Plaza Park Royal

Hi esther,
I still haven't meet Fiona yet. Only spoke to her once on the phone. Vincent is rather polite. My company has got some business dealings with Plaza and though he's not servicing me, he wrote to me and said want to pay me a visit the moment he knows I am a Plaza bride-to-be. I must say both Vincent and Fiona provide very good service to their customers.

I don't have the $100 voucher for printing... Eh... we have to pay for the inserts? I thought it's FOC (together with the cards)? Not like this?

For inserts, we will collect them from the printer. For the cards, get them straight from Plaza. My food tasting was early last month... Haven't get the cards yet...

Hi esther,
I still haven't meet Fiona yet. Only spoke to her once on the phone. Vincent is rather polite. My company has got some business dealings with Plaza and though he's not servicing me, he wrote to me and said want to pay me a visit the moment he knows I am a Plaza bride-to-be. I must say both Vincent and Fiona provide very good service to their customers.

I don't have the $100 voucher for printing... Eh... we have to pay for the inserts? I thought it's FOC (together with the cards)? Not like this?

For inserts, we will collect them from the printer. For the cards, get them straight from Plaza. My food tasting was early last month... Haven't get the cards yet...

err... butter i think the inserts must pay unless it's part of your package..... What did you choose for your menu? mind sharing? Hopefully the food is okie on food tasting..... sigh... getting wedding stress oredi hahahhaha...

winnie- of cos you choose the food lah... your wedding leh hehehhe....they will give you the menu and you choose 1 dish from each category. Your coordinator will give you the menu way before food tasting and you decide which one and then during food tasting they will serve you the dishes you chose. You can choose to change to another dish if you dun like a particular one.

Ya... I just called Fiona and she said we have to pay Richard for the inserts.. haiz... U have any idea how much that will cost?

Eh... my menu ar... I have to go home and search through... Let u know tomorrow morning..

butter if i r'ber correctly, jlyn said her $100 voucher was enough to pay the printer i think she is having about 30 tables or so? you might like to check previous postings about it.

hi esther,
Ya... Fiona called me last night and said that for printing 200 pieces of inserts, the cost is $110nett... Told her to inform Richard that we will print 200 pieces.. cut cost... hee hee...

For my food tasting, I chose the following...

The 1st dish was the Hot & Cold Platter (consist of Mayonnaise Prawns & Fruit Salad, Drunken Chicken, Sliced Pork in Garlic Sauce, Pink Dory in Ginger Sauce and Shark's Fin Omelette).

The 2nd dish was Braised Sharks Fin Soup with Crabmeat.

Next came the Steamed Live Sea Bass in Soya Sauce.

4th dish is Stir Fried Scallop & Celery in Yam Ring.

Prawns is next. We chose the Drunken Live Prawns with Thai Chilli Dip.

6th dish is Huatiao Chicken Wrapped with Lotus Leaf. This dish was a failure. Simply tasteless and blend. In the end, we decided to change this dish to Roasted Crispy Chicken with Spiced Salt.

Following which is another flopped dish, Braised Broccoli with Crabmeat. Again, it was tasteless and the sauce was too starchy. Simply horrible!! We will be changing this dish to Braised Bai Ling Mushroom with Poh Chye.

The 8th dish was Braised Ee Fu Noodle with Crabmeat.

The last dish was the dessert, Yam Paste with Ginko Nut.

hi butter,
y dun u try jasvy..
e svcs quite gd.. and e cost is quite cheap
then Richard 1... u wan his contact??

esther,
oh okie.. den wat did u chose for the foods tasting??

Hi Butter,

We were thinking of getting the Chicken Wrapped with Lotus Leaf too! Thank gdness we didn't. Braised Bai Ling Mushroom with Poh Chye (that's a change of veg issit? supposed to be assorted mushrooms with poh chye) Yeah we must switch it around to suit our taste and most imptly look presentable. Did you change the order of dishes? I want to do that too.... somehow the flow of it not smooth lah...

