RELC Hotel, Tang Court Restaurant

Hi Aileen,

me also confirm my booking for this restaurant.
my AD is 17 Nov 2007. so what is your comments for this venue. care to share ?

pigletlum

Wow,when did u confirm?? We make the rite choice man he..Although is a bit out of the way but lucky transport is provided. At first i tot this hotel is ulu ulu wan but when i went there with FH and MIL we find it not bad leh. Except for the lift. My FH complaint is very old ke... We thought the restuarant must be very old fashion type too who noes when we step out of the lift we are wrong. The restaurant looks very classic and beautifully decorated. The reception outside oso looks very nice. I feel very comfortable when i step inside. Everything is ok except the ceiling is a bit low.

aksq2168

hi aileen

I din notice that the ceiling is low xia but in any case, both me and my hubby love the place very very much that we made a booking with Harry immediately right on the spot

He's a very nice guy yeah? ^_^

pigletlum

Hahaha...nice to meet u on this thread. Yup mine oso liaise wif Harry. When did u confirm wif him? Of all the place that i went to, Harry is the one who present himself very well and he even tell u all the procedure tat is going to take place on that day. He got show u the room for that nite rite??

Hi serene & aileen,

i went down to this restaurant 3 times before i decided to confirm with Harry. in fact i went to see the actual wedding and was very satisfied with the setting. Harry is a nice guy and very detail in the explanation. So serene, why u decided to sign the agreement for this venue ?

Hi serene & aileen,

btw how many tables did u gals decided to hold at Tang court ? my FH also love the place after his first visit there on the actual wedding.

i am so glad to received replies from this thread. actually a bit worry leh, cos i post this message nearly 3 weeks and not a single reply. but i still decide to confirm since Harry is so sincere to answer all my questions. hope to hear from u gals soon !

hi aileen,

sorry forget to answer your question. too excited mah. hehe. i sign the agreement on 10-Oct. i think that day u went down to confirm also right ? i saw the bridal suite. quite satisfied.

pigletlum

Hee..mine i think i sign it on Sept. I thought Relc Hotel is secluded from the rest but Jean when i saw ur posting i was so happy at last got someone have the same taste as me ke.. Me will be holding 20 tables there. Harry is full of confidence, that is why when we sign the contract that day, my FH and MIL instructed him not to take leave on tat day or let his colleague take over. We insisted him to take charge of everything on that day ke..And without thinking he promise us and told us that he will handle everything himself becos he want to make sure everything go smoothly on that day too. We went the first day but did not sign wif him becos need to check a few others first but to my disappointment the others are not so good.Did u check with other hotels or restaurant too???

pigletlum

Harry got email my FH last 2 weeks asking us to go down and have a look at their actual day decoration becos there is a wedding dinner that certain day so he email us to go down.By the time my FH open his mail is already over because he went for reservist haiz...miss it. Anyway already email him to inform us again if there is any wedding dinner going on ke..good service huh

aksq2168

Hi aileen...wah both u n jean reply v fast xia...yup...he brought us to c the room n told us that we can even have a mahjong table out at the balcony area...hahaha...I also signed up with him immediately on the spot...he v nice n friendly xia n he also promises us that he will definitely b there to oversee everything

aksq2168

hi jean

coz Harry's service is really very fantastic n he's also very sincere n helpful too...n he's also v detailed n all our qns even b4 we ask him, he already answered them already...then the place is also v nice...initially was having some doubts of it being in a very ulu place but now not so worried abt it already

Then I can also tell ppl tat it's juz next to Shangri-la...hahaha

aksq2168

ya...I also got receive the email from Harry but din went down to the venue coz was busy with the painting of my hse...hee hee...I so excited n happy to c you gals reply xia...never so excited b4...hahaha

I've decided to take up ard 25 tables...I actually wanted to ask for more freebies 1 but realized that Harry has already included them all in...hahaha...so no need to ask for more

I actually also signed up in Sep...haha...such a coincidence with Aileen leh

Did u gals want to change anything on the menu?

aileen...really ah...u got email him tat? Think I better email him tat too...or mayb if u got any news then can let me know also? be checking on this thread everyday from now...haha

aksq2168

hi aileen

I've already done some marketing already so not to worry...this is definitely the best choice as both the hotel and restaurant is together and the perks tat is given by Harry is already the best among the best

I've checked out some other places too but the pricing is a bit on the steep side and their normal min no. of tables would b ard 25 or 30 b4 they even give u the free nite's stay in bridal suite

so dun worry V^_^

pigletlum

Thats why i choose Relc. We wanted to sign on spot but my MIL have make an appointment with the other restaurant to check out their price. Maybe our heart already noes which one we like most so the others that we went did not really go and ask wat perks they are giving ke..We feel very comfortable with that place the moment we step in just like u and Jean. Morever like wat u say is 2 in 1. Restaurant and hOtel together. Its just like a ballroom lor. Most important the whole place will be booked and no other eaterer can have their dinner there except for our guests only.^_^ Hey Serene email him back, at least u get to see how their deco looks like. So coincidence that u oso signed the contract on Sep. Which date huh?? Want to go buy 4D haha...

pigletlum

hey serene dun worry about the email thing. i will let u noe if Harry got any wedding going on. Maybe we will meet each other there hahaha...

aksq2168

hi aileen

I will also choose either Menu A or B 2 haha

Can't really remember the date we signed up liao leh...I checked wif my hubby n let u know again later k k?

