Qian Xi - Hilltop Garden Restaurant

cheekychick

Hi Edmund, when i asked her abt mode of payment (i noe if pay by credit card, they will incur admin fee), she say 2K can be by credit card cos for the couple's convenience. But she will prefer chq or cash when we go back the next day to settle the balance....

If i sign with her, i will pay everything by chq. I dun tink i can carry so much cash with me to pay her loh~ Will be paranoid..

Hi Edmund/ cheeky
I oso prefer to pay by credit card but they dun allow...so what we plan is after calculating the ang pows, we will pay them cash so this will save us time to bank the cash in...

little_dinno

Hi Cheeky Chick,
my AD is on 28 sept 08, i think date can be change.. mine is the ballroom @ level 2.. as mine only got 35 tables..i think she is a very nice lady BUT then when things happen...she keep insisting me topping up to 45 in order to use the ballroom @ level 4.. as i told her i really like that place than other... but the fact is me and my HTB think is not possible (how to find another 100 Paxs) sigh is my mistake lah.. cause is really attractive with all the free flow drink, wine.. etc.. anyway.. i try calling her couples of time.. either she is busy or she is driving... (feel like she is avoiding my qns after i call her the 1st time that i want to cancel).. anyway i have not sign any contract at all.. then she tell me the receipt i pay for the deposit is the contract.. *FAINT* anyone out there do let me know if you guys are interested... willing to sell it off.. do email me.. [email protected]

cheekychick

Hmmm...35 cannt use the grand ballroom mah? I read in older threads from other forums dat 35 also can...But i didnt bother to ask as i only have 20 tables. Mine will be Ballroom A if i book. Hey, no point booking the 4th level if u dun have enuf ppl to attend. U not only have to pay additional 1.2K for the ballroom, u will lugi due to ppl not turning up too. Its true dat the perks she offer is reali good. I believe i cannt find a place dat can match her perks & price. But my hubby was very insistent on not booking on the spot becos he feels dat the march-in is rather short for me...

I suggest u try to get someone who is willing to take over ur package first. When dat is settled, call up the restaurant to find out if she will be there for the day. I believe they will noe...then make ur way there to explain to her? When she was encouraging me to put down my deposit, i was wondering how to pay if i haven seen my draft contract.

U may also wana try posting at femalebridesonline & styleweddings.com.sg

cheekychick

Hi Edmund & Yoshiko, not sure why the restaurant cannt absorb the admin charge too. To be frank, i tink the menu prices are very reasonable already...Mayb hence the reluctance on their side to accept credit cards thou its such a common payment tool. Anyone noes if the cc admin charges are proportionate to the amt charged to the cc?

collateral

Hi cheeky_chick,

Suzzane say min 45 tables then can use Crystal Ballroom at level 4. I can only estimate ard 30 tables but i book for 33-39 tables, at least the ballroom@ level 2 i have taken more than half, the march-in will be longer as well.

I don't know if got draft contract or not? Any members here got sign any contract besides paying the deposit?

cheekychick

Hi Edmund, dats wat Suzzana told me too...And booking of Crystal Ballroom, its an additional 1.2K on top of everything, no matter wat. Wah, 39 tables!!! Cfm u used both ballroom A & B liao...then i tink for u, its quite alrite. Mine 20, abit hard *shrug*

Yeah man, i haven heard anyone talking abt draft contract...surely i must view the contract b4 payment rite? *scratch head* My hubby is saying isit all restaurants not contract one?

collateral

My wife like the Crystal Ballroom but after much consideration, paying additional of $1.2k is not worth it.
I think for the deposit is to book the location and date as well as the prices of the dinner packages. Coz if i book in 2006, the prices is much lesser than now

missbean_25

Hi Geraldine (little_dinno),

We have also booked on the same mth as u! We took the crystal ballroom as we have abt 45 tables. Suzanne is very persistant in not giving more perks...not even the 50% waiver for the food tasting. =/

By the way, when u guys booked with her, does she gives u an official receipt stating the price and special requirements? According to my FH, she just wrote it down in her notebook.Is it reliable enough?

Hi Anna

She gave us the official receipt only and no other document/contract. She just jotted down in her notebook and blocked the ballroom in her calendar schedule. As for the rest, such as our requirements etc, she will assign a captain to us to meet our requirements.

My banquet is end Jan 08 and no once has contact me yet....but I believe they will when the date is nearer.

little_dinno

Hi Anna,
she only pass us an receipt.. and now she claim that the receipt is the offical doc for all stuffs... i think it is better for you to state everything in b/w... i couldnt PM you..
think is better if i can.

cjs

Apologies to those that addressed to me in the earlier msg, haven't been coming in lately.

