Peony Jade Resturant

angel81

Hi ice,

Oh.. Pamela and Kenny are the restaurant mrg/asst mrg. Tink most likely they will b there ba. That time i was liaising with Pauline. Then 2wks b4 my AD, she told mi to liase with Kenny for any little things that i may need and the logistics. Maybe Pauline & Lydia are ofc pple, while the actual AD coordinating will b with Pamela & Kenny. Kekek... not too sure abt tat.. tink u ask Lydia loh. kekek...

hi ice,

same thing happen to me too...liasing with pauline until few days b4 AD, she pass to kenny to handle. kenny was there throughout my AD event, he's very helpful

pinpong

Hi Angel & Midas

Thanx.
Did u ask Pamela to me ur MC before ur dinner or on dat day itself.
Think it is more appropriate & polite to ask b4 d actual dinner..

angel81

Hi ice,

oh.. i asked her when i went there to pass them my table numbers and to confirm sme other stuff, whh was afew daes b4 my AD.

pinpong

Hi Midas

Wah... initially that was what we planned, dat is to hav soleminisation & weddling lunch together but something cropped up, so we changed plan.

Haven decide on MC, most probably not having one. After learning dat Pamela able to give a short intro speech, thinking asking her help. hehee..

rainnqq

Intend to collect the invitation cards from PJ end this week but my full guest list is still not confirmed yet. My contract states up to 70% of guaranteed attendance. Since I'm taking the whole restaurant that night does that mean I take about 70% of 250 to be safe?

I believe the inserts and printing I would have to liaise with T dragon rite? HOw about those ribbons or golden thread use to tied the inserts to the cards.. is that by T dragon as well or I have to source on my own?

Appreciate your advice! Thanks gals!

simlemon

hi rainnqq, T dragon do provide the ribbons etc.. heard tat they can cut the length tat u wan also. however, nd to pay extra for ribbons which is not included in the cost for cards.

i think the contract do state the min. g'teed attendance req'd, so u can calculate from there.

midas, thx for your reply! in tat case, i think the guest cant even see the car. haha...unlike those outside hotels...

angel81

Hi rainnqq,

well.. since the contract sae 70%, muz as well take the whole 70% rite? better to have extras then to reprint or have to get fr TD again.. keke..

rainnqq

Thanks simle & angel

Will max out the card request. Guess what.. there's an uncertainty that I may have to have 2 banquet. 1 for fren and 1 for family.. coz now seems like the night banquet may get maxed out!! ARGH!

angel81

WAH RainnQQ,

wah.. tat's alot of pple u have there! But if u seperate them, then will there b enuff to fill the place? keke... seems like PJ is nt big enuff for u liaoz! kekeke...better decide faster!

rainnqq

Angel

Actually that time we all thought would be just nice to take whole place. Then we all never plan for reserve coz thought sure got ppl can't make it one. BUt the scary thing is IT'S HAPPENING!! As the day passes, we get our parents coming back to say.. eh I think I may wanna invite this person coz they are really close to this relative that's coming over from overseas.. ok or not? Sigh.. I still dunno how to say no le.

Think better quickly get the list of ppl and sort out the nos and decide. U r right to say if split may not be able to fill the place for the friend's part (Min 15 tables or so right)? But I'm sure the relative part sure full liao.. why suddently everyone is a relative or close friend ah?

angel81

Wao.. RainnQQ,

Looks like u have abit of a prob on ur hand. Hmm.. tat time we kept telling our parents that the place is too small, not enough seatings, hence cannot invite anymore pple liao.

Hahaha... yah.. tat time mine was kinda like tat too.. gota invite this lar tat lar.. faint... keke..

rainnqq

hahaha.. yalor angel jialat!

just got Lydia's reply. told me to get the cards direct from Tdragon. hehe.. thought i was supposed to get it from PJ itself. So I guess by heading to Tdragon I kill 2 birds with one stone.. select the card design and confirm the wordings inside eh?

simlemon

hi rain, u cld print ur cards from t dragon. however, i tot the price is more expensive than others. they wanna earn printing cost as the cards are free. nice design is limited also.

anyone got lobang for bridal car?? i having a headache about it. saw some websites but pls recommend those who hv been tested n driven. tq

rainnqq

Hi simle

how much is the printing cost per card nowadays? what other printers offer better rate in printing? Can recommend? Will head to their place to check them out then.

But if I dun get from TD totally I can get rebate from PJ rite? (remember something about that in the contract) but is it too late now when I have signed the contract?

angel81

Hi RainnQQ,

K.. wat normally happens is that u go down to TD to select the cards, wordings and printing (if u wana print there). TD will send the bill of the blank cards to PJ, while they will will send the bill of the printing to u. That was wat I was told lar.