My dishes are

Plaza Hot & Cold Platter
Mayonnaise Prawn & Fruit Salad, Salmon Sashimi, Jelly Fish, Mini Spring Rolls, Drunken Chicken

Braised Shark's Fin Soup with Crabmeat

Steamed Garoupa in Soya Sauce (dunno live bass better or garoupa so choose something familar hahahha)

Braised Pork Spare Ribs in "Wu Xi Style" (we didn't like any from the poultry category so I asked her to change and she said she'll do it for me only (but i think they can do it lah, she very accomodating)

Stir fried Fresh Scallops & Celery in Yam Ring

Crispy Large Prawns in Green Curry Sauce(dunno nice anot)

Braised Bai Ling Mushroom with Spinach

Baked Pineapple Rice in 'Thai Style'(also dunno nice anot)

Hot Yam Sago Puree with Lotus Seeds

How was the yam paste(ornee)? I'm thinking between the 2 but then Fiona mentioned that the yam sago puree is highly recommended.

My dad was saying we know how the usual dishes taste like so choose dishes that are different and see how if not nice go back and choose the usual ones. But i'm a bit apprehensive about choose things like green curry hahahah but no choice!

Winnie- Who is jasvy? Do you have his website or contact?

esther,
it's e printing co for all wedding cards..
and their svcs quite fast & gd.. and they have lots of design too..

you can call him @ 62992263 (jason neo),
located @ kallang..

hi esther,
The yam onee is very nice! When I went to attend a friend's wedding last year, I fell in love with it... Hee hee... It's quite different from what we normally have from other hotels. It's not that sweet...

Ya, we can change the course of the dishes! I spoke to Felicia during my food tasting day and she said it's ok to change.

Actually I also want to select Braised Pork Spare Ribs in "Wu Xi Style" but my sister highlighted that we might have lots of old folks around and they might not have the teeth to eat this dish. Ha ha...

Oh ya, for the Hot & Cold Platter, I find Pink Dory in Ginger Sauce and Shark's Fin Omelette very nice! Highly recommended!!

As for the pineapple rice, I heard from some brides (from previous post) that it is not bad.
We never take rice coz we feel that maybe guests will be full... and they might not have the appetite to eat rice. Btw, the food serving is huge over at Plaza!!

Hi Butter,

ornee nice ah? hmm okie can consider changing it..... Yeah you are rite about the spare ribs and old folks.. didn't think about it... maybe might change it.... Thanks for highlighting...

How's the presentation of the dishes?

Hi winnie e pooh,

I'm quite happy with them, had my food tasting liao... the dishes were nice and of big portion.. hopefully they will do a great job too on my AD

Hi butter,

I read that your dessert is Yam paste with Ginko nuts.. is this dessert new in the menu? Cos mine has Yam sago puree... Yam paste not inside the list.. was it nice?

hi agnes,
Yam paste used to be in the menu. They took out this dish coz it required lots of effort to make the paste. It's very nice! I fell in love with it the first time I had it when I attended a friend's wedding at plaza...

agnes - so fast u have u foods tasting liao??
but ur AD is in Dec leh... dey so fast let u hv dat?? so wat u chose 4 ur foods... i still hven chose the menu yet... hazi...

Hi butter,

So u requested for Yam paste which is out of the menu?

Hi Winnie e pooh,

Actually we can hv food tasting any time, we just wanted it earlier lor.. the food is somewhat similar to butter's.. We chose those we like to eat... hahaha

Oh yes, I dun really like their cards n wedding favours.. heard that they may hv new wedding favours.. hopefully better ones..

agnes - ya.. dey r changin the favours... new favour will be out on 17 Sept which dey will hv their wedding show on that day... i will be going dw 2 hv a look..
so e foods taste nice?? den it's gd loh.. but i heard that durin foods tastin e foods is beri nice but on AD, e foods may turn a bit way out loh.. cos e chef have lots of foods to cook.. but i nt so sure lah..

Hi agnes,
It was in the menu when I booked Plaza last year. I think they took this menu out recently.

I think the standard of food during the wedding dinner itself should be quite ok. Coz that time, when I attended my friend's wedding, all the dishes tasted nice (this is also why we signed up with Plaza). But then again, it really depends on the chef's "skills" on the banquet nite also.

Oh... so they will be having new wedding favours.. My AD is on 24 Sept (one week b4 their wedding show). Don't know whether will I be "eligible" for their latest wedding favours or not. I shall check it out with Fiona later...

Oh.. my wedding cards are ready! Amazing that the printer can get the inserts printed so fast!!

butter - mayb u can ask from Fiona abt the favours again.. cos she might be involve w e wedding show too.
so who u get the printing from??

hi winnie,
Ya, will ask Fiona later when I collect the cards and inserts from her.

