Peony Jade Resturant

bb_queen

Does anyone know the "cancellation" policy for PJ? I had paid my 1k deposit on 2 Feb but haven't received the contract and now I may want to let go of the package coz of change in plans.

blurblur25

Hi BB Queen: why do u want to cancel? Below is the cancellation policy from my contract, not sure will it be the same for you.

Time of Cancellation
120 days prior to the date of event
Amount equivalent to 30% of total charges for the dinner calculated based on the minimum guaranteed attendance

Less than 60 days but more than 30 days to the date of event Amount equivalent to 50% of total charges for the dinner calculated based on the minimum guaranteed attendance

Within 30 days to the date of event Amount equivalent to 90% of total charges for the dinner calculated based on the minimum guaranteed attendance

goldiepooh

hi Paulinena, not sure of the wine name but harmonica did mention is Resso Leggero merlot in her message.

I have yet to receive my contract as well though already paid the deposit back in jan. I called them to enquire and their response is that the person who is in charge of the contract drafting (MD think is Paulne?) is currently busy so not able to send us the contract but with the deposit paid and receipt received, the date is confirmed booked and all terms is as per discussed.

harmonica

The wine offered for house wine is Rosso Leggero and Bianco Leggero, it's a very light merlot and sauvigion blanc respectively(its from Maule Valley, Chilean Wine). You should be able to get more details from here. The redleaf Aussie wine set from WineBos that was reccomended to me by a guy in WineBOS costs 29.50 if u take from PJ directly.

http://www.winebos.com/shopcart/wineshopwiz.htm

According to the staff at winebos, its rather light. Best for u to try the wine at the tasting, as its the pairing with the food that's impt.

As for the contract, to prevent any misunderstanding due to the recent changes in their terms and pricing(due to the GST hike), I would suggest you do the negotiating via email. Records can be kept and brought up if either side forgets abt something.

jew

Hi SB,
Thanks for yr info....I will negiotate for a better offer

Hi Oshgosh,
u may need to send an email to remind them to send u the contract draft, they r quite prompt in response email....

skyrainbow

Hi ladies! Thanks!

I had recevie my contact but They are quite slow and they will send you through e-mail. As they are normally in the junk mail. You can check them out there.

Any one got regret signing up with them?

lovelytulips

hi, i'm also thinking of getting the wine from winebos. but, i know nuts about wine. anyone to help?

hi paulinena, i received my contract thru' mail but am holding back. kept forgetting to email them about some other things.

are u regretting?

harmonica

Hi lovelytulips, basically for wine wise, its often more expensive to get even from winebos if you include in the corkage. Wine is very subjective, so I would suggest u and ur partner go down to WineBOS itself and drink the wine tasting. Dun go with too heavy or full-bodied wine as it overpowers the chinese style cuisine most of the time.

My favourite if no budget would be pinot noir. As my friend said, wine is very subjective. Up to ur own taste buds.

skyrainbow

Hi lovelytulips,

no really regret but i scare not enough table. I also haven send back cause if with my husband there. When is your wedding dinner?

harmonica

So far I and my partner have had a bad experience in dealing with PJ so far in terms of discussion of contract. After the deposit was paid, the attitude of the personnel was disappointing to say the least. Even the contracts we requested had the wrong timing, wrong deposit amt and no mention of the terms or a large difference to the terms we had agreed upon some time back.

After the deposit was paid, a 180 degree change in attitude is what irks us. We will go ahead due to time crunch, but for future couples choosing PJ, be careful with your negotiations. Insist on black and white esp before u sign the contract and especially deposit.

Rant over, had to get this off my chest. I hate it when happy events like this are spoiled by such issues.

goldiepooh

Hi Harmonica, don't be too upset. Don't spoil your happy mood. Who was your coordinator? The person whom you were negoiating before placing the deposit? My coordinator and the person who is doing the contract are 2 different person.

Hi oshgosh, what details do you need? I also just got their contract. My deposit was placed in Jan. They were prob busy with the festive season thus no time ba. But they did mentioned that whatever discussed had been documented in the reservation form so is confirmed.

blurblur25

As Meow mention, ususally a draft contract will be send to you 1st (to make sure every terms is right) before the mail out the actual contract. I only liase with Pauline, any question I will just email her.

Fow us, most likely will be getting the wine from WineBos cause PJ is getting from them as well and PJ dont charge us for corkage we can save a few dollars per bottle. haha

blurblur25

BB Queen: have add you in msn, dont know are u using that. Heehee. Hmmmm, i guess is kinda of diffcult to nego after you sign unless PJ promise you something that they have forgotten to put in the contract. But u can always tried to nego with them.

javabeans: i heard from some ppl they remove the DFS stickers(opps! not sure whether it works) pls dont scold me if doesnt

jew

Hi javabeans,

I think there is a difference in the amt of liquor bet. duty paid and duty free... it will be better for u to consult PJ b4 purchase..

goldiepooh

ya I was told that as long as there is a DFS sticker then they cannot open it restaurants and bar as it will violate their liquor licensing

sean_yeo

I received the draft contract last week and managed to nego the wines to $18++ instead of their selling price of $20++. Actually requested for $20nett but Lydia offered me $18++ instead.

