Qian Xi - Hilltop Garden Restaurant

baby10

whoofy> as for my case, if my parent chase me away den i do not have plc to slp as my hubby is malaysian so there is no other plc for us to stay and i think my mom will not do this to me. heehee. I was still thinking which hotel to choose? maybe will pamper ourself for the nite, was thinking of booking 5 or 6 star hotel

baby10

garfield and gina> after my wedding at crystal hilltop and the next will be yr turn ler. heehee. My min table is around 35 too as mine is on weekday

fenfen

hi all.. im very interested in taking at crystal ballroom.. but is quite worried that the make up room is quite small and the location. i did check around and know that there's a place there call the wine bar that can hold small function. was thinking of renting that place so that it would be a decent place for doing my makeup and also like when i'm doing my makeup friends and relatives can see and stay in the room comfortably..

any suggestions?? or comments?? thanks...

bearbearwife

updates
S/N Id AD
1 whOOfy jO 31/08/08 (Hilltop Crystal)
2 myfavchoco 9/11/08(Hilltop Crystal)
3 chiu 29/11/08 (Hilltop Crystal)
4 Mary 3/1/09 (Hilltop Ballroom B)
5 vonHSY 3/1/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
6 BuBBlyBub 14/2/09 (Hilltop Ballroom A)
7 Josie 25/4/09 (Hilltop BallRoom B)
8 Selinachantelle 1/5/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
9 Hwei Fang 14/6/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
10 Jiaying 26/09/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
11 Janice 22/11/09 (Hilltop Ballroom B)
12 baby10 30/11/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
13 Jastine 13/12/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
14 Garfield 6/12/09 (Hilltop Crystal-Lunch)
15. Gina Ong 6/12/09 (Hilltop Crystal-Dinner)
16 akino 6/12/09(Farrer)
17 kcpc 26/12/09 (Hilltop Ballroom B)
18 popomin 26/06/10 (Expo)
19 happygolucky TBD

cutie_mary

Hi BTBs! My wedding was on 3 Jan 09 at Ballroom B. Everything was good except some of the waiters and waitresses.. from China. Aircon temp was too strong too. The mgr, Alan, who is in charge of my ballroom is great - really thumbs up! everything went smoothly... with the great help from Alan. There is one mgr, who has a square-top hairstyle, is like shit... luckily he is not in charge of my ballroom on 3 Jan. when we went for dry-run a few days before my wedding, his attitude simply sucks! he gave that F face to my HB so I was very pissed off and scolded the mgr. After the scolding, his attitude changed. He tot that we are modern couples and so can be easily bullied.

lingnyong

Hi Mary, glad everything run smoothly for you. How is the feedback of the food?

Garfield, gosh, i taking the suckling pig combination.

whoofy

hi Fanny.. personally I feel tat it's not necessary to rent a separate place for ur make up & frens lah...
u'll be there by 5pm.. and if ur frens are there early too, likely is their involve in helping, which means they will either be doing reheasals, or setting up ur recept table.
though I admit tat the changing room at crystal ballrm is small, but it's definitely enuf to serve its purpose as changing rm for the wedding couple. And also consider tat it's near the ballrom, u do not need to walk too far to change and rush back for 2nd march in...
u may also wan to ask Hilltop of ur plan to rent Wine Bar as changing room.. cos u will be escorted thru out the whole nite by one of the banquet mgr.. so it may not be so convinient afterall...
beverages & early dinner of ur choice will be served to u and all whois there early.. for me, I had my early dinner in the changin rm, and my emcess & helpers had theirs at the reception area..
nonetheless, most impt is tat u must be happy.. its ur big day girl.. u make the call

fenfen

thanks whoofy for comment...

cos i wanted to rent wine bar cos its just one level down the crystal ballroom (3rd floor) and near the 2A lift to crystal ballroom. still considering... cos the place can be rent to me till 12 midnight.. so at least after that still can go there sit sit rest rest...

still deciding la.. haven confirm everything yet..

whoofy

baby10.. good idea to take tis chance to pamper urself.. Rasa Sentosa is a nice place for a retreat.. if u & ur hubby likes the sun, sand & sea..
if not.. jus book a hotel for a nite after banquet..the next day, take a ferry to a short holiday to Bintan / Batam getaway.. even if u dun like the beaches..can still enjoy the massages or simply nuah in the hotel room... it's almost the same price of booking a 5/6 star hotel here..

baby10

whoofy> dun think will go for a short holiday as we are booking chalet for my HTB relatives and friend so maybe after a night stay in hotel and we will straight go to the chalet.