I also feel the same...their setting is really like ballroom type...my hubby also felt tat way n as we really love the place very very much so we made a booking rite on the spot

Coz I've actually gone to call up lots n lots of restaurants n their perks is not as good as RELC 1s lor

RELC was in fact quite last in the list as it's pretty ulu or so we thot but in the end find tat it's not tat bad after all

was thinking of arranging for my transport to send the guests to somewhere then they can take a cab home from there bah...hee hee

so hav u thot of how to design ur invitation cards? as theirs dun hav printing leh so juz need to slot in an additional insert or something

wow, i just check this thread this morning and realise so much reply leh. u all should go take a look at the actual wedding. really will feel satisfied with the setting. Harry will e around to help out also. i personally went down to see. btw there will be a nice A2 size poster at the lobby to show your guest ! great man ! i will consider menu B but will change some items. Harry say the invitation cards will change next year and they will include in the map

i will be holding 31 tables. actually is 35 but feel a bit cramp after viewing the actual wedding therefore we consider to reduce down to 31 instead. I went to chengdu, Qianxi farrer park and s'pore expo. but in the end i still choose Tang Court. Cos Harry is so flexible and sincere. What abt u gals ? where did u go before confirming RELC ? But my relative feel a bit ulu leh, they say never hear before this hotel. but i tell them is near to shangri-la lol

pigletlum

he..okie. Alamak how come we got the same taste huh??hahaha...Beside the setting is like a ballroom another thing is tat outside the restaurant have a big space whereby our guests can slotter around and talk if they dun want to go in so early. Especially the guys ^_^

By the way serene i tot the transport is 2 way?? Did u query Harry about this?? If not i got to check wif him liao.

As for the cards, i will do the insert then tie it with the golden band like wat most wedding card looks like lor. Dun want to spend too much money on this becos people will only take a look at the card and then put it aside until when the day is near they will take it out again and look. So i rather save the money for other things ke...

pigletlum

Hi Ling, welcome to join us in this thread ke...the food we haven try yet but according to my FH he heard good comments for their food. One of this day maybe will go and try out he..Have u gone down to take a look??

the transport is 2-way. i have confirm with Harry on this when i go down last week. i will wait for the next invitation card first before i decided how to do the printing. Aileen, i think we really got similar taste leh, mayb should meet up someday. haha

pigletlum

Em..i went to Rivercity at Excelsior Hotel, 88 restaurant at harbourfront and Prima Revolver Restaurant. But like wat u say lor Jean, Harry is more sincere and flexible. Not only this, the place oso attract me so i choose Relc. He.. same for my side, my relative and friends oso never heard of it. Tell them is near Shangrila only and not holding wedding there so dun go to the wrong place hahaha...

So long we r happy and comfortable wif the place can le. We cant go and please everyone rite?

pigletlum

Em..i went to Rivercity at Excelsior Hotel, 88 restaurant at harbourfront and Prima Revolver Restaurant. But like wat u say lor Jean, Harry is more sincere and flexible. Not only this, the place oso attract me so i choose Relc. He.. same for my side, my relative and friends oso never heard of it. Tell them is near Shangrila only and not holding wedding there so dun go to the wrong place hahaha...

So long we r happy and comfortable wif the place can le. We cant go and please everyone rite?

wow ! we really got same taste man. i also thot of going to rivercity & 88 restaurant. in fact i called up hotel miramah & dragon gate but they say the date is already booked by another couple. so i did not went down to view the venue. my MIL also worry that our relative go to the wrong place, shangri-la. hahaha.

aksq2168

hi aileen n jean

ya...from wat I know they do provide transport and it's 2-way trip but it's only once onli lor and not go MRT fetch guests then come restaurant then go back MRT again to fetch some more

It's not like shuttle service like tat ah...onli make 1 trip onli...was thinking of looking for 1 to send the guests back at nite...hee hee

I intend to do juz tat also but the words inside the insert leh...how u going to put har...I dunno how to do it leh...hee hee...was thinking of putting in the map of the RELC Hotel as well n the bus services available

haha...if can the 3 of us meet up lah...think the 3 of us taste the same leh

dun leave me out leh...sniff sniff...hee hee

aksq2168

jean

Harry got say they gonna change the card ah...I think he got mention also but can't really remember liao

got map...tat will be nice man...I having a hard time trying to think of how to print in the map

so aileen n jean...will u all be diy ur invitaion inserts or ask printing co?

