Park Hotel Orchard

carowl

hi summer,
hee..mine is in dec 2008, type too fast..hehe..
i'll be goin dwn dis sun to sign the contract...
whose ur coordinator? i;ve been liasing wif william...
my shortlisted ones r novotel n carlton..

hi pig & oan, its confirmed dat their last banquet to be held will be by Jan 2009 as they will be having a major renovation till end of 2009..

hi candy,
so does it mean on our wedding, we haz to use our laptop to play songs? dun they have ani sound system?

alamak99

Hi Pig And Pan,

Yes, I think mine will be one of the last banquet. Mine will be in 3rd Jan 09.

Summer,

So you mean their players are faulty?

koyoyo

HI Meihui,
When is your Actual Day at PHO? The last time they had this problem, they said they now fixed it by renting temproary sound system and no longer have sound system of their own... Care to tell me more on the sound system failure?

carowl

hee..looks like there r more btbs to share their advices here now...let mi start the ball rolling....

2008 Wedding dates:
carowl: 19 Dec 2008, Fri
summer: ? Dec 2008

2009 Wedding dates:
shirley: 3 Jan 2009, Sat

summer_ice

hi carowl

my co-ordinator is aileen... i have confirmed my banquet with them in oct! very kiasu hor me... hehehe.. i shortlisted only 3 - NCQ, HIPV and PH...

summer_ice

hi shirley

im not sure if their sound system is faulty.. but judging from wad koyoyo and candy said, i think they have some problems with the sound system.. i think i had better prepare for back up in case on my AD, the sound system decides to turn against me!!

alamak99

I actually wanted to take up on 28 Dec but too late someone actually booked this date
so took the another auspicious date in Jan 09.

So gals, did you choose the duet musical string from the wishes? I wonder how is it like.....

carowl

hee..i juz signed up wif PH

when i was at a wedding setup, i realised dat they gt external speakers n the sound system is not bad.

"i simply love their looong march-in" =P

the con is of their limited parking lots...hopefully they can tie-uo wif cairnhill plaza...ani1 ask them regardn the limited parking lots?

shirley, i intend to choose the duet string musical as 1 of my wishes..bt nvr hear they play b4...they play for abt 45mins rite?

summer_ice

that is a relief to hear that their external speakers and sound system is not bad...

im thinking of choosing the duet string musical as 1 of my wishes too! coz to have 'live' song the atmosphere sure very different from playing a CD song one yah!

anyone heard that before? how is the effect? coz if its not good, then i wun want to waste the wishes! ;)

carowl

i oso asked them abt their music player...seems like they r goin to change to a mulit-player dat can play MP3, cd, dvd etc...bt dunno sure onot =P

hee summer, looks like we r the oni 2 + shirley btbs in PH...hahaha....

summer_ice

i certainly think there are more PH BTBs! where did everyone disappear to? seems that only the 3 of us are more active in this thread...

i am quite worried abt the air-condition actually.. i read on earlier in the thread that the place was rather stuffy, din seem to be working.. wonder if they have fixed the air-con..

since our ADs are just 2 weeks apart, i believe our preparation should be more or less in sync yah? i have not started on anyting yet! have yet to confirm on the PG and VG.. You?

and also contemplating on the idea to get a real cake for my AD...

when are you going for food tasting? aileen said she will contact us 3 months before the AD right?

carowl

haha..oic...guess we r more "free" den the rest =P

yahoh, we can update each other since our AD r juz 2 wks apart...hehe..ive juz booked my PG, no VG for mi as my HB dun wan =( so will be askn relative to video 4 us...wats ur budget? mayb i can help u..hee

btw do u haz multiply acct/ mayb i can add u..

william said abt 4mths b4 will start contactn couples for confirmation of food tasting date etc...

koyoyo

hi carowl
i went to view the musical duet on one wedding. U can do it too just check w your co ordinator. I feel they are quite pro playin in the background so it ok..

carowl

hi koyoyo, r they loud enough for all guests to hear? =P do they use ani microphone? wat sort of music do they play? heee..paiseh, mi alot of qns...
btw, when's ur weddin?

alamak99

Hi koyoyo, tks for the info, guess i got to call aileen to make arrangement to go down & take a look at the musical duet.

summer_ice

i also want to take a look at the musical duet!

but i think not so soon, coz i feel that for the music should be quite ez to settle since their sound system should be ok... at most decide to play my own song lo... but of coz would prefer to do the muscial duet!

summer_ice

hi carowl,

you have decided on your PG already! that's fast.. i have yet to do any research on the PG.. I feel that PG and VG should get a professional to do it coz they know wad angles to shoot from and things to take note of, that our frens and relatives might not be aware of, of coz, unless your relative is very 'into' PG and VG..

which PG you booked? how is their rates like? if my budget allows, i think i would want to engage 2 PGs so that they can catch the different angles that the other party did not manage to catch.. but do you think this is wasting money? have yet to discuss this with my HTB, think he will say i 'have too much money to throw away'...

i have a multiply account, but not active at all, create liao never use... i think is summer_ice or summerice... paisay.. wad is your multiply id? care to PM me your multiply id if cannot disclose here? but hor, office cannot access to multiply and my home pc is down...

