Peony Jade Resturant

Cheekychick,

The problem with my contract and menu is that I requested for the $568 menu and they keep reflecting it as the $518 menu. Had to tell them a few times before they changed it. Most likely not changing the items cos we find it quite okay unless the dishes in the menu doesn't turn out nice during food tasting...then we see how...

As for wine, we are taking all our wine from them. We tasted their wine at a wine supplier at a wedding show and found it quite pleasant. And becos we are doing that, we got some free bottles of wine and some free jugs of beer from them. They get their wines on consignment so the more they sell, the better for them. So if u buy from them, u can bargain abit more.

Bascially for wine and other alcohol, it depends on the profile of ur guests and what they are likely to drink...from there u negotiate with the restaurant... Eg for us, most of our frens are wine drinkers rather than beer drinkers so we asked PJ to charge us beer by the jug rather than buy 20L of beer.

Sleepycat1, my hubby finds the $518 menu not bad liao plus still have add the ++...the ++ can add up to quite abit hor...$568 menu is very good already, if me, i wont change too, lol. Juz tot dat since hubby likes the $518 menu, shld b taking dat but may try to change the dessert & the 2nd last dish cos strangely, most of our guests eat ee fu noodles one loh...

Ya, nowadays, not many ppl drink beer already. Ours will mostly drink hard liquor...Btw, ur AD is my bday, hiak hiak :D

Oshgosh, i tot u pay the deposit liao? I tink once deposit paid, abit hard to negotiate but no harm trying...

No lah CC, still got rooms to negotiate even after paying the deposit. I reckon you still can bargain for abit more perks so long the contract is yet to be signed and returned.

I think I negotiate for FOC projector rental after signing up cos I told them (Pauline) I be prolly using their entire restuarant capacity. Note that it's supposed to be a friday, 9th Nov long before I brought forward my wedding with them. Still within the peak period cos got hoiliday eh, I could still enjoy the perks.

Hmm...im going to sell away at a loss for the 70map prints of PJ rest at $0.25/ea. PM me if interested.

CC, we both love to eat and enjoy good food. We thot the $518 was fairly standard wedding fare, so we decided to take the next one...We felt it is not very much more expensive...only additional $5 per head niah...

btw, anyone tried bringing in their own beer for PJ? I may have someone who can supply me free beer...

Hi Cheeky,

Pauline told me that we can discuss when we go down on the food tasting

SK,

Mind me asking. i understand PJ give free invitation card. so we have to buy the insert rite? ans we need to buy map as well? so how much need to spend on the card?

oshgosh > Yes, Pj only provides us with the invite card FOC, printing of inserts will be paid by us. Some couples like their invites to be printed by T-Dragon (PJ appointed printer) while some will print theirs elsewhere. In T Dragon, they can assist to print the map into the insert for you, double-sided if you know what I meant.

Some couple have their insert and map printed separately. There are pros and cons to print on same inserts or separately. To me, the amount doesnt make much difference cos printing in small amounts too.

Sleeycat, their ++ means 10% service charge plus 7% GST rite? Meaning 518++ will be around $606 lidat rite...mine will be 2009 so price will increase somemore...wonder how's Sean wedding went?? :P

i can't wait for my 2009 wedding dinner to come.... so excited... i tink peony jade going to increase till 636 per table with gst and svc charge in 2009.. will be doing renewal of vows... anyone doing also?

hi piggysbride....

me too!!!! glad that there is someone sharing the same idea as me...when did you ROM? I tink its a sweet thing to renew our vows again. as i didn't have much money to invite all my close friends to witness my ROM in peony jade this year... thus its also good to do a vows renewal... piggsbride, do you intend to invite a JP? if possible, i wanna invite my JP Mr Chan again! hope he would accept my idea.

May I ask for the meaning of "renewal of vows"? Why is it neccessary when the ROM is already done? Thought once would be enough? Do enlighten me of its significance too. Thanks.

Hello hui...
A few years back, we registered our marriage and it was a small affair then. We intend to hold the wedding banquet in late 2008 or early 2009. Hence, personally I think it is a good idea to renew our wedding vows. I am even thinking of writing my own wedding vows. Ha... So, you are inviting Mr Chan? Hope he agrees. Probably I can invite mine too.

