Park Hotel Orchard

enss88

Hi, I'm oso a PH btb... my AD is on 18 Oct 08. My coordinator is Aileen. Find her quite straightforward and frank...

carowl

Welcome new btbs

2008 Wedding dates:
koyoyo: 9 Oct 2008, ?
enss88: 30 Oct 2008, ?
blublue:25 Oct 2008, Sat
nico_2k: 23 Nov 2008, Sun
evelyn: 30 Nov 2008, ?
summer_ice: 05 Dec 2008, Fri
carowl: 19 Dec 2008, Fri

2009 Wedding dates:
shirley: 03 Jan 2009, Sat
claire: 17 Jan 2009, Sat

ruachgall

Hi Carowl

I have yet to confirm.. hoping to confirm by next week!!

Kinda worried that i wun have enough time for all my prep work!!

carowl

when's ur AD?
actualli oni booking of banquet neds at least a yr or so if its on a weekend or else, others can be settle within 6 mths or so..so dun worry

enss88

Winnie, don worry... I also confirmed my banquet and bridal package within two weeks in Jan 08. My AD is on 30 Oct (Thurs).

stefie

HI all

i'm reali new to this forum.. Hope u guys are able to give me some advices re this hotel..

will u guys able to get free flow beer? wine free flow? food good? any issues with the pillars blocking the screen?

advice... comments???

many many thzzz

sweet_precious

Hey Winnie..date tentatively booked for you..? You can talk to Aileen your concerns..sure she can help you..

Hi Stefie,you seen the ballroom? Who is your co-ordinator?

blinktulip

hi PHO brides, would like to ask if any of us held ur march-in with the violinists provided in one of the perks? How was the effect? I am considering my wishes..thanks!

carowl

hi casper,

i tink so cz they r only open for banquets till end of jan'09. They will be closed for abt a yr aft dat for major renovations. you can call them up to double-confirm.

hee...looks like this thread is rather peaceful nwsadys...no btbs preparing for their banquets to be held here? :p

blinktulip

hi carowl,any comments on the 45mins string performance provided upon 1st march-in? We be gg down for food tasting in mid june for AD in sept..n tink will cfm then..

carowl

ur welcome casper

hi izumi,
i've added u in multiply bt no much infor. abt PHO to share..hee...

hi blink,
i cant give ani comments yet cz i havent hold my AD yet bt based on ex-brides' comments, sm said its too soft althot they were using a mike..hehe...guess u will be holding urs earlier den mine cz mine is in dec :p

carowl

blink, keep us updated when u go down for ur food tasting in june..wow...dat'll be abt a mth frm nw..excited? :p

btw whose ur coordinator?

blinktulip

haha sure Carowl..this thread is so quiet..
hoping to take a close look at the ballroom too, settle the screen problem cos it may be too small for guests at the back..the sound system, settle favours, wedding cards, flora etc..coordinator is Aileen =)

blinktulip

hi jesl, be gg down in june to take a look and discuss wiv them..FH n I are thinking of setting up another screen if necessary, cos the last time we sign up, the coordinator inside the ballroom told us they have another screen at the centre..as long as don exceed 33 tables or so, the 2nd screen can be set up..shall see, shldn't b a major issue.

carowl

Hi blinktulip,
hw's ur meet-up wif them?
izzit dat oni if less den 33 tables then possible to set-up the 2nd projector screen? y?

fyi,
gt a feedback frm a friend who attended a banquet @PHO last week. he said their shark's fin was too starchy and seat covers were rather old...so ladies, pls tak note of these.

lastly, my co-ordinator said dat they r not able to liaise wif cairnhill place for the carpark issues (more parking space), ani1 haz managed to solve the limited parking lots at PHO besides WE providing free shuttle buses?