Gina > Yes, I had settled my lunch menu few months back and eveything is exactly the same as dinner … I am thinking of changing the sea bass to red groupa and will inform before food tasting time.
Hope we can say hello to each other on our BIG day, ha ha ha.

baby10 > Ohh …. Weekdays is minimum 35 tables also.

Fanny > I also felt that the make-up room is very small, but what to do, just bear with it bah. Faster make-up liao, faster come out of the room loh.

Janice > I somehow liked the dark RED invitation card with a embedded “long” and “feng” on it … very nice, likely to take that.

lebonyl

Hi all BTBs, I have just confirmed crystal ballroom for my AD.
Love the ballroom, however, when i went for the food tasting it is not as good as farrer park, and i have to admit, Suzanna is not very flexible with requests.... -.-

baby10

Garfield> wow u already start to choose the invitation card and your menu ler, as for me i hve not start prepare anything for my wedding, just book the dinner and tat all.

baby10 > No lah, i am very "kiasu" de, i somehow liked the pattern of the invitation card but Suzanna told me to choose at a later nearer date. As for menu, it is very straightforward, the package is more or less the same, just that we wanted to change 2 to 3 dishes here and there, likely to to up $.

lebonyl

Evilicious > no.. you can call them and see if the date is available.. mine is on jan 2010 and I have already booked the date. Hence I guess its alright.

beautybeast

hi all... i am interested in the hilltop as well.. anyone tried the food. i heard from my frens that its good. planning ad in early 2010.

whoofy

dear BTB.. assume that most of u shld be stayin in the west.. tats why Hilltop was ur choice.
Heard tat they will be opening 1 at the new SAFRA Jurong West..do ask Suzanna for more details .. can also consider if it's better..

xellenx

lebonyl: how was Suzanna inflexible?

Gals, I have booked my dinner at Ballroom B on 29th November. However, I am open to the new option at Safra Jurong to be opened in May. Anyone have any news on this? They mentioned that they have bookings already there.

lebonyl

nelle> I requested for additional steps for the stage and she flatly denied,not even offering me any solutions.. I told her, IF there's no functions in the ballrooms below, can I use take the stairs(mobile) up to the crystal ballroom, she flatly rejected even when we say that we will carry it up ourselves.. :S

Anyway.. small issue la..

xellenx

Lebonyl: okie glad its not a big issue.

Garfield: ya we will look at Safra at Jurong which will open in May. B'cos its new! Anyone confirmed bookings there yet?

lebonyl

Garfield> yup .. please update us again.. didn't get to see the safra jurong layout or drawings that time when I went to book.

bearbearwife

Finally finished my food tasting over last Sunday.Thump up for the following dishes: fried prawn with cereal,steamed red garoupa, roasted crispy chicken and yam paste.Room for improvement for the following dishes: Herbal roasted duck and fried rice in lotus leaf. Fried rice with lotus leaf was too dry for me so I changed it to noodles instead. Overall,food portion were just all right and i am happy with the service so far.

Garfield> My hubby also liked the dark RED invitation card with a embedded dragon and phoenix with "xi" word. But in the end, I choose the white colour invitation cards with the same design.

lebonly,nelle,evilicious, beauty&beast :Welcome! Do share with us your wedding dates if you don't find your AD in the table below if possible. Thanks.

updates
S/N Id AD
12 nelle 29/11/09 (Hilltop Ballroom B)
13 baby10 30/11/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
14 Jastine 13/12/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
15 Garfield 6/12/09 (Hilltop Crystal-Lunch)
16 Gina Ong 6/12/09 (Hilltop Crystal-Dinner)
17 akino 6/12/09(Farrer)
18 kcpc 26/12/09 (Hilltop Ballroom B)
19 lebonly Jan/10 (Hilltop Crystal)
20 popomin 26/06/10 (Expo)
21 happygolucky TBD

lebonyl > I have heard a friend who claimed that Jurong is a lot much better in term of renovation than Crystal ballroom but for me, I will still stick to Crystal ballroom since it is “love at first sight”, nearer to my place and more convenient to the MRT too.

