Qian Xi - Hilltop Garden Restaurant

lingnyong

actually i wanna share on my woes...cos i duno wat i should do..actually i have only around 30 max.. but hilltop crystal ballroom minimum is 45 tables and my hubby want me to have a nice wedding as we both like the crystal ballroom. now is that his mum say do not have so much tables and she also find the tables expensive.. any advice? should i just stick with crystal ballroom with 15 extra tables use for any other celebrations as wat suz suggest or should i choose ballroom B? anyone can help? is ballroom B ok?

akino

janice> actually we only have 30 tables in mind. but need at least 35 tables to book diamond ballroom. but my hb love the diamond ballroom so he decided to book it. another 5 tables= 50 ppl! where to find... but then suzanna said if u have tables "which is not open", u can save it for future use. like gathering or baby 1st month. any occasion. no time limit. and usually invitation list will be more then u expected. i asked my pa n ma to invite thier friends too.

lingnyong

akino > but mine is max 30 tables..then crystal ballroom minimum 45 tables..which means 15 tables extra = 150 people.. i confirm cant find so many ppl..and i know about the gathering..but..i really in a confusion state now..

lingnyong

anyway, it is solved. thanks

bearbearwife

Hi Janice & jewel, welcome to this thread.

janice, happy that you solved your problem. Which ballroom are you using?

Garfield, i also decided to order from http://www.celiagfavors.com/index.htm aka www.idoido-weddingfavors.com. Thanks for your sharing on wedding favour vendor.

updates
S/N Id AD
1 whOOfy jO 31/08/08 (Hilltop Crystal Ballroom)
2 myfavchoco 9/11/08(Hilltop Crystal)
3 chiu 29/11/08 (Hilltop Crystal)
4 Jastine 13/12/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
5 Mary 3/1/09 (Hilltop)
6 vonHSY 3/1/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
7 BuBBlyBub 14/2/09 (Hilltop Ballroom A)
8 Josie 25/4/09 (Hilltop BallRoom B)
9 Garfield 6/12/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
10 akino 6/12/09(Farrer)
11 Hwei Fang 14/6/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
12 kcpc 26/12/09 (Hilltop Ballroom B)
13 Janice 22/11/09
14 baby10 30/11/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
15 popomin 26/06/10 (Expo)
16 happygolucky TBD

lingnyong

hi Josie, can i ask u how many tables u having? and wat favour u buying from idoido? i also getting from idoido..hehe.. are u going to decorate or do anything for Ballroom B?

cutie_mary

hello... its been a while since my last login. 6 more days to my big day... haiz, still feel that there are alot of things to do. My hubby recently bought the favour from idoido too... he bought the fridge magnet cum can-opener... quite nice...

bearbearwife

Hi Janice, I got 30+ tables. Brought the happy couple sauce dish & happy couple heart shape platter. Got mixture of favours so that my guests can choose what they like. What are you getting from idoido I have not thought of what to deco for ballroom B.

Hi Mary, really so long never heard from you. Must relax a bit as I know many of us especially brides tends to be stress up as the Big day draws nearer and nearer.Be a happy and pretty bride ok?

ying83

Hi all!! Nice to meet all of u here..i also sign with Hilltop. My AD is 26th Sept 09 at Hilltop Crystal Ballroom. Hope to share my experiences with you guys! =)

cutie_mary

Hi Josie, thanks for your message. I already tried to relax, but no matter how hard I try, I still very tensed up. I will still update you girls how the ballroom B looks like after decorated... maybe with some pics too...hope that all the best for this sat bah!

lingnyong

Josieeeeeeeeeeeeee... u got the same favours that i want to get..hehe... same ideas sia..i want the sauce dish and heart shape platter..great mind think alike? hehe.. also ard 30+ tables..

