Plaza Park Royal

crayola

Jlyn- yeah you are rite it's 570 not 670 hahahaha.. will take note of the cards.... still have not decided which one to take... haiz! They only have 1 spa suite so it's subject to availability. Mine will be on a friday the next day after the wedding.... Fiona booked it for me... Get Vincent to check when it's available for you....

Butter-me got it wrong..... it's 570 not 670 hahahha...

Linda & lawrence- No harm trying and asking them if you are going to pay for the food. They might just allow it
If you are really looking for quality food maybe you shld try a restaurant instead... usually they serve a better fare.... My coordinator is Fiona and i think so far she's done a fantastic job! Who did you speak to? I must agree with Jlyn, the plus point is definitely the free flow of beers and the bottles of wine..... When's your AD?

gentasg

Hi esther,

So far, i have been talking to fiona. Will be going down on tuesday evening to view the ballroom.
My AD ard end of 2006... waiting to get a date.

wat attracted me and my hubby is the free flow of beer also.

crayola

Hi Linda,

Yeah Fiona is great! She is really friendly and accomodating.... FH thinks she is really pretty hahahahha!

coolman

hi Jean,

25th Sept is booked already..
BTW, hav u printed ur wedding card? I might b printing them during Lunar July cos I need to consolidate all the attendance b4 i can get the cards printed.. Have u also buy those wedding traditional tingy for GUO DA LI. So sian.. they say Lunar July cannot do any wedding tings. like tat we loo ki 1 mth leh.. sigh...

Oh...
Erm... print wedding cards ar... I spoke to Felicia when I went for food tasting that day and she said I can contact the printer now and let him know all the chinese wordings we want to put on the card. Printing of the cards take around 1 week. I think no choice loh, we have to print our cards during the lunar 7th month and then give them out only when the lunar 8th month starts.

Erm... what to buy for the GUO DA LI?? I don't know all these stuff... I think my mum will be getting them. My GDL will be one week before my AD. And the best thing is, I will be going overseas 1 week b4 my AD! Ha ha... It's a department offsite and everyone has to go. My boss asked if I can go or not, I told her, I am very free.. can go anywhere... haha...
U busy with what now huh? I seems to be so free loh... haiz... don't know whether did I miss out doing anything or not... :p

coolman

hi jean,

mi now waiting for ppl to reply my invitation b4 i print my wedding cards. also been busy doing my montage.. a simple montage to be shown during wedding diner.. other than tat.. i also got nothing to do..

Oh... U need to know roughly how many people will be coming to your wedding before printing the cards? Felicia told me I can call the printer up 1st and get the guy to start doing to chinese wording thingy... We are planning to call him this Sat...
Btw, you know how much Plaza is charging for red wine?

lilo

Butter, the house wine is Jacobs Creek n itz $20/bottle.

I juz went n view the ballrooms n the suite todae. Wat do u gals prefer, the grand ballroom or the stanford function room? I personally prefer the stanford room becoz of the pool side n the glass doors. But the problem is the dates dat i prefer for the AD r all taken up for the stanford room n only tentative dates available for the grand ballroom. Plus the stanford room can only taken up max 35 tables n i might exceed dat. Feel quite upset regarding dat.

Any of u gals will be using the grand ballroom? How do u feel about the setup of the ballroom? At first i thot there's no pillar but actually there are.

Oh yah, on my way to the suite, we walked past the spa suite n it smells really nice. But Felicia said that the spa suite will not be inclusive in the package.

crayola

Hi Lilo

I'll be using the Grand ballroom too due to the number of tables. Though the ballroom has a lot of pillars and it's long-ish but i guess the perks of the package was my main pull. So no choice lor. The walk in will definitely be very short.

I have the spa suite and a couple's massage in form of a letter from my package so am not sure if the promotion might be over or not when you signed up... When's your wedding?

lilo

Hi esther..when did u sign up for the package? My wedding date is not fix quite but most prob will be in June'06. You are so lucky to get the spa suite. The walk-in is really quite short..i wonder if they can change the walk-in to a L-shape instead.

crayola

HI Lilo, signed in april this year.... I'm sure they can do it but it depends on the no. of tables you'll be having... speak to your coordinator to see how they can arrange the tables... The ballroom can accomodate up to 45 tables and it's really very packed according to Fiona but no choice that will be the number of tables i'll be having.... sigh... so will have to do with the short march in....

