Plaza Park Royal

chellechelle

Hi vincents_wife,

What theme was it? Do you have the pics to share? or may i know where to view them? Just want to take a look at it so I can try negotiate with Felicia or try tink of ways to add some DIY deco?

april_baby

I wanted to get PPR, was so impressed by felicia, that day when we went down, she was sick badly yet she entertain us and patiently explain all the perks to us. But too bad the table requirement too high as we dont have so many guess, so is so nice to ask us consider before make decison else we will get a big hole in pocket. She also told me that there will be a upcoming event in may may be given more perks and the price better. Anyway the package she offered to me quite ok with me, free flow beer, free one red wine per table and one complimentary table for the vivocity wedding planner show.

knightley

Hi Ling, I viewed the biggest ballroom one...cant rem wat is the name of the room thou...keke...sigh...till now althou I kept wanting to take pics of the ballroom...just didnt have the chance to...the other time coz its pple's wedding, so I paiseh to take also ne! keke....

April Baby, u got quite a good deal ne!!! All the best for the search for ur ideal dinner place! heeeee....

Hi Vincents_wife, Felicia told me the album stand outside they will do it for us regardless wat theme we use...so I think they will help us decorate according to our color themes which is goooood!!! kekekee....yest finally paid my deposit....wahahaa....finally I have a place for my wedding!!! hahaha....very happy with Felicia's service, man! keke...she's damn experience lor...haha...she can anticipates wat we brides want quite well, I wld say...keke...so I'm really excited abt the big day now and how the deco will turn out n such...food wise, my FMIL already gave thumbs up....so I guess I wun haf to worry abt it till food tasting! whahaha...

Oh...btw, PPR brides, Felicia mentioned they might be new themes and new favours coming in...they're still looking thru...so I think if our wedding if later part of the yr, we shld be able to choose new themes and such le! very very much looking forward to it...the way she describe is like 6 star deco!! kekkee...cant wait ne!!! heee....

Ling!!! All the best for your AD oooooh!!!! Be the happiest bride and have the most memorable day ooooh...Rem to share ur day wif us k??? kekekeke....we'll be jia you-ing for u here! hahahaa...

jy27

I just confirmed my booking with Felicia as well. Also paid the deposit liao.. AD will be in March next year. So i suppose the new themes shd be available by then..

blurbaby

hi..

had made arrangement to meet up with Felicia next Fri..their package consider quite good.. cos got free flow of beer n 1 bottle of wine per table n it's nett price..

but can i check how much is d deposit that we had to made? For NCQ is 3k.. did not manage to ask her.. she seem busy.. also is it a norm to consider for a few days before placing d deposit n confirmation?

knightley

Hi ahblur, the deposit for most hotels are the same it seems...keke....PPR is $3k as well ne... yeah, their perks quite good...seems like she quoted you the trade show perks ne...

I guess since its the one & only wedding banquet venue (in our life) that we will ever haf...haha...so of coz we need to consider hard hard lo...keke...Felicia very nice one, don worry....she understands this pt and is not pushy at all unlike other hotel pple...

So, when will ur AD be? hee...

blurbaby

Hi Irene,

that time i request for price list.. sorry.. going thru d package she send me.. is without 1 bottle of wine for per confirm table.. so this is for d wedding show? only 12 bottles of housepour wine.. i don't think is enough.. but hubby say if don't have enough red wine then normally ppl will switch to beer.. so more impt is beer..

ya really have to consider.. as u mention it's one in a lifetime...

my AD will b in Dec 09.. we r looking at 26 Dec.. n Felicia had confirm that date is available.. is there any ways to bargain for a little more stuff from her? also food tasting was under d wish list.. that means we got to give up 1 of choices..

When is yr AD? if it's over, care to share d pictures of d venue..?

d last wedding we went was in 05.. there should be changes to d place..

jy27

Hi Irene,

I chose PPR coz the package was rather attractive. As i already got in touch with Felicia somewhere in Jan this yr (before the 09 package was out), I was able to secure the 08 package price. This is considered much cheaper than the rest of the hotels offering similar perks.

I also like the ambience of the hotel generally. I have taken the smaller ballroom. Like the flight of stairs up to the ballroom. Thou there are pillars inside, but i think it is still ok coz the 2 in front are not very big. And the bigger ones behind shd not pose too much of a problem if we do not have too much tables.

