Qian Xi - Hilltop Garden Restaurant

baby10

my sis just held her wedding at Bliss garden, another outlet of Qian XI. But the venue is expo. is abit far. Their cereal prawn is real tasty

akino> i will start my guestlist maybe around Aug 09 which is about 3 mths before my wedding as i have to let them know my final no of table and menue on end OCT. so at the moment i am quiet relax. :p

akino

Garfield> hehe ya.. told u so... tat day sure alot of bridal car passing thru CTE!

Baby10> start around august? is it too late? 3 months preparation? i have quite a no. of malay friends. not sure whether wanna invite them or not. i'm afraid they agree to come at first but end up put aeroplane i die liao... i think i'll start at june ba.

kcpc

Congrats to all BTB...
Im a BTB on 26 dec 2009.
Did anyone receive any call from suzana in regards to the new venue at Jurong Safra? The venue is still undergoing renovation. Not ready for viewing yet, but she do have the artist impression drawing for viewing..Has anyone view the drawings yet? Any advises to share?

baby10

kcpc> If I did not remember wrongly, she told me that the outlet will be open on May 09 as she already have function going on on May so die die must open on May but exact date i forgotten.

akino> Actually I already have in mind who to invite so I think there shld not be a problem to start on Aug. ****cross finger****

vonhsy

Hi Mary,

Sorry was quite tied up over the past few weeks so din have the chance to logged in here... my HTB also fell in luv wit the ballroom the moment he saw it...& immediately put deposit without any 2nd tots *so unlike him* haha..but i have to agree... it is indeed one of the best dat we've viewed..=P

Haha..we abit Kiasu.. food tasting was done in Sept.. hopefully e standard is there on our AD =)

Yup, i'm on facebook as well... [email protected] u can add me there..

akino

having headache now.. my parents are divorced then on the wedding invitation can i put both of thier names? like Mr..... and mdn .......... only daughther. i've told my MIL n she disagree. she said custom only can put 1 name. saying is easy... because she is not divorce. i really want to put both thier names. even thier divorce but i'm still thier daughter wat

kcpc

Hi Akino,

Im so sorry to hear abt tis.
Wat i understand from my cousin whom parents are divored. He was telling me tht is depending on individual.. He actually tok to his parents, and they are okay to state as per normal..and do you noe my cousin actually frame the invite card becoz it's veri significant to him.. the last ting his parent's names are stated together...

Im so upset with suzana...I have a appt with Suzana last nite, and it's a wasted trip for us..we rushed all the way from bedok to Bukit batok.. and the last we knew, she actually forgotten abt our appt.. so fustrating..I was so excited to wanting to tak a look at the drawing/photos of the outlet in Jurong, which she claims tht only 1 last ballroom is left remaining, and the date we wanted is veri popular, so muj act fast.. and wat has happen??

My htb actually planned for a movie at tampines, and becoz of the made appt, i persuade him to postpone.. we even have a agruement due to this..so fustrating...A lesson learnt, i muz call/sms her to confirm on our appt...

bearbearwife

update
S/N Id AD
1 whOOfy jO 31/08/08 (Hilltop Crystal Ballroom)
2 myfavchoco 9/11/08(Hilltop Crystal)
3 Mary 3/1/09 (Hilltop)
4 vonHSY 3/1/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
5 BuBBlyBub 14/2/09
6 Josie 25/4/09 Hilltop BallRoom B)
7 Garfield 6/12/09
8 akino 6/12/09(Farrer)
9 Hwei Fang 14/6/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
10 kcpc 26/12/09
11 happygolucky TBD

Welcome to this thread, kcpc and Hwei Fang.

akino, if you really want to put your parent name, then you should go ahead with it. If not discuss with your hubby and tell him you want to put your parent name. Most of the time, MIL will listen to their own children.

kcpc,yes do call Suzana to confirm your appointment next time. Don't be too upset over it.

kcpc

Hi Josie,
Thanks for the updates..btw, i'll be using Ballroom B..

Im okay le.. It's over..
No point harping on this lor.. Juz nid to dbl confirm on our appt in future.. Tht all.

bearbearwife

update
S/N Id AD
3 Mary 3/1/09 (Hilltop)
5 BuBBlyBub 14/2/09
6 Josie 25/4/09 (Hilltop BallRoom B)
7 Garfield 6/12/09
8 akino 6/12/09(Farrer)
10 kcpc 26/12/09 (Hilltop Ballroom B)
11 happygolucky TBD

akino

haiz my MIL really very old fashion. tat time i argued with her about it already.

aww kcpc remember to dbl confirm with her again b4 u go down

kcpc > Regarding the new ballroom at Jurong Safra … I have heard abt it too. Friends claimed that it is even more better in term of designs and renovation, better than crystal ballroom.
Wow, that is unlike Suzanna to forget abt the appt. Guess she is getting on in age, just bear with her, she is in fact a nice lady.

akino > I am sad to hear that ur parent are under going divorce, for me … I don’t think I am able to handle it. Guess like what some have said, just stick to normal will do.

