Plaza Park Royal

padi

Twinkle: Did you complain to your coordinator? What did she say? *hugs* I didn't have an entirely good experience with PPR too so I understand ur frustration.

Take care ya?

padi

Elsie left huh..I don't have a good impression of her at all.

Babymiki, who is taking over now? Is it Pauline? Sigh. I hope things are ok with you. This hotel is terrible.

babymiki2003

not pauline...thank god!!

its a man. seems to be new, but holding senior BM post. haizz....8 more days. even got cock up i also hope i wont know anything. =p

key_word07

Hi Hui(padi) Thanks for the hug!! : )
Indeed it is very frustrating and disappointing. Despite using their so called BEST coordinator and BEST banquet ops manager..my dinner still COCK UP! My coordinator keep apologise to me..but what's the use of apologising?? my once in a life time event is spoiled just like this.
Btw Babymiki..is ur coordinator name start with "chrisXX"?
Cos he is the one who handle my complaints!

key_word07

Baby Miki..hope everything is well for you.
Are u using DVD format for your montage & highlight?? I suggest u pls bring a DVD player as back up...cos on my day..they told me their DVD cannot work! we last mintue have to change to using labtop..and everything cock up from there onwards...

key_word07

Ensure you assign somebody to ensure they server top up your guests drinks too. During my banquet...the server din top up my guest drink promptly..

babymiki2003

twinkle, yup my coor is chris. was he also ur coor? how did he address ur complaints.

ytd i just met him for the final discussion. actually also not much to discuss. but it seems better to talk to him as he;s the senior BSM, hence he can make the decisions directly.

i was told to bring my own laptop for the montage and everything the time i went for food tasting.

and who's ur banquet ops mgr? shd be Roy and 1 more guy rite? but i didnt catch the name.

anyway, my HTB aly did the 1st cork up of booking the JP at the wrong time. i was sooooo pissed off! and i dunno if i wanna talk to him till my wedding day on 2/12!

babymiki2003

my wedding is over on 2nd dec.

no major cork ups. everything ran pretty smoothly. Christopher was there with us during the 1st march in. Roy was also very helpful and clear in his instructions.

there were a lot of waiters and waitresses that night and they were pretty responsive and able to take instructions.

the only scary thing that happened, 1 waitress dropped the 1st dish onto the floor. we only briefly bring this up to the captain as everyone has seen it and they should know what to do with this issue.

my advice: have a main person to be the coordinator who can oversee the entire event. and give the person the empowerment to run the show. he must be very sure of the schedule and things. i was very relaxed the entire night, our coordinator was running the show, with minor advice from my hubby.

key_word07

Gald for you Babymiki!

Really happy for you tat you have a memorable evening.
I am not so lucky as you. Sob!

peachie

babymiki>gal to hear that things went smoothly for you.. mine is on the 25/12/07.. i hope everything will turn out good.. btw any 1 of u play the music from the hotel during the dinner of u all burn a CD for them to play??

vincents_wife

Hi all , I'm new in here

I signed up with PPR today with the S$788 weekend banquet package and My co-ordinator is Felicia too.

Sad is she refuse to give me discount for the pricing , not even 1% off. S$788 nett means S$788 nett
... she say discount is only avaliable during the bridal show.

Haiz .. i missed the bridal show. How did PPR inform the public when they have bridal show ??

My AD is 06 Oct 2008 (Sat) , Plaza Ballroom.

Which fish is recommended in the menu ? Cos the fish name is written in ang mo , i duno how to choose o.

key_word07

Hi Vincent wife (you have a cute nick)..hehe

I got their suite room for my one night stay and 1 deluxe room for my helper room.

