Qian Xi - Hilltop Garden Restaurant

cheekychick

Hmm..actually, Tang Court Cantonese Restaurant at RELC International Hotel (next to Shangri-La)'s menus are cheaper than Qianxi & they even have a nite's of hotel stay. It all depends on wat we r looking for loh. I duno if the food at Tang is good anot but if u all like Qianxi food, why not? But Qianxi's Crystal Ballroom is still v nice compared to most of the places...So sometimes, we cant see price or whether got hotel stay anot loh..its if the venue can give u the ambience u wan for ur budget loh...Actually for most places, those with hotel stays most probably factor in the cost of hotel stay liao.

Joyce, for dinner of 45 tables, its best to prepare some cash for potential losses. Depends on which menu u choose
The more tables u have, the higher chance of making higher losses. One way to avoid losing alot is to invite only close relatives & frens or have a cheaper menu. Cos ppl who duno u well will not give much angbao wats more at a restaurant. But dats my personal opinion only ok?

Lets say one table is $550. 45 tables would mean $24,750. U need to place 2K deposit. Meaning balance to be settled is $22,750. Lets say u get $450 angbaos for one table. Not sure abt ur family's practice but for some ppl, VIP tables no need to give angbaos at all. For the worst senario, u will get $450 per table for 43 tables (provided 100% attendance). So angbaos collected is 43x$450 = $19,350. So u need to fork out $22,750 - $19,350 = $3400. U will need to estimate the worst senario & save up the cash accordingly...juz in case

Since ur bf is the one paying for everything, mayb u can let him noe dat other than the dinner cost itself, there r other things like Bridal Package (ur gowns+pre wedding shoots), AD videography & photography, Pin Jing for ur mum, angbaos for helpers + xiongdis + jiemeis, xi bi (cakes for relatives) etc. All these need hard cash. So on ur part, mayb u can try ur best to save abit bit loh..juz a small amt also good, else the burden is too hard on him. Cos 45 tables is no laughing matter wor.

For the settlement of bill after dinner, i believe Qianxi allow u to go back the next day to settle the balance. But they prefer chq or cash. Not credit card. Mayb u can talk to them...they arent v willing cos using of credit card incur admin charges on their part.

If u stay in the north, no need to charter bus. Qianxi is walkable dist from bukit batok mrt. Those who live in the north, juz take mrt to bukit batok loh...heh~

esther_mrs_wai

I have a banquet package of 35 tables at Qian Xi Paya Lebar to let go. A deposit of 1k has been placed but willing to let go at $850.

I am currently checking if a change of date is allowed. Also, menu hasn't been decided yet, hence, you are able to pick the menu of your choice.

The below link for more info
>> http://www.qianxi.com.sg/index.htm

Should you be interested, kindly contact me @ [email protected] or mobile - 81262298

collateral

Hi joyce,

Think u also have to factor in the usage cost of the Ballroom at Level 4 which is $1.2K. Based on the number of tables, u can ask for the Ballroom at Level 4, unless u want to use level 2 ballroom.

xixi0310

Hi Cheeky chick, edmund and karolyn

in the end me n bf decided nt to hold our weddin at hilltop already..hehe..cuz i mind that theres no red carpet..i already asked the PIC..summore no room stay..We plan to have it at RASA sentosa..
Cuz price maybe slightly higher bt gt red carpet..(768 nett) Bt qian xi ballroom is reali very nice..

whoofy

hi Vincent
actually it's more than 8 mths (at least) since my last visit to Hilltop ! But thank goodness for this forum, so far I've been updated wif feedbacks on their improvements...
perhaps I shld pop by one of these days to check out wat changes they've made...

fruitsee

Hi all members of Qian Xi,

I would like to ask whether the printing of the wordings for the wedding cards are included in the wedding package that you all had signed?

Apparently, some restaurants' wedding package include wedding cards but they will not help you print the wordings.

devilz_vinz

hi geniebottle..im holding mine in 08 as well..i gt abt 65 table..she say no extra perk or wat leh..no dicsount or wat so ever..

amylee1982

I am new here. will be holding my wedding on nov 07.
my bf and i are considering hilltop too.. but we do not know wether the food is nice a not. I am more concern about the food then the environment..of course the envirnoment must be pleasant also lah...

Any comments on the food... have anyone attend one of their wedding at hilltop?

whoofy

dear all
I'm also having mine in 2008 for 45tables @ the crystal ballroom.My AD is 31st Aug. Basically there's not much perks we can bargain for, esp if we have book with them 1yr ahead of our AD as we have already secure a cheaper package. I've booked mine since July 06 !! And I can tell you tat the package I secure is no longer available now.. of course there's a few changes in dishes, but we still feel tat it's quite a good package since the beverages are free flow, wif invitation cards (incld printing). Only set backs is to source the wedding favors on our own and no free parking for guests.

As for the food, most of my frens who attended banquet there had given good feedbacks on it, and the serving is rather big portion as well. Personally have also attended family functions at Hilltop, and feel tat their quality of food is even better than some 5 stars hotels standard.

geniebottle

Hi vincent and all,

i going down tomorrow to book le,62tables. my AD is november. yours??

btw, if i book 62tables tomorrow. then maybe 2mths b4 my AD, can i like change to lesser or more tables???? jus wondering... cos my parents say should be can mah...

i think i will choose the cheaper mena ba... hahaha... $558 one..

btw, are you guys buying favours for ur guest??? any recommendation anot?? 620pcs wor... where to find cheap cheap cheap favours ????