Anyway, regarding the use of the Crystal ballroom, I think Suzanna's way of handling is quite standard, oh well, at least she sticks to her principles. Her criteria for 45tables is for weekends, and 35tables for weekdays. Mine is charged 38tables because it is the Friday very close to Xmas. It's really up to individual to see whether do they REALLY WANT TO THE BALLROOM OR NOT?

My friend juz attended a wedding dinner. Feedback is pretty okay... service reasonably gd... crispy chicken I heard is a MUST! Haa... Anyway, I will be having my food tasting at the end of this month... let's see how things goes along.

Gd luck to all!

cecilia07

Hi all, I have just signed up with Hilltop for Dec'08 too. Paid the 2k deposit. Would like to find out what should I be looking for in them? Thanks in advance!!

yueling76

Jus want to share wif everybody..

I had my wedding dinner at Crystal Ballroom on May 2007.
Crystal Ballroom is very grand:)

According to my parents, my relatives & my friends are happy with the food, complimenting on the big portions.

All the staffs are v helpful also.

so i think can consider it

gothzion

Hi all, i'm new to here & am totally in a loss right now as i have to hold my dinner ASAP.. Just wanna check whether is it possible for me to have a booking with them (QianXi Hilltop)..?
I hope to have some helpful gals to provide me with some help/advice as all my previous post was not answered :-( .. Million Thanks..!

whoofy

hi Cynthia
when is your date & how many tables are you looking at ? Hilltop have small function rooms (for 30pax) up to a ballroom for 450pax as well.. If you're urgently seeking a place to hold a dinner, strongly suggest that you give Hilltop a call and speak wif Suzanne to check if your date is still available.

gothzion

Hello whoofy, thanks for your advice. Actually i'm fine with any dates in Sept/Oct. Guess my hubby and I will settle with onli close relatives/friends amting to abt 15-20 tables ba... Issit possible..? Do i just call up the rest. tel? Will i be able to get hold of Suzanne?

gothzion

Hello Yoshiko, i've called them up this morning.. The gal took down my no. & said will get back Suzanne to get back to me.
Hope she wun take a long time cox i heard u gals said tht she's rather busy doing a one-man show.. Well, thanks all for the help~

gothzion

Hmmm, the gal sounded very pissed off when i asked her some questions.. and the moment i said:" Just to check with u, for Sept/Oct reservations..." (she interruptted me - leave down ur name and contact, my boss will get back to u)
I was like Duhz.. kinda stunned by the rude customer service lor.. :-(
But i like the place & also eyeing the free flow lehz.. haha.. Hope the experience with Suzanne will be better~

Feedback it to Suzanne. Hopefully she will get back to you ASAP.

I think they need 20 tables (minimum) for the reservation at level 2.

Since your reservation is last min, may be she can give you more perks such as FOC food tasting etc. It'll be more beneficial for her to close the deal than to leave it empty....provided she has the venue for you on your preferred dates..

gothzion

Oh issit..? I tot last min reservation they will be more happy cox we no choice already, and less perks will be given.. haa~ I tot is like this lahz.. Btw Yoshiko, when is ur AD..? How's the preparations coming to? :)

Hahaha....you shouldn't be looking at this way...and you shouldn't tell them that you really like the venue.

I'm sure she can give you more perks if you negotiate with her. Mine was a difficult negotiation as we book early with them. Overall, there is nothing much that you need to negotiate as they cover most of the things le except for wedding favors.

My AD is on 27 Jan 08 and I've booked the Crystal Ballroom.

We left the nitty gritty things such as finding wedding favors, the Guo Da Li items etc lor.

Not very busy as I started earlier to plan and source for banquet venue, bridal studio, photographer and videographer lor

Yours must be very rush for you....remember to enjoy doing it : )

gothzion

kaka.. Well, i also wished i can do it earlier.. hahaha...

Oh ya, the Guo Da Li hor... actually means wat?
Also, u know those chinese tradition customary.. guys side actually need to give us wat?

Eg, like pin jin, pin li, 4 dian jin issit cfm must..? Both me and hubby are cantonese.. and neccessary things we need to take note?

gothzion

Yuppie..!!!~ :) Suzanne just called and so glad they have avaliable dates for me!~
And Yoshiko, u're right! Indeed she throw in more perks for me..~ Am so glad that this issue has finally been settled..

Tat's great.....glad that the venue is still available

Out of curiosity, what perks did she throw in for you?