nico_2k

Hi Summer and Carol,

Mine is 23rd Nov 2008. Wow u girls have done alot of research, basically I have did nothing to date =(

summer_ice

2008 Wedding dates:
nico_2k: 23 Nov 2008, Sun
summer_ice: 05 Dec 2008, Fri

2009 Wedding dates:
shirley: 03 Jan 2009, Sat

carowl

welcome nico!!

hee...ive done my research abt a yr ago...
wats ur budget? ive a few affordable PGs and VGs...u noe, aft discussn wif my HB, he dun wan to waste $ on both PG n VG hence i chose to have a pro PG lor...

my multiply is carowl.

blueclip

Mine is 25 Oct 2008. I have not yet do research.
I think I also want to make arrangement to go down & take a look at the musical duet.

Anyone gg to have ROM on the same day?

cl_jl

hi there... Just like to ask is William very forgetful? Been trying to settle my hotel payment... But he always forget to return my cal....

carowl

2008 Wedding dates:
blublue:25 Oct 2008, Sat

2009 Wedding dates:

carowl

summer, i tried 2 PM u bt u didnt activate it =P

hi claire, ive been liasing wif William n so far he's quite prompt in his replies even when i sms him...i always call him at ard 9+am on wkday..hee...

cl_jl

haiz..... Then i call him and he ask me who am i.... Hahaha...... always need to remind him...
Anyway.. mine AD is 17 Jan 09... Cant get 10 Jan 09...
Believe a couple here gt tat date...

summer_ice

2008 Wedding dates:

2009 Wedding dates:
claire: 17 Jan 2009, Mon

koyoyo

hi my AD is oct 98. the music arent loud it just a ceilio and a violin so it just normal. That day i went they are playin during the reception not many ppl pay attention to them . they seated quietly in a corner n play.. guess sometime guest must know how to appreciate ...

summer_ice

2008 Wedding dates:

2009 Wedding dates:
claire: 17 Jan 2009, Sat

xsofiex

Hi Koyoyo, I thought the music will be played during the dinner for 45 mins instead of during the reception.

By the way, is there a mic when they are playing the music?

koyoyo

hi sofie,
The couple can play for 45 min that is the agreement when exactly do you want them to start playing it really up to you. Hope this info help. Sorry i went to see in sept dun recall but if i rem correct it should be without a mic and they just seated in a corner n play non stop without anyone appreciating them.. as u know the place is small i can only stop at the lift to catch a glimpse of them so as to respect the couple for intruding...

xsofiex

Thanks Koyoyo.

Understand from William that there is a mic attached. But was wondering it might still be soft despite of the crowd..keke..

ruachgall

I m new to Singaporebrides.. M realli thankful to this website though..

I will be going down Park Hotel this Thursday to meet up with Aileen.

Do advise me on what i should look out for when i meet up with her..

carowl

2008 Wedding dates:
koyoyo: 9 Oct 2008, ?

2009 Wedding dates:
claire: 17 Jan 2009, Sat

carowl

welcome winnie

when's ur AD?
hee...i tink PHO has a beri comprehensive package..mayb u can check wif her regarding the air-con issue, sound system etc frm previous posting by ex-brides :p

ruachgall

Hi Carowl

Thanks for your reply. I m looking at having it on 29 Dec which is a Monday.

I saw from the thread too that this hotel is undergoing some reno next year.. so thot might as well have the dinner this year..

So which BS did u go to? How is it thus far? Ex or not?

sweet_precious

Hi Winnie

So how's the meet up? Aileen was my wedding coordinator too...my wedding was in 2007 and she indeed help us alot cos everything was so last minute. She made it fun and less stressful for my hubby and I..phew!!
She is accommodating and we are really happy and no regrets having our wedding there.

No bad comments from our relatives about their service and food.

ruachgall

Hi Melissa

Aileen is very nice... however, i find it quite tough to ask for additional stuff to be included in the package... for instance, currently she can only give me 12 bottles of wine for 25 tables... i tried asking for a bottle of wine for every table but was turned down..

Anyway, do you have problems with the parking cos i understand that we are only given 45 complimentary lots... so i m kinda worried

carowl

hi winnie, so u've signed up wif PHO? welcome

i'd signed up my BS long ago wifout ani research..hehe..they can range frm high-end to average or even ala cart..dependn on ur budget...if u ned advise, pm mi :p

my HB is concerned abt the parking lots too n we've suggested to William to tie-up wif cairnhill plaza security for the parking coupons..worse come to worse, we will pay $ for those ppl who park at cairnhill plaza...cz not nice to let them spend $ on parking whereas other hotels have enough complimentary lots....

summer_ice

Hi Carowl

Wad did William say regarding the parking at cairnhill? If it is possible, i would also like to arrange in that way so that my guests do not end up having to pay for parking...

carowl

hi summer,

heee...i tink i'll email him aft cny to remind him to c whether he can do sm arrangemt...update u again or u can ask ur coordinator abt dis too...more ppl = more "power" wahaha...