Plaza Park Royal

Wow, hashima with red dates! This is really unique. And yes, this is perfect testimony to what it means by PPR serves really different and delicious food

Hi Huey...thanks for sharing the pics of the ballroom...the deco looks quite good....

Actually i thot the menu of PPR is gd enough, given the types of fish offered, cod fish is even in the list...

As compared to the sichuan menu, the difference is prob the abalone. come to think abt it, it could be just a thin slice for ea pax....but in terms of the perks, it seems to be much much lesser than if u were to take the regular menu.

Hi ilovediamond,

Yah, the deco was good enough for me. I am not too picky about that coz I prefer things to be simple and sweet.

I don't think there's cod fish in my selection menu in 2006. But if they had it then, I would surely choose that coz cod fish is not only tasty, but expensive too. Heh, make our packages more worth it yah?

Hi Huey
what was served as pre-dinner for wedding couple ? What theme u used ?

Hi ilovediamond
Ya maybe the dishes' costs are much higher .. so they "cut" & "chop" from the perks.

i tink i also will take cantonese menu .. follow the crowd.
my mum say wedding banquet dun play play .. sekali guests cant accept sichuan food ..
i cant wait to have the fd tasting .. yummy ..
actually i tot sichuan menu might be able to give the guests a "wow" effect .. cos have soft shell crab , hashima with red dates.. haha i tink is becos i like .. anyway during banquet , running ard also no time to eat.
anyone have photos to share with crystal ballroom theme ?

I think I chose pasta/hor fun and my husband chose porridge which they brought up to the suite.

As for the theme, they gave me Romance, Gold and Rain Forest to choose from. Not sure if they still have these. Since I am not a fan of red which is the main colour of Romance, I didn't choose that. Forrest looks really jungly so that was out too. So in the end settled for Gold lor. Something elegant and classic to me

Hi vincents_wife,
The sichuan menu quite ok, I attended my fren's wed in the restaurant itself in 06, I recollect tat it was tasty. Nothing so out of the norm that would possibly cause ppl to dislike it.

When r u having ur food tasting? Can share reviews afterwhich? I'm particularly interested to know wat is pink dory fish in the appetizer and how is the std of the coral trout? Do u happen to pick these 2 ?

Hi ilovediamond ..
sure , i will
... hehe hope can take photos
i duno yet .. i tink in June / July .. having fix a date with felicia ..
i'll be taking pink dory fish in the appetizer
.. dory fish is like fish fillet i tink .. but outside is white one .. i wonder how is pink .. sweet pink color ? hehe
the fish .. i havent decide which one to choose ..

I guess they didn't advertise, but was told by felicia. I heard that they would be setting up the ballrooms....and there'll be talks n lucky draws. I can fwd u the day prog tat they sent me. There's no price on the email, I would assume its FOC

I saw the Parkroyal Wedding Show advertisement on Todays papers several days back..think it will be $20nett per couple. I guess for those who have met up with Felicia prior to the event, she will be extending the invitation FOC. My HTB and I will be attending to have a feel of the place when it is nicely set-up.

http://www.singaporebrides.com/temp/parkroyal_beach_road.htm

For those who are interested, the following is the itinerary on that day: -

12.00 pm – Registration & Enquiry at the booths
1.15 pm – Guests to be seated / Event Introduction
1.30 pm – Geomancy Talk by Cheong Geomancy Consultants
1.40 pm – “Wushu†Tea Server demonstration by Si Chuan Dou Hua Restaurant
1.50 pm – Bridal Fashion Show by Bridal Concept Boutique
2.30 pm – High Tea / Visit to the booths
3.45 pm – Lucky Draw
4.00 pm – End of Event

Hiya All....hee....me m baq! keke....finally! Wow....there's a wedding show in May? Cooool! I wld love to drop by just to see the ballroom deco wor.....Vincent's wife going? hee hee...Anyone here going? If booked already, will Felicia give us go in FOC ne?

Hi Ling, me also booked the poolside venue for my solemnization....sigh....but dec period is raining season....so I guess I wld really have to prepare myself to be disappointed....sobz... but well...we cant ctrl the weather....wat to do...kekeke....

Huey, my future MIL intro me PPR de....maybe u're referring to us! Our wedding is in Dec too! muahahhaa.....yeah, she has lotsa praises for the wedding ne! keke....she say the bride pretty! maybe its really u! haha....who noes...keke...

finally got time to come in...

ilovediamond/jy27,

i had received the email too.. will be going down to take a look at the decors..

also there is a need to show hubby the visual effects before he really get serious into the planning part... hee hee... hopefully can get something nice from the lucky draw..

agree with huey that the ceiling is low.. but who bother? cos we will b sitting down for the dinner, i think.. cos it's the price n perks that matter most..

can i check with u ladies, on how the few ceremonies r done? before the AD, like an chuang, guo da li etc...