blinktulip

hihi! back from food tasting recently, general comments from both sides are good, esp the shark's fins and fish..gona change a couple of dishes though..dun really find the udon suiting to our taste..
For projector, we r def setting up a 2nd one, PHO admitted those sitting at e last few tables may not be able to c..well cos e projector will take up space, so it's advisable not to exceed x no. of tables..better to check wiv them.

my sis who seen the ballroom for e 1st time commented it's old, well this is sthg we oreadi noe rite from e start so may just have to make do wiv some decor or sthg..

for carpark, we decided to inform our driving guests to go early if poss, if not, just park n cairnhill n pay..gd thg is cairnhill's parking charges amongst the more reasonable ones in orchard oreadi...

carowl

hi blink, glad to hear dat ur food tasting was gd

guess i will haz to check wif them regardn the 2nd projector set-up..thanks for ur feedback

haha..for mi, when i went for site-visit dat tm, i areadi noe its an old hotel so i dun mind n quite like its "oldness" feel :p

yah luckily its not too xpensive to park there bt juz feel dat shldnt made my guests pay for their parking altot its oni a few $..hehe...guess mi will be giving them angbaos ($4) in place of the complimentary carpark coupons..wahaha..

cljl

hihi... may i check if approx when we need to contact william about my invitation cards, food tasting etc?? seems like quiet down alot after my 1st confirmation with him and nothing happen leh.....

also can i bring dfs hard liqor without corkage charge?

summer_ice

hi CL&JL

william will contact you abt 3 months before your banquet.. at least for Aileen, that is wad she informed us la.. so when is your AD?

DFS hard liquor are generally not allowed in hotels to be served to your guests... unless you have paid for the duties...

carowl

yah, william will contact us abt 3 mths b4 our AD to confirm details abt banquet decor etc...so if urs is in nov/dec, he will start contacting u in sep

hi summer,
hws ur preparation? =)

xia0pig

my AD was about 2weeks ago on a wkday at PH, the parking lots should be more than enough unless u have many guests who drives.
My suggestion is to call them rather than wait for them to call u if u prefer to get things done swee swee in advance rather dan last minute(coz william didn't call us in april or may - thats 2mths b4 our AD & we had to call instead to enquire about stuffs we weren't sure)
but glad that Raymond(banquet manager i think) was there for us few days b4 & on our AD - he's great & helpful!
Thumbs Up to his service

cljl

oh thanks.... another thing i need to ask is when should i print my invitation cards? after i ask my guests who is going to attend or ?
Izumi.. Did you have the musical?

xia0pig

Hi carowl, my banquet was fine, smooth sailing

my pics are up in Multiply.

Hi CL&JL, u should print your cards 1-2 months before your AD, preferbably after you have a rough idea on your confirmed attendance.
Nope, i didn't have the musical.

xia0pig

Hi Ashes, unless you'll be holding your banquet in Jan '09, there won't be anymore packages as they'll be closing for renovations.

summer_ice

congrats izumi!

if you dun mind, can i have your multiply id to view your AD photos? im not a multiply user, so not sure if i can view them like that?

and also check with you on some doubts that i have.. hehe :D

this year the themes are still the same as last yr? oriental zen and floral or sthg right?

and how is the aircon?

and the signature guest book - do they have many varieties to choose from? coz if PHO's not very nice, then i am going to make my own le...

wad's the wedding favours this year?

thanks in advance and sorry for so many questions coz im an anxious BTB.. hehe.. my AD is 05 Dec btw..

xia0pig

hi summer ice, u won't be able to view the pictures unless u have an id but i can email u the link, just let me know your email add.

the theme are still oriental & victorian, only 2.

the air con should be ok, no one commented on it so far.
the wedding favours i dunno hw to explain, think u gotta check out with the hotel

as for the signature guest book, i didn't ask to choose, but the one they provided, the cover is cute. I've a pic of it in my photos.

Hi carowl, the food not bad but sure have some like it some don't like. We can't please everyone :x
However the portion is quite big esp the sharksfin