Qian Xi - Hilltop Garden Restaurant

geniebottle

tats the correct link.. u can choose the wedding boxes from there and ask them for candy. cheapest one around 1.50rm (including candies) for 2 wor... so one is 0.75rm

for the candles and chopstick not show inside. cos i went there and see, they do have.

Hi Genniebottle

Strange, I can't access the webpage...may be I have to access it from home..just in case it's blocked by my company firewall.

Anyway, do you have the location details such as address etc. So that if I'm in JB, I can visit the shop.

My AD is on 27 Jan 08..less than 3 months and yet to start on anything.

devilz_vinz

hi geniebottle (geniebottle)
sorry for the late reply..my AD is on 16 march 08..i think 1 of the memebr here just gotten married last mth..wonder how is it..hope she saw this and let us noe how is their service and stuff..hehe..so geniebottle u gotten ur hse already??

geniebottle

Hi vincent,

Ya, i got my house already, will be really in feb 09 at punggol. How bout u?

remember to let me know when u go food tasting, see the food nice anot. =)

then which bridal shop i go?? can share with me?

thanks lot,

devilz_vinz

hi geniebottle
i also gotten my hse le..i buy resale @ woodland..currently renovating halfway..i went to "x zen" for my bridal..how abt u??pai seh..hehe..one member wedding is end of this mth nt last mth..hehe..

kelv_angie

I am new here. I have just viewed Hilltop Garden just now and was pleased with the settings. However i have not met Suzanna as she was not in. Any one have photos to share? Any advice on what to ask when i meet her?

geniebottle

Vincent,

ya.. hope someone will share their recent wedding with us pretty soon.. =) if not i have to wait till jan(yoshiko) and march (urs) wedding.

whoofy

dear geniebottle

I'll be attending a wedding lunch on 18/11 held at the ballroom. Will take note of the details and share with you all as soon as I get back from the event.

kelv_angie

ive went down today to view the ballroom and we are very pleased with it. However i am still pondering whether its worthwhile to choose this location rather than novotel clark quay ($718) & holiday inn park view ($788). Will ppl consider this invitation as hotel/resturant rate? location for Hilltop is a disadvantage.... So difficult to make comparison...

geniebottle

Hi kelv angie,

novotel is cool... i love there but its out of my budget, (cos wanna save more for honeymoon) kekeke =)

as compare to our restaurant, hilltop could be once of the best, the ballroom is fantastic, thumb up.

my only 2 concern bout hilltop is
1) safe box to small for ang bao box.
2) no private toilet for bride and groom

devilz_vinz

hi whOOfy jO (whoofy)

remember to take lota photo for us to see ar..hehe..wonder if their service haf improve or nt..can u help us take note as well??

whoofy

hi vincent
no worries.. I'm very particular into details, esp their service. May also be meeting up with Suzanna before the wedding lunch to discuss some details of our banquet. My AD is on the 1st of the lunar 8th mth (31 Aug 08), so I can't do anything during the 7th mth festival. My "Gua Da Li" will be in July 08.. So will need to get the invitation cards ready by then...

kelv_angie

Hi geniebottle

thanks for ur reply. yes at the end of the day we must think for our pocket. i think hilltop is still the best choice, even if guests give ang pow according to "restaurant rate". BTW when u intend to go for ur honeymoon?

For bridal, i have IMPULSIVELY placed deposit with bridal de courture ( thats the 1st bridal shop) last yr during a road show and im regretting.... they dont have nice OTR gowns and i do not have the confidence on their MTM gowns... how??? *stress

geniebottle

Hi kelv

when your actual day? u got to book early, as to wat i know they only left 1 weekend left for october, november and december 2008.

honeymoon, either immediate after our wedding 09nov08 or january09. cos if go during nov and dec school holidays veri ex wor. kekeke

bout the bridal shop, how much u paid for the deposit? how bout try selling away at the market place and exchange corner?

whoofy

hi geniebottle
opps ! A typo error on my part.. It should be "Guo Da li".. so call the day where the groom brings over the dowry & wedding cakes for the bride's family to distribute to their relatives.. usually will also distribute the wedding invitation card on this day..