For me, I think will be taking Stanford Ballroom. Praying hard that my hubby won't increase the number of tables on his side. If he does, then we will have to switch to the Grand Ballroom. I saw the march-in... really damn short... Haiz...

Oh, so the red wine is $20nett per bottle. Will you gals be getting from the hotel or buying from outside? How many bottles do you think we should get?

Btw, Felicia will be transferring to another place and I think I have to speak to Fiona next time. How is Fiona? Good? I understand that some gals actually liaise with Vincent. Is he okie? I have some work dealings with him... but yet to meet him before... Maybe I will liaise with him instead of Fiona.

crayola

HI butter

I will get the wine from the hotel..... it depends on how much of a wine drinker are your family and friends.... If you are afriad that they will drink too much let the banquet pple to stop opening at maybe 20th bottle etc..... A bottle can serve about 6-8 glasses depending on size...

Fiona is really great and she is my coordinator. Recently she just gave a courtesy call just to find out how i am... But then again it's your preference on who you feel most comfortable with.....

Hi Esther,
Just got an email from Fiona this morning, informing us that she will be taking over Felicia to coordinate for us. I guess, I will contact her.

Oh... with regards to the red wine, do we need to commit ourselves to the number of bottles? Or we just pay for the number of bottles we open up on that night? If we commit 20 bottles, what do we do with the extra? Eh...U have any idea?

crayola

HI butter- I dun think you need to commit if it is their house wine.... Speak to Fiona and ask her about it.... I'm sure she can work something out with you... She really nice... Maybe what you can do is tell her you are not sure of the number of bottles your guests might go through the night. Let her know the number of bottles you are willing to open e.g 1 per table and if there's a need to open more you'll let the banquet manager know on that day itself just to be safe.

Hello esther,
Thank you so much! I will speak to her when I go down to meet her (2 weeks b4 my AD).

hi sailormoon,
I don't think the wedding promo is still on. U might like to call Plaza and ask them.

lilo

Hi butter, where is Felicia going to be transferred to? She did not mention anything regarding her transfer when i met up wif her last sat.

hi bride_to_be,
I am not very sure. She called up my hubby last Sat and informed him that she will be transferred to another new outlet (not sure whether my hubby heard wrongly or not). Then she said Fiona will be liasing with us. True enough, received an email from Fiona this morning. But Felicia said she will still pop by on our wedding night to make sure that everything runs smoothly.

crayola

Butter no worries..... We help each other mah we are PPR brides heheheh

Lilo- they usually wun tell you they are leaving....

lilo

Esther, do u have any worries whether the guests will be confused and the reception area for the grand ballroom be very crowded and messy if the stadform room is also having a wedding banquet at the same time?

I ever attended at wedding at Stanford Ballroom before, and during that time, there was another wedding at the Grand Ballroom. Hmm... it was quite clear cut that there were 2 weddings and there were no confusion at all. Eh... it was not really very messy and crowded coz when the guests arrived, they walked straight into the ballroom after signing on the guest book.

crayola

HI lilo

I dun think there will be a confusion because the stamford ballroom's recep and entrance is at the pool while the Grand on inside. They will close up the inside for the stamford ballroom i think.

butter in that case she most probably transferred to the Grand Plaza instead cos if they hop to another hotel then they usually dun say i think...

oh... my understanding is that in the 1st place, Felicia was not in charge of banquet sales. For many many many years, she was in charge of their club (that's why her title is club manager). If she goes over to Grand Plaza... maybe she will be the club manager there...
Whatever it is, it is nice of her to say that she will come over on our banquet night to oversee everything... making sure that things will run smoothly... so sweet of her!