Hey Irene,

It really sounds like your future MIL could be my Mum's best friend. Ok, another point to check if you are indeed the one, is your wedding gonna be on a Friday evening?

Haha, all brides are surely pretty wan ma.... once in a lifetime worrr.... n credits also go to my very good designer who made the gowns for me

Perhaps u could email me at [email protected] if u wish to chat more

I am not sure if PPR is still extending this offer, but when I went for their show in end 05, they granted me a $20+ off a table just coz I had attended the show. By then I had already signed up. it's good that they still allowed me this offer.

Yes, ahBlur I agree with u. So what if the ceiling is low right? Its not as if we want the guests to do star jumps or something. The important things are the food and the value for money

Hi ahBlur, I'll be going too, my other half will be overseas la, so maybe bringing a gf along instead...
U've to consult for a date to an chuang and guo da li leh...maybe u can check with the shi fu that gave ur wedding date?

Heuy...

Yippe.. it's the value for money that matters.. => probably they also don't remember what gown we wear..

ilovediamond..

tks for d attachment, hopefully it will helps.. i am a blur person.. not sure hubby want to go, had told him.. he still ask me, signed n paid deposit liao.. why must go? i don't care.. if he don't go... i go with my sis.. spend his money..

i don't have a geomancer.. base on d date we like, i think it's more flexible n my mil also no problem.. my mummy more particular but i told her i found a very good geomancer.. that's me..

Hey ahblur,

Yah man, I think 90 or even 100% of the guests don't usually remember what the bride has worn. Its usually the food quality that sticks with them. Haha, afterall, it had sat in their tummy and fuelled their brains to work right? hehe...

I am not sure about the offers for now la, but the last time I also went to the show after I have signed up coz I wanna ebjoy the $20+ off per table if I go.... hehe.... To have 20+ tables, the savings can add up to quite a substantial amount liao.

wa....see you pple chat til i also very got feel to go down and take a look..haha...just called up felicia, going this wednesday to see see look look at the place. But 2009 price abit steep for me.....anyone just signed not long? can tell me how much is the deposit?

The odd thing is that the pkg that they send me say nett price, but hor, at the bottom it says all prices quoted are subject to 10+7% charge. So, erm, do i have to pay xtra 17% on top of the nett? or is the 17% included in the nett? Sorry, im very blur liao

hi bell (blessedwedding) ,

i don't know if u r asking for solemnization b4 the dinner or the entire wedding? but i had my solemnization before the dinner at the pavillion as well. when i enquired what is the plan if it rains, it would be to shift everything into ur ballroom for the ceremony.

Hi Huey, yupzie....mine is a fri evening....ahhaha....guess 99% we're spot on le! ahhaahaha....really hope the food will be good ne!!! Very excited abt the pink dory fish and the coral trout which I have heard soooo many good comments abt....too bad dun have the hashima wif red dates that the si chuan is having thou.....wail wail....

Hey Cube Cube, since this sun they having wedding show, you shld go n sign up then....I think will have more perks ne? kekee....Althou we sign up le, think I'll go down this sun too to check out wat new deco they have!!! coz Felicia told me they gonna have new themes and deco and I'm really excited abt it! heeee....

Cube cube, once they say nett, u dun need to include other charges already. Coz nett price means u pay this one price inclusive of taxes. Hee.....so do look out for those that offer nett and those that do not...makes a lot of diff for 17% one oooh...scary! I just paid my deposit not long ago. $3k!

Hi irene, what date is your wedding? i was just wondering if you are the other couple who took the plaza ballroom on 5 dec?

Hi Irene,

This is indeed a small small world made even smaller by this forum. I know your future IL's family quite well (eversince I was born) and used to play with your soon-to-be-husband when we were young.

And yes, I was also told that your wedding will be on 5 Dec! I suppose u should be taking the bigger room opposite the Stamford that I used last year. I am glad to know that u've accepted your FMIL's recommendation with much enthusiasm. I am sure u will not be disappointed by their food.