kelv_angie

Hi Geniebottle,

Initially we checked with Suzanna 20dec is available. We intend to find shifu tomorrow to confirm the date.
We paid $388 for the BS. Maybe next year we'll look into negotiating with the BS. We are getting our house keys next week.. Gotta do things one step at a time...Wedding very ex wor...

xixi0310

Hi genie bottle

just saw ur previous post..u will be gettin ur keys in feb 09 at punggol..dun tell me we r neighbours?? where ur hse located?? hehe..

kelv_angie

geniebottle

we'll be staying @ bukit panjang segar road. yesterday we went over to hilltop again to place our deposit. there were 3 weddings held yesterday... booked the 20th dec 08..

geniebottle

HI Joyce,

haha... so qiao. =) What block is yours? mine is 303C.

Hi tomoko77,
wooo, so qiao too. u also holding ur Dinning at hilltop?

xixi0310

hi genie and tomoko

wah we all neighbours..hehe..me 303b..
last time i also wanna hold weddin at hill top cuz we need ard 50-60 tables..deco was nice bt due to some reason we chose Le Meridian hotel
instead..erm ask u all hor..u all hold weddin first b4 hse ready is it?

xixi0310

Hi genie

Cuz i also booked mine on Feb 14, 2009..
i scare hse nt ready yet by then..which means after custmary u will stay at in=laws hse first or stay own hse??

BTW my AD on vday (sat)..do u tink is a gd idea?? cuz hor my fren told me some couples wan go celebrate then my AD clash with their vday celebration..If ur fren holding weddin at vday, do u tink its a gd idea?

when ur AD?

geniebottle

joyce,

i not staying wif in-laws. we stay wif my parents till house ready.

AD on vday is meaningful to the wedding couple lor. I agree wif ur friend tat mostly couples wanna celebrate vday. maybe u will see couples holding bouquets of roses at ur dinner ba..

anyway, no worries la, i believe dinner's guest mostly is relatives and parents friend. our own friend only few tables ba. tats my thinking la =)

since u already booked then don think bout tat issue le. =)

princess_val

Yap, Hilltop provides the standard Guestbook. Off white cover with gold trimming papers. I DIY my guestbook so the standard one is still in original condition. haha~

I had my AD at Hilltop Garden @ CSC in June this yr. So far, I haven regret it. I had ard 60 tables. A coordintor will be there to help you, he is very steady, so no worries at all (think his name is Alan).

For my case, the tables near the main entrance felt very hot (or no air con) cos of the opening and closing of the doors. Apart from there, food quality & quantity responses were great!! Service is average, so don't have too high expectations. It's still worth it. The ballroom is nice & classy!! & its nearby my house~ save travelling time~

cecelia446

Hi to all...

My actual wedding dinner will be at hilltop crystal ballroom this coming 16Dec 07. Er... How to say lei.. Was quite lost with the preparation lor.. The date is getting very near, n yet there's still alot of question marks in regards to everything.

My coordinator is Alan. Firstly, he gave me the main telephone line at hilltop. Alot of times when I had to find out abt issues, it's always the waitress there replying to my questions.. I was like.. Hey.. Can I trust their words???? Till now, I still don't get the idea of what is the flow like during the dinner.. I asked whether there's any rehearsal before hand.. They told me no.. Only on the actual day itself.. What if things happened unexpectedly ne?

We have went for the food tasting with a total number of 9 ppl. We find that the amount is only just right lor.. Not very full. How abt 10 ppl then? If those were the amount they are going to serve to us, how abt the other tables? Bcse they normally serves more amt for the bride and groom's table compared to the rest mah..

Till now I only get to talk to him during the food taste.

Haiz... Dunnoe whether am I worrying too much. But I really dun want anything to occur on my big day, cse we are suppose to be relax and happi that day right?
I'm really worried lor....