My fish i choose Coral Trout!! All guest feedback tat their food is GOOD..esp the fish!! It's fresh! Tats the only thing i can compliment them.

vincents_wife

Hi Twinkle Star ,

u signed up with Felicia ? When did u sign up ?
She told me now no more suite room , *sad*
She gave me a orchid club room , wonder how it is like ? cos she busy , didnt bring me to see the room ... ur wedding is upcoming or over liao ?
Ur helper room is for day use or one night stay ?
What is Coral Trout in chinese ?
Which ballroom u use ?
hehe sorry so many questions to ask.

key_word07

Yup..i din sign up with felicia initially..cos i was appointed to shalica tat point of time when i am considering PPR. But after knowing my friend sign up with felicia. I look for her directly and she took over my case.I sign up during 2006 road show. My wedding is over..11 Nov'07.
Felicia is very nice lady, if you kind to her..she will be kind to you back.
But she can be quite forgetful and blur sometime..i remember i got my contract amended two or three times. Hehe.But generally she is very responsible and helpful. No doubts on tat.
My helper room got a night stay as tat time it come with the road show package.
If i am not wrong coral trout is HONG BAN in chinese.It is in the red garouper Family.Hokkien is call ANG KAW.
You may find out more in the fish threads.
http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/6/180.html?1194779950
My Ballroom same as you : Plaza Ballroom.
No problem. Can add me in MSN too to chat further:
PM me k?

peachie

hello vincents_wife> hmm.. i'm holding my wedding dinner next week.. wat i was told by felicia is that i will have 2 rooms combine into 1 room for a stay.. so dun think is a suite but i think is big bah.. i holding my wedding dinner at plaza ballroom also .. i update u again when is over k!

vincents_wife

*Wave* hello is there anyone in here signed up with PPR with the latest pricing S$788 , 9 courses , weekends , for year 2008 same as me ?? ... @_@ ... will be checking out the Hotel room with Felicia tmr , looking 4ward to it .. hehe .. i'm so kiasu =P

babymiki2003

hi doreamon,

sorry for the late reply. i cant really remmeber what's the songs played cos i was not paying attention. too busy the whole nite.

i got the bridal suite which is also made up by 2 rooms connected. so 2 bathrooms

peachie

hi babymiki> my wedding over liao.. i use their hotels songs too but also dun remeber wat song they play only for the 1st dish the song they play..

anyway just a quick update.. everything went smoothly that day.. and was glad that Felicia was there for us..

knightley

Hmm....how come the thread here like slow down le...sobz sobz....worry worry...

I'll be going to meet Felicia on Monday. Anyone here want me to ask any question when I go down meet Felicia? Hee....

knightley

Hi Vincents_Wife, hee....I tried sending you an email but dunno wats wrong with hotmail...cant seem to send emails...still trying to...maybe u can send me an email too at [email protected]? keke...then see if I can reply you there? keke...I'll keep trying thou...

Hi Ling, I don't have photos of their banquet themes but there are 3 themes to choose from. From the photos Felicia show me I think still ok bah...keke...I shld be choosing the crystal theme if I'm signing up with them lo... but I'm quite worried abt the pillars at the back of the ballroom thou...looks quite massive and wood wood de! kekekeke... will most prob be going down another time to see the ballroom when there is a wedding bah...so can see if will be more wedding "feel" anot....keke...

chellechelle

Hi Irene,

I've seen those photos from Felicia on Monday. But can't really get a feel from it. My HTB decided on the maroon floral theme with red roses. To me, I guess that it would be rather dull looking and common.

We were there actually for our food tasting and since we were rushing for time already, I didn't voice out my concerns immediately. Hence, after the dinner, I spoke to my htb abt it and decided that we put the theme on hold first.

Managed to call Felicia yesterday and she said it was ok.. Just get back to her a week before the wedding. oh well~

knightley

Hi Pei Yan, thanks for sharing!!

Hi Ling, Omg! Did you like meet Felicia ard 8+ for food tasting? Did you see her bring someone over to the poolside to take a look? hahaha....coz we were there to see Felicia on Mon for the 1st time and she did say she still got someone coming for food tasting after our session....might be u! keke....

Btw, Felicia did mention that there is a wedding on 03/03/08 and 08/03/08. You might want to fix appointment with her to see the themes! I might also want to do so...keke...we can meet to go together? hahaha....Vincents_wife keen too? keke

chellechelle

Hi Irene,

Well, my food tasting started at abt 7 plus that day. I knew she was meeting someone but I didn't see for myself cos I was in the plaza ballroom all the while. Its not nice to leave your seat when both parents are there meeting for the first time.. lolz..