Somemore, the wine per bottle only cost $20nett if we need more (cheaper than other places also).

vincents_wife

Hi Irene & ladies ..
heard that new themes coming up .. but duno it will be use in 2008 / 2009 ? hope it will be b4 my wedding . hehe ... *pray hard*
so happy to see the thread alive again ..
PPR has 2 types of rooms .. bigger one is Plaza Ballroom , the other smaller one is Stamford Ballroom (with stairs) ...
my wedding is on 31st Aug 2008 Sunday in Plaza Ballroom.

jy27

Hi ahBlur,

The 2 ballrooms are located on the same floor. If there happens to be 2 weddings on the same day, perhaps the guests might get abit confused when they first arrvied ba. But i guess this is not a big problem.

You can get Felicia to do a tentative booking for your date after you meet her. Then take some time to consider and look at other places before deciding.

Keep us posted on your comments after your visit.

blurbaby

jy27..

i am very scare that i can't get d slot that i wan..

actually my first choice was NCQ.. but after going thru d package they had sent.. PPR looks better.. n d process of getting hold of d coordinator of NCQ was tedious..n nw they tell me that it was tentative book by another couple.. she say will call me back..

jus nw i had made a phone call to Felicia to tentative book d slot for me.. so will go down on Fri, but do u think we can take pics of the place...

Okay... will update d thread after i had went down n view d place..

jy27

hi ahBlur,

Your AD is in Dec09, right? I believe you still have ample time. No need worry too much..
You will be able to get the slot that you want.. Most imptly is that you must like the place that you choose in the end.

Maybe the difference between booking now and booking near the end of this year will be the package price since prices seems to be increasing constantly.

blurbaby

jy27..

yuppie.. jus that i wana make sure things r at place.. cos i planning n arranging.. plus i will b attending part time course.. so not sure if i got time to prepare for my AD.. so got time so i jus work on it..

cos NCQ already got ppl earlier than me.. already tentative book d place.. on d date we wanted.. =<

Price.. even when economy is down.. they also won't lower d price.. cos they know ppl all need to get married.. n most ppl will have their wedding dinner held.. no matter what it cost even if they need to save up for a few months..

read d package, it stated only waiver of corkage chargefor hard liquor.. red wine is only 24 bottles only.. but is it possible to get waiver for corkage charge for d red wine? cos if each table consumes 3 bottles.. if i got 35 tables then i will need 105 bottles...

cos hubby's buddy r mostly drinkers.. they can drink like nobody business.. me too lar...!! =>

jy27

ahBlur,

Regarding the corkage for red wine, the first 24 bottles is free. Subsequent bottles if you buy from the PPR directly will be @ S$20 nett (inclusive of corkage already). So no need to buy from outside.

I heard fr my frd that 2 bottles red wine for each table shd be enough. Get ur hubby's buddies to drink more beer instead.. lol

blurbaby

jy27..

we also think about it.. but if we only have 60-70 bottles of red wine.. before d end of dinner, already finish then will let d guest know already no more wine.. drink beer.. but like not very nice..

jy27

ahBlur,

If you get the wine from the hotel directly, instead of bringing in, then no need to worry about not enough wine.

If buy from outside, you got to pay corkage to the hotel when you bring in. If get from hotel, then only have to pay $20 nett per bottle. Some more, no need to worry about not enough wine to serve your guests as well.. Then the hotel will only charge you based on how many bottles you open.. No need to worry about having excess too..

Normally, they only start to serve the wine when the dinner starts. So the time frame should be about from 9pm to 11pm where the wine is available. You can aga count see how many glass can your friends drink during these 2 hours. Plus, not everyone will be drinking wine.

blurbaby

jy27..

tks for d info.. it really helps alot.. i really hope this Friday will come soon.. so i can view d place..

we will b meeting Felicia at 6 plus.. so normally how long will be d session b?

so Plaza is d bigger ballroom.. think can hold up to 40 plus tables? correct me if i am wrong..

i had ask my mummy to come up with a general list (ppl who she intend to invite..) so at least i can guide.. do u think it's too early?

cos when Felicia ask me hw many tables.. i can only tell her it's 30+.. think if mine is only 30 tables then i will get to use d smaller room.. but it all depends on d couple who will b having same AD as me..

jy27

ahBlur,

It took us about 1 hr to view the place plus to understand the package from Felicia. And also to clarify doubts if you have any.

For the number of tables, the minimum requirement for Plaza ballroom is 30 tables. For the Stamford ballroom, minimum requirement is 25 tables.

So if you confirm that you will have at least 30 tables, you can book the Plaza ballroom. The Stamford ballroom can only hold up to 34 tables. So I think Stamford ballroom might not be as spacious if you want to contain > 30 tables in the Stamford ballroom. I'm not too sure how many tables the Plaza ballroom can hold.

I suppose the booking should be done on a first come first serve basis. Even if you have 30 tables only, you can still take the bigger ballroom if no one has booked it before you.