As for Guo Da Li, you can browse this subject with this subject and you should be able to find out more. It's difficult to write as I'm confuse myself....alternatively, you can search from the website.

gothzion

sure sure.. no problem~ thanks~

cox i think i understand onli 25 tables and above, den entitled to free flow hard liquors/red wine.. but she's giving me though i onli got 15 tables..

Also she say she can give me discount on the pricing of per tables lor...

gothzion

Btw, would like to know if any one knows whether level 2 ballroom is nice..? Any pics..?
As i understand that their website shows the beautiful crystal ballroom which is located at level 4 rite..?
I'm excited to know the L2 Ballrm.. :)

Suzanne gave you a good deal....L2 Ballroom is nice too as compare to some restaurant. You should make a trip to view the restaurant.

For 15 tables, you may not occupy the whole ballroom and this means there may be walk in customers...please do confirm with Suzanne that she will block the restaurant/ballroom for you.

gothzion

Will be going down to view most prob on weekends cox both hubbby and me working mahz..
WWah.. walk in customers..? hmmm, think that would be rather unsightly rite? :-|
Thanks Yoshiko, will definatly remember to cfm with her..!~

cheekychick

Cynthia, i've viewed the ballrooms at L2 before. Basically, if u have 15 tables, i tink they can do partition for u. I've seen the arrangement for 20+1 tables at Ballroom B (the one further away from the lift).

I tink if urs is 15 tables, u shld be taking Ballroom A bah. Was offered free flow beer & hard liquor as well. Pretty good i would say...but most probably not taking it up cos hubby doesnt like the short march-in & he finds the stage too small for the ballroom. The L2 ballrooms are actually quite spacious.

I rem got 2 projectors as well. Got plenty of invites to choose from as well
A couple of them are quite nice actually....I still tink the best thing abt them is free flow hard liquor. Dat perk is hard to beat...U juz have to settle ur own wedding favours. Enjoy the preparation!

whoofy

hi Cynthia
Congrats on securing the venue on ur request date ! Do discuss with her on the details of the menu, and feel free to check with Suzanne if u can change a dishes FOC..
Enjoy ur viewing this weekend !

xixi0310

hello all

FYI, yesterday i walk in to hill top restaurant and their ballroom (level 2 and level 4) with my bf..my comments is that actually level 4 is much more better than level 2 cuz to me level 2 looks like a restaurant more than a ball room..the stage is so low and theres no place to put the reception counter..When i asked the mgr where can i put the reception counter, they say just outside the restaurant..i dun quite like it..

As for the ballroom, i admit that its very nice..bt no free complimentary stay in hotel leh..they onli got one changing room..after weddin must faster pack and go back hm

there is a place specially for reception..still nt bad..bt hor the exit lift stinks..i tink is becoz of the carpet..lucky is exit lift and nt entrance lift..bt the exit lift is just beside the recep counter there..scare ltr the guests can smelly the odour..

Lastly my sis attend a wedding there b4..ard june this yr..level 4 ballroom..her comments is that ballroom is very nice with the laser lighting and cuz there r 4 projectors but food is nt nice..especially the sharks fin..very starchy..

Hi Joyce

Of course you can't expect so much for a restaurant. As for food, it all depends on the chef and number of wedding on that day too. Some can be good and some can be bad. And also on individual taste too. Some will like it and some will not like it.

As for the smell, I think need to feedback to them. I remembered that when I view the place, there is smell and I asked the captain there. He said is because the air-con is not on and he ensure that during wedding, they will switch on the air con hours prior to the banquet.

I must said that their ballroom is nicer than some of the hotel ballroom.

For hotel stay, you could book a room at any of the hotel that you like too.

It all really depend on indivdual. Of course whoever has the budget, you can splurg and do a dream wedding or wedding of the century. And of cos, some like myself are because parents don't like hotel so have no choice. I went to view many places before deciding this venue. You can't find a perfect place but as long as you know what is your expectation, then it'll be easier for you to shortlist.

No offend though..just sharing my thots with you...Hope you able to find a venue that you like.

xixi0310

hi Yoshiko (cinderalla_bride)
no worries..wont offend me..from wad u say, u r rite also..the ballroom (level 4) is reali very nice..the mgr on all the lightings, laser light for us..since by then we will have our own hse, maybe straight after weddin go back own hse lo..my bf say like tt better..

i actually dun mind hold there but i reali hope the carpet can smell nicer..haha..cuz tt time we were in the same lift with some strangers..they also commented to the mgr that their carpet smells..

For my side, we also actually quite budget..cuz bf wanna hold dinner 4 mths after we collect keys..Summore we need 45-50 tables..Beginning next yr then we will nOe when we can collect our keys already..hse, wedding together very "siong" hehe..

