RELC Hotel, Tang Court Restaurant

lyloh

Hi Blur.. i manage to source a VG with the help of Meikuan.. http://video-box.webs.com/ ^.^ Hee.. Probably you will like to check with him..

Do you have msn or email that i can add you? You do not accept private message, i can't send the blog link to you..

reychell

Hi Liyan, how re you? Im quit ebusy preparing stuff. Just finish GDL. My AD is 11.10.09. Very soon liao.
Blur, another vg u can look for benjamin ong. Hes doing my AD also. His website www.themontageguy.com. The rates are reasonable too. Can chk it out

vilopup

li yan: haha sorry ah, i duno how to do the PM thingy.. my email is [email protected]

Thanks for sharing....

By the way.. I am more familiar with PGs.. but i seriously got no clue what to look out for VG.. how tell they are good or not?

And usually the price range is like what?

*clueless*

lyloh

Hi Mei Kuan, yr AD getting nearer.. Finish preparation? Best wishes to you in advance..

As for me yet to start on anything related to AD.. Have to wait till my exam over then i will start the preparation..

Hi Blur, i email you le..

vilopup

li yan: Thanks! I got it le.. love the site and your story... Your HB is nice and romantic.. mine is hopeless at being romantic.. tsk tsk...

Can share more on your wedding shopping in HK? I got a trip booked next feb after CNY.. Thinking of waiting to go there and get some stuff...

I love the stickers that you printed leh.. can share contacts?

neuross

I'm a May 2010 BTB! Jus picked our AD last week, so lotsa preparations going on.

Will be going down to Tang Court this Sat afternoon for viewing followed by da Bridal Show @ Suntec on same day. Sun will view a few more banquet venues.

Hope we can make decision soon cos running out of time liao ~ :p

lyloh

Hi Blur.. u go to prince edward there.. there sell alot of wedding stuff.. i wanted to buy tea cup set for tea ceremony de.. but on the other hand never cos scare fragile so never buy.. Got lovely AD shoe.. The price pretty reasonable..

The sticker i bought at causeway bay opp sogo.. there is a stretch of shop.. bought from those like rental shop near satchi... not sure if by the time u go still around.. got alot of design to choose from..

Hi Nana.. hope you can join our family.. ^.^ I am going on sun evening for food tasting.. can't wait to taste the yummy food..

reychell

Nana, hope y=u can be tang court BTB soon. U made the rit choice in choosing tang court. Food and services are great. U will not regret ur choice. U need help in BS. I can recommend one to u. If u interested can leave ur email down.

Liyan, really excited as the day getting nearer. Seems i have nothing much to prepare le, but u never noe will always lat min pop up something. Next week i will be on leave liao to prepare for the big day.

neuross

Wow! Thx everybody for da replies. ^^

Actually I hv not cfm choosing Tang Court yet. Going to see Noble House, Qianxi and River City too since it's within our budget. Anyone here have see these places?

Li Yan> Thx for da invite but not nice to disturb u all since u all are going for food tasting :p

Meikuan> U r MBR bride rite? :p Cos you sent me da package details before in July but my bf haven't propose then. But now i can consider abt it already! Haha ~ I will take a look at da Bridal Show this wkend @ Suntec 1st. See wot da BS there can offer. If I cannot find MBR booth then I will prolly make a trip down to their shop. ^^ Thx for ur help and hope u hv a fantastic wedding!

reychell

Nana. MBR usually dun participate in fairs d. Maily ple go there trhu recommendation and word of mouth. They recently only have bridal fair at madrin hotel. Be careful when u go rd shows cos the staff very hard up for sales and will promise and event note down in invoice. When u go there gowns are limited and they cant promise u a lot of things. Do go to the actual bridal shop to take a look at the gowns and see if u can click with the people, their services b4 u made any decission. Its best not to sign up during fairs. If u go MBR look for uncle quek, tell them i recommend d, he will take good care of you.

neuross

Thx for your advice Meikuan! Cos I read from other threads, many suggested that da BTB go down to actual BS to take a look, if they really love da BS then wait for Bridal Show to sign up a package, in order to get more perks. Anyway, I'm juz gonna drop by da Bridal Show to look see look see. Haven't been to 1 yet :p Does your package include indoor and outdoor PS?

Can I just ask how long in advance do you all take your pre-wedding shoot? My AD is in Mid May 2010. Not sure if I have time to slowly check out a few BS before I decide.

Feeling so lost now!

mooncloud

Hi nana... I saw you in the may thread!!! I am also a may bride. Wahaha... I am doing my pre-wedding prob in dec or jan bah. Dun have to feel lost. Just a suggestion. Find your venue first. Coz ur date quite hot. (of coz hopefully you are with us at RELC)...

