RELC Hotel, Tang Court Restaurant

allykat

As a guest I'm not very impressed by the open air carpark. Esp. when it rained and we had to run for shelter or struggled with umbrellas. Worse if I was unlucky to park along the roads. Well the toilets r just panelled cubicles like a Coffeeshop, truth be told some new public toilets like at a CC, r even nicer as they r done up with a touch of greenery & nature. Other Chinese restaurants like tunglok do pay attention to these secondary amenities so tang court shd do something abt it to improve overall experience.

mooncloud

Hi everyone, back from my food tasting. Food was good. Pleased with everything so far. Think there is some truth in what allykat has highlighted. But one has to take into account what their priorities are in selecting a venue. To be fair, plenty of CCs and even tunglok (paramount hotel, zhou kitchen, tunglok seafood), and fulinmen also do have open air carparks. Some has no complimentary parking (restaurant 88). Some has entrance in the carpark itself (dragon gate). But i am glad she highlighted about the raining issue so that i can station some people with umbrellas on standby in case it rains.

As for the toilets, they are currently undergoing upgrading. Probably RELC is reading up on the forum so they know ally dun like their toilets. Ha.. The toilets is not controlled by tangcourt. Its under RELC. But prob after reno no more coffeeshop toilets. Maybe can upgrade to foodcourt toilets liao. Upgrading not done yet. So need others to feedback on standard of toilets later on. :p

I personally am not a particular bride. So was pleased that the rooms are all newly refurbished, told harry he made me a much happier bride with the beautiful suite (like what i said, it depends on individual.. maybe some will think its hostel standard once again).. We were so happy with the room coz such a huge improvement.

Overall it was a pleasant food tasting. Its not the perfect place but I would think its value for money. For the price one is paying, I believe I was not shortchanged. Can only comment more after my banquet.

Anyone interested in tangcourt shld go down and take a look themselves. Coz its very individual.

jaslyn288

Yeah!! hello gals!! wah.. seeing more n more upcoming brides.. haha.. so happy for you..

I tink those pple who choose tang court is becos of the food and reasonable price/package ba..

If is particular abt Carpark or toilets hor.. i tink hahahaha.. den tis is not call value for money le lo..

So far, be it the present and past brides, all having positive feedbacks n comments.. especially on FOOD!!!! hahahahaa... =D

there is pros n cons de.. depend wat u want.. so if u have high class service with budget price.. i tink in singapore is super hard lo.. if can, find, i oso want to know leh.. mayb i can consider for my 5th or 10th or 20th anniversary banquet.. LOL

yvchy8

Hmm food taste is decent. It's not fantastic but I will say there is more room to improve in the quality, it is normal only.. The food was like spilling over,hehe mayb the serving too big so generous. my next table colleague serving average! He "feedback" to the waitress jokingly who offered to scoop to distribute from our table to his table!! Haha.. Weird.. Mayb just one off. Anyway the aunties are "over" friendly but they make it like cny dinner so noisy & chatty among themselves and guests. Esp during slideshow they were standing behind (where I sat) and chatting. Which sounded rude.. The Sound system was pounding away, I mean the bass. Headache.. My colleague apologised to us saying other places fully booked. I feel bad for them.      

yvchy8

Anyway I'm helping my fren source banquet space & happen to attend tang court last month so giving feedback. For curiosity sake I'm surprised many brides here... my major complaint is the layout. When I came our of lift, I saw tables but no recption. Then I realized reception table at left, hidden. That's also the main entrance?? Anyway veri small area n I can't talk to the couple for too long. After wishing my colleague I went to find table which is at the back n I saw it is one of the tables facing the lifi lobby ie if I walked straight from lift early on i wld reached my table. As i was early many ppl came out of lift to c me at table near lobby, dunno if there is recep table or not, should they simply walk towards the table area? V weird layout. For ppl I know I had to wave at them to turn to recep area, for strangers they had to look left/right b4 they see recept table...    

mooncloud

oh... yve... i think ur fren prob exceeded the max no. of tables so they had no choice and the tables spilled over to the reception area. Which is why a lot of people complain abt the small reception area and why people from the lobby can see the tables. There is supposed to be a partition. Only if the couple went ahead and exceed the max no. of tables would the tables face the lobby. Where you were sitting was supposed to be the reception area. Not supposed to see tables from the lift lobby. So by right, the reception area is quite decent. Not huge but not too cramped.