Josie > Thanks Josie for the update, I will be using Hilltop Crystal ballroom.

kcpc

Garfield:
I agreed with you, she is indeed a veri nice lady...no hard feeling towards her la.. over already...

No worries, im fine le...Cheers!

bearbearwife

update
S/N Id AD
3 Mary 3/1/09 (Hilltop)
5 BuBBlyBub 14/2/09
6 Josie 25/4/09 (Hilltop BallRoom B)
7 Garfield 6/12/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
8 akino 6/12/09(Farrer)
10 kcpc 26/12/09 (Hilltop Ballroom B)
11 happygolucky TBD

myfavchoco, I will still go for food tasting but I plan it on my MIL birthday next year. One stone kill 2 birds at the same time. Hehe.

kcpc > Glad that doing fine now …. Wonder how’s your preparation or what’s your wedding favour is?

Josie > Totally agree with u … 1 stone kill 2 bird, idea wor. Maybe I can also plan like u

hweifang

hey all... just to share. went to a wedding dinner at hilltop last friday. think the food's pretty alright.. loved the scallops and asparagus, teamed fish and cereal prawns. misses are the lobster cold dish (lobster very little and too overcooked), lotus rice (rice too dry and quite tasteless) and the mixed seafood pot (sea cucumber, fish maw and those stuff are not cooked through, not very tasty). didn't stay till dessert so didn't try the orh nee.

service was also quite prompt or maybe cos our table was served by a middle-aged lady so maybe more experienced. did see quite a few teenagers working too.

some forumers were saying the red wine they serve is not nice. but i find it quite ok. have to make sure that they dry the glasses before pouring the wine though. my first glass was so diluted it was horrible.

the reception was very spacious. simply loved the tv screen to flash your photos so that not everyone will crowd ard the table with the photo albums. however the washroom sign that they put up can be improved lah. imagine everything also swee swee, suddenly you see one a4 printed paper pasted using blue tag telling you where the washrooms are. a bit off.

oh, and my friend sourced for her own favours - potpourri.

hilltop

i have been a regular reader here in this forum but contribute nothing for the 1 year of wedding prep. My AD was at the Crystal ballroom on 29th Dec. Everything went on smoothly on that night.

I just feel like sharing some stuffs here with all of you who are going to have your wedding there.

Food wise, very good. My guests even call me and tell me about that. I was actually quite nervous on the night. Thanks to Andy, the coordinator who is so calm and composed and reassure me everything is going to be no problem.

After your banquet, they even da bao for you food as supper.

The AV guy on that night was superb. Did wat was communicated to him(my march in was abit special with the playing of music with video).

Surprising, parking isnt much of a problem even though there are 2 other weddings going on at the same time. Some of my guests are allowed to park at the slope near the entrance.

Just something to look out for - a few of my guests commented tat the waitress rush to clear off the dishes as they got the 11pm mark to rush. They wanna finish the event my 11pm. For this, you might want to be firm with the coordinator in letting your guest have the time to eat.

You can actually prepare your own wedding favor and ask the staff there to help distribute on the AD. Tat's wat I did.

Well, I have a great time there. Hope those who are having your wedding there will have a great time too.

bearbearwife

Hi Chiu, thanks for your feedback. Hopefully all of us here will be happy clients like u. Take care.

Parking issue is always on my mind. Your feedback regarding the parking is really a good news for us.Thanks.

jastine

Hi all, i just had my AD at the Crystal Ballroom last saturday.

Everything went pretty well i guess. Only a bit chaotic due to mis-communication from my relatives. The restaurant pple are very professional.

Yap, like what Chiu say, i heard from my guest that they rush to clear the food sometimes w/o even asking the table if they have finish the food.

Parking wise i never hear much complains.

Overall, this is a good place to hold a wedding banquet.

hwei fang > Thanks for your feedback …. What is the fish u taken? Red groupa or sea bass?

chiu > “After your banquet, they even da bao for you food as supper.” I AM SO HAPPY TO SEE THIS. Wonder if the quantity packed is almost the same which is leftover by u?
I will ask the staff there for help in my wedding favors, thanks.

Josie > Actually from my previous experiences, parking was like hell on hot dates …. All ballroom was packed + carpark all full. Parking at the slope also scare my car kanna “kissed”.

Jastine > Staff rushing to clear plates … maybe we can start the dinner on time to avoid this problem?

whoofy

hi hwei fang..
totally agreed wif u on the fish. All my guest complimented tat the fish was fresh, nice & huge !! Understand frm Andy & Kelvin tat each fish served is at least 1kg lor...

though my AD was 3 mths ago, I still received compliments frm my relatives whenever we hav family gatherings.. one of my uncle even said tat for so many banquet he attended all his life, Hilltop is one of the best cos serving is big & tasty. His stomach was so full tat he barely can finish the desert "orh nee"...

hweifang

1 kg ah? that's big. but it's true that their servings are huge. half way thru i was already very very full. good to hear the compliments from ur uncle.

bearbearwife

Jastine, thanks for your feedback. Have a blissful marriage life ahead.

update
S/N Id AD
3 Jastine 13/12/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
4 Mary 3/1/09 (Hilltop)
5 vonHSY 3/1/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
6 BuBBlyBub 14/2/09
7 Josie 25/4/09 (Hilltop BallRoom B)
8 Garfield 6/12/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
9 akino 6/12/09(Farrer)
10 Hwei Fang 14/6/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
11 kcpc 26/12/09 (Hilltop Ballroom B)
12 happygolucky TBD

Oh ya, to make this thread more interesting. Hopefully we can gather some feedback regarding which dishes taste better from previous qianxi grooms/brides.