We also went to Dragon gate rest at harbourfront b4..tt one is reali a no no for me..hehe..gg to view occ and novotel hotel b4 we make our decision..

BTW u already book ur AD dinner already is it?

Hi Joyce

For the carpet smell, you can ask yr sis as she attended dinner there.

I've many frenz attended wedding banquet there and most of their feedback is positive lor.

I understand it'll be veri siong for you to handle your wedding preparation and doing up yr love nest..I think I more fortunately than u cos I don't ve to worry abt hse yet...i chose to look for hse after my wedding...dun wan to stress myself lor. Now the price for resale flat so high...think got to wait for a while le.

I did consider OCC and Novotel and they are both fully booked on my AD - 27 Jan 08....i start looking for venue 9 months before my AD and I can't believe that so many venues are taken up...think i'm not that kiasu..kekeke

xixi0310

Hi Yoshiko (cinderalla_bride)
wah so fast all kana booked..hehe..My ROM will be maybe one day before ur AD..Actually we planned yr end 08 to beginning 09 then dinner..see when we get keys first..Beginning next yr will Know liao..hope by then still gt available dates for me to choose..I wanna weekends (sat)..if 08 dun have then have to wait till 09 liao..So whcih means u stayin with in lawa firsT?

Then have u ROm??

cheekychick

Joyce, actually i agree with you...When i was there to view L2, saw the bride too but i wasen v comfy abt having to drag my gown while walking along the corridor. But i did consider the place becos its within my budget & the free flow hard liquor hor...wah, tempting sia :p But i nv smell anything when i was at L4 to see the grand ballroom leh. Super nice, better than some of the hotel ballrooms. But comments i've heard abt Qianxi food is not bad loh...i guess food is reali subjective..but i like it dat for Qianxi, i can anyhow mix & match dishes, juz dat for certain dishes, need to top up a bit...some places, dun have dat flexibility..

For me, i choose to buy hse first...i've already ROMed more than 2yrs ago, lol...dun wori abt houses gals, im sure you all can find ur dream homes!

Yoshiko, 9mths is not enuf! U noe why? Cos even now as i typing, got hotels open for booking for first quarter of 2009 liao loh...everyone is so super kiasu, until im so scared also...im planning for mine in mid 2009...worse rite?

xixi0310

Hi Cheeky chick
yeah maybe i will held there also..also ard 2009 bt is beginning 2009..maybe jan or feb..Beginning next yr have to place deposit liao..hehe..cuz we wanna settle our hse next yr so dinner 2009..

i also like the mix and match dishes...We need ard 45 tables so i cant expect much from my boy..Actually i also like novotal hotel...bf also dun mind there cuz i noes tt he dun wan disappoint me..bt i have to tink of him lor..hehe...Ltr he stress...

cheekychick

Joyce, Novotel is nice too...i've been there to view both the ballrooms. U mean ur hubby is paying for everything?? *sweat* Actually, i tink both places got pros & cons...Novotel is abit more expensive but comes with hotel stay..But if most of ur guests stay in the west, i tink Qianxi is more convenient. Juz dat parking maybe a prob. And one good thing abt Qianxi is no differing prices for weekends & weekdays. If u take Qianxi, i tink its better to place deposit earlier as u can lock the price first...but mayb u can ask abt draft contracts cos seems like Qianxi has no such practice. Novotel is so popular, its scary :p Looks like Dragon Phoenix restaurant's food shld b not bad as well...

cjs

I juz had my food tasting at Hilltop, pretty satisfied with most of the dishes, at least I think it's better than many of the hotels which serve ok food. Service wise is also pretty gd, the waitress and assistant manager were very professional and polite.

And I went up to see the Crystal Ballroom changing room.. quite small.. but no choice lar... still think the ballroom is one of the more impressive around, considering the price.. but too bad no hotel stay... =(

xixi0310

Hi cheeky

Erm hw much do u tink we need to save in cash if i wanna hold at qian xi with 45 tables?? Erm both will try to save as much as we can bt hor i always no savings de
Every mth bf will have to gif me sum money...lucky my insurance and hp bills under his a/c..If nt i poorer..haha..

Actually most of my poly frens stay in the west...bt i stay north...we will cater a bus near my hse, a bus near bf hse and a bus at bukit batok mrt there to ferry our guests with maybe 15 or 30 mins interval for one hr..
BTW hw u intend to settle the payment after dinner?? by cash or credit card??

Hi CJS
im glad that the food is nt bad..Ya the ballromm is very nice..no hotel stay..can go back love nest after dinner..same like us