Btw, could they swop your desert item with the hashima, even if u top up some $$$?

thx for the info irene, my bf's working shift this sunday, so cant go for the wedding show. Haiz.....didnt manage to attend any shows cos he works shifts and so "heng" the shows always falls on the day he needs to work...sad...but! felicia say if i do sign up with them before 17/5, she may still be able to gimme the wedding show perks...hehe

hmm....3k. i dun have.....so most prob cant sign b4 17/5....hahaha.

wa...i will try to rem to ask about the dessert ....i love hashima also....yum yum

Hi everyone, my wedding date is indeed 5th Dec!!! muahhahaa....u all power leh! haha

ilovediamond, u also on 5th Dec?!?!! Cooool!!! We can take photos together as 2 pretty brides on 5th Dec!!! Wun that be fun? haha....also maybe we can share some ideas together or maybe can cut costs by sharing some things? hahaha....I dunno....like deco or watever...hahahaha...n also how to differentiate our own relatives from being confused!! hahaha....btw, r u going for the wedding show this sun? Maybe can see u there! keke...

Huey, I told my bf....he says yeah, he rem u being small! haha....yupzie...we taking the bigger room ne...coz in laws family big big ne...my future MIL did ask if can top up money for hashima...but Felicia says bu ke yi...sobz....coz they not familiar with this dessert, so wun wanna risk a dish that they not familiar with....sounds reasonable to me...hee...

cube cube, go ask ur gf or ur mum to go wif u to the wedding show!! kekee....then u can see the deco and ambience of the ballroom and such for urself...hee...very impt for decision making the wor! keke....I went down twice b4 I finally made my decision! keke...deposit wise maybe u can discuss with Felicia further?

Haha, Irene, so that means its 100% you are the bride-to-be that I was mentioning. Just curious, which BS are u with?

One thing to note about having 2 weddings there at the same time is really need to make sure the guests don't go to the wrong venue. The Stamford ballroom is the first one guests will see at the end of the corridor so most will make their way there first. I had this problem too! So if ilovediamond is taking Stamford, her recep friends have to work a bit harder to differentiate the guests... hehe

irene,nobody accompany me go there leh....so sad....haiz

huey,erm, are the ballrooms on diff floors? if yes, then maybe you can print the level the ballroom is at on your wedding invite insert loh. Hmm.....if im signing PRBR, then i will be having my AD with ah blur liao....so, also need to think about this issue wor

wa, kinda excited....going down today to meet felicia....too bad about the hashima though...hai...i told my bf about the hashima dessert, he say that if can chang, then just change for the vip tables, so that dun need top up so much $$, den ask all other guest to eat corn....hahahaha....so funny. No more hashima.....sob sob

cube cube.. both ballroom r on d same level.. i find it quite good.. can see each other n like Irene had mention we can take pics together.. very seldom u will know d other bride who is using d same venue as u.. =>

for d invites, if u r using their invites, there will have d hotel's address printed on d invites..

probably u can go down with ur bf during weekdays... at least Felicia can run u thru d package which takes bout 45-60 mins.. plus showing u around d hotel.. n it also shows to her that u r interested..

i'm not sure of d special perks they offer @ wedding show.. but i think need to sign using UOB.. when we signed was told we need to use UOB card.. so u can do a check with Felicia..

mine is on 26/12.. it's consider a good day i think neber really check d chinese calendar.. n holidays after that.. but got to make sure n inform relatives/friends/colleagues/bosses earlier.. Dec season is for holidays.. so probably they will b out of town.. also it's after Christmas.. some ppl would prefer a white Christmas... =(

i also like hashima... if can change free why not? i also don't know how to cook.. if not i can cook it when i feels like eating...

i cannot come in often as i am studying in d evening.. so only can check d thread during weekends or when i am free @ work...

cube cube..

u can also go down during weekdays to make d payment.. she will try to give u d perks for d wedding show..

Irene/ilovediamond..

so good to have d same day for AD.. i guess yr AD is also in 09?

Yes Cube, ah blur is right that both ballrooms are on the same level, directly opposite each other in fact. Not sure if anyone notices, the Stamford ballroom is on the left of the end of the corridor from the lift. Plaza is opposite.

Oh ya, ahblur, not to worry, 26th Dec is almost nearing the month liao. Those with kids should be back from their holidays by then coz need to prepare the kids for school I believe.

One more thing, do remember to give Felicia soft copies of your nicest wedding photos. She can do them up to show nicely on the LCD screens. I find this so much nicer than other hotels that are still using the paper signages! I loved how they did it for me

huey..

d only thing i worry is those without kids.. ya.. think this is d trend.. they will upload d pics onto d screen.. it might cost more to buy d equipment.. but over d yrs they still save.. printing cost n other costs might had gone up...

i agree some venue still use paper signage...

actually i intend to play some trance or techno music.. but i am afraid will scare off d older relatives.. hahaha..

another question.. i really have no ideas on which fish to choose? not sure which is d most expensive one n taste nice n yummy... care to share if u have some ideas.. tks.. althou they have cod fish but it's only fillet.. i scare it's too small or not so presentable..