Hello SK...
Nothing special of renewing wedding vows. Just thinking that declaring my love for my hubby, using my own words can be a romantice thing to do. Ha...

hi Piggysbride....

i also thought the same. As i also had a small affair for my ROM, i decided to do renewal of vows too so that the rest of my close friends who couldn't attend my ROM can witness our vows exchange... its a nice idea to write our own vows, too bad my english is not very good... heehee

Just to check, did anyone print the wedding invites outside (not T-Dragon), how did PJ reimburse you the cost of the cards? Do we need to produce the receipt to them? Im thinking of printing in from JB. The xtra money that we save from the cards can go into our wedding favours

blurblur > I did. Let them know that you wont be using their printing services during the F/T and they will minus the printing cost from the total bill when you need to make payment.

i checked with pauline and pamela, they say they will take note and take off the amount fr the bill.

btw, anyone did solemization after 1st march in? if so, cake cutting will be pushed back or? kinda confused now...

thanks all for the info, now I can print the cards from JB with ease now. *phew*

btw, do u think is possible to arrange the food-tasting on weekend?

Just to check hor...
The flowers used along the banister of the staircase is fresh flowers? or fake ones?
Any choice for the flowers used for the aisle and table tops?

Sleepycat1, when i was there to view the place, a lady told me the colours for the flowers is up to us. I saw candles too....but i cant rem the flowers are real or fake...

chick i suggest u book... better to be kiasu and secure the plc than to wait and then pple book le...

anyway ive emailed lydia regarding my contract. she said wil get dwn to it. duh

hi cheekychick

i ever emailed lydia, asking whether i can book my banquet for May 2009, she say we can pay $1000 deposit now already but the price not confirm yet, however will increase less than 5 per cent......

Missycandyprincess, i also feel like booking now but hubby not keen leh
He say how to book lidat if price cannt even cfm to us
*sad*

Hui, u so funi lar!!! Wuahahaha...eh, i aiming for July 09 & im tinking of booking liao loh. Urs May, then when u intend to book? R u hesitating also becos of the unconfirmed pricings? Sian rite....

SK, dats wat my hubby said too...lol...but some hotels are even accepting bookings for 1st quarter 2009 already loh. I tink next time, ppl will hv to book 2yrs in advance :D

Wah...the trend is getting terrible eh. Cant imagine it. There should be at least few auspicious dates to choose if your first pick is taken up right?

Hey Im planning to give away the PJ map cards FOC. Interested party, please PM me k. They are useless to me liew. 71 pcs available. Self collect at Boon Lay MRT (at my convenience) or Orchard (on Sat). First come first serve. Heh.

Btw SK, can i ask u something again?? :P Does PJ charged accordingly for reserved tables? Lets say 20+1 reserved, that 1 reserved will kenna charged anot? If only 19 tables turn up, can we go back to eat dat 1 table?....Actually, i only have 2 dates. The rest of the dates, if not clash with my animal sign, then it clashes with my parents'. But not sure if these are reali dat impt as we r not gg to any fengshui ppl loh. I choose the dates from fengshui websites instead :D

Yes, 2yrs in advance quite early hor...had some comments advising me not to book so early cos there might be changes along the way, i wont noe loh...hai...

SK, i live at Jurong West too :P

hi cheekychick

ya i am hesitating because of the price... though they say less than 5 percent increase, i still feel unsafe. On the other hand, i was also afraid that my date will be kena snatched by other ppl.... very sian.....

Really CC?!?! You staying at JW too? Which area of JW? 656X? Hee..so close eh.

If memory din fail me, I was told by Pamela that if we arent using the reserved table, dun need to pay. However, if you taking 20+1 tables and only used 19 tables, you can use that extra table (not the reserved table) to come back another time for consumption. Think within 6 or 12 months. (Agreement says pay 20tables so it's fixed to pay them that 20tables loh)

After going thru so much abt wedding and house reno, I think it's better to stand firm on your decision once decided. Too much options or delay can caused more hurdles loh. More headaches for yourselves only. Hths.

oshgosh > Hve replied you on the PJ cards liew.

Hui, same here :P Hubby not willing to put deposit becos price not confirmed loh...so now, we will wait until the 2009 pricing is confirmed first...i'll be emailing pauline again nearing Dec..we keep each other informed? heh~ Must have a few dates on hand juz in case loh...Can i noe how u choose ur date ar? Cos for us, super early, i did go to one lady at Fortune Centre but she say she cant gv me good dates for 2009, only 2008 July then she can loh. So i got the dates from websites instead...

Btw, where's Seah??? Honeymoon? :P

wow, seems like a lot of BTB in 2008, 2009.... and u gals are already planning!!!! pei fu pei fu....

i'm also staying in JW area - for the next 1 mth or so, SK! ur new hse ard JW??

with my wedding lunch less than a month away, i'm still not finalise with the guest list and the scripts... jialat.... hahah....

btw, the agreements, min is 20 tables rite... so no matter wat.... we got to pay for 20 tables?