I have also gotten my mum to come up with the list of friends and relatives before I did the booking. This is to ensure that we can meet the minimum table requirement. It is easier to reduce the number of guests to invite rather than having to add on the list.

blurbaby

jy27..

sorry for not responding.. not sure why there isn't prompting for my email.. as normally anyone update d thread.. there will b a email send to me..

i ask my mummy.. she say still early.. i ask my dear dear he also say still early.. only i'm d only person who is worried n planning..

think they also think i 'crazy' to plan so early.. yes... reduce is easier..

jy27

ahBlur,

But if you wanna book the banquet already, you need to be sure that you can meet the minimum number of tables requirement lor..

chellechelle

Hi Irene,

I'm back!

My AD went well except that my solemnization had to be moved indoors at the very last min due to rain. I kept on complaining to my makeup artist when she was still preparing me. **sobz** Me and hubby both wanted to have it held at the poolside pavilion as it now oversees the singapore flyer but no choice.. *sobz sobz*

The food was really GREAT though we only managed to eat the 1st 2 courses. Nv hear of any poor comments. My uncle even said that nothing was not nice.. Really happy to hear that.

As for deco.. i tink its good too.. not as plain as i tot it would be. So, I'm rather satisfied with it la..

Just want to add on something.. We finalized with Felicia 29+1 tables but we only used 27. The food for the remaining 2 tables were packed and brought home since they have to be paid for.. But gals.. dun forget your favours oh.. cos we actually realized that they kept the the favours for those 2 tables when they knew that it would not be opened. So.. remember to get them from the coor. k?

Best Wishes To You All...

blurbaby

jy27..

i had signed with her.. althou she kept on advising us to consider first.. she also provide us with some good &amp; helpful information..

frm nw till 3 May, they r having sme promotion.. there will b wedding fair on 3 May.. if u r using UOB card will hav better perks.. neber really saw d ballroom as it's been used.. only saw half of it.. d pillar in Plaza Ballroom is really huge.. cannot remove rite? rite nw only confirm 30+2 tables.. if later on, wanted to increase it's better..

but i will need to check with Felicia if i can go down on 3 May to view d setup n d ballroom.. other than that should b okay ba..

could i check with u gals.. 30 bottles of wine is it enough?

vincents_wife

gals , do u all need the floor plan ?
30 + 2 , 31 + 2 , 32 + 2 , 33 + 2
Felicia did advised that tables below 35 wont be affected by the big big pillars.

blurbaby

tks.. vincents_wife

dont mind if u could send to me... my addy is [email protected]

she did mention that if it's at 35 tables then it won't be affected.. but i still not sure hw many tables i will b having.. nw i can only confirm that should b 30 and more.

jy27

i took the smaller ballroom. I saw the floor plan and rem that there were 4 pillars. 2 smaller ones in front and 2 bigger ones at the back. I guess if i have only abt 25 tables, it is still ok de.

ahBlur,
did u view other locations before signing with Felicia?

wen13

hello....i'm new to this thread and is looking to confirm with them this coming friday. Can i check if PPR are flexible with extending somemore perks other than the "wedding wishes".
What else did you ask for?

I was also told that they don't offer bridal suite anymore, change to deluxe room on club floor, is it true?

blurbaby

ilovediamond..

welcome! Wedding show will be coming up on 3 May.. Probably u could make a call to Felicia to check if the date you want had been taken?

think for normal time.. they offer only deluxe room..

for wedding show they are doing some UOB card promotion.. so you got to upgrade to Club floor plus you get 1 more room.. either to use on the same day or for the use of another day.. for you to decide..

perks for UOB card promotion is also better..

the plus point is the free flow of beer.. at least you don't need to worry about the beer going to finish.. etc..

hope this helps =>

vincents_wife

Hi ahBlur &amp; jy27
u choose Cantonese or Sichuan Menu ?

Hi ilovediamond , welcome ..
i was quite disappointed for not having a bridal suite cos most hotels have but bo bian ..
.. felicia told me it's kept for their executive guests .. cos they have only 3 suite.
The room given is called the Orchid Club 6
I went to see the room .. not big
.. but we will be given 2 rooms ..
if u use it on same day ..connect both rooms , u can change 1 of the room into a living room with sofa dining table
Or dun connect them , u can stay 1 nite each in each room.

if u take the sichuan menu .. is only deluxe room , 2 night stay.

madames

Haha, I realise this should be the thread that I had visited last year.

Anyway, I've posted in another thread earlier and shall reproduce it again here....

It's been sometime since I last visited this thread. Glad to know that its still going strong.

I held my wedding at PPR Beach Road in Mar 07 and I am more than pleased with the entire arrangement. The food was the best I've ever tried. They are really unique. Not the usual common dishes that most hotels serve. Though the sharks fin is green (with spinach) its delicious. And the green curry prawns are such a refreshing idea, to name a few.