Hi Huey, our BS is Sattine Bridal Couture. Which BS did you use? hee...My FH love the photography n I love their gowns...hee....Btw, wat are paper signages? I noe they have this LCD screen in the lobby that shows which couples are holding their wedding in which room and level and such...hee hee...

cube cube....quick go find someone to accompany u!!! kekeke...if not, me & my bf can accompany u! hahaha...so, how did ur meeting with Felicia go? hee....ur bf so funnie lah...keke....

Hi ah Blur, yeah....dec period is holiday period ne....dats y I told my frens & colleagues already! haha....they so excited for me too ne...keke...so happy...n esp my Jie meis...I have ard 8 of them n mine is on a Fri, so they need to take leave too...sigh...so paiseh but so happy that they didnt even tot of taking leave as an issue...hee...rem to book ur Jie Mei's early ooh....if not they plan their holidays then cham le....hee...oooh...our wedding is this yr ne....2008! keke...waaah...play trance music ahhh? will the old pple heart pump faster anot? keke...better not wor! haha...

Since most of us here Dec brides, wat do u all think of changing the dessert to an ice cream log cake? Do u all think this is feasible? keke....can we change the menu just like dat? hmmm...like a bit impossible hor? Sigh....

but log cake also expensive..

i agree that old ppl can't take d kind of music.. probably during d first dish bah...

for mine is 09.. still a long way to go..

Hi Irene....

Icic, so u are with Sattine. I was with Silverlining. Unlike those BS that has a prominent shopfront, the designer decided to open shop on a 2nd storey of a row of shop houses. Haha.

As for paper signages, there are hotels who's still printing the details of the wedding dinner on paper and post them either on their notice boards at the lift lobbies or on signage stands. Not very outstanding I must say. LCD screen much better la, got colour, got moving pics and got details. The presentation is so much better ah.

Oh ya, Irene, I don't think the hotels will allow changing desert or any item for that matter, to anything outside what their menu has. If they have say 3 menus, A, B & C, they could still allow customers to swop between these 3, but not with anything beyond. The reason could be that if its anything they cannot make themselves and have to take from 3rd parties, they do not wanna take the risk of anyone falling ill from taking those food. If that really happens, would the hotel, or the supplier be taking the responsibility? Even if they could make it themselves, I don't think they would coz perhaps that would open the floodgates to more people asking for personal customisation?

hai.....been to PRBR....it wasnt really a very nice experience....hai.......
was told to call felicia when i reach, so i did that....den she was totally blurred...her:"appt? let me check....eh, i thought im miting you on wednesday?", me:"erm, today is wednesday", her:"Oh!..i totally forgot about it"

hai.....i know she's very bz, but hor, i tink that if the wedding show is not on this sunday and she needs to stay late to do her stuff, she might not even be there loh, cos, from wat i heard frm her, their team knocks off ard 5.30pm loh...

this made my bf unhappy liao, den when she finally appear and bring us around the ballroom, she is like rushing to catch a train like that. rush us through everything...she said smthg about the pavilion , pulled the curtains open to let us see, den when we thought we could go out to see the pavilion, she pulled the curtains close again.
Then when we sit down and she talked us through the package, its also super rush ....so sian..it feels rather bad loh, cos its like shes chasing us off...i know she is bz, but since we did make an appt with her (wich she 4got),we are entitled to "have" her time rite?

Actually i kinda like their package, but this whole meet up made my bf rather unhappy, usually he's very chin chai one, but now hes telling me about pillars, ceilings etc...hmm....tink he is trying to ask me not to get that place for our AD.....haiz.....i duno wat to do liao...

cube cube..

for me, it's d same thing.. normally if she can, she don't wana stay too bad.. n she is really busy n she also rush us thru d info.. cos i know she super busy so still okay..

my 2 cents worth of views, ceiling don't really matters as ppl normally will sit down thru d dinner.. not much of standing up.. i agree with u on d pillar.. but no choice.. there r pros n cons of every venue..

do talk to ur bf again....

Hi irene, yea our wedding is on the same day exactly! Cool man, we must hv a pic together...I think we must emphasis to felicia that they have to cater enough kitchen staff to prevent bottleneck in food serving....how many tables are you intending to have?
I'll be at the show this sunday, as my hubby is overseas, i'll be going down to hv a look with a gf..we shld be quite outstanding la, cos rest of the ppl shld be couple couple one...if u see me, pls let me know who u r ok...

cube cube: if you wedding is <35 tables, u can go for plaza ballroom, then pillar will not be an issue as it doesn't obstruct at all. actually i think the pavillion is nothing outstanding and not the selling pt for them, so thats prob y she rush thru...oh...one pt to note for stamford ballroom, try not to expose the pavillion cos if you do that, my guess is sm guests may try to open the door and walk out...this will cause hot air gush in and result in condensation to aircon which lead to leaking prob.

