schoolmates?

Actually, my JC friends were quite surprised why so many of us are still not married yet. Only 3 of us are officially married... another 3 going to get married in 2005/2006. The rest still no news yet. In comparison, a few of my uni friends are parents liao already.

pearline

Halo!

Fish, you meant he wants you to take up the $620 per table package now?

I was with SAJC...forgot that bth of you staying at the East side so most likely we may not be in the same sch...but I was from NUS, Bizad...any of u from there? I think not many U in spore so more likely to have met each other there right?

Well, most of my JC and U friends still not married, all like me still struggling for a right career...but surprisingly it was those Secondary sch friends who got married early and some also have kids....

Zenn, so how's your family planning...going to have kids soon?

zenn

Fish, huh? Don't they ve a fixed price from the vendor? Weird... He confirmed its $6k?

Pearline, my hubby wants kids but I thought it will b nice to ve sometime for ourselves first hee. May look into it next yr...

fish

Hi Zenn,

I believed he should have a fixed price from the vendor, but they are unlikely to let us see how much the vendor quote them. If not, its tough for them to mark up mah.

Hi Pearline

Eddie didn't say he wants me to take up the $620 per table package but my hubby feels he purposely made the marquee costs very ex so that we'll definitely switch to the $620 per table package lor. In fact, he hasn't quote me that package he offers you yet. Anyway, I've calculated, even if he let me have the marquee at $4.6K, the overall per table costs will be about the same as the $620 per table package.

Nope, I stayed in the West side... I'm from NUS, Bizad too! Which year did you graduate?

pearline

Hi Fish

Surprise to see you in here so early leh...more settled down with your job liao?

Oh yah hor, now recall you said you live at Clementi.
I graduated in Dec 2001 coz I accelerated my course to be completed earlier by half a year...wat abt you?

So when are you going down to see Eddie again? I think better to talk face to face loh. BTW, why you did not settle on the pricing when you booked with him har?

Hi Zenn

Did you make many trips to RSYC for enquiries and preparation har? Do we have to like go down and see whether they have put up the marquee and decor well, that kind of stuff?

Anyone of you heard of Blessedrom? I just saw their ad on the HER WORLD BRIDES magazine. They assist in holding outdoor wedding, in charge of everything from finding venue to decor and catering. Wonder how much they charge man.

zenn

Hi gals...

Pearline,
Ya ya must enjoy first. Once ve kids everything changes... Hee...

Hmm... think 2-3 times. Cant really remember but this Eddie very funny one - didnt push me to confirm so I made a tentative booking n paid later. Actually we were quite 'brave' during then cos we only get to see the actual set up few mths b4 my AD (after I made payment) cos there wasnt any outdoor wedding. We just based on photos -_- Closer to our AD, we did meet up wif Eddie n florist to discuss the decor n change of menu.

Is Blessedrom a wedding planner?

Fish,
Well, we don't expect Eddie to show us how much the vendor quote but cant be too great diff rite? Perhaps you should get him to give you a confirm price for the no of tables you need?

Btw, you stayed in Clementi?

fish

Hi Pearline

Heehee... then I'm your senior. I graduated in 1999....the same year you step into NUS, so there's no way you could have seen me in school.

Hi Zenn. Yup, that's right. I stay in clementi. Why leh? Don't tell me you also stay in clementi?

fish

Hi Zenn

I'm staying in ave 3.... that's why RSYC is my first choice among all clubs... easier & faster to travel there after the morning ceremony. But will be moving to CCK after customary. Where u staying now?

Which school did you study in? But then you look quite young lah, so I guess we won't be in same school....

zenn

Hi fish,

Staying at punggol now. But didnt come up to punggol on AD cos kinda out of the way hee

Young? Think I am older dan both of u hehehe

pearline

Dun compare age leh...very sensitive one....all look pretty can liao...heeee

Fish, u moving to CCK? Wat a small world! My own flat is at CCK Crescent. Now is like my weekend chalet....

Hi Zenn

I dun think Blessedrom is a wedding planner but quite similar..just that they only take care of the outdoor wedding or solemization ceremony. You can take a look at www.blessedrom.com

zenn

Hi pearline,

Ya ya as long as we look and stay young hehehehe

This Blessedrom very interesting leh. Why dun you call n enquire? Let us know too hehe

fish

Hi Pearline

Aiyoh... Singapore really small. I'm also moving to CCK Cres. Scarly you became my neighbour. Now, I'm only there on weekend to clean up.

Heeheee.. Zenn, yah that's right! As long as we look young can oredi... Till now I still feel like I'm 18. :p

zenn

Fish, you n I are 'x-neighbours' and now you and Pearline are 'new neighbours' hehehehe

pearline

Real small small SINGAPORE...hahaha.