Other than that, everything else in the contract is fine and will go ahead as planned.

blurblur25

Hi all, need to check with regards to the invitation cards we can just go down anytime to T Dragon to select the card and T Dragon will send the bill to PJ?

goldiepooh

Hi blurblur, have you gone for your food tasting? I was told that during food tasting, they will advise accordingly for things like deco, wedding favors, invitation cards etc. So you probably will know then how the invitation card should be arranged.

lovelytulips

how long in advance do you all go for the food tasting?

and how many pax is there? i only have free food tasting for 6 pax. anyone managed to get more? wonder if i can request for up to 9 pax...

blurblur25

Goldiepooh: nope, not yet. wedding in nov, i think is abit too early for food tasting. Oh, so they will inform us during food tasting. great! usually food tasting is how many months before the AD? thanks for the info

lovelytulips: me oso 6 paxs for food tasting leh. hope can get 1-2 more FOC if possible

harmonica

Hi lovelytulips, the food tasting is not related to the invitation cards which can be done separately. Free food tasting is up to 6 ppl, additional person cost 30 per pax. Quite good liao, considering other places like noble house you have to pay upfront.

usually 1-2 mth in advance for food tasting.

jew

Hi lovelytulips,

the contract stated tat food tasting is within 3mths of the wedding date. U may need to make appointment to confirm the date and time.

blurblur25

so we can reconfirm the number of tables,rental of projector, wedding favours, invitation cards etc all on the food tasting day itself?

jew

adopted from the contract draft:
<complimentary invitation cards for up to 70% of the guaranted attendance but excluding cost of printing of inserts &amp; ribbons.
Please visit T Dragon at #03-13 Excelsior Shopping Centre, 5 Coleman Street, Tel: 6 292 8338/63335761 to make your selection. (Just mention that you will be hosting your wedding with us and they will bill us accordingly.)>

I suppose u do not need to wait till food tasting day, u may send an email to Pauline or Pamela to answer yr queries.

harmonica

Just pay T-Dragon a visit(just besides funan IT Mall. They will help you to select everything and then send you the template via email. Remember to check everything is in order before u confirm the order via email. The costs will be billed to PJ and will be counted in the final bill.

It takes abt 2 weeks to print the cards after confirmation, so its quite independent of the tasting.

lovelytulips

hi meow,

i went to check the contract and it said within 3 mths. will have to call them and confirm. by the way, it also said that the first dish and the last 2 dishes will not be provided. anyone asked for it foc? very weird if it is really not included during the tasting.

alone

Hey, lovelytulips. I am also wondering if we can go down earlier. Coz feeling kiasu, like wanna settle some stuff upfront than wait. =)

jew

Hi lovelytulips,

it will be better for u to make appointment with them for food tasting in case they r not avaliable or there might be an event going on tat day.

Regarding abt the dishes.. I have heard abt the 1st and last dish cant b tasted.. but don know abt the reason.. mayb u could ask them abt the reason or could make exception for u.. I also want to try all dishes to make sure they r the ones I want!

sleepycat

Due to some changes in out wedding plans, we are letting go our booking with Peony-Jade on 20th Jan 2008 (Sun). If anyone is interested, please email me at [email protected]

We have paid a deposit of $1000. The price for the transfer of the package is negotiable.

bride21

hi can anyone who has went to PJ advise on who you actually talk to?
-Pauline
-There's a guy manager called Andy(i think)
-who else??/

Which is easier to negotiate?
I am planning to go down and pay my deposit within this week for 2008 package... however i read your reviews...
Have to take note of the details?
That day we went down for a sight inspection, Pauline attended to us... but i feel that she is quite in a rush to tell you things.. and has a mind of her own(means i give you this means fixed.. no negotiation)
is it like that?
Please help... a bit worried..

bride21

HI as to what I know about the charges due in July, it will be 10% servce charge and 7% GST no CESS... therefore it will become ++ no longer +++

calcalation wise.. not sure whether it's
$598(eg)*1.1*1.07
that's how me and FH calculate cos one of the hotel manager told us...

bb_queen

For those brides having the banquet in 08, may I check if the price quoted in the contract is nett or ++? I thought their menu is nett price but I got quoted ++.

bb_queen

They also made a huge mistake. I had booked a dinner banquet but they stated it as a lunch reception in the contract!!!! I waited 2.5 mths for the contract and they made such a big mistake. Luckily the dinner is not taken yet. Just imagine someone had taken the slot that I wanted......

sunbubble

Oh gosh..that's really bad!! Such a fortunate that's the date and time of banquet was not taken.

Need to go thru carefully the details before signing, BB Queen. I emailed Pauline regularly before sending back the contract. Need to keep the B &amp; W copy too.