Park Green

bbmaru

Ah Eng,

OKIE!! I will check it out and then let u know. Anyone else nids to send their curtains for cleaning?

Eeee... it sounds really scary (cos the way u guys described sounds scary -_-") Why would the man wan to scream almsot every night at 3am? Ah Eng, I think we din hear the scream probably becos we are too sound asleep... concuss every night from exhaustion... LOL!

jovious25

Hi Boh Eng,

We had called up the management office but they are not very helpful. Seems like they do not have any solutions to it. Keep pushing the responsibility to the main-con. We called up the main con and guess wat, they push the responsibility back to the management office and said that it is not their problem anymore. Haiz. The service at our management office is really no good and not helpful at all. V disappted.

dracwy

ah beng, yeah, the fella really sounded like he jumped off a building! i believe he's from either blk 2 or 6, but not very sure. i hope the fella is alright, and not too sick or possessed... *shiver*

CN and ah eng, guess u two sleep with the air-con on eh? that's why cannot hear... the scream really gives me the creeps...
try sleeping with the windows open. hehehe... it'll make your heart pound!

ah_eng

Drawcy,
Most nights, I do not sleep witht the air-con leh. However, your hearing is giving me the creeps. Last nite I woke up to use the toilet, I was really scared to hear a man's scream :S

Here, I want to 'cry father cry mother'. We came home last night to find our boys' tricycles stolen! ShuckSsssss!!!

Ai yoh, now this thread came back to life! I am from Blk 12, I once heard a man's screaming like few months back somemore in teh middle of the night. Then once a drunkard tried to open my door. I opened my door and told him "Aaa, you got the wrong unit" Ai yoh, so funny one, our residents!

My complaining time!
MG not helpful - Stuff got problem, MA lady asked me to call the main contractor. The main contractor (lady) said that why our MA kept asking resident to call her cos already over liao, MA should do their job by refering residents to the correct company not all to main contractor. She said MA must keep a copy of the contact info.

Rubbish @ Blk12 - Dunno who likes to throw their old newspaper, box etc inside the lift. Lazy until dunno how to AT LEAST place them at B1.

Vandalism @ Blk12- MA pasted a note in lift, must be a kid/teenager, drawing stuff and scolding the MA "Stupid".

Lift @ Blk12 - Ai yoh, I complain until I sian liao. One of the lift so problematic. Press close, it will close halfway. Once my hubby got to manually HELP it. Ah boh is the lift like scratching against the wall when it elevates upward.

Resident? A/C company? - Any resident here owns a A/C company? Met his van few times and often "racing" in the carpark! So damn dangerous. Cos once I was reversing fr my lot and he just dashed behind me, somemore with his daughter. If you wanna RACE in carpark, please join carpark rally! I can give you the contact number!!!
450533.gif

ah_eng

Missylan,

your blk sounds bad. At least my block's stuffs are not vandalised.

A/c = aircon?? I think I have seen an 'aircon' van. Think the resident is staying at blk 6 leh. Maybe you want to leave a msg for the van driver via the guards...very dangerous to drive fast in the carpark.
There was once I was careless and my boy was almost knocked down by a car in the carpark. Luckily that driver was not driving fast and brake on time! I am really grateful to that driver.

boheng

hi Cher

Regarding to the "green algae" coming out from the tap, there is no point of complaining to the Management. Suggest u call direct to PUB at this number 1800 284 6600. Also collect a sample of the "green algae" for PUB.

merci_puku

Any resident experiencing hairline cracks on walls and tiles ?

Growth of mould on your false ceilings in toilet as well as parquet near the balcony in master bed room ?

Water leakage in the bedroom for those staying on the 16th level. 4 of neighbours at the same level is also having this problem,.

The building quality from Tiong Seng is so lousy !!!

ahbeng

I have mould grows on all the wooden surface. Now must wipe every week. Algea grows at all the silcon in bathrooms. No idea why this are happening!

ah eng,
Good idea, cos I dun want to hear anything bad happen in the carpark. I shall mark down his license plate next time. Now I am teaching my 2 yr old toddler to stop at my handicap lot and lookout for oncoming vehicles from the entrance. Now he reminds me to "Stop" at the handicap lot.

Merci Puku,
Yes, I do have hairline cracks. You know, I really regretted buying Park Green. T.T

boheng,
I experienced such case, called MA they sent ppl to check, change my water piping etc. BUT ard 1 year later, small "algae" happens aagin and disapppear again. Haiz... It happens in my washing machine, tap and then later struck in my water heater thing and blocked my hot water.

boheng

Hi Merc Puku, for the toilet false ceiling mould, check water leakage from the water pipe. for the parquet near the balcony, suggest to use some silicon sealant to seal outside the balcony to prevent water seepage underneath the parquet.

taka

Hi CN,

I am interested in drycleaning the curtains too. Please pm me if you happen to get any deal as i seldom come here nowadays.