Fish, which block are you moving in to? I stay at Blk 691A.

Hi Zenn

I already sent my enquiries to them online but they have not get back to me. Probably will call them towards the end of the week if there is still no reply.

I very disappointed with the Keppel Club leh. They also never reply email one so I escalated to the Operation Manager then the lady replied. After that I sent her another email, she MIA again. Called the main line many times but no one picks up the phone....Spore's svc level really drops....

zenn

Hi pearline,

I guess hotel service is much better then club so you really cant ve much expectation from club. Quite sad ya...

pearline

I have gotten the reply from Blessedrom. The lady is quite nice to come back to me with suggested venue, quotation and photos. She recommended Fort Canning to me due to the no. of guests I'm looking at. The price is quite steep. Just the tentage, chairs, lightings, etc cost abt $10K. This excludes the decor, catering and rental of the venue.

BTW, just like to check with you gals, did anyone of you sign up for the SporeBrides Mbrship card? Is it useful?

Did anyone of you attend any wedding show b4 too? Nice?

zenn

Hihi...

Pearline, this Blessedrom very efficent ya. Err $10k very X leh! Imagine plus decor, catering n rental of venue... wow going cost u a bomb!

I did visit Fort Canning but in the end drop the idea cos its inconvenient and greenary oni...

Didnt signed up the membership card. Well, if you going to sign up wif those BS or photography which is under the card dan worth while lor.

Yes been to wedding show. If you wan, go to those hold in hotel. Usually they are not so mushy. Try not go to exhibition cos too mushy. Wait, I tot you signed up wif BS liao?

fish

Good morning.... yeh... 2 more days to weekend!

Pearline, my flat is directly opp Unity Primary School, so I think we are staying in 2 different clusters.

Wah, Keppel Club so jiat lat ah? Actually, I tried to enquire OCC in 2003. They never bother to follow up with me, so I dropped them immediately. The reason why I sign up RSYC is because Eddie is so easy going and not at all pushy. That's why despite his snail like approach to enquiries, I still close 1 eye lor.

Nope, I don't have Singapore Bride Membership. I've been to the Female Brides wedding show held at Raffles The Plaza in 2003 before. My hubby loves attending the show... he said its very worth it... we pay $15 for 2 persons and get to taste the delicious food...plus watch fashion show. And furthermore, I won the Ralph Laurence Romance Parfum Set (EDT + body lotion + hand lotion)during the bridal show. Maybe I'll sign up for another one next year before my wedding lah...

pearline

Yah loh...actually quite expected...just want to see what kind of new innovations they have...hahaha

I signed up with French BS liao but never been to any wedding show before leh so feel like going to just see see look look. There is one coming up in Jan organized by Graceful Image. I like their gowns so feel like going to take a look. Anyway, it's FREE...heee

ccat

Anyone knows if they will allow the reservation of then Beacon (2nd floor) (inside-resturant and outside) for wedding dinner?

zenn

Hi gals...

Fish,
Did you spoke to a lady from OCC? I ve bad experience wif them too.

Pearline & Fish,
Happy going wedding fair ya hehehe

Serach,
They used to open up the aircon section for booking but the last time I heard from them, they no longer allowed. Meaning you can only book the outside (non aircon area). Not sure any further changes again so best is you check wif them again...

pearline

Hi Serach

U can but only with 0.05% chance....

Eddie took us there to see but told us that is a very "hot" hang out place for the mbrs so usually they will not let out for private functions.

He told us of a case that he tried very hard to fight for the couples but then that person's backgrd is diff....1) The groom is a mbr over there, 2) Dun know the family or wat also owns another mbrship....

So u see....with that he already still have to "fight" for the case...If you are also a mbr then I think u can try loh.

Hi Zenn

I previously also have bad experience with OCC leh. Mine was a guy...can't remember the name. Very ya ya papaya...so bth my husband and I were so pissed off. We decide not to approach him again but if we have interests will go to another coordinator.

This time I sent my enquiry and this lady Serene got back to us...I think I will approach her instead...are u referring to her?

Wat's yr bad experience?

ccat

hi Gigirt,
thanks for notifying me...really apprecaite the tip off....heh....

you signed up yr bridal package yet?
if not u may wana try precious moments bridal...excellent customer service, nice WG oso.

zenn

Hi gals...

Pearline,
I cant remember the name of the lady. I emailed but no reply so I called up but she dun seem interested so I just went down n see myself. In the end decided to drop the place...

fish

Hi Zenn

I email them... the first time round, they replied within a day. Then I email them some other enquiries but they never reply. I tried calling them a few times but nobody picks up the phone. Even when I leave messages, nobody bothers to call me back. So I get fed up and drop it out of my choice.