hi serene,

forget to ask u 1 thing. y u said that Harry told you about me ? i acutally email him a few times before i went down to view the place but i did not confirm on the spot. It is only after i view some other places before i decided the RELC is the best and is around the outskirt of orchard area.

hi serene,

yes, harry said that the map will be printed for the new invitation cards. so we shall wait for the new design first before decided how we gonna print. i thot of DIY, save cost mah. hehe. Btw i thot the transport will send the guests back to newton mrt after the dinner tat nite. y u still need to look for shuttle service ?

aksq2168

he wld normally pen your date down in his diary so tat he know tat got ppl interested in the spot on tat particular date liao

he make it a point tat nobody asks for tat particular day lor...hee hee

coz on tat day itself when we went down to visit the restaurant we already interested to book so we kinda ask whether next year nov got ppl book any dates or not n he mention tat already got 1 couple taking up the date of 17 Nov 2007 liao...then it happens tat I chance upon tis thread n saw ur AD is on 17 Nov 2007...hee hee so I know it's u

aksq2168

jean

u online now ah...haha

ok ok...mayb 3 of us (u, me n aileen) can meet up n discuss xia...I also wanna save cost...haha

yup, but it's only a 40-seater bus leh...then if not all guests drive then how? so muz think of other alternatives

yes me online now. what other goods point u gals like to share ? or did we missed out any perks that is not included in the package ? serene, u sure u have done survey before signing up with RELC ?

so u gals got any other ideas on how ro save cost on your wedding ? me also on tight budget. hehe. the best is to get cheap & good deals !

pigletlum

But girl u wont noe how many guest will be taking the bus too? Mostly all the guys will drive wan dun worry. Their car is like their second wife, wif out them their legs wont take them anywhere. If u or ur FH got male friends driving can ask them to long bang some of ur friends to a nearby taxi stand or mrt.

Relatives mostly will come in taxi if 3 or more of them r coming.

Since we already stated the pick up time and pick up point. Then we should let the guest decide themselves. Very flexible, if u want to attend the dinner early then take the bus if not they got to think of other means of transport lor ke....

aileen, i also have same thinking as u. i think that usually relatives will try to take cab or long bang friends car. so don need to worry too much. btw, i think the place is quite accessible by bus from town area so should be ok.

pigletlum

tats quite true Jean. Things are getting more and more expensive nowadays. Honeymoon plus buffet is the best lor but sure cannot lor especially if u got parents and elders around. So have u settle everything????

aileen, me only settle the venue. as for BS, i think next year loh. now quite tight budget cos my new house coming next month. so need a lump sum to renovate house first. what abt u ?

pigletlum

I will be staying with MIL first while waiting to get a new house. If u want any recommendation for BS and Photography let me noe lor. i source quite a few and this the more reasonable one. Hey Jean, for BS u can pay by installment if u have credit card then ur pocket wont be so tight. By the time ur AD come u have already pay full le. And u dun have to worry about paying lump sum for the BS.

aksq2168

hi jean n aileen

sorry for the late reply

yup, I've done all the marketing and this is definitely the best budget restaurant inside hotel

for eg River City @ Excelsior, Dragon Gate, Orient Restaurant @ Miramar Hotel and even the rest also dun have such nice freebies

For most restaurants, they will only provide a changing room for the brides which will cause lots of inconveniences as u will still hav to bring all your clothings to the restaurant and after tat u still need to bring them back to your hotel...such a hassle man

as for the bus catering, most of my frens n relatives dun drive so my thinking was tat if they wait for cabs at the hotel itself, it's gonna take very long so y not give them a hand to drop them somewhere else where they will have loads of cabs to take

yeah man jean, got lots of BS can pay by installment but dun b like me, pay deposit for BS already then regret xia

Shld do it like Aileen, do research.

Me also on very tight budget too coz my house is also having it's renovation

If it's really necessary, mayb I can recommend u some ID who will help u take up a bank loan like wat I did

aksq2168

ya ya should juz wait for the new cards to come out b4 we decide how to do the insert. haha

I very gan cheong lah n excited to c us all online having the similar tastes

lingguan

I have yet to visit the place. Just happen to see it in a magazine. Maybe got to go down one of these days.

My AD is not so soon
....just started sourcing the venue.

Serene, you mention that they have nice freebies...actually what are they?

aksq2168

It's in the package I've emailed to you...most of the stuff in there lor

Most restaurants dun give u free bridal suite unless u booked 25 to 30 tables n then normally no free flow of beer

I also can't quite remember already but as compared to the rest of the restaurants, it's a better 1. hee hee