Raffles Town Club

hi wise

i dunno about the guo da li thingy, in fact, our parents have not met "officially" to discuss on the wedding and "dowry" ... but i will keep you updated, ok ?

hi shelle, wise, scribblez

i met terence to collect my cards yesterday evening. i chose all ivory cards. now i have to go to tea dragon to see their printing, got the $100 voucher but need to spend $250 lor. but then i calculated...hor, even if i do hot stamping (40 cents per card for 101st card and above) for my cards, i only spend up to $170+ ... still got another $80 to go ... and the voucher is only for printing. dunno whether i can purchase the choc boxes leh ...

i request to see the 2 different vendors. me wondering whether you gals took pictures during the bridal show as the other vendor did the decor for the bridal show? can show me? thanks!

Hi Blueangel,

found this fm another thread, hope it useful for guodali (GDL).

GDL takes place normally 2 weeks before the actual day and it is the exchange of gifts between two families. After guo da li, u can send out ur invitation cards and distribute cakes/biscuits to ur relatives. Pin4 Jing1 as what u say the red packet, is given to bride's parents on guo da li day. Ur parents take a portion of the money and return some to the groom.

Mei Po is no longer a norm now. Most pple go without meipo nowadays. Save ang pow Anyway parents can talk to one another when they meet up or couples can be middlemen and pass msgs between two families

Gou Da Li is the presentation of the Dowry gift to the Bride's family. A token of appreciation for bringing up you. Ur parents can request for the following. Items differ according to customs. Also what to ask depends on the financial limits of your inlaws. Try to ask within their means. Some items are a "must" due to their auspicious meanings Other then the above stated candles and stuff u can also put in the following.

Must have
- 2 bottle of Liquor (Jiu Jiu , togetherness forever)
- Longan
- Lotus Seeds
- Red Dates
- Peanut
- Sweets (Tian Tian Mee Mee)
- Mandarin Oranges
- Money (Ang Poa) Usually between $88-$8,888,888 or more. What ur mother can't keep all she has to return a token portion back to your inlaws to show her humbleness.

Optionals depending on dialect , below can be replaced with an ang Pao too.

- Pig Trotter or whole pig (Whole pig signify that the Bride is still a "virgin" This is usually presented to the brides family when u go back for Tea Ceremony. In the olden times the bride only returns to her parents house 3 days after the ceremony. Her In laws will sent a WHOLE pig to the inlaws to "verify" her chastity. If found unchaste the Pig's tail will be removed. Nowadays ppl don't really bother
- Ceremonious cakes
- mushrooms
- abalone
- sharksfin
- Sugar Cane
And the list goes on.

Then ur parents upon receiving the gift have to "Hui Li" return back something
- 2 bottle of soft drinks. Fanta Orange is ideal
- Some money.
- some oranges
- If u have a roast pig. U mum has to buy a pair of pants for your husband and wrap it with red paper then put it in between the roast pig. In substitute for the portion she has taken. The pants signify a good life for your husband.

I am not sure if i want to change the cards. They look ok. but if it doesnt cost too much I would like personalised cards. the ones with cute caricatures / cartoons.

Jaguar Type-S. silver colour. incl of driver and petrol.

my pics are ready! going to see on Sat!

I dont know anything about GDL. I am not doing anything like that..

drink lots of water gets lots of sleep. i tell you, i was stressed out trying to clear work the few days before my PS that i broke out! that was terrible cos i normally have good skin. the makeup artist said dont worry can cover.

bring the things you want to include in your fotos.. my FH and i brought our special soft toy.. a big white teddy bear.

tell the photographer what tiype of fotos you want. like more outdoor or more cool looking or more elegant etc.

hope this helps!

all the best.. show us your pics yah!

Hi Shelle,

Gee, tat's every brides nitemare. to hv breakout on AD or PS.... mi also scared. but agreed wif u on H20 & lotsa rest...

yaep, am trying to do a list of things to bring, hubby was gg "wow, u gg camping??" ke keee

tks for all the tips. will note 'em down. will keep u updated on the outputs..

hi wise,

me waiting for terence to tell me lor. i will keep you gals informed, ok. so that you can drop by as well to see the new setting by the new vendor.

hi shelle,

woah, breakup arh. do you gals do regular facials before the wedding? me now trying to be more regular lor. but very busy with work. sigh.

even have to go back to work on good friday and sat ... boss wanted me to go back on sun but i quickly said i have something on! a bit sianz leh. been working every weekend non-stop and hardly have time to do the wedding prep.

btw, which ballroom setting did you chose?