Thanks for the feedback on the noisy waitresses though. Will voice it to the coordinator over that and the sound system.

yvchy8

So for purpose to make money over customer experience & ambience, allow tables to spill over to the lift lobby is actually common? the layout cluttered & confusing.. I'll feel uneasy if I were the bride hearing when ppl feedbk abt layout & overall feel of the restaurant.. Poor girl.. I hope she's not too sensitive.

mooncloud

they actually dun advise pple to spill over to the lobby. Only if the couple request then they will spill over. So i dun think you have to worry abt the bride. Coz she must have chose for that to happen. I was warned already if i hit over the tables, that would happen. So i am keeping it within the no. of tables. For this issue, it is the wedding couple who went against the suggestion and insisted on extending the no. of tables. So probably they are the ones who are willing to compromise on the guests' experience and ambience. Dun mind me for being frank. It was ur fren's choice i suppose. Since they did not keep within table numbers, there is nothing they can do about the layout and feel. Coz from the day i signed, i was told not to exceed. I personally ever saw what happened if couples exceed. So i noe wat u mean. It looks horrible when the tables spill out. But couples are already prewarned. If they noe they cannot control the number, they shld not have booked the place in the first place. Many couples gave up on the venue coz they noe they cannot fit in their tables. Not to be defensive abt the venue i select, but just to clarify so that future brides who are considering can be clearer. There are two sides to the story.

ade_oei

Seriously,I considered all factors when I selected the venue. I believe whatever venue a bride select bound to have different issues. I do agree, mayb I have to ask someone to station outside to shelter the guests to the hotel. And true even Goodwood park hotel has open carpark. And the distance is even further, and even hotels which has complimentary carpark coupons, it's 80% of the attendance, I was thinking more in terms of the free carpark for the guest.

Christie> yar lar, they doing the toilet.. I very sianz, not in time for my wedding.... sobz... Next they doing the aircon.

ade_oei

Harry has highlighted before that not to have more than 30 tables, if not have to open the partition and spill over the reception table. This is not something I worry, there is usher to guide to the recept lar...

FYI, future brides, my wedding is 13th Mar, I have about 31 tables, and I feel my package is worthwhile . I totally isagree with AllyKat in the greenery part, Because when I look out from the restaurant, it surrounded with greenery.

Yve (yvchy8)> Whatever venue a bride choose, they bound to have some pple who can't stop complaining about every single thing. Since you are sourcing the banquet, I believe u can see that there is no venue that doesn't have any bad reviews.

On my part, there is alot criteria that Tang courts have improved on and satisfied. It is not perfect but It is my perfect place.

mooncloud

Ade> dun worry. Harry has partitions up to block the construction. At least it doesn't look so obvious. I saw that he was very attentive to make sure the construction is hidden. Only trouble is that your guest may have to go downstairs for the washroom. Yup.. next is aircon. Hopefully will be done by may. Harry say will be done by then. I cross my fingers and pray hard. I was joking to him and ask if they will paint the exterior of the hotel or not. Ha.. so greedy

ade_oei

Christie> haha, yar i don't like that part when it has abit mouldy... But don't worry, if really cannot make it time, the night will play its part, by the time night cannot see liao..

but we cross finger, together for you..

snow1102

Hi Christie,

Harry told me that the toilet need only 2 weeks to complete. so, don't worry. Only me and ADe are affected. My dinner was held last Sat. Beside the toilet, we are very satisfied with their service and food.