I did receive those pamphet with dryclean service before n they even come to your house to collect and deliver back. Too bad i din keep those copies.

ah_eng

Merci,
we experience mouldy false ceiling at the MBR toilet only recently...thot was due to the rainy season. I do not see any hairline cracks so far *touch wood*

Missylan,
your toddler is already 2! And it seems only not long ago..that we shifted into PG...kekeke....you must always remember what u told ur kid cos they will remember and quote you

merci_puku

Thank you everyone for your suggestions.

It has never occur to me that living in a condo could be worse than living in HDB.

Does anyone knows why the water taps for washing cars has been locked up without prior notice from MA ?

limay

Yah, our place is especially humid, and the workmanship is quite lousy, hence all the mould! We also have to wipe off the mould from the MBR toilet & kitchen doors once every couple of weeks...the guest toilet door is ok thou, so mould has to be growing cos of the inconsistent lacquering.

We once even had real mushroom growing in our bamboo pot which we left in one of the rooms!!

ah eng,
Ya, beri fast man. If you happen to see a 2 yrs old toddler, smiling and smiling, then that's my monkey, JiaLe. He smiles alot.He is so happy man! kekeke... Haha, I have not experience that stage but will definitely keep in mind.

merci puku,
You know, my hubby and I are planning to move after 5 yrs(must see whether we can sell the place for a good price also lah). I rather stay in a HDB, renovate the place from sketch. My master toilet has mouldy ceiling too. Big patches some more ok.

bbmaru

Hey Ah Eng and Taka,

I have tried calling a few drycleaners but all refused to give discount. I think the reason would very much be tat it's near CNY and everyone's sending their stuff for cleaning so they no lack of biz... and tat's why they "hang up to sell".. LOL!

However, I have shortlisted one drycleaner and think I will be using them to clean my curtains. Details are as follows:

Presto Drycleaners
Tel No.: 63543277

They provide removal and installation of curtains and delivery is included as well. Just have to call them and they will come to do it for u. Oh, and the reason why I choose them is becos they are reputable in this line. The boss was featured in a biz TV programme on the running of his drycleaning biz and this drycleaner is oso endorsed by Escada for the past decade. So it shld be safe and good to let them clean ur curtains. I personally think their prices are competitive as well. You guys might like to call to enquire more.

Hope that helps!

ah_eng

CN,
Thanks for trying.
What are the charges like from Prestos??
At least we wun get cheated if we asked around elsewhere.

bbmaru

Ah Eng,

I think they won't cheat lah... hahaha! Just that maybe it's a matter of price competitiveness...

I think they are charging like $7/kg for laundry and $9/kg for dryclean. So my suggestion is tat if u wan to save on cost, then maybe u do only cleaning for those curtains tat nid to be drycleaned. But for me, I think most likely I will be sending all cos it's really troublesome and cumbersome to wash on ur own. It's so big and heavy to hang them out to sun dry... *faint*

limay

Btw, am wondering if the foul smell is back again or if I am imagining things....i have been smelling swerage during the morning & evenings, but my hubby insist that i am dreaming...

limay

Hah rensea, ok...maybe its just me and my paranoia!! Getting too used to the smell that I am imagining it! heh.

Btw, there is a new posting requesting residents not to dump their bulky litter at the lift landing....hopefully some will take heed. We are at block 6, and there is always junk by the letter box (the latest: a cake box with leftover bits of cake; a dead plant; and always, big empty boxes)....don't know why it is so difficult to walk to the central bin lah...

rensea

so not to worry.. we exp the foul smell last yr too.. it was terrible!

we bought hi-glitz this week to try to remove floor stains but to no avail... the manager will come down personally to examine our stains.. their sales man gave me confirmation their pdt can remove all types of stains haaha.. they haven't met our PG stains sigh..

samily

Agree with Limay.

Please don't throw any litter at lift landing or even outside lift. Please walk to central bin to throw your rubbish.

Sight of rubbish will only devalue the image of our place and in turn devalue our property.

dracwy

yah lah, so uncivilised, what's so difficult about walking a few more steps to the rubbish collection centre wor? a cleaner environment makes everyone happier and healthier. imagine a potential buyer coming to look at our units in a few years' time and seeing all these rubbish thrown all over. so be considerate.

limay

Hi all, took some pix of the common areas with the fairy lights last nite! Wanted to share them with PG residents here
The pix are abit blur cos I took them with my digicam without a tripod....
456049.jpg

456050.jpg

456051.jpg

456052.jpg

merci_puku

Just to share.

Owners with hairline cracks on painted walls can paint over with Nippon all-in-one paint to cover the cracks. This paint has anti fungus and anti bacterial properties.