1) Hilltop garden cold dish vs suckling pig cold dish vs lobster cold dish.

2) Roasted crispy chicken vs herbal roasted duck.

3) Fried cereal prawn vs steamed live prawn.

4) Sea bass vs red garoupa vs soon hock

5) Braised abalone shellfish mushroom vs fresh scallop with broccoli vs braised abalone with spinach

6) The fried rice in lotus leaf taste vs braised ee fu noodles.

7) Red bean paste with glutinous rice ball vs yam paste with gingko nuts

All feedbacks will be greatly appreciated because i am sure many of us would like our guests to enjoy the nice food.
Haha, sound like i am working for qianxi group to get food reviews. LOL.

hilltop

Oh josie, how can you forget me, 29-Nov, Crystal.

Garfield > Even before the banquet, I was busy running ard like mad and I dont have time to sit down to sit down to eat the food Andy intends to prepare for me and the helpers.

So Andy ordered Hor Fan to be put into many small bowls and ask the waiter to serve us. So in the end, helpers at the receptions, me in the ballroom, my wife in the makeup room, all have something to eat.

This is something I'm impressed.

Well, I didnt get the chance to eat banquet food on the AD. But when I got the da bao food, I find the shark fin very nice. The fins are very big and plenty.

The Yam paste dessert also very nice. I am a person who doesnt like yam paste but the one they cook really nice. Not too sweet and no strong coconut taste.

Looking forward to go there to eat again if got special occassion.

bearbearwife

chiu, sorry miss u out.

updates
S/N Id AD
3 chiu 29/11/08 (Hilltop Crystal)
4 Jastine 13/12/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
5 Mary 3/1/09 (Hilltop)
6 vonHSY 3/1/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
7 BuBBlyBub 14/2/09
8 Josie 25/4/09 (Hilltop BallRoom B)
9 Garfield 6/12/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
10 akino 6/12/09(Farrer)
11 Hwei Fang 14/6/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
12 kcpc 26/12/09 (Hilltop Ballroom B)
13 happygolucky TBD

hwei fang > So glad to hear that the groupa is fresh and nice.

whOOfy jO > WOW!!! At least 1kg each … That was worth the price! I am thinking whether i wanna change from sea bass to groupa.

Josie> Thanks again for the compiling of the GOOD dish recommendation, hope we can somehow come up with our very own sgbride Hilltop “die die must try” dish soon, kekekekeke.

chiu > Wow, I thought most things should have been more or less settled before the start of your banquet. Can’t imagine when my turns is here.
As for your Hor Fun, did u requested for it or they suggest to you?

akino

i asked suz on nov. if we can change the food tasting to other request but she said can't. ... because we dont really need it as we just went to our friend's wedding and another coming up on jan.

by the way what are your wedding favours everyone? n where to buy them?

hilltop

You can personalise your wedding favour. I design my own(digitally drew me and my wife) and sent the design to print as magnet through this vendor. Spent about $300 for 540 magnets. Packaged it in golden sachets. I was quite surprised that I only took back about 10 unclaimed magnets after the end of the banquet. I think if it's personalised, the guests will want to take it more.

http://synetics.com.sg/

bearbearwife

updates
S/N Id AD
5 Mary 3/1/09 (Hilltop)
7 BuBBlyBub 14/2/09 (Hilltop Ballroom A)
10 akino 6/12/09(Farrer)
13 baby10 30/11/09 (Expo)
14 popomin 26/06/10 (Hilltop)
15 happygolucky TBD

bearbearwife

updates
S/N Id AD
5 Mary 3/1/09 (Hilltop)
7 BuBBlyBub 14/2/09 (Hilltop Ballroom A)
10 akino 6/12/09(Farrer)
13 baby10 30/11/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
14 popomin 26/06/10 (Expo)
15 happygolucky TBD

baby10,correction done.

chiu, what kind of magnet did you buy? Seem like they do have a few sizes for magnet? Care to share more details.Thanks.

akino

chiu, the magnet gift is quite unique! i like it too.. so i just past the vendor our photo? or need soft copy?

jewel_c

im new here. I will be making my booking with Qian Xi farrer park cause i have only 15 tables. Mine is a mixed wedding..therefore only dinner for my side. so sad. I like the hilltop ballroom. the Ruby Ballroom in Farrer Park need additional $600 which i find it reasonable, with the ballroom feel. my AD is 5th Dec. from here, i see all positive feedbacks. so.. shd rest my mind.