yvchy8

Incidentally I've seen Goodwood park hotel but it is over my friend's budget. anyway tt is not fair comparison with Tang Court since RELC is much further away. On the parking, the carpark at Goodwood quite large actually. Anyway, the hotel is just a short walk from Orchard MRT exit for ppl who take public transport. Oops, shouldn't be drifting from a Tang Court topic.. not every guest wil drive so even 50% carpark passes will be more than enuf and that = 1 out of 2 guests will drive. I took shuttle bus from some MRT to RELC, the jam on weekend was terrible. For those who are arranging the free bus, schedule early to start your event on time, because a huge busload of people who will alight at RELC & crowd at the lobby to take the lift to the restaurant. Doesnt help that lift is really slow and small. just reminding..

yvchy8

my colleague was apologising cos many guests feedback (not in a negative way, just stating fact) that the reception was hidden and the layout was confusing. so she explained many other venues are booked on her date and she had no choice, mayb she expected the spilling over the tables (i didn't confirm) but obviously she was embarased. anyway just sharing facts and opinions so u all can take note, not being nasty here.

mooncloud

shirley> congrats! i was there last sat leh.. ha.. for food tasting.. so you were the one getting married that day! So you got the newly revamped room rite? I saw that it was so much better. Ha...

Ade> all the best for ur wedding...

yve> no worries.. i noe you are just sharing. Not to worry. Its always good to have a flow of info. At least we can look out for certain issues that we missed out.

blurrz

my wedding is soon and i am soo nervous... can u all share with me how long is the march in? i am trying to decide wat songs to use n which part for the march in... i scare its very short... thanks...

ctrus

Hi ladies, I'm shortlisting venue for my AD and Tang Court is my top choice as my frd highly recommended me this place + positive reviews. Will be gg down on 10th April to recce the place.

reychell

Hi citrus, Tang court is a good choice. My wedding was held on oct 09. Food was very good and the services by Harry was great too. Will not regret it. Im also ex bride of MBR. MBR is a good BS. Ple and theie services are very good.If u like to look at tang court and MBR PS fotos can add me in face book. [email protected].

ctrus

hi MeiKuan, I'm alr in your fb. U recommended me MBR, rmb? wahahhaa... such a small world that U held your banquet @ Tang Court too.

ctrus

Actually my concern is 2010/2011 pkg is too good to be true, but according to Harry, I can't book it for 2012 *sob* I dunno hw much inflation gonna be come 2012 and the perks may not be as attractive le

jsquare

Hi Meikuan,

Dun mind if i add you on my facebook too. Am considering RELC Hotel as my banquet venue in 2011 as the perks are too good to be true! Will go and see the place this weekend
I know 10th April there is an actual wedding setup, so Ctrus you can see

Yea, i agree with ctrus that it is too good to be true. Are there any hidden costs? And did any of your guests complain about the location of the place? Food and service ok?

Yea, if it becomes very popular among couples due to its good perks, the price will be marked up.

jsquare

Meikuan> Ur photos are very nicely taken and you look so beautiful! I like your EG! May I know who is your PG and VG? Thanks

Anw, the march-in area seems a tad narrow for ur gown? No? And are there pillars there? Are the view for some tables blocked?

PS: I had the Precious Thots dolls on the table during my solemnisation too!

reychell

JP, My Pg is from mymontageguy.com. His name si Ben. His price is reasonable. My EG is MTM from my bridal room. I like the gown very much too. There are no pillars blk. March in abit short and walkway abit small. But overall everything was great food and the services. For tang court there are no hidden costs, dont worry, Harry will let u know all the costs. My guests did not find it difficult to find the place its just further from shangrila hotel.

ade_oei

30 tables will be good enough, they will be renovating the air-con next. FOr any furture bride-to-be, if the air-con is not done, the tables outside the restaurant will feel abit of the heat. Food portion, some say enough, some say not enough, some say ok, some say no good. For songs, please burned into CD, do not use laptop, because they keep replaying the first few songs again and again. The projector when dimmed, the colour is good. However, if you are looking for the dimming lights, they are not able to do it, as it will be switch off one by one. For shuttle bus, pls make to check Harry, the bus has arrived, as my bus broke down that day. Nobody complained abt Carpark, even though it was raining, nobody complained. No problem with receptionist. AND BRidal SUITE is BIG and roomy, lots of my friends came and go, and my friends ate my food too