For me, I went to Focal Ad to do my cards cuz I din like any of the cards' design at TD, & the printing at there reali is more x than others.

I chose the card at FA, and also printed there. The whole bill was sent to us and we paid in full upon getting everything. PJ will credit the price for ur cards to your a/c at the end of ur AD, when u guys settle the bill. The amt she will credit will be 50cents per card, up to 70% of ur attendance. So for ur case, if ur attendance is 250pax, then she'll pay $87.50 for your cards. Any extras (eg: ur chosen card is more x than 50cents, or u wanted extra ribbons), u pay urself.

Oh, and it's not too late. Cuz wen u sign the contract, I don't think u agreed to use their cards' contractor. Just that u agreed tat PJ will supply 70% of the cards.

Do check out FA, got webbie of FA in the forum & also at the main pg of this website. Hope this helps.

So how's ur situation nw? Gg to seperate ur guests or just go ahead with one nite only?

rainnqq

Thanks Angel!

Have called up (erhm or rather they called me) TD and got their rates from them. Wanted to visit them tomorrow but last min got work to do ah.. sigh

Will definitely listen to ur advice to check out other printers and check the cost and all! Thanks! Great to know that contract doesn't mean we have to take TD :p

OH well.. gotta wake up super early to go work! URGH!! Spoil half wkend liao sigh

elitegal

just wanna ask: at wat rate would they charge for a sunday wedding lunch?

any takers for weekend lunch so far??

hope you can share your quote wif me. thx.=)

jeandy

i have signed a wedding package with Peony Jade Restaurant..
my WD is on 18th March 2007...
However...due to some space problem, we have to change our banquet venue...anione willing to buy the package from me? i have paid 1000 dep..willing to let the package go at a low price...interested pls email me @ [email protected].

Details of the Banquet:
-Unity Package -S$598 nett per table
-complimentary 20L beer
-Wines $20 per btl on consignment
-complimentary 20% car passes on final confirmed tables
-free food tasting for 6 persons.
-Cocktail Reception @ Quayside seafood is provided and area will be decorated with balloons.
-Complimentary Stay @ either Conrad, Swisshotel Merchant Court or Pan Pacific.
-Food Voucher worth $50 @ Quayside Seafood for dining pleasure.

Interested parties pls email me @ [email protected]

lab_baby79

Hi JJ,

If I not wrong, for weekend lunch, you can still eligible to take the weekdays menu. but not eligible for the complimentary hotel stay and etc perks.

elitegal

hi lab_baby79!

thanks for answering my qn! =)

hmm..if there's no compliementary hotel stay..i tink we r still ok wif it la..since we hope to hold it on a weekend noon.=)

maybe use tt savings to go Banyan tree resort or wat, on the next day! ha ha.=P

vonn

Hi ladies, i will be going for food tasting soon. They will only serve 6 dishes right, is it sufficient? Anyone top up for the noodles or dessert?

faifai

Hi! I'm considering PJ for my wedding dinner...wonder if PJ provides LCD projector and screen for montage? I don't see them on the pictures shown on its website. =p

lab_baby79

Hi fai fai,

they do provide but at a cost of $180.00.
(LCD screen and projector)

Hi vonn,
normally as stated in the contract, they dont provide the 1st and the last dish.
actually you can nego for more dishes depends on yr nego power with them when you signed up.

Hi JJ,
no worries. I did ask them intially as I also wanted to have a lunch instead of dinner...but change of mind and change to dinner in the end..

elitegal

thx lab_baby79! =)

hi all gals...

was tinking if i insist on lunch and not dinner, do u gals think there will be a big difference in the angpows given by my guests??

how much will guests usually bao..for wedding lunch n dinner? esp when this is a restaurant and not a hotel..hmm...

mine is a ROM+AD lunch...min. Ang Pao received is $60. Got some AP includes 4D tix hehehe, but din strike leh..

faifai

Thanks rainqq & lab_baby79 for ur info regarding the LCD projector & screen. I contacted PJ today but the date I want (16/06/07) is booked oredi... =(

rainnqq

Hi fai fai

u can consider having the banquet one day after the actual ceremony. My ad is actually 9 dec but having my dinner at PJ on 10 dec. PJ wasn't available on 9 dec when i enquired too

jer

May I ask how u ladies inform ur guests to park their vehicles at Liang Court carpark so that they can redeem the coupons fr PJ. Shld I print it on the invitation cards? Thks!