Then followed by the BS. For BS you can look thru magazines first. Take a look at the style you want. So that when u go over to BS, you can request to try on those gowns tat u think u like. And see if they have it. Must know wat is impt to you. Some brides like photos. Some love gowns. Focus on the one more impt to you then at least a bit easier to shortlist. I am a gown person. So when i went to my BS straight away i tell them dun talk so much i want to try. If ok then we discuss. I tried close to 10 even before talking abt the package loh. Wahaha... If need help then let me noe bah. Since our dates so near. ;)

reychell

Nana, my package include outdoor and indoor ps.Main thing is to go to the BS try the gowns and chk out their services. For me my AD is 11.10.09. My 1st appt was in mar. If u take mtm 8 mths b4 ur AD will be just nice. U will have ample time. Therefore choosing a rit BS is impt as it will walk with us these 8 mths. Settle ur banquet and BS first then follwed by PG and VG and ur rings.

neuross

Christie> Hey! U oso here! Haha... I'm oso a gown person but at da same time I hv to take care of my budget lah. So cannot chiong to try gown then discuss abt package. Skali da quote is out of my budget but i love their gown, i will be very depress de. :D I going to view da banquet venues and BS this wkend. Shortlisted 5 each. See too many hard to make decision lah. Actually, how many venues or BS did u all visited before deciding on signing da package?

Meikuan> I juz called Uncle Quek to make appt. for this Sat afternoon to look at their gowns & package. ^^ You mean normally bridal package dun include AD PG & VG ah?

reychell

Im not too sure some bridal do offer some do not.Im also gn down thsi sat to have my final fit leh. Wat time u be there. I will be there at 5.30pm. Maybe we will see each other. Just tell uncle quek ur my fren he will give u gd discount d. If u have any concerns just let him know, he will work it out for you. Hope can meet up with u then.

vilopup

Wah, this thread suddenly become so happening again..

NaNa: I can feel your excitement of a new BTB, sourcing for the BS and venue... Ya, I agree with the gals... get the venue out of the way first... once the date is gone, its gone and you have to source for another alternative that meet your budget and the number of tables... That sounds even more painful than sourcing for BS.

I guess when you check for BS package, those that provide AD PG and VG may not be a good thing bah, if you cannot see portfolio or their styles on whether you like or not... unless you are not a photo person.. I take more pains in choosing my PG than my gowns... so take note of that

vilopup

Meikuan: Have fun counting down to the AD... must be very excited rite!

li yan: Thanks for the tip... actually i was thinking of getting a kwa over there in HK so that i can keep it for my daughter or daughter in law next time... but dun think its very affordable.. sure ex like hell.. I better stick to tailoring a cheongsam in singapore...

reychell

Nana, will get to see u then. U just wait for me loh. But Im sure u will spend some time talking to uncle quek. The 1st time i went MBR i spent almost 3 hours there, looking at the gowns the album asking a lot qns b4 signing up loh. U have any contact hp no. we can keep in contact. My email is [email protected], u can leave ur contact in yahoo

neuross

Meikuan> Emailed you my hp no. liao. Actually Uncle Quek got tell me normally they dun let pple try gown on wkend cos many customers coming for their gown fitting sessions. But he say will let me try a few to see if I like their gowns before we discuss abt da package details. :D

Blur> I looked at many PG & VG websites and they all look quite da same to me. So hard to choose. Then those highly recommended ones so expensive ~ Anyway, I better settle my venue 1st on this wkend. haha...

reychell

Nana, if u tell uncle quek i recommend u, trying gowns shud be no prob. Actually u can go mbr see their pg profile not abd d. As for vg u can consider mine and the one i recommend liyan. I feel pg n vg its just for remembrance no need so professional d loh unless u wat everything to be very good.

jaslyn288

Hi nana, ermmm... AD is once in the life time de.. so i will tink a gd PG & VG is very impt on my big day de.. Not getting a pro one but at least get a good & acceptable one.. cos on the day, is all on 'live', u will not have any NGs again, like bs, if u are not happy with the pix, u can ask for re-take but not for AD lor.. output given is worth it..

as for bs.. dun rush, u still got time rite? most impt is venue.. u signed up with RELC aldy? haha.. no regrets with tang court.. dun mistaken, harry dun pay me commission.. lol
coming back to bs, like a frd of mine, signed implusively with MRB, very next moment she regret.. I am not saying MRB is bad or wat lah.. juz tat, since u hv shortlist few choices le, den find out whatever information u need, den gO home sit down n gO over again den make ur final decision.