Hi Genie

I understand that the minimum tables required for the ballroom is 45 tables so you can onfirm for 45 tables instead of 62 tables. And when your AD is nearer and your guest list is more firm, you can increase the number of tables you need.

The reason I ask you to book for 45 tables is because once you confirm the number of tables, that is the minimum you have to pay regardless whether you've open/use the table on your AD.

So to play safe, go with the minimum tables required.

FYI, the ballroom can hold up to 70 tables, so you shouldn't have any problem with 62 tables.

For myself, I've booked the ballroom for 45 tables although we have around 50 tables. Because when the date is nearer, there bound to have people who can't attend.

Since you book early, I doubt Suzann will give you any perks but at least you can guarantee the menu price. Please make sure that the menu price that you have when you book with her is valid for Nov08 dinner. Also, try to see whether she can give you free food tasting.

Hi Joanne

To answer yr qns....they should provide you with printing. I remembered that I saw them passing to a couple with printed wedding cards. This is quite standard. Only hotels don't provide printing.

geniebottle

hi yoshiko,

jus came back from hilltop, i told her 55tables. 2mth before the AD jus finalise the no of tables, lesser or more than 55tables also can.
i ask for free food tasting but was kanna rejected.. She was a veri "law by law" person. so diff to nego one... hahaha..

Hi amy,

i paid the deposit to secure the 9nov08 date. i did told her there might be changes in date. She is fine with it, jus tat i must confirm the final date by this mth end.

geniebottle

jus thought of a problem, where u guys going keep the ang bao box when the dinner start???

cos the safe box in the bridal room is too small. how ar???

amylee1982

Hi Genie

You can ask yr close and trusted friends or relatives to keep it for you first if they do not have a safe deposit...

Today I just went to Hilltop... really like it there.. place is big.. and there is even a balcony for smokers.. not bad.. as most of my friends are smokers...

Most prob will hold it there.. but waiting for my bf approval... donno y men have to think so much sometimes... heheh.. but have to ask his opinion also... cos is a couple thing

geniebottle

Hi amy,

dunno how leh... cant possibbly ask my parents ma, i believe they will be busy tat night...

relative.... hmmm.. cant think of anyone...

friends..... not say don trust them la... but its a matter of probably $30000 wor... i will scared lor..

haiz... dunno how lar.... =(

geline

i went down to hilltop last week. I really like the ambeince of the L4 ballroom. But the room looks quite small for 50 tables.

devilz_vinz

mine AD is 16march 08..sorry for the late reply guys..bz wrking..my table i think is ard 65 or more..my IL asking onli 6, but my side here gt abt 42 table..harven plus my frd n my wife frd..donno still got space or nt..when the date nearer den tell her i gt abt 50..cos if tell her too much den ppl nv attend i also must pay..so tell her lower 1st..i thinking of getting shot glass for my falvour..now in the mist of finding..abit bz now a day..hse reno harven finish so need to go find alot of stuff..

whoofy

hi vincent,
i;m also thinking of getting shot glass as wedding favors. U can check out tis website.. they have quite nice shot glass.
www_heavenlycorner_com
** Replace the _ with .

amylee1982

Hi Genie

Went to check out hilltop again... went to pay my 2k deposit... holding my AD on the 2 nov 2008.. check out the changing room today... quite small.. buy ok lo... still can use.. but too bad there is no free parking and door gifts.. but anyway must give and take lo.. no choice.. cos qutie like the environment there...

geniebottle

hi amy,

keke.. urs is 7days b4 mine..

no i haven choose the bridal shops.. tink tat one still early ba.. going book probably in april.

amylee1982

HI Genie

hahah ya... is just 7 days b4 me...
hehhe...

are u into mtm dress? if yes is better to look around.. i may be taking Jess Haute Couture.. her package not bad.. but i am still considering.. was recommended by my cousin.. and the comments from her and her friends are no bad...u can go check out her website: www.jesscouture.com.sg

devilz_vinz

hi whOOfy jO (whoofy)..my dad frd is checking for mi see i can get from china or nt for the shot glass..i think alot cheaper there..i saw 1 webby also selling shot glass de but is in thailand..still can make ur own design all tt..i try to see i can get the webby or nt..

Hi Vincent

Is a good idea to buy it from China or Bangkok but have you thot of the freight charges and it's a fragile item....

Anyway I bought chopstick with silk cloth as packaging from HKG.

devilz_vinz

hi yoshiko..how much u brought ur for??ehh..my dad frd will be shipping in his stuff in container so i just tompang in lo..hehe..save cost..i will be ordering more just in case anything happen to a few of them..

Hi Vincent

I bought it at a reasonable price ~ approximately 40cts per pair. But of cos, there are some that is not presentable. I'm considering to get another item to replace those that are not presentable.

You may wish to consider anything that are fragile as it may be damage during the transit...Even shipping in container also may cause damage if it's not properly handling and there is no guarantee too.

Actually can do without it as only 30% of the guests will appreciate it....so of my friend suggest to me to get either chocolates or cake.

Yes, I bought it at Ladies Street in HKG during my recent trip there.

Vincent: You may consider to buy this at China and I believe it'll be cheaper or at least the same price. However, please note that the quality may not be good but is presentable.

herain

geniebottle,
what did you buy? got pics to share? where did you buy them at? I'm also planning to get from JB. But dono what to get yet.

geniebottle

sianz... the date we booked, my father in law don like. now the worse thing the whole of oct, nov and dec08 only left 1 date each for us to choose.... sianx sianx sianx

vincent,

when ur AD??