SK, did u use up all 250 seats? having a slight problem now.. cos according to the agreement, if less than 220 pax, can only have 10 on each table even though some tables can sit 12 pax. some of my relatives are abt 11 pax and wishes to put them together. if i dun hit the 220 pax, means cannot rite?

Lovelytulips, i tink min is 18 tables? I heard from one forumer dat even if the reserved table is not used in the end, also must pay...U have any reserved tables?

Yes LT, im staying in JW now..new hse also in JW...very near where my house is. Hehe..

If you need the script and schedule, let me know. I got too many versions liao..haha...can be a headache if more options are iven eh. If you need just mine, I can email you.

I think I had more than 235 guests cos Im was charged 23 tables loh. In fact, I planned to invite 250 gests hahaha..but agree that it's a tad too squeezy if there's maid, baby chairs etc then not enough t invite all. We have a few guests din turn u too. FYI, a 11-seater table can have only 1 babychair or 9 adults plus 2 baby chairs (can be quite squeezy too) whereas if it's a 2-seater then max of 2 bb chairs.

Min is still 18 tables and max of 23 tables are chargeable. It doesnt sound logical if we were to pay for the reserved table when we din consume it. Beter confirm this with Pauline again.

hi cheeky chick...

i choose the date because it is my ROM date, and also my ROM was also in PJ... so this venue and tis date is quite meaningful for me and hubby.

i think reserve table need not pay right?

SK... i think u emailed them to me previously le. thanks.

so, to squeeze 11 pax is really too tight. then i'll just try to put 10 on each then. i have alot of baby chairs. last year was a baby boom year for my relatives... so, sure lugi abit with the baby chairs in place. wahahhaha

Argh LT..hopefully to strike a balance loh. Agree that too many baby chairs takes up a space for a paying guest eh. Cant rem if I had emailed you before on the scripts hee...

10 is a nice figure if you can manage. Table arrangement is another big headache. Good luck~! =)

do u all send out wedding invites two or 3 mths before ur actual wedding dates huh? i tot of sending emails earlier to confirm cos i got lots of guests and i am worried tat i will exceed the no. of tables

when normally u all have ur food tasting ? eg wedding in dec

i thought there are some tables catered to have up to 12 pax... the remaining are all for 10 pax.. if its catered for 12 then shldnt it be comfy enuf for 12??? hmmmmm

we intend to max the tables for 12 but mil says cannot... table of 10 better... zzz anyway shall see how.. so far we oni ask for 18... nt sure if have to increase or not.. the guestlist is not finalised yet.. anyway stil another 6 mths to go.. hee hee

hi gals... will u all be having any Theme for your wedding in Peony? my hus say it would be fun to have a Theme, but i am tinking hard what theme to take? any ideas?

Hui, i also ROMed in May but dats like 2 yrs ago, lol. U mean wat kind of theme? Like Purple Theme so everyone wear purple lidat isit? If most of ur guests are spontaneous, i tink having a theme is alrite...if most are elderly type, mayb they wont participate loh...

Btw, i heard the news of having to pay for the reserved table at another forum cos she had her ROM at PJ & she had to pay for the reserved table in the end. Not sure of the accuracy but i guess we can juz call or email to cfm

Sunbelle, i tink send out invites 1mth b4 enuf liao? 3mths too early, duno of the guests will forget? I tink food tasting is 4-6weeks before AD...not sure also leh...

Cheekychick....ya tats the kind of theme i referring to, hee..hee.... i wonder will it work? My guests mostly will be my friends and some relatives, not many elderly i guess. Wow... so both of us were May ROM bride... where did you ROM?

Hui, i rem got a fren of mine, she has the kind of theme dat requires couples at her wedding to wear the same colour. Something like, "Pink for U & Me"...when the AD pics came out, quite cute cos one glance at the pics, everyone can tell which are the couples, haha....The ger will wear pink dress & the guy pink shirt, something lidat...

I ROMed at the ROM premise itself, heh..But aiming for Jul 09 for weddin dinner..hope PJ wont ask me to take the most ex menu cos i asked abt 19 Sep 09 & PJ says i have to take their 688++ menu *vomit blood* I got budget loh, hai...

Btw, anyone forgo either the cake-cutting or pouring of champagne? Cos find the stage rather cramped. Is the projector roll-type or wat? Also hor, the MC, does PJ provide or we have to get our own *blur*