Hi BlueAngel,

facial. hv not been to one yet. hv bad experience. last time went facial wif clear skin end up got rash took almost 1yr to heal. so now skin beli week. scared lah.

so, when is yr PS?

hi wise

i had same experience as you but the thing is I keep goimg for facials hoping that my skin wll improve. very pek chek. finally i met a beautican who clear up my skin! whew.

my PS on 21 May. i also have not decided where to take the PS. ha ha ha.

Hi Blueangel,

care to share yr beautican name/ shp? am still looking around.

how yr prep for the PS? mi jus bght shirt & tailor his suit. still hunting for WG shoes.

Hi shelle,
how's yr pics? can share? btw, how many pair of shoes yr bring for PS?
mi planning to wear WG shoe & bring an walking shoes for outdoor shots. tink enough?

hi wise

her name is margaret 62558552. she does the facials at her house, somewhere near novena mrt station. i seldom go to her nowadays cos my face cleared liao and i bought package at aromahouse so no choice have to finish using.

me also hunting for 4" WG shoes. went down to leaping lizard just now. the shoes cost from $89 onwards. so i see how lors. maybe no choice, have to make from them lioa. they take 3 weeks.

Hi BlueAngel,

tks for the info. Oops, mistake shld b looking for EG shoes. bght mi WG shoes 3.5" fm heatwave @ IP. leaping lizard was also one of mi choice, if no choice. bght mi shoes @ $50. cheap & gd.

jus to share, also went to Jwest, ninewest, Metro, Tangs,Taka, Paradox, Leapin Lizard & Hue.

Sorry, been MIA, cos my PC was down earlier. Also just came back from a short getaway after my ROM.

Hi BlueAngel,

Thanks for the advice on getting my AD photog & videographer early. Think I'll start sourcing for them now. Any recommendations for a good and reasonably priced photog and video service?

Hi Shelle,

Glad your PS went well. Not sure if you've shown the gals your photos?

Btw, has anyone chosen the ballroom setup? Wld u be customizing anything, like changing the stage decor to fresh flowers? How much wld we need to top up?

Hi Gals!

I am new to this forum, I like to have my wedding dinner hold in RTC.

But, I am wondering if they are open for public booking.

Please advise me.

hi evelyn

yes they are open for public booking.

when is your wedding?

i strongly recommend you to go for RTC bridal show then you sign up. think they have 2 bridal shows every year.

if you can't wait, call terence up to see if he can do something for you as there was a recent bridal show.

HI girls. sorry, been busy.

fotos turned out quite well. Will scan some in.. and show you..

Blue, your shoes sound sufficient. bring a pair of comfortable slippers for when you go to the beach.. I brought my silver shoes and white slippers.

Scribs, I also want to customise ballroom setup should we speak to the flowers person directly?
Eve, RTC is a very ideal setting to hold your wedding dinner.. the ballroom is very grand and elegant, and it is unique.. not like the ballrooms used by 300 other couples in the same year.

Hi Evelyn,

welcome! (wave~*) think there's another one in Aug'04. may b u can chk wif Terrance as per blueangel suggestion.

Hi Shelle,
Welcome back. So how many fotos hv u choosen? sounds liked alot. glad to hear u liked yr pics.
tks for the advice on shoes.

Hi Shelle,

Yeah, think Terence mentioned we can speak to the florist directly. Which florist are you using? Do update us on how it goes with the customization!

Hi Wise,

My ROM was good. Been busy with that recently, so haven't been preparing much for the banquet. Going to start 2nd round of prep soon!
How are things for you?

i think i asked terence before, in order to customize fresh flowers on the stage will cost a few hundreds to $1K. i think not worth it lor. besides ppl from far cannot see whether it is real or fake flowers. so try to save on this area. i think more impt is the table ctr pc and chair decor but me not using the ribbons. i think i leave the chair decor plain and simple.

hi shelle

just speak direct to the flower person. that is what terence told me.

oh yah, my car budget very little lah. hee hee. so really cannot afford the jaguar.

glad you like your pics. take your time to scan your pics. can understand brides are all busy people!

by the way, anyone of you engaged a wedding planner to handle the actual day events?

Hi Scribblez,

2nd round of prep? wonder wat will u b doing?? ke kee. mi busi for PS nxt mth. jus bght shirts & will b collecting his suit nxt week. trying beli best to completed my necklace for WG. still got lotsa of activailty liked mani & padicure B4 PS, trim eyebrown, DIY facial lah ;p

Hi Blue Angel,

agreed loh, stage is so FAR AWAY. cant tell if real flowers or not. most likedly for us will b using the new vendor for deco.

wedding planner.... no lah. tryin to save $$$ for HM. i'm the planner, the decsion maker, the bride the all in one role.... hubby is the order taker. mi said he do.... ke keee.