angel81

Hi tulip,

Most of my guests asked mi or my hb b4 they come leh. Just ask ur parents to spread the word for u for the relatives loh. kekek...

elitegal

hi midas..

min angpow is $60 ah? wa..then not tt bad for u mahz.=) at least can cover..

i had heard so much from frens who rec'd angpows as little as $10 or $20. scary!!!

how do u gals spread the word abt PJ, to ur gossipy relatives?? hee2. this..i must learn..

do u say..its a up-scale restaurant in clarke quay?? or say its an award-winning restaurant?? ha ha...=P

*i shld be meeting pauline really soon..sometime next mth. she said she is having ard 10+ weddings for next mth alone! wowwwwwwwwww*

vonn

Hi tulip,
For me, i printed a map with details how to get there to inserts with the cards. T-Dragon can do it, but they charge 8cent per map. I bought the same got the same paper as the inserts and printed myself. I still have the format,let me know if u wan it.

JJ, ya...she also told me almost every week in oct, they have weddings and advise me to go for foodtasting this month...going this sat..hee

hi jj,

i only had 9 tables of closest friends and relatives...pple who genuinely wanted to share my important day
so most of them will bao more instead of less. even malaysians ones also gave SGD$100 Ang Paos. my parents kept the AP for their 3tables given by my hubby, we only keep AP for the other 6tables...still earn about $1k extra after deducting the banquet costs hee.

moral of the story..invite more friends & colleagues instead of distant relatives who most likely forgotten hw u looked like. they r the potential candidates tat will eat and gv tips ($10) only..

as for wedding cards, i DIY printing myself using own color printer...basically, i juz cut and paste the PJ website's map onto the inserts hehe.

elitegal

hi vonn,

u r going for food tasting this sat? great! =)

do update us on the dishes..=)) i wanna know their food's current standard.=P

thx thx! =)

elitegal

hi midas..

wa..despite ur parents keeping APs for 3 tables..u still manage to earn!? amazing!!

*ENVY LIKE MAD!!!*

u took which package from PJ har?? how much per table wan? (I think the package names i hav just rec'd from pauline, are slightly different from wat u all rec'd previously. think she chged the names liao)

me shld be using the restaurant up to full capacity, if we r really choosing PJ. cos..i hav lots of relatives (more than 10 tables of relatives from my side) and they are not distant at all. sigh. *headache*

i read previous postings tt..it's best to use 20 tables..right? cos there's 1 table in a room and the other one near the lift. hmm..i tink i rather squeeze 11 or 12 ppl to those 20 tables than to let my guests sit at such awkward corners bah.

hi jj,

i booked the ROM lunch pkg...cheap cheap, $350nett only. i having solemnisation+tea ceremony+wedding lunch together, so i took tis pkg for the ROM table setup and the 8course lunch. i dun need the other fancy stuff like fake cake, champagne fountain etc. so its sufficient for me. saved up all the money for my 4weeks HM in europe better

faifai

hi rainqq, thanks for ur advice! but personally i prefer to have everything on the same day! =p anyway, today my FH and i went PJ for lunch, like its ambience and excellent service! we've more or less decided to change our wedding date n sign up with PJ soon after getting approval fr parents! =)

rainnqq

HI fai fai
That's great! Actually me and my il went for dinner last night at PJ. The service was EXCELLENT! and the food wasn't that bad too

Am sure ur parents will love the place heheh.. my il likes it too :p

jer

Hi Angel,
This is 1 of the method if not printing it on my invitation cards. Thanks! : )
Hi vonn,
I do hv the intention to buy maps from T-dragon but can't remember if Liang Court carpark was shown on it. Can I hv a copy of your map format if you don't mind? I've PM you. Thanks in advance!

Hi midas,
Hee....very smart of you to cut & paste the maps from PJ's website.

simlemon

also would like to ask whether anyone select their own 1st dish presentation songs? cos the restaurant have their own but i'm not sure if it's nice. kindly advise!

elitegal

hi midas...

wow...envy u!!!!!!!! u took the ROM package and i think tt is very affordable lorrr..! =)

too bad, my ROM was already done late last year. so i can't be using those ROM package prices. can onli look at the standard wedding package prices.

i also dun like champagne fountain, fake cake and stuff. if possible, i m even willing to let go of the hotel room provided..cos..no pt staying there for the night, if i m holding wedding lunch..right? =P

btw..did u do yum seng during ur lunch?? i dun intend to hav tt...sooooo awkward and unnecessary, i feel. i was tinking not having table pics too..ha ha..i just wanna eat and mingle ard freely..ha ha

oh..how i wish i can save my $$$ to go on a fantastic trip for honeymoon too!!! goshhh....