coolman

hi butter,

i also received call from Felicia last Sat. She will be totally involve in her baby "club5".. tink just newly renovated.. she also said she will come over to oversee our wedding banquet.. she is such a nice person i ever meet.
I also received called from Fiona saying meeting mi 2 weeks b4 my wedding diner. Dont u tink abit too rush huh?? i intend to have a small rehersal.. to ensure everything run smoothly.. she told mi i can come anytime i wan. jus give her a call.. tink u shld also do tat..

coolman

isst abit less to buy 20bottles of red wine for the wedding diner. tat time when my colleague wedding diner, she bought 3 dozen of red wine n was finished up even b4 the mids of the diner. Somemore her wedding is on weekday. She has 35tables. so i m tinking of getting 3 dozen also..since i oni have 23 to 25 tables..
i also been wondering wat brand of red wine is good. wanna to find something cheap n nice.. haha..

Ya! I also think meeting up with Fiona 2 weeks before the dinner seems to be a bit too rush. But she said normally by that time, then we will know about the attendance. I guess she's the "expert" in this area. Nevertheless, I told her I would like to see her 3 weeks prior to my big day. Hee hee...

From what I know, the mini "rehearsal" will be on the afternoon of our wedding dinner! The coordinator will run through the whole "process" (from march-in till the end) with the couples. Anyway, I have yet to see the renovated Stanford Ballroom... hee hee... Will be going down to see the printer (Richard) this weekend, will give Fiona a call and meet her also!

I think the number of bottles of red wine will depends on whether your guests are wine drinkers or not. For my case, I think most of them prefer to drink beer, thus I will be getting the red wine from Plaza itself (coz I don't want to go through the hassle of buying the bottles outside and them carrying them to the hotel).

crayola

I mentioned to Fiona that I would like to have my rehersal for solemnisation and banquet 1-2 weeks before the dinner and she said it is ok. This is because I'll have quite a few flower gals and you know how kids are they tend to forget. So guess it's up to individual on when you feel comfortable having the rehersal. Maybe you can tell her when you'd like your rehersal... I'm sure she can accomodate

Make sure when you gals have your rehersal for the dinner that the technician for the actual day banquet be present to test out the lightings and all...... If not no point having rehersal.

Butter- the recep area outside the stanford room is nice but when i went to look at it it was a bit bare (if they were to have more vines on the pillars or flowers around). But not too sure if they have it now.... Let us know okie when you see it..... How's the printer like? What do we have to get ready before going to the printers or what do we do at the printers? Any idea?

Serene- I think Jacobs Creek their house wine is a very safe wine and it's not expensive too.... I guess the bumber of bottles will all depend on whether your guest are wine drinkers and how much you want to control the alcohol on your guest
Don't want to get too tipsy relatives and guests hehehehhe....

Also i did ask if i could bring in my own wine.. you noe how consignment wines are much cheaper.. but they said they would have to charge corkage for wine brought in
Maybe you can try to ask for a waiver if you'd like to bring in your own

Hi esther,
U can call up Richard (the printer) and he will email u few formats of the interior wordings of the card. But most important thing is that we have to know which kind of wedding card(s) we will be using. I think we can choose 2 designs to use out from the 3 different style of cards.
Richard just emailed me yesterday. After that, he told me I need to go down to see him personally (not sure to do what also).

Hi Esther,
I had just emailed the formats to you.

I think I will be choosing the red card (for my in-laws) and the rest of us will be using the silver one.

What about you?

dice

HI Gals

I have arranged with Fiona to go down and view the ballroom today. Wish me luck =)

Hmmm...i'm quite worried coz i heard that the ballroom can hold up to a max of 45 tables only? we are looking at about 40-43 table so definitely will be very cramp lor... =(

Hi Dice,
If you are taking the Grand Ballroom, then the march-in will be very short. I am taking the Stamford Ballroom and praying hard that I won't need to increase the number of tables. Right now, I am already using 35 tables (max).

Hi Dice,
If you are taking the Grand Ballroom, then the march-in will be very short. I am taking the Stamford Ballroom and praying hard that I won't need to increase the number of tables. Right now, I am already using 35 tables (max).

crayola

Hi Dice!