Hi Pearline, sure, no problem! Lets go for the Bridal show together... since its free. When exactly is it? Zenn, wanna come along? Actually, I prefer bridal shows organized by the bridal magazines like Female Magazine Bridal show or Style Magazine Bridal Show... these types of bridal shows tend to feature more designers and have more attractive prizes... but of course, have to pay for it one lah.

pearline

Hi gals gals

Serach, I have already signed up with French. Thanks for your advice anyway. BTW, you considering RSYC as well?

Hi Fish
The show is on 23rd Jan (Sun) but I am taking the 4-8pm slot as my husband has to go church in the morng and we usually go gym after that. They have another session at 1-4pm. I think you can sign up on this SingaporeBrides website but I tried over these 2 days and didn't work leh. Think some problems with the link. Otherwise, you will have to get the form from Her World Brides liao.

Yah...Zenn...let's go together if you are free leh....just go for the lucky draws lah...hahaha

pearline

Hi Zenn

For my case, my hubby will be going. It's at Heritage House if I'm not wrong...near Bugis...

Tell yr husband go see sexy lady loh...hahaha

brides2005

I have found a nice florist in bedok south road, next to pinyi sec sch.They can design simple DIY fresh flowers decor for you at your budget, but you have to ask your helpers to tie the flowers for you.Not to worry, they will done up the floral design.you just need to tie the attached ribbon to the poles or pillars yrself.it's simple and hassle free.this will help you to slove some decorative problem you have if you plan to have your wedding or solemisation at RSYC.The shop address, no 2 bedok south road nursery plot 1, singapore 469268.it's deep inside the corner.shop name is: the Sun Culture" tel 62418685.look for serena.she's the floral designer.very friendly and approachable lady.give them a try.

fish

Hi Pearline

I can't find the link that you spoke of leh. Can put it up here? Aiyoh, Sunday evening ah.... a bit tough.. got to check with my hubby first.

zenn

Hi gals...

Huh I dun buy wedding mag liao leh! Ya evening dunno can or not. Nowadays weekends pretty bz - ve to visit my family n in-law....

pearline

Looks like life after marriage is the same for all...hahaha...

I got registered about 2 yrs ago and since then also have this headache of having to juggle our time among parents, in-laws and personal activities....

zenn

Hihi...

Pearline, yalor even doing houseworks ve to plan too hehehehe Dan my work is rather irregular hours so sometimes quite tough...

fish

Hi Pearline

I also don't buy wedding mag liao leh. I tried the link, can fill up form but cannot submit. Looks like I won't be going.

Eddie still has not contacted us to fix an appointment. Hubby called him again and he said he needs to work out the costs before he can meet up with us.

Zenn, are you in IT or shipping line? I'm in consultancy line (hehee...self-exposed liao)... tot of doing freelancing next time if have children but then I'm not well-known lah.. so nobody will come to me one...

zenn

Hi gals..

Fish, I am in insurance so hrs irregular... Wat kind of consultancy?

Ur wedding in Jun rite?

fish

Hi Zenn

That's right... its in Jun. I'm a bit impatient so I'm quite frustrated that Eddie keep holding us back with his slow response.

Consultancy.. as in business consultancy eg market research, products performance lah. That's why I said niche market. Very small industry.

pearline

I also in consultancy...but in HR...haha...looks like we can have a combination of svcs...financial, Business and HR consultancy.

Fish, your job seems very interesting leh...
No need to be well-known one in biz...just ensure that you build up good networks now and always remain in contact. Of course, right now u must ensure yr existing custrs are happy with u lah so next time u can go back to them

zenn

Hi gals..

Looks like we are all the service line hehe

Fish, how abt giving Eddie a deadline to revert?

Serach, are you looking at buffet or sit down dinner?

pearline

Hi Fish

I do agree with Zenn. Probably u may like to fix an appt with him and tell him that when u meet him u want to settle on all the loose issues.

Hi Serach

Eddie previously quoted me $620/table for sit down dinner but pricing is going to increase every year.

I am meeting him this Saturday, enquiring him on the buffet thing too so perhaps I can provide you with more information then.

Otherwise, you may like to call or email him for quotation loh. Have u been to RSYC b4?

ccat

i've seen the place before...i have only 120 guests so am wondering if the cost of the marquee will increase the cost per pax drastically.
w/o marquee is $62+++ per pax.

pearline

Hi Serach

Sorry, I dun get you. 62+++ per pax for buffet w/o marquee?

The $620 I mentioned is including marquee leh. I don't think the buffet is that expensive too.

Anyway, I understand from Eddie that they only charge GST as it's a mbr club so they dun have svc charges. Where does your +++ come from? Who told you this pricing?