Plaza Park Royal

Coz I will be going thru GA (sleep when they operate on me), so the dentist said, like this, might as well take out all 4! Get it over and done with... I have been dragging it for like more than 6 months liao! If I am to wait... I scare I will chicken out and then back out! I very scare loh.. .but no choice, it's a MUST to take them out!

Hi esther,
I chose the tracing paper kind... It looks quite nice...
Happy with the card...

Butter,
I'd extracted my wisdom tooth in Jul 05 (I'd four also... both of us full of wisdom hor..hahaha). I extracted 2 right ones (top & bottom) followed by the other 2 on my left, a week later. Top ones- surgery, bottom ones- normal extraction. The jabs will numb your gums.. the pain is not during the process of extraction, it's "the after that". Cheek will swell too. Not to worry, the painkillers should help (it took a day before the pain subsides for my 1st extraction. 2nd extraction was easier to cope). Have you done ur PS? If not, have the extraction scheduled after ur AD.

Hi Jlyn,
I will be going for the operation tomolo!! (Think of me at 9.30am tomolo)
Check with you... how many days (or weeks) does it take for the swell on the cheeks to go away?

I had already done my PS. My AD will be in 3 weeks time. That's why worried that the swell will still be around on 24 Sept.

Btw, we met up with Fiona yesterday. Had already choosen the wedding favour. We chose the little bear. It looks cute. Just a bit "naked". Ha ha...

hi butter,

how come favour got bear bear 1??? so cute???
is it the new favour that they hv for the coming
brides show??

Hi Winnie,

Fiona showed me 3 different types of favours. She said they are Plaza latest wedding favours. These 3 favours are: bride and groom teddy bears, one baby bear only and key chain.
I chose the baby bear because we don't want our guests to "fight" over the bride and groom bears. These bears do not come in a pair... it's like one guest will have one bear only.

Hi butter,

oic... but how's abt the deco??? any changes??

btw, how is the groom & brides look like??? n abt e key chain??

Butter: Dont worry, the swell would have gone away before ur AD. My 1st extraction: 3 days, 2nd extraction: 2 days. Cant really chew food on the day of the surgery.. can lose weight ;p

Scary.. friday AD leow..

jlyn- are you on leave oredi? all the best for friday and btw CONGRATULATIONS! You finally get to marry your "prince" hehehehe

dun forget to show us pics!

I am back from the operation!! Surprisingly, my appetite is very good. Just that I don't dare to chew too much. Hee hee... My face is swollen like a pig head now...haha... hope the swell will go away soon...

Hi winnie,
There are 3 themes for the ballroom stage decoration. The romance purple, forest and garen themes. We chose the garden theme coz it's like having a white wedding like this. When's ur AD? Maybe they will change the themes again when ur day is near...

Hi Jlyn,
Oh... Ur AD is this Friday! So fast... How's all the preparation?? When will u and ur hubby be leaving for the honeymoon?? Remember to sleep earlier on the eve of your AD... so that you can look mei mei the next day.

Esther: I'm already on leave.. fr end of Aug to eh.. slightly after mid Sept. ROM yesterday afternoon, followed by a simple reception at chalet attended by close friends. Still trying to finalise the guest list *sighed*. Photo ok already, but I dont knw how to minimise the size to email u leh.. if you popping by to see the ballrm on my AD, go to the reception table and take a look at the pics
Just collected my gowns.. nice & fitting is perfect. I'm wondering, besides using the veil, how else I can hide my "bak bak" arms ;p

Butter: Dont worry, the swell will subsides over the next 1-2 days. AD sure mei mei. Not quite a honeymoon for HB and me, we heading for KL 1st followed by few places in Thailand (Krabi,Phuket and Bangkok) before returning to Spore. Will only get ticket to go KL.. the rest "impromptu".

hihi, am considering plaza park royal for my wedding banquet in 2006 nov/dec... anybody can share with me their package, perks or advice?

deciding if i shld take a hotel or bliss garden restaurant which i thot was not bad.. thanks loads!

hi buttee,
mine is on 09 Dec.. but my coordinator ask mi to go dw n hv a look @ their wedding show on Sept 17..
den from there, i will let him know how loh..