The contract includes free flow beer and soft drinks which was really helpful in contributing to one less financial and logistical stress. I got my wines from the hotel and I thought the consignment contract was very reasonable too.

Food aside, my then co-ordinator, Shalica who has since left, was very helpful. Even allowed me to play my CDs and montage VCDs a week before in the ballroom (when it was unused of course) to make sure that the CDs formats are compatible with their systems.

As for the suite, I love the slightly English design of the bedroom. There was this quaint little canopy over the bed which I love. The balcony of my suite happens to face the then under construction Singapore Flyer. So that means the view is unobstructed. Kinda cool.

So all in all, I highly recommend PPR. One of my guest was also so pleased that she urged her son to sign up this venue for their AD this Dec. And he did!

jy27

hi vincents_wife,

i chose the cantonese menu. think it is cheaper than the sichuan menu. Felicia said since we only gg for the minimum 25 tables ballroom, it not worth gg for the sichuan menu.

blurbaby

vincents_wife,

not sure about which menu we taking. neber mention..

btw, i am currently taking part time studies so unable to come in often..

wen13

Huey : i'm glad to hear that you had gd experience with PPR, do u have some pics to share with me? Which ballroom did u held ur wedding at?

We just placed the deposit, felicia was nice to extend the wedding show perks to us too....

The only worry is the false ceiling height of the smaller ballroom, really low leh, i can touch it when i tiptoe on the stage. (furthermore i'm not extremely tall). the bigger ballroom that we wanted was taken up already.....

madames

Hi ilovediamond,

I held my dinner at the Stamford ballroom. Just nice for me. U can see my pics at: http://madamestitch.multiply.com/photos/album/23/Wedding_AD_Pics_by_The_Edge_Photography

The ceiling is honestly quiet low but it wasn't my main concers. To me, we can't get the best of all worlds lor. If want nice big ballroom then the cost will be higher and package deal may not be as good. So in the end i give and take lor

Oh ya, another reason why I was so keen on PPR was coz of the location. I like how its quietly tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the city but yet not too inaccessible. The exterior environment gives me a sense of quiet peacefulness. The lobby is also small and cozy

vincents_wife

Hi Jy27 ,
so ur table is also S$788/ table ?

If i'm not wrong , Sichuan menu is cheaper , S$786.20 (S$668 + GST &amp; Service charge) but the perks will be different.
*Complimentary 1st anniversary set dinner voucher for 2 persons in any of Si Chuan Dou Hua
restaurant in Singapore.
*Complimentary $200 spa voucher by St. Gregory.
*Complimentary 1 night’s stay in our Deluxe Room at Parkroyal on Beach Road Singapore with
breakfast for minimum guaranteed booking of 15 tables and above.

madames

Hi vincents_wife,

This is such a pity. The hall in the bridal suite is quite useful for the family to gather before the dinner. Wonder why they withdraw it now.

jy27

Hi vincents_wife,

Yes, my package is 788 nett per table, the 2008 package price. If i rem correctly, i think the sichuan menu dun have free flow of beer for 25 tables package. They only have free flow of beer if confirm 30 tables for the sichuan menu.

jy27

Btw, i saw in my contract that i have a night stay in the bridal room (2 club floor). Is that the bridal suite or the deluxe room??

vincents_wife

Hi Jy27 ..
ya .. sichuan menu dun have free flow of beer &amp; other perks ..
But the menu looks more delicious , yummy .. for the guests

Haiz .. i have signed up with felicia last yr .. most probably will stay on with cantonese menu also .. cos my mum wants the orchid club room (2 room connected).. more useful for my Msian family / relatives to gather before the dinner.

jy27

i heard some good reviews about their food. think the cantonese menu is also no bad lah...

im not too particular about the bridal room thou. most impt is the ballroom must be nice and the food must be delicious.. as i feel these 2 factors will be what is presented to the guests eventually..

madames

Hi jy27,

U are right too. It's the food and ballroom that can leave an impression on the guests as well as reflect us as a good host

At the end of the day, it depends on the needs of the individual. A bigger room can also help Vincents_wife to gather her relatives too

vincents_wife

yeah .. i agree too ... I'm happy to know that PPR serving is huge
.. cos more is better than not enuff

i went to xxx hotel before for wedding dinner .. guests were complaining about the fd portion too little .. not nice .. have to go home cook maggie mee .. -_-" ... if the wedding couples heard that , they sure very paiseh &amp; sad ..

if it's not becos of my mum .. i tink i'll take the sichuan menu liao .. cos never came across Double-boiled Hashima with Red Dates &amp; Lotus Seed as dessert .. &amp; there's also Braised Sliced Abalone with Spinach ...