*juz for remembrance no need so professional* ermmm... MBR is not cheap oso lo... if i am not wrong is coming 3.8k - 4k, juz for package.. plus topup will b a bomb..

of cos, i can understand all brides wants to hv a wonderful and unforgetable wedding..

Most impt, wat kind of thing u want.. wat are u looking at.. and most impt budget..

I had a budget wedding.. tat's y i gOt my BS in JB and banquet with RELC and PG/.VG frm EmoTIOnpixx.. troublesome but nO choice.. but at the of the day, output given is good and i tink is worth it..

hope u dun find me kpo.. I oso want u to make a right choice than later regret. of cos, mine is juz an example..

inorder not to confuse urself, juz let urself to use 3 BSs and 3 venue for comparasion.. cos the more u see, the more 'luan' u are, at the end of the day, u still cant make decision..

planning is impt, so if u are having hot date, (i am not v sure abt ur date) den suggest better settle venue den search for BS.. cos BS will be there for ur date de.. but unlike venue lo..

hee~~ long post.. paiseh... Hope it helps u and those upcoming ones... if needs more helps or suggestion, or guide, u can let me know lor.. at my time, i oso very lost de.. learn as it goes.. dun rush, mai gan cheong and u will make wise decision de.. =D

mooncloud

wah.. the thread beri fast siaz... haha.. think we must always have new pple interested in tang court then everyone wake up... jaslyn also come to the rescue liao. ha..

nana> anyway, hope u are not too overwhelmed by so much info. Tang court pple very helpful one. Esp jaslyn. That time i blur she also help me a lot. Anyway, like wat she say... really must keep to ur budget. Dun impulsive ah... must ren okie.. since this weekend u gg down to look see look see then make sure u see everything liao then decide. If not later regret.. i noe of brides who regret then end up selling off their package then lose money. So must be careful.

Sit down and plan ur budget. Esp if u want to top up photos one then must make sure u got enuff. AD stuff is impt de. At least to me lah. Coz PS photo not nice can dun choose. The AD one if the PG take not nice u cannot rewind ask another PG to take mah. But dun break the bank juz becoz of tat ah.. Keep within ur limits loh. Discuss with ur bf.. i think after ur BS and venue shopping this weekend u shld roughly have a better idea liao. One suggestion.. keep all ur cost as low as possible. Coz somehow or rather.. u will end up topping up on this and that. At least u start off low.. Wun be too siong..

Need any help.. i think all the lovely brides here will help. Haha.. We need pple like u to push us awake. ;)

tianai83

Long time no see.. Hmmm just like to say hmmmmm is good to see carefully and keep to budget and oso one's limit.
But i have been to MBR too, and i think the PG is really nice. Wanted to sign up with them but was way out of budget, n the AD car is not provided so wanted to have a more round up BS. So i choose BDC, but upon taking up, haha i regretted cos they has been a lot of complain about them on cheating the customer's money, though it did not happen to me but i still felt angry somehow.

Hmmm anyway if u have shortlist a few BS, it will be good to go n take a look on the thread of what have written. Oso can go MBR take a look, their photo is really one of the best. I think both AD PG n Pre Wedding PS is very important, it captures the moment of our feeling at that time when we are taking photo. So hmmm its good to choose carefully. other than MBR, you can try Bridal Zone also. Their WG is able to bring out for PS once got btb wear twice or more, its not like the rest of the BS, they have OD n ID WG one, the OD WG is very plain and not nice.

Hope it helps. But i can only say if you really like Tang Court you can really sign up with them cos, Harry is one of the most responsible banquet manager i have ever meet, if not for my family's comment, i will still like to hold my banquet with Tang Court.

reychell

I do agree with the rest main thing we can handle within our budget that is very important. Cos preparation for a wedding not easy also.

Jas, i bot the stuff from the suntec cart that day when i sms you. Thks for ur help. The auntie give me 20% discount straight.

neuross

Thx for all your fantastic advice. I was so excited abt viewing Tang Court tomolo but my future MIL juz told us that the guest list has increased to about 35 tables which I dun think Tang Court could accommodate. So sad ~

jaslyn288

Nana, guest listing thing is very very hard to say de.. like mine, i booked for 20 initally de.. in the end, i increased to 28 tables but when come to confirmation, i left 25 tables.. in the end, only 24 tables occupied..

dun b sad lah.. tell you lor.. my mum oso like to use the word "about" but which in the end, when come to finalise, is totally diff de..

my key words: mai gan cheong, having a clear mind, to make right decision.. =D

haha.. meikuan, i din help you tat day oso.. =D

mooncloud

Aiyoh... How come ur tables increase so much.. Hmm.. check carefully again and see how loh. Maybe it can be done?? Hope u can be same same as us loh. See how bah... No stress... =)

vilopup

NaNa: I have the same situation with you actually.. I booked for 30 tables at Tang Court le then my families say have more... So, I told The Husband that we got to prioritise our own friends and colleagues first. Seriously I CANNOT see the reason for having a lot of parents' friends around at the banquet when HB and my own friends got to take a back seat.. If this is the case, I cannot figure out whose wedding it is le... *sorry for sounding rude* but got to keep parents under control bah...