Jlyn- so fast leh your wedding here liao..... This friday will try my best to pop by but most likely cannot lah..... sigh..... Well veil is the best way lah.... is your gown halter or bustier? R'ber to ask your PG to take picture of the decor and setting for us to see okie? After your honeymoon then try to meet up with you show you pics okie? have lots of fun on Friday....

butter- at least it's over.. just r'ber to drink lots of fluids so you wun get dehydrated.... it's hard to chew so maybe milk is a good option... i think hehehehe....

tulipz- hotel more convenient i guess nvr heard of bliss garden so cannot comment sorry.... Plaza has really good packages and i'm sure everyone here agrees.. it covers everything! Go to the wedding show and look see.... during wedding show more perks! i'm sure we will all be glad to ans your qns if you need to (based on our experience) abt PPR....Rite gals? My package is 570nett (wkday) inclusive of almost everything you can think of. email me at [email protected] and i'll fwd you the pics of the themes..... hope this helps

Hello Jlyn,
Tomorrow is your BIG DAY!!! I bet you must be feeling very excited and nervous now!! Don't worry, everything will be in its place tomorrow. I will pray for good weather for you.

Remember to share with us your mei mei pics when you come back from holidays.

Hi tulipz,
If I am not wrong, Bliss Garden is at Expo, right? Isn't it a bit too far?? I think like what winnie suggested, you can pop by their road show next Sat and see if their package is good or not. Normally, more perks are given during roadshow.
For me, when I signed up last year, I signed their 2004 package, thus it is very good also.

Hi esther,
Basically except for my swollen face now, I am quite normal. My appetite is real good... still thought I can slim down after taking out 4 teeth, but I think I am wrong! Ha ha... It's boring staying at home... maybe I will go back to office tomorrow to clear my emails...

congrats jlyn.. now we going to call u mrs.. haha..

hi butter, how is ur meeting up wif Fiona? i will b meeting her 2molo.. hav u try out the lighting n the audio n ur montage when u meet Fiona? all my wedding songs are mp3 format. dunno whether the sound system can use mp3 format?

What time are you meeting Fiona tomorrow? I would also like to go down to pay her a visit. Hee hee...
Eh.... I have yet to try out the lighting and the audio.. I guess mp3 format should be fine...

butter and serene- update us on how the testing of lightings and audio go okie? thanks! would like to know how to do my rehersal too..... sigh

hi butter, esther,

i went down yesterday abt 3.45pm. go thru all wedding tings wif fiona.. so strange.. looks like my wedding favour is diff from butter. Fiona showed mi oni wedding bears(magnet), glass candle & a small wedding bell.. I asked her whether she hav other types of favour. she told mi dun hav anymore.. anyway, i got the glass candle as it is also veri nice..

hav test my montage n my songs.. as mine is mp3 format, i used my notebook to test the sound.. the AVA guy told mi is advisable to convert to audio format so tat is easier for them to play the music.. but dun worry they also have their own notebook to play the songs in mp3 format.. i was too exicited showing Fiona my montage that i forgotten to test on the lightings.. guess shld b no prob.. i also decide on the garden theme.

butter, hows ur mouth??? getting better right.. y u haven test on the lighting n audio when u met up wif fiona??

Hmm.... how come the wedding favours shown to you are different from mine. Weird.... anyway, glad that you chose that one that you like.

My montage is not ready yet. Have to go after my videographer and see when he can get them ready. I think I can only go down to test the lighting and audio next week. U brought down your own notebook when u went for testing that day? Can we use their notebook??

My teeth are okie now (I guess). Just went to remove the stitches yesterday... no pain at all... hee hee...

hi butter,

u also sign up last year package ar?? me too leh... so wat did dey give u?? any extra tins??

how many nite u hv??