Hi Kel_angie,

Me too staying at Segar Road.. Renovation almost done within this few days. How abt you guys?

whoofy

hi Cecilia,
can understand ur anxiety and those butterflies in ur stomach... Take a Deep Breath...
I do agree wif u that they may not be quite professional in managing their customers (us).. but given credit to them on their experiences, I'm sure everything will turn out fine on the actual day !

Normally they will hav rehearsal only on the actual day,(even hotels also dun usually hav pre AD rehearsal); with a briefing on how's the flow u prefer : wedding montage follow by 1st march-in, or only 1st march den follow by 1st dish.. wedding montage den 2nd march in.. etc.. it's up to u to decide and tell them ur arrangment.

As for the timing to change ur gown, they will que u base on the arrangement.. so u see..shld not be tat bad .. u trusted them, tats why u chosen them in the first place..

So relax and be a beautiful bride tat day..

I'll be attending a wedding lunch tis Sun. Initially had plan to meet up wif Suzanna to discuss further on our banquet, but she says it's too earli.(ours is 31/08/07) Maybe abit kiasu liaoz.

Anyway I will be keeping a look out during the wedding for the details, and since I'm the guest, hoefully will have a taste of wats our guest gonna experience on our banquet nite... Will keep u all posted after this..

cecelia446

Hi WhOOfy,

Yar, thanks... Keep all of us informed can..
Another thing, can look out whether do they really free flow the liquors as in they really refill your glasses once it's finished..
Enjoy your lunch there..
kao_drool.gif

jellygal

The Crystal room nice and the other 2 quite small for more tables. Think they trying to squeeze as many as they can to earn.

whoofy

sorry to keep u waiting.. finaly got time to write tis after a long day work..
I attended the function at the crystal ballroom.. here's some personal feedbacks to share :

1. Carpark lots - Definitely an issue for guests. Club has only abt 180 lots available. And if there's 3 weddings held on the same day, a line of cars can been seen along the road outside the entrance queuing for entry as the gantry is controlling the no. of cars entering & leaving the club. Conclusion : It's a must to advice ur guest either to arrival super earli (which is unlikely !) OR provide a map indicating alternative MSCP nearby the club. Me & my hubby went directly to the MSCP since we alreadi knoe in advance there's total of 3 weddings held.

2. Lift 2A @ Basement 2 (used by those who walked to the club frm Bt Batok MRT, frm the side entrance) - Rather slow and can't take many people each trip. Most unfortunate for us was tat the button to get the lift down to B2 was spoilt tat day, so we all did abit of excercise climbing the stairs to the ballroom. Of course u can still wait and try ur luck tat someone inside the lift is coming down to B2...Hope it'll be fix soon..

3. Cocktail reception area - Not very spacious enuf if u are inviting abt 60 tables of guests. And perhaps it's my high personal expectations.. the waitress did not go ard offering drinks to the guests. They were jus standin behind the bar counter. High tables for guests to place their drinks were also very minimal - 2 to be exact.

4. Ballroom, projectors, lightings - all very great and perfect ! Only small issue is tat there's no red carpet for the march in...

5. Ballroom aircon - We were sitting quite near to the entrance, but the aircon is still very powerful. In fact our food gets cold very fast after serving becos of the aircon kept blowing down.

6. Service of staff - I would really say average and depend on ur luck. Since most of them serving us will be temp staff, it reali depends who u get on tat day. For us, we got a nice Chinese national lady, who's very quite nice and polite.

7. Free flow of beverages - Was quite prompt in refillin our glasses until the last few dishes.. guess they are all busying keepin the plates etc back to the ktichen.. Red wine was Corner Stone 2006.

8. Food Quality - Good ! Only thing was it gets cold too fast due to the strong aircon. This reali make me wanna emphasize tat on my AD, I will not allow them to serve the fish jus before the 2nd march in. Tis is becos we had to stop eating the fish to do the toast.. and when the yum seng is over, the fish is not as nice as when it's hot. (tis is only my personal preference..to eat fish when it's hot)

9. Table to table spacing - As the host had in total 64 tables tat day, the spacing of the tables were frankly, very tight ! Basically u r unable to sit comfortably if there's someone else sitting behind u frm the next table. We were quite lucky as the remaining tables behind us were reserved tables tat were not open, so we push in the chairs in order for us to have some space between our body and the table. So for those who are having more den 60 tables, u may reali want to re look at the table arrangment.