Thanks alot for the info.. will check it out with her.. When will you be goin down?

knightley

Me might be meeting Vincents_wife to go down together on 03/03/08 (coming mon)....its crystal theme. So just nice...both of us wanna see the crystal theme...hee...

Most prob making apptm for 6.30 or 6.45 and just view for a while then go back lor...hee...u free to join us?

knightley

Hiya Vincents_wife, I've sent you email le... r u able to receive it this time? hee...let me noe if you cant...My hotmail dunno why something wrong sometimes...keke....

shuki_50

i am planning to hold my actual day at grand plaza park royal city hall...in 09...wonder whether can book now during this coming road show...?any one can advice...

chellechelle

Woo... i guess this thread has stopped le..

Irene> My apologies.. was too caught up with all the wedding preps.. Haven got a chance to actually come in here..

hmm.. Well.. I haven been able to make my way down to take a look at the theme personally. However, have just decided to change my theme to the Crystal theme with champagne roses. Felt that the ballroom was too dark, so lighter colours would be better i guess.

So have you been able to go down to take a look? How was it?

chellechelle

Hi april_baby,

You've also signed up with PPR?

Well, from what i had during my food tasting, the food there is actually not bad. And they come in very big portions.

The coral garoupa that we had was approx. 40cm long. We were all shocked! However, they did comment that the one served on AD would be slightly smaller and varies in size. But it was ok for us cos that fish was just too huge. The most important was for the fish to be fresh!

As for dessert, you may wana try out their honeydew sago with ice cream. Its something new and tastes not too bad. Me n my FH only commented that the sago seeds are a little too hard. But I believe that this should be a small issue, we just told them to make it softer. Heez

knightley

Woooo.....finally thread is moving! hahaha...I went down to see the Crystal theme the other time...eehhh....okies lah! hahaaha....tot the deco can be a bit more thou...maybe PPR didnt do the deco in full coz apparantly the couple that day brought in their own sound system, red carpet and deco and such...n doesnt seem like they finished the deco...I also dunno leh...need to ask Felicia on the deco part le...keke...u mean u can choose wat roses to deco? Coool!!!

April baby, wat I heard from other pple is that most pple choose PPR coz of their food. Most comments are good, fresh and big portion....so very very pleasing to um...older folks...muahahah....they like quality AND quantity! haahahaa....haven go for the food tasting...will update once i've done so...woo hoo! hee....

Ling, I also thinking abt the honeydew sago ice cream...but I scared the ice cream will melt by the time its served...n then it'll be quite scary for the guest....wat u think?

chellechelle

Irene> the deco looked very empty?

ya.. they have a few colour choices for u to pick. and since i was going for the crystal theme, i took champagne roses together to hopefully brighten the room up a bit..

I dun tink that there's much of a need for the red carpet as they do provide rose petals for the tables along the aisle.

im also curently trying to tink of ways i can add some DIY deco.. see how things goes ba.. will let you know aft my wedding in 10 days? heez..

ya.. was initially afraid of that too.. but i was informed by one of the staff.. (can't remember who liao) that they will get the queue from us before serving the dessert. Guess it shouldnt be tt bad ba..

chellechelle

oh btw.. which ballroom did u view the crystal theme? did you manage to take any pics? can share?

If only i could make it then so i will know how to go abt with the DIY deco..hmm...

vincents_wife

Hi Ladies ..

oh there's new dessert that is not reflected in the menu ar ? honeydew sago ice cream , yummy .. i like it ..

i saw from photos of a PPR bride .. her ballroom got the red carpet wor .. she told she didnt do anything by herself , all leave to PPR to do .. so i suppose is the hotel's one ba.
when they march in .. there's the dry ice effect .. very nice ..

area for photo albums .. PPR decor the table with table cloth n candles .. also quite nice .. only thing is the stage .. the decor very the stingy .. eh .. duno how to phrase it .. it's just not enuff lo .. not "kua zhang" & obvious enuff .. too plain ..