Yes. I told Fiona i will b testing on my montage so she asked me to bring my notebook.. tink during the montage presentation, u hav to use ur own notebook. u can check wif Fiona or the AVA man see whether they can loan the hotel notebook for the montage presentation.

Hi Winnie,
I think it was cheaper when we signed last year's package. Other than that, the rest look quite standard...
I don't have additional nite coz my initial plan was to leave for honeymoon the day after my AD. I do have an additional room for my helpers.

My videographer finally completed my montage. I think I will go down this weekend to test it.. .and also to see the lighting...

Hi winnie

if i'm not wrong hotel packages everywhere have all increased this year....

Butter- let us noe how the lighting went okie? Thanks!

I will be going down to test the montage and the lighting next Monday. I heard from Fiona that there is another wedding going on at Plaza next week (one of the weekdays). I wonder whose wedding is it... hee hee... So excited now...

Just wanted to highlight something about the hotel's printer when i went dwn to do my card, the wordings of the card samples that he showed me had some grammatical error and even after giving me the revised one(according to my wordings) it somehow didn't turn out well. The chinese part of the invites was also not put nicely and it sounded weird. There were some character mistakes too.

It may be my fault that i didn't communicate well enough with the printer but in any case just make sure that your wordings both english and chinese are all grammatically correct

I am considering this Hotel to hold my wedding dinner. Would like to find out more abt their package and details.... are their staff friendly ?

Hi vankel,

Generally i would say yes they are..... The packages are very comprehensive and i guess for a 4 star hotel, it's quite a gd deal..... Why don't you just give them a call..

My coordinator Fiona is very friendly and accomodating too, she is not the pushy sort.... you might like to ask for her when you call up for the wedding banquet enquiries

Gd luck with your search

Selling off a voucher:
Terms in the voucher are-

Valid for 12 months from 18 Sept 2005 to Sept 2006
Valid for use when confirming a min of 30 tables
Selling $888 discount voucher!

Good deal!This voucher is won in a lucky draw.

Selling @ $350.Save up to half the price.

Contact me if interested. [email protected]

esther,

tks... read your comments on yr food tasting as well...very detailed.... but me considering between this plaza and gwc... headache... sigh...

Hi esther,
Tks for your advice, can I chk with u how long did the printer take to print your cards? Did u search for other printers? How much did u pay for the printing?

Selling a voucher which entitles a discount of $28 nett per table.
Term & Conditions:-
1) Offer valid for 12 mth fr 18/9/05 - 17/9/06
2) Offer valid with min. 25 tables for weekend (Fri, Sat, Sun) and 20 tables for weekday.

Interested,pls email me at [email protected]

Also, won a complimentary 1 night stay in Deluxe rm for 2. Selling this voucher at $60.

Vankel- what is gwc? I guess it all boils down on budget at the end of the day..... compare the 2 forums (if gwc has one in here) and see what the majority says if you really need help to decide....

agnes- you're most welcome.. i'm only speaking from experience if i can i'll try to share

sorry i haven't printed my inserts yet as i'm still waiting for them to give me the revised one.... usually about 1 week..... I'm only printing the inserts to the cards... the hotel provides the cards(it's in the package)

I didn't search for other printers cos in my package there's a $100 voucher off printing (using the hotel's printer).... i think it's something like $110 for 200 inserts and additional $5 for every 50 inserts more.... something like that... So with the voucher i only need to pay the difference.... personally feel that no need to spend so much on cards cos pple dun treasure them and throw them away anyway....

Hi esther,
Tks again.. I din get the $100 voucher when I signed up last yr.. I'm checking ard for prices now to print the cards.. Gosh, looks like many things to be done.. hv been very slack.. hee..
When r u having your rehearsal?

HI Agnes- my AD is 10th Nov so i guess when we're nearer to the date we'll have our rehersal
Well i think inserts are around that price if i'm not wrong

Hi Vankel- Oh i thought it was called Grand Copthorne Waterfront..... That place is gorgeous but on not within our budget... so i guess it all boils down to your budget

hi butter

so exicited hor.. tis sat will b ur big day...
u check wif the AVA man see whether can use mp3 format songs tonite.

esther,

oh ya... typo error...yar lor... all is depend on their budget...