Josie > Thanks Josie for the field report on your food tasting! Will take note that
1) Fried prawn with cereal (i got choose this one)
2) Steamed red garoupa (might want to opt for this)
3) Roasted crispy chicken (also got in my menu)
4) Yam paste (Not in my menu)
Is good. And the invitation card, most people like it red red mah, especially got the “long” and “feng” on it. Greats mind think alike!

Attached is a pic taken last month at Ballroom B of Hilltop, the table setting is not bad

935539.jpg

lebonyl

Josie> Thanks for the warm welcome, my date is 23rd Jan 2010, Crystal ballroom.

Garfield> agree.. Crystal ballroom is love at first sight for me too, and the greenery..

bearbearwife

updates
S/N Id AD
12 nelle 29/11/09 (Hilltop Ballroom B)
13 baby10 30/11/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
14 Jastine 13/12/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
15 Garfield 6/12/09 (Hilltop Crystal-Lunch)
16 Gina Ong 6/12/09 (Hilltop Crystal-Dinner)
17 akino 6/12/09(Farrer)
18 kcpc 26/12/09 (Hilltop Ballroom B)
19 lebonly 23/1/10 (Hilltop Crystal)
20 popomin 26/06/10 (Expo)
21 happygolucky TBD

akino

haha.. yeah! wah next wedding will be u josie. so excited yeah?

btw are you all staying near west thats y u all choose there? or because of the ballroom? after dinner where will u all be going? hotel or home?

baby10

akino> as for me, i am staying at Bukit panjang. so it near for me. If my new hse is ready by then, i will go bk to my new hse, if nt mostly is hotel

akino

woo hilltop is far for me... farrer is nearer. after dinner we will be going back home. because we wanna save more $$ for honeymoon. hehe

baby10

akino> so where u plan for honeymoon? I am planning to Europe but I think is mission is impossible as wedding and renovation at the same time. Alternative is Japan or Korea

Garfield> Maybe we did past by each other at Bukit panjang plaza before, haha

akino

wanted to go switzerland. then think again, also need to save for our renovation. then 2nd choice would be hokkaido. most probably we'll be going after dinner, that would be in dec. HOW HOW HOW? some say go anywhere also the same as long as both happy. some say honeymoon go the place u want to go most as the next trip will be years... baby out then difficult to go HM edy.

baby10

akino>ya. me oso not yet decided on the honeymoon as some sae as for honeymoon we can fly to those far country as country like japan and korea, the flying hr is very short.

akino

ya.. today i saw in papers that hokkaido is much more expensive than europe. hokkaido is around 2k plus 7 days. but europe 1988 10-12 days. much cheaper right? alittle shock to see that. maybe resession ba

karenyeo

Hi gals and Josie,

I'm using Hilltop Crystal on 20th June 09...

I'm planning to hold my church matrimony ceremony at the same place, say about 6pm. Really like to use the foyer on the 3rd floor, just below the crystal ballroom. But it will be used for karate session until 6pm.
so i guess i hv to use the ballroom. However my partner's concern will be that all the guests will be sitting around the tables, hence they will be far away from the stage (compare to church setting) and children may just play with the utensils and drinks during the ceremony (hence might hv distraction)... Anyone know of anyone who held their church wedding there before? How's the atmosphere during the ceremony? Of cos, the pro is that most of my guests shd be coming for the church ceremony which shd end around 7-715pm so that means I can really start my wedding banquet early say about 8pm.

baby10 > Although I stayed at Bukit Panjang … but I seldom go Bukit Panjang Plaza as it’s a boring place.

akino > I am thinking of Taiwan …. Hokkaido is so ex

karenyeo > Welcome on board !

karenyeo

Akino: Japan is expensive becos the exchange rate have dropped a lot.. I just came back from Japan in Jan (not for honeymoon though) and i spend a lot due to the exchange rate of 1:60...

If you are planning to go Japan, normal cheap meal would cost about 500-800 yen. Better restaurant above 1200 yen. Subway/metro about 200-300 yen/one way trip within Japan. Shopping in shopping centres are expensive too...things are normal 3-digits singapore dollars.. so mostly shop along streets