Well I hope tis sharing is good enuf for u all..
Pls note tat it's all base on my personal aspect and expectations of things...

cecelia446

Hi WhOOfy,

Sounds bad..
kao_sad2.gif
It seems what I worried are reali happening.. Sigh..

Especially the carpark and the beverages.. Alreadi there's no complimentary carpark coupon, imagine they have to queue outside and worst when they manage to go in, can't find any carpark!!! Reali dun want my guests to feel frustrated upon attending my dinner bcse of these issues..
kao_cry.gif

So, what do you plan to do to overcome all these issues ne including the beverages? I think no point talking to the coordinators or the lady boss lor.. I feel tat they simply dun bother abt us as long as they got their money at the end of the day..

devilz_vinz

wah..tt time suz told mi 65 table still got alot of place to walk..how ar like tt??stress le..i got more den 65 table leh..my frd say tt red wine is just average onli..car park also problem leh..

geniebottle

if ur AD is on sunday, then tats not a problem le. sunday free parking ma, can park at nearby multi storey carpark. can help guest save $.

bout the wine stuff, i think average is gd enough le, since its free flow, we cant expect much from them.

i think most importantly the food must be nice lor... if not got nice wine, lots of parking lots also no use le.

whoofy

hi Cecilia
things aren't tat bad lah..Becos the entrance gantry is controlling the car flow, it will only allow car to enter when there's another car going out. So there's definitely car park lots once u enter.
Actually if we think again, carpark is always a problem whenever we attend a wedding. Even if it's in town area like Suntec / Marina Square. If sufficient information is given to our guests, I'm sure they will appreciate those efforts rather den feelin frustrated.

As for the beverages, not refilling our glasses during the last few dishes is very common, even among 5* hotels. Tis is becos all the staff are busy keepin and bringing back the dirty dishes to the kitchen so tat they can finish work by 11pm or earlier.

As for the wine, I agree tat it's quite a normal one.. but personally I've tried it and find it dry and easy to go wif the food thru the nite. No point havin expensive wine anyway if guests are gulping the wine !

So ultimately, it's not so bad afterall.. since most of the issues are happening everywhere, at hotels too !

whoofy

hi vincent
strongly advice u to speak wif Su and probably ask her to give u a sample layout of the ballroom wif 65 tables to see. Or perhaps u ask her if there's any up and coming wedding tat is having similar no. of tables, so tat u can probably pop by earlier and take alook personally.

cecelia446

Ya hor! Never tot of Sunday free parking.
At least after reading all your comments, I'm more settled now.. I hv decided to write behind the invitation envelops telling the guests to go straight to the MSCP once they see the long queue. Hands abit tired though.. :p

And I have alreadi reminded my parents to keep a look out and remind the waiters to refill the glasses since I would not be around all the time.. We will also be bringing down a few bottles of red wine and my father in law's collection (2 big cannon) of hard liquor just to play safe..

I guess I'm almost settled now. Just one last issue.. Initially can't find any mandarin speaking emcee, as my friend dun speak fluent mandarin. So, got the restaurant's emcee instead. But they only have Chinese speaking. And they can't provide me with the profile of the emcee till the actual day.. Now I have a problem here. If I were to get a lady friend of mine to be the English emcee.. What if the Chinese emcee they provide is an old old, fat fat uncle. Then the combination abit funny liao.. Since there's no rehearsal, I can't provide my friend with a script to memorize too.. But I do need one English speaking emcee, as some of my guests dun understand Chinese at all. Any suggestions?

whoofy

hi Cecilia
maybe u can ask Su if she's able to fax u a copy of the script both English & Mandarin... I believe the scripts are quite standard ones.
As for the mandarin script, it's quite straight forward.. so long as ur fren have it in advance, or ask her / him to come an hour earli on tat day to read thru. I'm sure it'll be fine.
It's still better to get frens to be ur emcees..