Has anyone went to their bridal show on last sat... nice experience ? How's their package like ?

Tks in advance

I just went to Plaza to test the montage and slideshow last night. Everything went well. Forgot to ask about the mp3 format songs... haiz.. I guess should be able to play...

Fiona was on MC yesterday... another guy served me... then i went to see Felicia also.. after which, had a cup of kopi with my friends at the lounge.. hee hee...

butter...

i hav my worries on alot of things...
the AVA guy is non chinese... so will he b able to know when to play the songs as I have English n Chinese version of emcee speech..

eg: (1st March In)
Let invite the newly-wed in (emcee speak english follow by emcee speak chinese)

Will the AVA guy know when to play the 1st march in songs... i am so worried everyting will mix up..

hi ,

went to see their wedding show last sat.. wow.. it was so nice.. and somemore, they hv setup their themes as well, western & chinese.. which lots of ppl turn up.. the package was quite okie...

hi agnes,
mayb you can try javsy 1.. cos the svcs was quite gd..

Ya... the AV guy is not a Chinese. Eh... I think during the briefing, you can let him know also... or maybe you can have a friend standing beside him and instruct him when to play the songs....
Don't worry... I am sure everything will turn out fine.. must have confident in them...

Hello.. I'm back!

A few things to highlight.. (esp to Butter whose AD is coming)
a) cocktail: can be messy if there are more than one banquet on the same day. Imagine guests of 3 different banquets "sharing" the cocktail at the veranda..
b) music: go thru ur march-in songs with the co-ordinator/ technician, make sure that the volume is right. Oh.. and make doubly sure that the co-ordinator knows exactly when you want ur march-in to be (which segment of ur song.. etc)
c) food: majority of my guests gave thumbs up for the food served
d) suite: lovely bridal suite
and not forgetting the
e) wedding favours: the keychain was a HIT! many asking us for more to give their children, friends...

Generally, everything was ok. The only problem I had was the cocktail at veranda. More than 10 of my malaysian relatives arrived at 6.35pm (cocktail was supposed to start at 7pm). By 7pm, still no cocktail served at the veranda. The ballroom was not ready too (staffs still doing the table setting). I was told that there were 3 banquets on 9/9/05.. apparently, all guests were sharing the veranda for cocktail. Some of my friends and relatives thought there was private function at the veranda thus, stayed around the reception till ballroom was ready.

I'm not too sure if the hotel could give a designated area for each couple instead of having a "shared" cocktail.. BTBs may want to check it out with ur co-ordinators.

For those who are still considering.. I do think that PPR is a gd choice to hold AD if 1) you want good food 2) you dont want to "suffer $$$ loss" and 3) you're not too particular abt the ambience. On top of these, I'm glad to have Vincent as my co-orindator. He'd definitely helped me alot throughout.. from the card printing to the choosing of wedding favours..

Dont have any pics of ballroom to show yet.. will upload it when I receive the photos from my photographer.

Esther: No $$ loss (did I hear a *phew*?? heehee)
Butter: Ur AD coming hor.. wisdom teeth ok already not?

jlyn- hehehehe yeah phew..... I do feel that the cocktails should be seperate.... Imagine me having my solemnisation by the pavillion and other guests from the other ballroom having their cocktails there too! wah lau pengz ah!

Anyway glad that yours is over rite? Honeymoon when? i got to see my PS pics oredi... heheheh quite nice lah i must say... I have the rejected ones but dunno how to scan for you to see hehehehe....

Butter- having cold feet now? hahahahha.... Dun forget to update us like jlyn did for the benefit of us all

I am in e midst of confirming PPR for my AD in 2006 after attending their wedding show last sat. Thanks Jlyn for sharing her experience with us, realli found a lotsa info in tis thread.

I wld like to ask sme Qs rgd PPR, hope existing btb, ex-brides can guide mi alg with e answers.