And I am happily married woman

ctrus

ADe >> The restaurant compound can fill 23 tables (max.) I'm afraid the guests may not be happy to be "seated" outside the restaurant shld we exceed 23 tables. May need to reduce my guestlist if I intend to hold at Tang Court.

jsquare

ADe > Congrats! Glad that the major things went smoothly for you on ur AD. And you are still optimistic and positive despite the bus breakdown!

ctrus > While it's true that the restaurant compound could only fill 23 max, and any number exceeding must be outside the restaurant (let's call it the "extension"), i guess it's not that bad. As in it doesn't look detached. Unlike the ballroom at Riverview Hotel, once u exceed 23 / 25 tables, the rest are allocated in a totally separated room with no projector or screen to see anything on stage!

The thing i dun really like is the reddish maroom portable partition that they use to block the "extension" from any guests coming from the lift lobby.

We also din like the low ceiling. But the reception area is awesome, very beautiful and class. Too bad we can't see the bridal room that day as all the rooms are fully occupied. (There was a wedding on that day). We din speak to Harry but spoke to another lady who is equally nice and helpful! She guaranteed to me that their food is "no problem"! Haha~

Distance wise we took the wrong route, so end up walking all the way round Shangri-la to reach RELC. Just rem if you alight at the bus stop and facing the road, walk to ur left. Not right. The left is a much shorter walk!

Hope that helps!

ade_oei

Ctrus> it's not too bad if it exceed. The tables exceeding 23, looks like part of the restaurant. They have no idea if they are in or out, if they don't pay attn. No complains abt that, definately. Food wise, someone bound to complain no matter which restaurant/hotel it is.

worrywart

JP

Helping my gf scout for dinner venue... I've attended dinner at Riverview hotel before. There was 30 tables but all 30 was contained within the ballroom so there's no need for guests to be split into another room without projector so what do you mean?
Has not seen RELC so no comments... Anyone has pics of the reception and dinner to share? Many thanks!

mooncloud

Hi all, i just finished my banquet dinner in RELC. So leaving a note to praise the good service of harry and staff. Food was fantastic too. At least i have not heard any complaints.

The journey with tang court was not without hiccups. I was initially upset with some last min problems which thankfully were eventually settled by harry (even though i do understand it is not within their control and was at the hotel side). But I would still like to praise them for getting it done nicely.

Service was fantastic. At least i got VIP treatment. That is the most impt coz i am the bride i suppose. Ha.. i was sick and the banquet manager was so sweet to specially prepare lemon honey for me and place it on my table once she noes i am sick. Excellent! Prewedding dinner in our suite was superb and i finished up everything. Hubby and I were fighting to see who can eat faster and eat more. Ha... Red wine served that night was given good comments too. Definitely there will be some differences in taste so some comment on one or two dishes but will always say good food on the whole. So feel safe to have the dinner there.

But just a note. I realise a lot of people are concerned about the tables. They can fit prob the max of 24 within the restaurant. But if they extend out to the hotel lobby using partitions, it can hold up till 30-32. It does not look obvious. HOWEVER, do take note that if the hotel does any form of renovation, tangcourt is unable to stop them... so it may cause additional stress. That happened to me. Though eventually solved but i still hope to highlight to BTBs to take note. I think the renovation is close to completion. So i doubt it will affect others. But just to consider. Service and food wise... fantastic.. I really feel like a queen that day...

sherlynliang

I just checked with Tang Court this afternoon. Their lease with RELC Int'l Hotel is only up till July 2011. No booking would be taken in for dates after that. Wanted to book October 2011. ):

Tang Court advised that they would only be able to confirm if they would continue their lease in Feb 2011.

Looks like am not able to book with Tang Court, cos by then, it would be too late for October 2011.

Hope this would help with BTBs. :)

ahgirl_

Hi Sherlyn,

thats sad to know that..
in this way u cant book with them cos its like abit risky to wait till Feb 2011..
Perhaps u have to look out for other hotels for ur banquet le..