Mary... u can do it..be a happy bride..post some pics for me to seee.=D i so anxious to see the after deco ballroom B..hehe..

baby10

Happy new year and may all the newly brides and grooms here will have a smooth and wonderful in year 2009

bearbearwife

Happy New Year once again. Wow, the list is growing longer over here.

updates
S/N Id AD
1 whOOfy jO 31/08/08 (Hilltop Crystal)
4 Mary 3/1/09 (Hilltop Ballroom B)
5 vonHSY 3/1/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
6 BuBBlyBub 14/2/09 (Hilltop Ballroom A)
7 Josie 25/4/09 (Hilltop BallRoom B)
8 Hwei Fang 14/6/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
9 Jiaying 26/09/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
10 Janice 22/11/09 (?)
11 baby10 30/11/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
12 Jastine 13/12/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
13 Garfield 6/12/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
14. Gina Ong 6/12/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
15 akino 6/12/09(Farrer)
16 kcpc 26/12/09 (Hilltop Ballroom B)
17 popomin 26/06/10 (Expo)
18 happygolucky TBD

Gina/Jiaying , I have added your info.
Mary/vonHSY, congrats for your marriage. Do share with us your experiences with QianXi group ok.
Janice, which ballroom are you using for your wedding?

satoko

Garfield >

It cant be 2 couples in the same ballroom on 6th Dec ma.

I call suzanna to confirm she say only gt 1 couple on 6th Dec at crystal ballroom that is mine le.

U wan to call her and double confirm your booking?

satoko

Garfield >

Can you provide mi your name?

Cos Suzanna ask mi help her get yr name.

If you dun mind give mi your name.

Gina > Pai seh pai seh .... sorry to reply so late, quite busy lately.

I didn't mention about my 6th Dec 09 at Crystal ballroom. At the point of my booking, the traditional evening banquet is already booked (wow kaoz, i went to book in Nov 08 hor) so i settled for the lunch banquet instead, ha ha ha.

I am terribly sorry to keep u worried.

lingnyong

Hi Garfield, mine is at Hilltop Ballroom B tentatively. Trying to see if can get enough tables to take crystal ballroom. hehe.

Janice > Ohh .... Ballroom B is not bad too. Trust me, it is easier to upgrade later on than to downgrade but still subject to the availability of the Crystal Ballroom too.
Frankly, just do it within your budget and invite only close friends and relative, avoid those so-so OR even friend which u are not close with just to get onto the Crystal Ballroom.

Gina > It's my fault, i didn't explain myself clearly. Hope u are more "fang xin" le, hee hee.

Just came back from a close friends wedding at Hilltop ballroom B. Saw Suzanna just now and i wave to her and she could recognised me, ha ha ha.

Gina > Hee hee ... just a "xu jing yi chang". Ang Pow Box, no lobang le, i got it from my sister, just a normal box but decorate myself loh.

bearbearwife

updates
S/N Id AD
8 Selinachantella 1/5/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
9 Hwei Fang 14/6/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
10 Jiaying 26/09/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
11 Janice 22/11/09 (?)
12 baby10 30/11/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
13 Jastine 13/12/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
14 Garfield 6/12/09 (Hilltop Crystal-Lunch)
15. Gina Ong 6/12/09 (Hilltop Crystal-Dinner)
16 akino 6/12/09(Farrer)
17 kcpc 26/12/09 (Hilltop Ballroom B)
18 popomin 26/06/10 (Expo)
19 happygolucky TBD

Selinachantella, welcome to this thread. Gina, now I hope you are feeling better also.

selinachantelle

there's a typo error ...Selinachantelle ..nt chantella..
thanks..

Hi all brides..Hilltop is quite popular..food ok..price reasonable..Ballroom quite grand.
:D

But the problem is they dun include favours...free night stay..etc

Does anyone of you plan to find any hotel stay for the wedding day..?

bearbearwife

updates
S/N Id AD
8 Selinachantelle 1/5/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
9 Hwei Fang 14/6/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
10 Jiaying 26/09/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
11 Janice 22/11/09 (?)
12 baby10 30/11/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
13 Jastine 13/12/09 (Hilltop Crystal)
14 Garfield 6/12/09 (Hilltop Crystal-Lunch)
15. Gina Ong 6/12/09 (Hilltop Crystal-Dinner)
16 akino 6/12/09(Farrer)
17 kcpc 26/12/09 (Hilltop Ballroom B)
18 popomin 26/06/10 (Expo)
19 happygolucky TBD