1) Understand their wine is $20NETT which I found was abit ex, normally outside is ard e range $15-$18, & their corkage for wine is $12 per bot? so is like got to get from them kinda? Anyone managed to get from outside yet still cheaper than $20NETT?

2) Any free shuttle bus from Bugis MRT to e hotel for my guests?

3) Anyone cater for vegetarian/muslim guests? how is e pricing, details like?

4) As for those who have the $100 printing voucher, how muchie do U gers top up for 200-300 guests range?

5) How is the payment mode like? 1st dwnpayment hw many %, bla bla bla...

Sry for e many Qs asked. Thanks all in advance.

Hi Jlyn,
Thanx for sharing all the tips! I will take note of all those and make sure my coordinators know what I want. What time did you have your briefing that day? If possible, I also want to be at the ballroom coz I want to brief my friends on what they need to do.

My teeth are okie liao... Just that the wounds still hurt a little...

Hi esther,
No problem... I will definitely share with you gals after my Big Day this Sat... A bit nervous now... I was told that the other ballroom is also holding another wedding... that means, it might get quite "messy"... haiz...

Butter,
I checked into the hotel at around 3pm, oh ya! pls remember to inform ur co-ordinator ur bridal & ah yee's veh no beforehand.. (dont be blur blur like me!). Once I'd placed my things in the suite, I headed for Chevoz at Taka to do my make-up and hair-do (a gift fr a friend who works in the salon.. how fortunate I am..). By the time I got back to hotel, it was around 6pm. I started to change cos was expecting my msian relatives to arrive early. My HB attended the briefing at around that time too. Whilst in the hotel room, I started freaking out.. wondering if my blur HB could handle things when he dont know head & tail but i knew it was more weird to see a bride running all over the place at that hour. In the end, becos of the cocktail issue, I decided to "skin thick thick" go down and handle the situation (ok lah, minus a few weird stares..it wasnt too bad).

If ur friends know ur relatives.. gd else, do get ur family memebers to standby at the ballroom/ recep area as early as possible. Friends can run other things for you such as, setting up ur reception table (signature book, display ur portrait, check table arrangement of ballroom- making sure that the table numbering is in accordance to the plan given to u etc)

If u are using the stamford ballroom, ask ur co-ordinator if the doors which open out to the veranda could be closed (not sure if there are folding doors or door panels.. if panels, see if can close a few). There was a minor air-con leakage (water dripping fr - low ceiling) at one of my tables.. according to the banquet hall mgr, it was due to the "many people coming in and out from the veranda area to the ballroom".

Win,
1) I took wine from PPR at $20 nett. 1st 12 bottles complimentary (in my package). Too lazy to source else where.. moreover, PPR charges corkage if u get it from outside.
2) I do not think that PPR would provide shuttle bus services, u may want to check with them. It's nice but I think that it's really difficult to co-ordinate.. imagine guests start calling u asking where's the bus lah, what colour is the bus etc..while u were going bogus making things right at the hotel (just my personal view ok)
3) PPR has Veg/ Muslim food. Same price per table.
4) I was supposed to top-up an additional $10 (cant remember if i did pay now.. hahaha)for the printing. If I rememeber correctly, I printed 200 cards.
5)deposit (dont remember was is 3k? butter/serene/esther.. anyone can help with this?) remaining to be paid after banquet. But I think PPR quite flexi, u can check with them.

Esther: No quite a HM leh.. I went to visit uncle lim at Genting followed by Hatyai.. going back to work tomorrow.. *sighed* Ur rejected pics r in hard copies?

Anyway, should be pavillion lah why I kept on saying veranda.. hahaha, pengz.

Just one last thing.. I'd a total of 28+2 tables. Didnt get to use the reserved tables. Out of 28 tables, 1 empty. The food for that empty table was delivered to suite after the dinner. That was the time I really get to eat!

All in, 17 bottles of red wine and 9 litres of brandy were consumed. Ok that's all, good luck girls!