If your walls have the original color from developer, the color to get is Lily white from Nippon.

merci_puku

According to a Home Improvement book I found in the library, growth of mould on walls and false ceiling are likely contributed by the mixing of water with emulsion paint at time of painting.

Recommended solution is to paint over with better quality paint with anti-mould properties.

samily

Hairline cracks are caused by the walls' cement expansion and contraction due to weather/temperature. It happened everywhere, condo, hdb, etc. Even wood can expand and contract. These are normal wear and tear and requires maintenance. Most of these cracks are vertical. Paint in horizontal direction to cover the cracks. After drying, paint again in vertical direction to synchronize the painting direction.

Algae on the silicon in the bathrooms are also normal. Although latest designs on bathroom sinks have countertop and sink integrated together to reduce the use of silicon around the edge of the sink, which makes maintenance easier. There is no easy solution other than cutting away silicon and applying a new coat regularly.

Bathroom ceilings, whether cement or false will have yellow spots due to humidity. Wooden doors will change color. Turning on aircon in master bedroom before you shower and leaving the bathroom door open after showering to allow aircon to dry the bathroom will help in reducing algae and mould growth.

Mould and algae are part and parcel of living in the tropical. Avoiding wooden furniture, replacing with glass and metals helps in maintenance. Alternate expensive way is to seal your door gaps below and aircon 24hrs.

Have fun cleaning for CNY!

merci_puku

Hi Neighbours,

Would appreciate if you could share where to get the charcoal filter and grease filter for the Elba cooker hood.

kyosho1

Happy CNY everyone!
Someone just dumped loads of household rubbish at basement area near our letterbox area at block 8.

dracwy

how embarassing to be living with litterbugs! took a few pics of the rubbish at block 6. litterbugs beware, i'll be walking around with my camera. don't let me catch u doing the deed... i'll make sure i put the pics here together with your unit number...*evil grin*
457652.jpg

457653.jpg

bbmaru

Hey Dracwy,

Did u notice something from the pics? The rubbish was NEATLY placed by the basement doorway? I think those neighbours are somewhat "considerate" you know? Cos by neatly placing those rubbish, they won't mess up the common area wor...

Why doesn't these pple have the decency to walk to the rubbish dump to throw their rubbish... haiz...

I have complaint to the MA at least 3 x since last year regarding Blk 12 lift. The doors of the lifts kept opening and shut or just jam halfway. Seems like they have not been doing their job or just that the lift maintenance is bad!

COMPLAIN;
Hougang Mall laundry spoilt my sweater! Somemore the lady there is RUDE!

dracwy

i'm still keeping a lookout for the rubbish-dumping culprits. if you see a person lurking around the lift corner with a camera, please don't worry, i'm not the PI sent by your spouse... hehe..

sept03

Missylan, which laundry shop at Hougang Mall did you go to?
I had bad experience with the lady at Compasspoint Laundry shop. She was rude too.

bbmaru

Well, rude ot not rude it's really the prob wif the frontline pple. But ultimately, the most impt thing is tat they dun spoil ur garments, esp the very ex ones.

So far I only had one incident where the drycleaner spoilt my down winter coat and end up I got to throw tat away

Last time when I was still working in town, I used to send my drycleans to this "Eng Modern"
drycleaners at the Arcade... not sure if they are still there... their prices are very competitve and generally good service. But then again, they were the ones who spoilt my coat.. haha! I think it's more of heng suay thingy lah..

sept03,
Oh, they are of the same company "Fabric - - -". I went to Compass Point once so not much experiences. Hougang ones su*k man.

CN,
They dryclean my sweater, think got hooked somewhere and got a hole. The funny thing is the laundry factory call me directly after days I have collected my bags of laundry. Meaning the hougang outlet knew no shit about it when I went there to collect my laundry. The sweater mended liao but cannot make it, dun look flawless moreover it is on the upper chest. I told her that I cannot accept, still waiting for them to call me regarding compensation.

BEST JOKE!

I was at Hougang Mall and wanting to buy something cooling like cooling tea etc. I walked into Fu Hua. I told a long hair lady that due to heaty body, I need to buy cooling tea. Any recommendation?

She immediately without second thought told me "BIRD NEST".

I was shocked man. I took a second look at her and laughed.

merci_puku

Did anyone notice that there are quite a number of non-resident vehicle (without car discs)parked at Park Green past midnite during weekdays recently?

This morning, while leaving for work, I found 10 non-resident vehicles just around Blk 8 at 7:30am. Is there a rule like other condo that forbid non-resident vehicles from parking at resident lots after 6pm.

bbmaru

Merci,

How wld u be able to tell if they have the car disc (u mean the transponder right?)?

I know the security will issue a parking slip to non-residents' cars coming in to PG to inform them tat there is no overnight parking... I guess they have to be more diligent and strict in enforcing this rule.

The management shld do something about it... Did u feedback to the management on this yet?