Hi ilovediamond,

From my experience, the guest may not open the door at Stamford and walk out as long as the curtains are drawn. If for some reasons it is not drawn (like maybe to get the nice view), then can ask the staff to make sure the doors are locked?

Hi Huey, oh....I heard of Silverlining b4...keke...ur gowns all MTM one rite? Mine only OTR ne...keke...haven done my gown selection yet thou...so kancheong...keke...yeah....I think I can forget abt the logcake dessert le....wail...

Cube Cube....so sorry to hear abt the negative reception...hmm...I guess its a case of um...u noe...wrong place at a wrong time? can understand how ur bf feels also...coz we r also all like dat...if we dun feel gd abt something, will magnify the faults...haha...Do give PPR another chance b4 writing it off...I'm sure Felicia will make things rite for u if she can...

Hi ilovediamond, coool! I'll see if I can spot you there anot...but hor, if I see 2 gals there, I also dun dare approach one wor! whhahahaa... mine est ard 40 tables ne... urs? waaah...must really check with Felicia if they have handle so many tables anot...urs + mine ard 70 tables le? scary!!!

Okies....cya all at the wedding show tmr!!! hee... wat happened to Vincents_wife? Where r u ne?? kekeke....

Hi Irene,

Yes, my 3 dresses, the WG, EG &amp; cheongsam are MTM-ed. I kept the cheongsam though
Just make sure that u choose about say 1 - 2 months before the AD so that they can have enough time to do alterations? Choosing closer to AD will also give u more choices

keke .. Hi Irene !
I'm here .. Just had my indoor PS last sat
i'm having my fd tasting in this mth May ..
inside here suddenly become so crowded .. abit confusing for me .. hehe

me and HTB went to the wedding show as well..they've got quite a number of themes though but sad to say, my HTB don't quite like the ballrooms..

actually, the stamford ballroom looks ok to me despite the pillars there..but just that the ceiling is really low. i remembered someone in this thread saying that he/she can almost touch the ceiling when standing on the stage! now i can finally visualise..

it seems like park royal on kitchener has a great menu! at a great price! not sure how the ballroom looks like though..

Hi Huey, choosing nearer AD will get more choice? Cool! keke....coz I kan cheong then was thinking if I shld choose my gown already. My PS only in Sept! whahaha....u think I shld choose now or like um in July as recommended by my coordinator?

Hi Vincents_wife, u're here! hahaa....how did ur PS went? Nice experience? keke...email me some of ur photos leeeeh! kekeke....me wanna see ur gowns!!! heee...rem to update on the food tasting experience too k?

ilovediamond, I just went to the show, sit thru the fashion show (I absolutely love tis blue cheongsum gown...oooh) and took some photos of the table settings only....wats the yam setup like? Somehow I felt the mixing of colors not very well done for some color themes leh...keke...

Hi Kelly, yeah, most pple quite concern abt the pillars and ceiling....but well, I guess pros and cons ne...hee...food I heard is good, comprehensive package, price reasonable. Just deco my main concern but still can work it out de...depends on wat r ur utmost concerns...I believe most who choose PPR becoz of quality of food. keke...

Hi Irene,

Coz if u choose nearer AD then there would be more brides who could have their MTM-ed gowns returned to the BS liao. So more to choose from ma. Think the BS's suggestion of July is quite good. As long as they can have enough time to do alterations in time for your PS, why not? Btw, talking about PS, when will u be doing it? What outdoor locations do u like?

irene, i tink you need to find out how your BS wana arrange the alteration and how much time is needed for that, cos the gowns you choose might have to go for PS for another bride b4 you. And that might push the alterations time abit tight.

For my collegue, she started about 4 mths b4 her PS, so that she got more time to look through the BS's whole collection, and to have more time to decide on the final gowns for PS. Don't make it a one time try and decide.

Go down every now and then to try on more gowns and to re-try the gowns you have shortlisted and den have 1 or 2 visits where you can bring your friends (1 or 2 enough liao) or parents down to take a look to help you make your final decision

Most impt is that you will be able to reserve that final gowns 1st.

1 ting to remind you, although aug is the ghost mth, but i still tink that alot of pple will still choose to wed on that mth, so in that case, if you happen to choose smthg that they have chosen, you may have to give up those gowns cos there might not be enuff time for alterations