I face the same problem and I'll be taking the max and i do noe it'll be cramp but can't help it.... sigh....

jlyn

Hi all, AD is just 1 mth & 3 days away.. really scary. My "simplified" GDL over already. Manage to send out the invitation cards before lunar 7th mth, phew!

Butter: u having 35 tables huh? Have u included the reserve tables? Not to worry too much though, bound to have some people who will tell you that they wont be able to attend (RSVP very impt). I'm getting frustrated with the ever changing guest list myself...grrrhhh

Esther: How's ur prep? Chosen ur card?

crayola

jlyn,

How are you? Haven't heard from you for a long time! Haven't chosen the card yet.. Fiona say sept will be food tasting then choose card. I might be doing my own wedding favours, my mum is sourcing for favours for me from china. Will let you know what i'll be getting. Fiona says she'll give an extra 10/12 bottles of wine if i won't be getting their favours.

Hi Jlyn,
I told Fiona that I will be taking 33 tables + 2 reserves. Actually I feel that we will be using these reserved tables also.
Oh... is it really that tough to work on the guest list? Really true that the people are ever changing their minds ar? Scary...

boygirl

hi esther,
wen is ur weddding held??
i also getting it at ppr..
wat do u tik abt their svc??
how come fiona agree to give u extra
10/12 bttls of wine..
so gd...

boygirl

Hi any1 there,

how is the GDL going like??? when is the gd
time to do it?? how long b4 e AD hv to do e
GDL??

and also how is the svcs like at ppr?? the bqt
depts ppl gd??

crayola

Hi winnie e pooh,

I was thinking of getting my own wedding favours instead of taking the hotel's and asked Fiona about it and she said if I were to get my own favours then she'll give me 10/12 bottles of wine to cover up for the favours that i won't be taking.Am still deciding if it's worth it, if not I'll take from the hotel.... My AD is 10th Nov and food tasting next week.

Their svc not too bad so far and Fiona has done a
job for me so far. No complaints yet....

ANYONE chose their favours yet? Which one did you gals choose? Which card too did you choose? According to Fiona only 3 types available leh.... doesn't look fantastic....

hi winnie,
GDL is normally done one week before your customary wedding.
So far, I am very pleased with Fiona's service. I was served by Felicia initially and thought things might cock up when Fiona took over. But surprisingly, everything went well.

Hi esther,
I think we will only get to choose the wedding favours when we go down to confirm the table and stuff with Fiona (normally is 2 weeks prior to the wedding dinner).
I chose the silver card. Don't really like the red and white one... and we find the silver one quite nice.

I am 32 days away from my AD... hee hee... best thing is, haven't start printing the cards! haha.. My advice to you gals is that speak to the printer earlier and get him to print asap. He can drag at times..
I think I am more or less prepared... just waiting for the time to come and then arrange the tables and stuff like this.. .

How about you? Everything okie?

boygirl

Hi esther,

mine is Vincent, their btq mgr..
cos @ 1st, it i will Yvonne who serve me,
but she tends, den replace by Jean..
her svcs was dammm sucks...
so nw vincent take over... kekeke..

still tiking of their favour, which i will be
going down on 17 Sept to view their decor,
as they say tat they will change e design..
so still nt yet know about taking u anot??

wow, ur food tasting so fast ar..
2 mths b4 ur AD... mine hor, hv 2 wait til
Oct den hv..

as e cards, i chose the wht delegant 1...

how abt u gals..

Hi butter,
wtat normally GDL will need to do??
& wta r e tins that need to tok btw both side..

wow.. u reali super.. u still can so relax ar??
ur cards nt yet print??

crayola

butter- yeah Fiona is great... Fh thinks she is very pretty too hehehehe.... the white one sucks lah! I think I might just take the silver and red one... Did you get the $100 voucher for printing? How much does the inserts costs? Just simply can't imagine tying it! You collected your cards on food tasting day itself? Or issit from the printer?

Winnie- when's your AD? It's normal to have it 2 months before AD I guess...