Correction done. Well, I am not planning for any hotel stays since those good hotels stays are quite far away from Hilltop.

lingnyong

Josie - i will be taking ballroom B..thanks for ur help..hehe..
Garfield - thanks for ur lovely advice..i will consider carefully before jumping for the sake for the ballroom..cos i like the ballroom alot..but i not allocating so many people..and my hubby knows i like the ballroom..he want to take the minimum no. of table and take crystal ballroom..but i dont like the idea of it..btw, Garfield, u mention u went for a dinner at Ballroom B..how is it?

selinachantelle

Gina..think u better act fast..
i wanted that but its FULLY booked on my day..
Sadz..

Now i trying to search for others In west area ,hoping to get one so my Jiemeis & Bros can have a good rest ..

satoko

OMG. In this case then i have to go book now liao.

If not later Fully booked alr.

Did you try Home Team? Is also near to Hilltop.

Anyway thanks for your reminder. Hee Hee

baby10

HI gals, so some of you are booking a hotel room after the dinner? me oso coz after my wedding i will be staying with my parent as my flat is not ready and still wondering which hotel to choose from? some elderly said that we cannt go bk to "liang Jia" straight after the dinner must at least stay a night out so we have no choice to book a room

Gina > Don’t really have to be great in ART lah … just think of it’s for your own wedding can le, let ur imagination run wild. Simple simple tying of ribbon also nice wor.
I like this “"mei li de wu hui", indeed it is.

Janice > U are most welcome … pls don’t mention it. I went to dinner at Ballroom B last weekend, it is so-so loh, fried chicken not bad, red groupa fish is nice, mai pian sia was great, the rest normal loh. First course dish was not impressive at all, sad, abalone taste like rubber.

Just want to share with u my personal experience, initially we are thinking of either Ballroom A or B but after looking at the Crystal ballroom, we liked it very much. The problem arises because we didn’t have as much as 45 tables to fit the dinner. After much discussion and negotiation, we might have 35 tables so we settled for Crystal ballroom lunch instead. Not to worry abt the effect because I have experienced it for myself, they will make the whole ballroom have the evening nice atmosphere effect, can’t sense the differences.

baby10 > After dinner cannot go straight back to “niang jia”, I have not heard before … anyone care to help?

reeree

Hi hi, my AD is 28 November 2009, Crystal Ballroom. So far I have gotten a lot of feedback about the good food. I have also checked with my friends who are working in an event company whether there is anything I should look out for when I hold my wedding there. They pointed out that the stage and steps leading to the stage is a little slippery so have to be careful and dancing not recommended.

baby10

Garfield> this is said by my hubby auntie that is not very good to go in and out of my parent hse so many time in a day so she suggest tat we stay in hotel for a nite at least coz traditional is to go back my parent hse on the 3rd day after our marriage. so mostly we will book a hotel room for a nite

whoofy

baby10.. yeah.. hav also heard of such "rule" that newly weds not suppose to go back niang jia until 3rd day after wedding...
my sis & her hubby also face the same prob.. their flat not ready.. so even though they stayed a nite at the hotel after the banquet (their banquet was held in the hotel), my mom still chase them back to groom's parents home and not allowing them to stay at her hom...

Janice > I settled for the LUNCH banquet at Crystal ballroom .... after lunch ends, it will be preparation for GINA. Maybe there will be chance for us to bump onto each other on that day, kakakakakakakakaka. Don't worry, lunch banquet is quite trendy nowadays although my parent don't really like the idea, ha ha ha. For lunch banquet at Crystal Ballroom, it will be a minimum of 35 tables. I am thinking of around 33 tables and 2 spare or something, aiya, still early for me lah, got ample time to plan again.

Janice > Suckling pig cold dish combination

Desiree > Ya ya, i can see it's quite slippery coz the stage is sort of like plastic material.

Baby10 > Ohh .... so that's the case, guess u better follow old folks' instruction.