Qian Xi - Hilltop Garden Restaurant

karenyeo

Anyway where will you all be staying at after the banquet... My partner and I have not decided the place.. was initially thinkin of staying 2 nites in a hotel in city area but it's ex.

But if we don't, the idea of going back to our own home is stupid too cos we hv 2 other rooms rented out 1 year ago alr, adn we hv no intention of taking the rooms back for passive income.

Wat do u gals suggest?

karenyeo

I'm sorry for asking so many questions at one go...

However, is anyone giving out wedding favours since Hilltop doesn't include tat... is tat necessary?

karenyeo

tat depends when you hold...

But the problem is that the management will not make tat place exclusive for you.. meaning you will see kids and parents in their swimwear in your background and lotsa noise from the wadding pool

akino

why nobody farrer???? hehehe
wah last time exchange rate 1.4 nia. now ex huh. i'm going japan this oct with family. for 1 week. hb not going. hehe i can enjoy. hopefully by then will be lower...

we might be going switzeland. i want to go sky diving and all that SG wont get to try.. but my hb is not the sporting time. so... he said he video my from the ground. wahaha. might as well i go with my friends in future... any intro where we should go. maybe good scenery or some shopping will be good.

bearbearwife

karenyeo/ Wil-Ni- welcome!

updates
S/N Id AD
1 whOOfy jO 31/08/08 (Hilltop Crystal)
2 myfavchoco 9/11/08(Hilltop Crystal)
3 chiu 29/11/08 (Hilltop Crystal)
4 Mary 3/1/09 (Hilltop Ballroom B)
5 vonHSY 3/1/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
6 BuBBlyBub 14/2/09 (Hilltop Ballroom A)
7 Josie 25/4/09 (Hilltop BallRoom B)
8 Selinachantelle 1/5/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
9 Hwei Fang 14/6/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
10 Karenyeo 20/6/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
11 Jiaying 26/09/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
12 Wil-Ni 27/09/09 (Hilltop Ballroom B)
13 Janice 22/11/09 (Hilltop Ballroom B)
14 nelle 29/11/09 (Hilltop Ballroom B)
15 baby10 30/11/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
16 Jastine 13/12/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
17 Garfield 6/12/09 (Hilltop Crystal-Lunch)
18 Gina Ong 6/12/09 (Hilltop Crystal-Dinner)
19 akino 6/12/09(Farrer)
20 kcpc 26/12/09 (Hilltop Ballroom B)
21 lebonly 23/1/10 (Hilltop Crystal)
22 popomin 26/06/10 (Expo)
23 happygolucky TBD

akino- me getting so busy with the invites so seldom update the list. Yes, getting excited about my BIG day. Tons of items still needed to be done especially when the wedding date is nearer.

karenyeo-I will be giving out wedding favours to my guests.Garfield and I bought our favours from the same company. http://www.celiagfavors.com

xsherlin

Hi, I'm new here! I also book my (AD)Big day at crystal Ballroom.. I saw you gers was saying that cannot go back home after the dinner ,cos i stay with my hubby parents after our wedding. N my flat is not ready!! So REAdy cannot go back after the dinner??

961023.jpg

whoofy

hi sherlin..
it's ok if u r going back ur in laws place to stay after the wedding... wat we meant was cannot go back our (bride's) parents place to stay..

=P

xsherlin

hi whoofy Jo...
Oic! ok i tot cannot go back in laws place haha... scare me, cos i didnt book hotel room to stay for the night..

Thank's alot..

xsherlin

Anyone got any idea abt the ang bao box what colour, nice anot??? anyone got picture of the box. cos if not nice,i maybe DIY ang bao box..
Email me: [email protected] the picture

And did they give stand to use for photo frames.

whoofy

hi Sherlin
I dun recall Hilltop providing an ang bao box.. Or perhaps there is but I did not ask nor use.. Anyway I DIY mine.. quite easy to do.. jus took the box frm my office that was used to put realms of A4 papers, bought the wrappers, ribbons and dried flowers from Daiso. Cheap cheap..

xsherlin

Hi Whoofy JO,

Oh !! okok THank's for the information and the photo of your ang bao.. I think i will try to do it.. hahah!! Daiso? at which area have this shop DAISO??

whoofy

hi Sherlin
Daiso is orignated frm Japan.. all items sold in this shop is at 2 bucks.. There's one at IMM & Vivo City.. But I strongly recommend IMM cos it's bigger, more organised, wif much more variety u can choose frm.. U see the "flower bird nest" on my ang bao box, it's actually a potpourri.. lily fragrance..
I also bought some potpourri flower petals so be scattered on the table that put our wedding albums & table-top..
It's definitely cost savings to DIY.. and most importantly..enjoy every bit of the wedding preparation..
Besides the ang bao box, I also DIY the wrist corsages for my brides maids.. Bought the materials from Daiso & Spotlight @ PS. Since my jie meis are my colleagues.. we usually take lunch time to gather and DIY the corsages.. Kinda fun & bonding..

