Peony Jade Resturant

gregina

Hello all, can check with u all whether PJ's ROM package have dinner one too? Or only meant for lunch? coz my ROM's at 4.15pm at LTB...thinking the possibility of going to PJ for dinner with my guests...

mayoh

i actually also thot of holding my dinner there but its going to be abt 4-5 tables only... any of u know if they have private room or at least private area for me? me also haven't confirm my wedding date.. tried calling pauline but she told me i must give her a date first then she can quote me.

oh ya, another thing.. can someone also let me know how much angpao i will receive from this dinner? wanna be "mentally prepared" for it in case i suffer losses. cos i have also read other threads and many said they suffer losses cos ppl think since its a restaurant, ppl don't give as much.. how much is the market rate also? sorry ya, very long-winded.. sigh... i got very "niao" (stingy) ppl from my hubby side, especially his siblings. can know their "pattern" cos can u imagine they gave u something (steamboat cooker) as a gift which have been in their storeroom for 5 years when they visit u in your new house? happened to know cos "unfortunately" the receipt still inside

hi mayoh,

the stage area at PJ can be made private by drawing up a curtain to separate u from the public diners..

as for guests, why dun u invite more close friends n colleagues to counter the losses u will make from ur relatives tables? having more tables of generous guests actually helps u cut overall banquet costs instead of increase expenses. at PJ u only need to put $1k deposit no matter hw many tables u hv, so no difference to ur initial expense.

faifai

Hi Victoria,

I'll be holding mine at PJ in July 2007. =)
Max seating is 250 pax, in 22 tables, as some tables can have up to 12 persons.

Hi PJ brides or PJ brides-to-be,

Any of you have taken or will take the boat ride? As my rom solemnization will be held just before the banquet, so thinking of taking the boat ride and have the rom ceremony at Quayside. =D

lovelytulips

I called up PJ and the person who served and emailed me was Michelle. Seems like everyone here is talking about Lydia or Pauline. Should I ask for either one of them instead? Or can I stick to Michelle?

By the way, if i were to have a wedding lunch, can i ask for the solemnisation setup done up foc?

hi lovelytulips,

if u r having many tables, u may try to ask for a complimentary table setup...

hi purple rain,

u got mail...

aprilgal

Hi midas,
can i check with you regarding red wines.
did you get directly from peony jade or source from outside?
any recommendations to get cheaper wines at the same time fulfilling to Peony-jade's standard?

hi aprilgal,

i took PJs wine offer (only $20nett per bottle)...but in the end no guests consume any wine, only a few ordered beer. guess it could be becoz its a weekday lunch event bah..

hi cutecat,

u got mail...

kieran

Spoke to Pamela and saw the wedding setup for dinner. Guess it's a done deal for me. Thinking of having a weekend lunch for 20 tables. Nothing bargained yet.. any advise for me to proceed? Thanks everyone...

sunesis_82

Hey,

anyone holding banquet at Peony Jade? I understand that the slash is choice of 3 colors. But when i went down, the person who served me, Kelvin, said can only choose the slash for the family table. The rest is all in red. Is that true? Anyone can advise? Cos the red is very similar to my EG.

hi sheryl,

i tot they got sash for more tables...tat time pauline din mention tat only two tables can choose color. but i chose red so can't advice u whether its true...all my 9 tables is red sash.

sunbubble

I am so happy with the service provided by Pamela and had cfmed my booking with them towards the end of 2007. Really a nice and approachable lady who attended to my needs. Awaits for pauline's draft copy of the contract currently. Also got to know that Pauline is actually one of the bosses of PJ!

hi sheryl,

oh...the wine no need to pay if not used, only when open liao then pay (coz the offer is per bottle).

blurblur25

Hi, i think i will book my wedding lunch at PJ. Went down to see the lunch set up on sun (only had a quick look) there is a wedding lunch that day. So far so good.

Usually what can we bargain frm the pkg? Or any other perks?

blurblur25

hi kieran, i only take a quick look(stay less than 10mins) cause there the helpers for the wedding couples is there, not good for me to stay too long.

the light & the ambience is good, not too bright colour like some chinese resturant

blurblur25

hi midas - thanks i received your mail. i need to check with you how many tables did you book at PJ. Pauline told me i cant use the ROM pkg if there are more than 5 tables. is it true?

kieran

Hello blurblur.. thanks for your email.. will be waiting for your reply.

I am a little worried that the restaurant will be too bright for lunch and it might loose some of the romantic or cosy ambience.. anyway, since you saw it and gave the okay signal, i guess should be okay ba...

hi blurblur,

there isn't a limitation to no. of tables for ROM pkg when i first contacted them last yr. i booked them in Jan tis yr n my requirements is 4-6tables n pauline was ok with it. eventually, my guest list increased n we had 9 tables on my AD..pauline even offered to setup a recept table for us at the entrance

r u having ur wedding lunch on a weekday or weekend? mine is on weekday during office hrs so i guess there isn't much reason for them to reject ROM pkg with more tables...if on weekends then maybe becoz they wanted to sell a full wedding banquet to other potential customers so they r less willing to let u book too many tables at ROM prices..

hi kieran,

if u r curious about hw the restaurant looked like in the day, u may PM me for the link to my AD pics...i had wedding lunch for my AD

blurblur25

Hi midas, my AD fall on weekend i guess maybe that the reason you mention earlier. I have more or less already confirm with Pauline.

May i know did she throw in any freebies for you? Like beer, invitation card, parking coupons?

mandychen

Hi All .. Just wonder whether anyone had book the ROM package from PJ for year 2007. Did you manage to get any contract from them or just the receipt after you pay deposit? .. pls let me know thanks

hi mandy,

i dun think ROM pkg will hv contract leh...only a receipt (tat time my receipt is those buy from bookshop no company logo n info one). but pauline did follow up with an email with agreed items listed in it. not sure the practice is still the same now..

blurblur25

i will be meeting pauline tomorrow, do i have to sign the contract with her immediately? Or will she give you some time to digest & consider abt it?

hi blurblur,

i think u'll be allowed to digest first...but if the date u r booking is hot date, u better digest faster hehe.

gnm

dunno if the week ends for July is still available... *cross fingers*
need to start calling liow

anyone know what are the hot dates for July 07?

lovelytulips

hi wee, one definite hot date is 7th. u may want to take a peep at the july brides thread to know more... hehe

wondering, what are the payment options at PJ? Must we settle everything after the banquet? or at least a certain % before that?

lovelytulips

thanks midas,

are you the one on the cover??!!!!!

went PJ to take a look just now. the setup for the dinner was done. quite like the place. considering whether to take the wedding package or the rom package. but, the rom package excludes alot of things and most importantly, they don't allow you to book (till it's onl y 3 mths before the rom) cos they give priority to the wedding packages.

never eaten there before, so don't really know their standard. heard it is pretty good though.

by the way, for those who took the wedding packages, what are the things you negotiated for?

gnm

Hello lovelytulips ,
i am not looking at the 7th... looking at the day after... dunno if it would be a problem :p

Hi lovelytulips,

ya...i'm the cover gal of the month hehehe.

mine was the ROM pkg, dun hv those fancy stuff like fake wedding cake, champagne fountain, wedding card, parking coupons etc. if u really need those then u hv to pay more for the full banquet pkg.

by the way...the food there is gd n servings r large

kieran

Hi Midas... thanks, will PM you for your photos to look at how afternoon banquet will look like... should be booking tmr...

Heard from the people that 7th and 8th are booked already... there are quite a few bookings after the hungry ghost month too.. so, i guess those who want to hold the event in the 3rd quarter should take a look and decide soon