Ya, take a look at Tang Court while for BS, really prioritise bah... My budget for the wedding is about 30K including banquet.. so prioritise, what is most important bah.. the gowns, the pictures, the wedding car or the venue... some things got to give.. it is going to be darn stressful starting marriage life debt ridden... The wedding is the start and not the end bah...

neuross

Blur BTB> I know wot u mean but I also cannot afford to offend my future MIL leh. *sigh* Moreover, my HTB is da ONLY son and ONLY grandson in da family. Definitely they wanna invite lotsa pple. At least my relatives side, my dad told me cfm 10 tables or mabbe lesser.

chloecolin

HI to all BTBs here (= TGIF!

Nice to know all of u here.
Im Chloe mostly an OCT 2010 BTB (TBC)
Im a newbie to this thread, I infact wil dropby
RELC tonite and after reading all of this thread,me feel more excited to check it out thanks!!

By the way could u pls advise whats MBR? Thks=)

reychell

Hi Col, u amde the rit choice in choosing Tang court. Tang court has one of the best deals. I went for food tasting in June. Food portion was big and relatives and family commented the food was good. esp the desert mango pudding. Do look for Harry, hes a very sincere and nice guy. We all are happy with Tang court. My AD is next week 11.10.09. We were talking MBR is a bridal studio call my bridal room.

chloecolin

noted w thanks Meikuan and congrats to you soon-BTB =)) here I wish you have a smooth and beautiful wedding day! u muz b excited..=)

so u were toking abt MBR... whoa I jus had an encounter with them this year cos they were our co-sponsors of Meiji couple contest...realy liked their gowns! the staffs were nice too but too bad I havent got any chance to know Uncle Quek whom you mentioned, I have actualy considered gg back to this bridal once we've settled our dinner,reali thanks alot for ur info

jaslyn288

nana, I can understand abt the invitation part.. but they can confirm u nw that they are coming? alot of my relatives all told me tat they are coming, but in the end.. these cant b confirmed now de.. dun feel that is offended or wat lor.. if nw they said, they are coming but in the end they are not, u will b lost.. but luckily harry let us confirmed our tables at least 1 wk b4 our AD..

Yes.. next reminder.. cannot place a gang of guys sitting together.. although the portion is big.. haiz.. sad to say, my hubby's frds complain that food are not enuff for them... hahaha.. they are big eaters.. lol

nana, dun worry so much for the tables arrangements.. if u really like tang court den juz go ahead with ur decision.. =D

neuross

Jaslyn> U mean Harry can hold da booking until 1 wk b4 our AD without putting any deposit? But wot if there's another couple whom is interested on da same date? Then die die muz make up my mind and put deposit le lor?

Actually, how do you guys do it? Booked a restuarant which can accommodate your tentative guest list? Or call everybody on your guest list now (isn't it too early?) to rcfm if they are coming before booking the restaurant? When nearer to date then mail them the invitation card? *confused*

vilopup

Nana: I think if i dun understand Harry wrongly, what Jaslyn means is that you can place booking and depoosit first. Just like what i have done. I have booked for 30 tables tentative and paid i think 2k deposit. But as some guest number might change, I might just confirm with Harry (up till latest 1 wk before AD) that on my actual day, i have only 29 tables or 32 tables.. that last minute confirmation.

So the numbers you can dont worry first.. the most impt thing now is to make sure that you meet both the minimum and max number. if you thinking about 30 tables now and next year it gets to 40 tables, then cannot le.. cos 40 exceeds maximum no. of tables you can put into Tang Court. Smething like this...

neuross

Blur_btb> Hmmm... then cannot le lor... Cos rite now min. is 33 tables and max. 36 tables. I can't afford to take da risk to book Tang Court with the 2k deposit
Had met Harry yesterday. Really like his sincerity, honesty and frankness. But too bad... I hv to choose somewhere else already. He himself told me he's most comfortable to get an order of 32 tables, max. 34 tables. Anything more can be done but may not look as presentable or nice. Hai ~

vilopup

NaNa: oh dear... hope you are not too disappointed... but do feel free to still come here n tok to us bah... :D meantime, continue sourcing for venues.. what are the others on your list...