I did my printing with Plaza in-house printer...

butter- what do you need to get ready or tell the printer besides the format? Let me know about the wedding favours after ou speak to Fiona okie? Would like to know what they are too... Thanks!

Let us know how your wedding went after it okie? Hope everything goes well for you.

Hi esther,

Basically for print of wedding invites, we just need to let the printer know the type of format which we want. He will also ask whether you want to print the wordings on the cards itself or on inserts (like tracing paper). After we made our choice, he will proceed to print.

Fiona didn't really have time for me last night coz she had another couple to attend to. We just collected the cards and inserts then we left. Managed to ask her about the new wedding favours though but she said nothing is finalise yet....

Sure, I will share with you gals my experience after my AD...

Esther, thanks but i already have the 3 themed pictures.

I'm interested in seeing actual day wedding pictures taken there. Wonder if the photos will turn out nice there. Any ex-brides willing to share their pictures?

hi esther,
you can call the printer. He will email to you the different types of formats. And for cards wise, Fiona emailed the images to me.
Even for confirmation, I did it via email with the printer.

11 days to AD!!! Just to add on..

Dishes I would recommend to all:
-Hot Yam Sago Puree with Lotus Seeds
-Steamed coral garoupa fresh and nice
-Braised Bai Ling Mushrooms with Spinach

I've no complaints with PPR food.. all served hot.. big portions too.

The printing of 200 inserts cost $110 (I'm using my $100 vouchor). I merely filled in the details (name of parents, bride and groom, date of wedding etc)in the template (given to me on food tasting day) and faxed it back to Vincent. He helped me with the rest and all I did was pick the cards, inserts & goldstrings from the reception when they were ready for collection! (note: printing co. located within PPR so not a prob for Vincent to help)

I chose the white cards which come with white envelopes. Parents didnt like the white envelopes so got ot change it to pink ones. White cards and pink envelopes.. totally not matching. FH and I not too particular.. so for those who've chosen the white cards, check with your co-ordinator if they've got any beige envelopes else, my advice: choose other cards.

Esther & Butter: Have you settle your wedding favours? Just finished my photoshoot in JB yesterday.. was really a last minute one (if not for "violent" objections fr FH's and my parents, I was going to do without the PS). I didnt sign up with any BS. All my 3 gowns are tailor-made by Kim (seamstress recommended by many in this forum). I'm fortunate to have friends who could help me with my make-up, flowers, songs selection... my advice again: delegate tasks to friends.. less stressful.

For those who intend to engage band or sing during AD dinner in Stamford Room, do check the ballroom's sound system with your co-orindators (sound system may not be good enough).

Hi Jlyn,

Glad to hear that everything went well on your side. How come u don't want any PS? Will it be on time for you to collect your album? U only have another 11 more days to go... so fast...

I chose the silver card and I think i was given light grey envelopes... Not very particular about all these cards thingy.. At 1st, still thought my FIL will want to use the red card... but he changed his mind and chose same card as us.

I have not seen the weddig favours yet. Fiona said will call us down 2 weeks prior to our big day and let us choose the favours.
What favours had u chose?

Hi Butter, I've not chosen my wedding favours. Not many people will do their PS in the lunar 7th month, that's why BS could rush the album for me. Will be collecting a week before AD.

Oh... that's good! It never strike my mind that you had your PS in the lunar 7th month. Hee hee... I guess if you are not particular about it, it's pretty okie...

My BS takes pretty long time to do my album coz they said too many brides next month... so, have to rush for everyone.. must "queue"... haha.. priority will be given to those whose ADs are earlier.

One week before your AD? That is like 4 days later? Then when will u be view the layouts and stuff?

Any idea what are the wedding favours available at Plaza now?

hi butter,

tik dey r changing e favour nw.. but mayb will onli b available wen dey r doing their brides show on 17 Sept lol.. cos dey say dey r changing... mayb u can ask ur coordinator abt tis???

Ya... I spoke to Fiona that day and she said there will be a change of wedding favours. And coz my AD is only one week after the wedding show, I might not be entitle to the new favours. So, thought of asking what are their current wedding favours...

HI Ladies!

Just came back from food tasting. I must say the presentation of the dishes are nice..... Not too bad.....

Errr anyone went for food tasting today too? I was the one who asked if the ee fu noodles was nice (cos we had the pineapple rice)

Anyway just comments about the dishes...