Hi C1980,
welcome. may b u can chk with terrance? dun wanna to quote u the wrong amt. not sure if there's any changes...

Heard there's a wedding tomorrow. Most likely will be going down to view the decor and setup. Think then can decide from there whether need to change anything onot.

Hi Wise,

Hahah.. cos i stopped prep work for the banquet just b4 my ROM, now gotta start work again lor. Now looking for AD photographer n videographer.. Who are you using?

Hi BlueAngel,

Chanced upon a website which has pics of the RTC Bridal Fair. Maybe u can get an idea of how the new decor looks like from there!
Cldn't post the website here. PM me if you're interested.

Thanks BlueAngel and wise!

I will look out for the RTC bridal show.

does anyone has terence's email address?

I am currently outstationed and wouldnt be back until august 2004.

My wedding dinner is in Dec 2005.

Does anyone has any photos of wedding couples holding their wedding at RTC?

Do you mind emailing them to me?

hi scribblez

can you PM me your email add again?

i seem to lost it ... :P

might as well ask the rest, who is keen to have a list of videographer info and quotes. quite a messy file though. pls PM me your email address.

ta

Hi Shelle,

able to share how much u paid for the printing? if not, it ok.

still waiting to see yr beautiful picz lah. neck long long liao.

BTW, r u inviting all yr colleagues? mi still drafting out guest list. headache.

hi scribblez

i saw the decor liao. thanks. very nice!
email you liao. paiseh.

hi shelle

i went down tea dragon last sat... me thinking to do hotstamping on tracing paper .. per pc will cost $0.65. a bit heart pain leh.

hi wise.

u can check out their website www.tdragoncards.com

if u dun intend to do anything fancy eg. hotstamping, using fancy paper, i have a contact for you. PM me for details, ok.

blue, I am paying 75 cents each for printing of inserts!!! ooopppss.. you mean can be cheaper!!?

oh girls,
The photos all turned out so nice... hahaha. i mean, not that i am super pretty, just that hte photos were so well-taken we didnt know how to choose!

I cant take my photos yet, cos we selected the ones we liked and now we are waiting to see the layout.. *blush* ok ok.. i see if they let me take some of the rejects (which are also very nice!) to scan and show you!

hi wise,

did u get my email? just the server a bit screw up. i give you here.
Hi Tech Stamping 64589455 ...
if you do normal printing on normal inserts, you can save using Hi Tech
but Tdragon cheaper for doing hot stamping and fancypaper.

shelle,

how did you print your cards huh? 2 fold or 1 page ... you use tracing paper and hotstamping? me also ... but have not confirmed with them yet

i confirmed already. i stick with t dragon because they are near my office and they are very very helpful.

1. print on wedding cards, gold hot stamping - 400 cards, $240.
2. inserts (for invites to church wedding) - tracing paper, with coloured backing half ivory and half maroon, normal printing. price not confirmed cos i havent picked my materials.

but girls, a big warning. PLEASE DONT GO TO THE CARD SHOP at the Adelphi. They tried to inflate prices (after i compared with T-dragon, i realised that everything was inflated by 30%). When I told her, she turned hostile and rude. scary...

hi shelle

thanks for ur advice, i shud be going for tdragon too since i have $100 voucher, now torn between gold printing (300pcs) and hotstamping (250pcs) ... going down this friday to settle lah. ke ke.

so u hotstamp english and chinese on 1 page?
hi wise

i only have 1 rom dress (wearing in place of kua), 1 WG and 1 EG ... me still thinking whether i shud add another pc of kua or perankan kerbaya...

hi evelyn

have you contacted terence? hows the package deal? if you go for weekday dinner, it is so much cheaper ....

Hi Blueangel,

why u print more for gold printing & lesser for hotstamping? i meant besides e $$ dun u need the same amt of cards? b it hotstamping or gold print?... jus curious... ;p

O, mi got 2 EGs. so still toying which one shld i wear for foto & which 1 for farewell guest.
.... & can escape fm being sabo. ;p

hiya girls.

i did hotstamping on the cards.. english only. then i also did these inserts because i have a small solemnisation reception before the dinner.

At t- dragon, ask for rosalind, she knows me and will help u. Say you are Vivien's friend and Vivien recommended you to talk to her.. she's v helpful

hi shelle ....

i also wanted to print english only cos the card folding is quite unbalanced.. 3 folds but the last fold is a small column ... so me wanted to print 1 page / insert only .... but cannot squeeze in english and chinese in 1 page. so me wanna do english only ... but my MIL want chinese .... hiaks ... so me thinking some cards english inserts, some cards chinese inserts ... hmm.

hi blue,

i think its possible to do a 2 page insert, one page english one page chinese.. want to consider?

sorry wise, i havent done it! oops