963796.jpg

whoofy

Garfield & sherlin
Important thing to note when DIY ang bao box..
make sure all openings are sealed, leavin only the hole for guests to slot in the ang bao.. Well. wif tat.. of course u will also knoe tat it's unlikely to keep the box after the wedding.. cos u will rip it open liaoz..

xsherlin

Whoofy Jo >>> Oh! Tat Great, I think i got to find one day to IMM to find all the DIY and my ang bao box n flower petals!! but for the jie mei wrist corsages. I dunno Wan to DIY anot.. cos i scare end up i will spoil everything.. WAHAHAHA!!

Btw do u remember which floor 'Daiso'shop ??

Thank you so much! for giving me many ideas on DIY! n ofcos where to shop the staff with just $2 per items.. Cheap cheap

Garfield>>> Hi! Thank you
I saw ur date of ur wedding, Mine is on the 2 Aug 2009... I left with 5 mths to do all the staff .. OMG.. What abt u?? u have done with all the staff?? I Haven take photo yet!

xsherlin

Whoofy Jo>> Hey there, any idea how long is the march-in duration for the crystal ballroom, cause i'm deciding on which part of the song i should cut from as i'm afraid it might not match.

whoofy

sherlin..
can't really recall exactly how long.. but it's abt 2.5mins long if u r walkin slow pace..
Make an appt wif them 1-2 wks prior to ur AD so tat u can bring down all ur disc to try out.. U can also ask ur emcees along for rehearsal, try ur march in pace... etc..So long as the ballroom is available, they will be delighted to meet ur date & time. They will also sit down and go thru the sequence of the nite wif u..
so tis appt is quite necessary..

xsherlin

Whoofy Jo..

oh.. ok.. then i'll contact them to make an appointment..

Thank you so much!! Btw this morning i saw this 'Daiso'shop at Sembawang Shopping ( NEW )

ALL > Hello everyone !!!

whOOfy jO > Daiso $2 store …. All things are cheap wor, idea leh. Save save save, i really need to save every single cent, thanks.
I will bear your words in mind, “all openings of ang pow box must be sealed”, ok ok, I won’t forget de.

sherlin > 5 mth? Oh, no wonder u are so excited. Sure got time to prepare everything de lah, don’t be so nervous, take it easy. How i wish mine is just around the corner.

I remember for my ROM march-in song, I used “chariot of the fire” (think correct spelling), it’s good. Just choose a nice smooth song which both of u like will do, relax relax.

whoofy

sherlin & Garfield..
jus a tip of advice & caution..
u may want to ask someone close & reliable to help look after ur ang baos on ur AD. If I'm not wrong, the safe box in the dressing room is not very high-tec, and the pin nbr is fixed !
Considering tat the dressing room is lock by key, it's not reali safe to place ur ang baoz in it..

For me, we had prepared a big sling bag to put ang baos. Once the reception is over, I've got my brother-in-law to jagar the box. When it's time to change for 2nd march-in, they followed us to the dressing room, torn open the box and transfer the ang baos into the sling bag. And the rest of the evening, my brother-in-law was carrying it with him.

myfavchoco

kekee.... no time to post message here le.

as for me, i got 2 ang bao box, i jus put inside a big plastic bag, put under the VIP table. my parents are there, unless when go "yum seng" then my grandparents will look after.

xsherlin

Whoofy Jo & myfavchoco..

Oh.. I didnt know that they have a safe box there.. Thank you for you Advice , if i know they have a safe box inside n they will lock the door. i maybe will keep my ang bao box inside.. Lucky u all remind me on this..

Garfield >> Ya i'm so excited.. hope everything will be done on time .. keke..

whoofy

sherlin..
dun think the safe box is big enuf to put the whole box. Will definitely need to transfer the ang baos to the bag if u wan to use the safe.
However it's strongly not encourage as :
Without Prejudices
1. Safe pin is fixed. U cannot reset a new pin of ur own. But the pin nbr may have leaked out to others working there already.
2. Dressing room door lock is by normal door knob. Excess to dressing room is by a normal key. Any duplicate of the key is unknown ????

So it's still best to keep the ang baos with someone close & reliable in ur family.

xsherlin

Whoofy Jo ..
Tat right.. ok i wil remember this.. I think will ask my family member to keep .. keke..

Thank's alot..

w3ngal

i need to double confirm: Hilltop BBK only got 1 dinner venue right, the ballroom with the 3 crystal ball in between. Is there any minimum table requirement for this venue?

I am getting confuse as i read along the threads.

bearbearwife

Hi W3n, Hilltop BBK is one wedding venue.
Level 2 has 2 ballrooms(ballroom A & B.
Level 4(Top level) is where crystal ballroom is located. The most popular ballroom at BBK.

w3ngal

thanks dear. anyone got pic of the ballrooms at level 2? cause i dun have any idea how the ballroom looks like. i am wondering if it will still be good if i take level 2. cause i dont have 45 tables to take the level 4 ballroom

karenyeo

Josie: My friend will be using poppers for march-out during her solemnisation ceremony.
(To create that Celebrative mood)

Personally I think it's less appropriate to use poppers during march-in, as I would prefer my march-in to be more "romantic" feel than "celebrative" feel. Up to you actually.