Felt that the jelly fish (cold dish) was a bit too spicy.... Like Jlyn said the coral garoupa, bai ling mushroom & spinach and hot yam sago is fantastic. The only thing was that the scales of the fish was not completely cleaned so it was a little gross to spit the scales out ahhahahha...

Among all the dishes i really like the green curry prawn most! It's not like in a bowl filled with curry and prawns. It was nicely presented with the sauce(green curry) drizzled over the fried prawn. You all should try it just for tasting and if you dun like it you can always fall back on the steamed live prawn with hua diao wine.

I felt the Yam Ring was too oily and the yam was like not enough though it looked reasonable big, it was a "thin ring".. sort of like more flour than yam (not fluffy enough if you know what i mean) and the WU XI spare ribs dun bother to try. It tasted weird and we all concluded that it tasted like chee cheong fun sauce with an orangy taste hahahah...... The pineapple rice was oily and not really thai sort of flavour.

As for the wedding favours, I asked Fiona and she mentioned that yes they are bringing in new ones but it's for weekend packages only after the wedding show.

And the cards, I'm getting the white one and the red one with 1/2 of the golden circle on the flap and the other 1/2 at the back of the flap (not sure if all of you saw it before) Apparently it was discontinued and then brought back again.

Well hope all this info helps.....

Hi esther,

Glad that your food tasting went on smoothly...
Oh... I know that card! This card was among the samples that was given to us last year when we booked the package. But this year, when I was going to choose the card, it was like no longer there... So, it's back again now...

Oh... any idea what are the new wedding favours that they are bringing in? And, any idea what are the existing wedding favours they have now?

Hi butter

yeah they siao siao one one minute have one minute dun hahaha

Existing ones are magnets, chocs, fruit cake, porceline bells and some gel candle thingy which looks really cheapo lah..... The new ones have bears and key chain.

try asking Fiona if she can give it to you I'm sure she can work something out for you if you "pester" her a little.... Is your's wkday or wkend?

Esther, you may want to consider having the ee-fu mee instead of the pineapple rice.. (weird leh, my friend who attended a wedding at PPR sometime in Jul, said the rice nice). I'd ee-fu mee during my food tasting.. all said nice.

Butter, you should really really really ask Fiona abt the new wedding favours again.. *eh, u catch the hint?!!* ;p Yup, I'm getting the album 5 days before AD.. I very steady hor? All done in less than 3 wks.

Jlyn,

The rice really weird lah.... taste like a cross between malay yellow rice and something hahahhah..... Choose ee fu mee liao hehehehe..... You having jitters anot ah?

Butter- yah should REALLY ask Fiona about the new wedding favours

24 days to my wedding diner... & 11 days to my rom.. veri fast hor.. tis sun having guo da li.. n distribute cakes n wedding invitation card to relatives...

hi butter, u get ur wedding cards ready? mi almost finish my montage..

anyone get corsage for sisters?? i m planning to do for them.. think now dunno enough time ornot..

Hi esther,
My wedding is on a weekend. Exactly one week after their wedding show, on 24 Sept (Sat).

Hi Jlyn,
Yup, CATCH your hint liao! It's a very obvious one.. haha... I will definitely "pester" Fiona a bit on getting the new wedding favours.

My wedding cards are ready. Now, I have to tie the gold strings to attach the inserts to the wedding cards. Will be distributing them to colleagues and friends next week.

My montage is done by my videographer. I just passed all the photos and stuff to him on Tue. Hope he will do a good job.

As for the wrist corsages and angpao box, my cousin is helping me to do them. Really glad that I have her to help me... else I will be quite lost.. hee hee...

Another 22 days more for me... Really scary... Btw, I will be going for my wisdom tooth extraction next Tue.. will be taking all 4 out at one go.. Pray hard for me... !!

wow why do it this month??? heard from my friends veri painful to extract 4 at at the same time.. most of them extract 2 at a time.. cos u will need few days to rest n u wont b able to eat hard food.. gotta to eat porridge for few days..

joey- i have the pics to their theme set up for the stage if you like email at [email protected]

Serene- having the jitters? am getting wrist corsages for sister... maybe you can ask your florist, i'm sure when you collect your flowers you can collect the corsages atthe same time.....

butter- so smart can get hint liao hehehehe.... You sure you want to extract wisdon teeth now?

Ladies where to get nice cakes or something out of the norm like cup cakes to distribute ah?

which insert did you choose? the tracing paper kind or colour paper kind?