HB and I are still aguing tonite about the number of tables.. We are working with 31-32 as well.. even then, not too sure if it is too tight...

pochacco

Hi all BTBs,
Just wanna check does any of you take up the additional top up of $25 per table that package? (ie, free usage of projector, free flow of wine, etc...) What's you gals comments about the red wine? Was it good? TIA.

vilopup

pochaCco: I took that up but my AD not over yet.. for fuss free logistics bah... taking wine, projector and inserts off will alleviate a lot of stress! perhaps check with the others who have taken it before

reychell

I have tasted the red wine for food tasting. My relatives and family metioned the wine is good. I feel its good too. U do not have to worry abt the wine.

chloecolin

hi ladies..I hav met up w Harry on sat & agreed he is v nice,felt comfy w him & the place,but think me 0so face the same prob as Nana,ard 36 tables but maybe a possibility to reduce,then @same time me in a dilema to whether go for bigger restaurant,or ambience but food maybe so-so, like Noble hse,[email protected] currently abit headache to decide...

lyloh

Hi Ladies.. I had my food tasting last night.. overall rating my family gave 7/10.. given for their fussy mouth.. is consider pretty high le.. Thumbz up! The wine taste great too.. I was given Hardy from Australia to try.. My uncle and aunt are wine lover, they say for table wine is consider good.. Our family is full of praises about the food despite a few -ve parts which i already feedback to Harry and he is very attentive to jot down the feedback..

I got my wedding card too.. all well printed and pasted on the card.. i do not have to ma fan to buy ribbon/ string to tie.. save alot of hassle..

Now making me so excited about my AD.. ^.^

mooncloud

woah... liyan make me feel like gg back there to eat.. :S Sigh.. putting on weight liao. Faintz. I am so tempted to go there for buffet. haha.. I saw on the website got ala carte buffet. Someone stop me...

nana & col: is there anyway u can like ask ard early to see who is coming and who is not? Becoz some relatives may not bring the whole family... If tat's the case u may not need so many tables. As for frens, actually u can already ask liao. Just tell them u need estimate numbers. I dun think they will mind. Those who sure come one straightaway will say they will book the date for u. Those half half one will always say not sure. U can estimate frm their response i suppose. Hopefully u able to fit into tang court..

vilopup

Wah.. .now i feel like going there to eat also...

Christe: I koe this is not helping but i think the buffet shd be quite good.. my friend has gone there twice le! I am intending to bring the family there for my aunt bird dae also!

neuross

Christie> I cannot pick Tang Court not only bcos they cannot fit 35 tables, also bcos their stage is very small. Me & my HTB knew each other through salsa. So we may wanna perform a dance for all our guests on AD. So, we need a bigger stage. Damn sianz... till now still cannot cfm where we wan. Either food nice, structure or decor cannot make it. Or, everything look nice but food so so only. zzzZZ....

vonzqq

I had held my wedding dinner at Tang Court and I personally feel that their food is not bad and affordable. However some of my guests feedbacked that the food portion was not enough and not that nice. And another guest told me that in the taxi on the way to my dinner, the taxi-driver commented that Tang Court is a run-down restaurant. Hmmm...Maybe the RELC building itself is run-down..

As for the service of Harry, it is generally okay though he took about a month or so to finalise the design of my invitation card because the initial design was not really that nice. And my friend told me that my hubby and I are supposed to sit down and have the last dish which is the dessert cos 'you tou you wei' and 'tian tian mi mi'. But we were not informed and the waitress did not serve us the dessert. After the dinner, my hubby wanted to look for Harry personally to feedback, but could not find him and only Ms Ng was available.

Overall rating: 7/10

jaslyn288

ermmm... i personally think, branded hotels or rest will not give 10 quan 10 mei oso de.. generally, my guests,whole gang of guys sitting at one table oso comments tat food is not enuff, wherelse, the other table comments tat food is too much.. so there is pros n cons..

well, if want somethg 10 quan 10 mei, and giving a real 5-6 stars hotel service, den tang court will not b suitable for you.. as the value plays everythg..

a phase: pay more get more n gain more..

diff pple got diff mind and nid diff thing.. most impt, u must know wat u want.. this is to incase u make a wrong choice..

I am very sure tat all brides want to have a wonderful unforgettable wedding de.. rite? =D

of cos, there will be hicupps here n there de.. i oso kena on my AD in tang court.. but overall, still enjoyable.. Well, and of cos, tang court still got room for improvement.. =D

my overall rating: 8/10