If you wanna buy poppers, buy those big poppers from party shops to create a very celebrative atmosphere!

karenyeo

have you gals gone for food tasting alr? How is it like? They serve the actual 9 courses that you choose or wat? Have to get 10 people to go?

I'm using the Crystal Ballroom so I hv alr booked 45 tables which is the min. However from the forecasts given from both sides of the family as well as personal friends, I've got a feeling I may need more than 45 tables. Do I have to book more now, or can I ask for reserved tables that I do not need to pay if I do not open up the tables on the banquet night? How does it work? Anyone can advice?

whoofy

hi karenyeo,
I had mine at Crystal ballrm too..
Initially we were worried tat we might not be able to fill up 45tables.. End up.. our final count was 50 confirmed tables + 2 reserved !!!

You do not need to increase the confirmed tables now. 1-2 wks before ur AD, hilltop will definitely asked u for ur final confirmed tables.
By then, u shld have a much clearer picture how many guests confirmed attending. With this info, u then confirm with Hilltop the tables, incld any Halah or vegetarian pax as well.
Rule of thumb is : Confirmed tables = Confirmed must pay.
Eg :
Ttl no. guests attending = 500pax
U can inform Hilltop :
Final confirmed tables = 49 tables
Reserved tables = 2 tables (always max 2 reserved allowed)

With this arrangement, in an event if some guest din turn up, u save paying 1 less table. And if truly all came, u pay for 49 + 1 reserved tables.. so u dun lugi...

w3ngal

wow how come u all got so many tables....is more of ur friends or parent's friends and relatives? big family i supposed! =)

karenyeo

thanks whoofy for your detailed explanation. Totally understood now.

Yup both sides of the family is forecasting about 16 tables each. That's about 30-32 alr. Personal friends more or less 15 tables. So I guess may have more than 45 tables. Don't know car park how...wondering if I shd book a bus since most of my relatives stay near each other in the east. That could save a lot of carparks

jo_tey

Due to turn of events, I have to let go of my wedding banquet at Hilltop's Crystal ballroom. Pillarless and high ceiling. Minimum 45 tables. Very good PERKS.

Special Wedding Package:

1) Free Flow of Hard Liquor, Red Wine, Beer, Stout, Chinese Tea and Soft Drink (Hard Liquor and Red Wine for booking of 25 tables & above)

2) Free elegant ivory sear cover for ALL dining chairs

3) Wedding March & First Course Presentation with Special Effect

- Laser & Disco Lighting

- Smoke & Music Effect

- Projector w/ projection Screen

- High Stage with LED Lighting

5)Multi-tier dummy wedding cake with champagne fountain with complementary bottle of champagne

6) Free wedding invitation cards with free printing

7) Free guest signature book

Total capacity is 65 tables

Pls email at [email protected] if interested.

xin_starzz

I intend to sign up with Qianxi on the Jurong Safra Club.. My AD is on June 2010.. Do u all have any comment or advise to give me before I go down to place my deposit this weekend...?

As I only have 30 tables therefore I am not eligible for the Hilltop Crystal Ballroom however I like the effect so much that after looking at the layout of Jurong Safra Club, I decided to take up since they have crystal lightings for all their ballroom there and "not a too low" ceiling..

Has anyone sign up with Qianxi Safra Club yet..?

whOOfy jO > Thanks for your advise about looking after our Ang Bao in the “dressing room”. I will take extra note.

myfavchoco > Aiyo, very cute lah u …. Put the ang pow box under the VIP table.

Mag > You are very lucky …. I heard Jurong Safra Club is superb nice!!!

All > I got a side question for some of you, if I confirm 38 + 2 table reserved but in the end, only 36 table is filled, I will need to pay for the 38 table cost. BUT I will get to packet the 2 table full of food back after our banquet OR I can go back to the restaurant and eat another day?

myfavchoco

garfield,

u can go back other days to eat.=)

i wish i can go back eat lor... but i table all full... wedding day eat no enough wor.. kekee

myfavchoco > Ok ok, so can go back other days to eat .... so nice.

w3n > Guess no matter what also must Da Bao abit here and there bah, don't waste food.

akino

aiyo.. i also afraid i got tables not filled lei.. at first we counted only 30+2 but book ballroom must be 35 tables.. worried!

btw my xin niang room is going to be my very own room. so my hb will be coming to my house right after dinner lei. how?

whoofy

hi akino...
if both side of the parents are ok and not supestitious, also u & ur hubby feel ok.. it doesn't matter which place u go back after dinner.
If reali dun feel comfortable, maybe book 1or 2 nites at a hotel for both of u to stay overnite after the dinner.. take it as an opportunity to relax in private.