Pan Pacific Singapore

Ying,
yah.. can feel the excitment already, 1 more week to go!!!

but then still have of unexpected things happening like ablum re-dos, pan pac changing deco vendor.. I should be using the old theme becos not in time.

Hey gers

I am intending to use PP for my dinner venue for next june. but i cannot meet the min tables for the pacific...the ocean is too small for us...we have at least 40 tables...is there anyway we can actually ask for less than the minimum? cos the min for pacific is 45 lei...help help

I am currrently looking for suitable venues for my AD in ep 06. Anyone has the price and wedding package and pics for PP? Could not seem to find their website..

Can email me at [email protected]

Will be most appreciated =)

Hi Iso,

I was being sent overseas for awhile. First of all, I would like to apologise to you for being pinpointed by PP.

But I want you to know that I did not mention you. I merely mentioned to my coordinator that I know quite a few couples having partial/full wavier of corkages, while I negotiated.

It was my coordinator whom told me that she knew about it and tried to explain her way thru. From there I know of other brides with partial wavier.

Really feel bad about what happened to you. Sorry.

By the way, I think PP are reading this forum too. I feel that's why they knew so much about our topics.

Anyway, I will still like them to know that the package has got more expensive and we should be given more!

After negotiation, I still did not get any wavier of any sort...I am now asking for the wine list to look at the price, but they are still finalising the new wine list.

I have yet to sign the contract, not until I am really sure about the wine thingy.

hey nisel,

hey no worries at all yeah, don't feel bad

although i initially felt a bit pai seh when they asked me not to say anything more, i technically never admitted to it. but now i don't feel pai seh at all because i believe that i'm just trying to help everyone else. i'm a strong believer in consumer rights, and think that the hotels are already making too much money out of the whole fiasco. also i know that some couples, i guess from 2004 or early 2005, also got waiver, so i wasn't out to deliberately cause trouble for PP.

i have even told PP directly that hotels like conrad were offering me so much more, and that if not for the price point, i'd be at conrad ;)

the forum is for us to share information and opinions, if they are spying maybe we should set up our own email list ;)

do you guys know what kind of wine waiver the other hotels are giving? marina mandarin, etc? just curious

Hi Icy,

I'm getting married in June and will be holding the banquet at PP. Saw your posting on the signing poster and just like to ask if you foresee any difficulty in transporting the poster to and fro? My husband was thinking of doing not framing it up as it is easier to transport but I thought that doesn't look pro enough, able to advise? Thanks!

ETO,
I collected the poster from Pan Pacific, it is lamintated and in plastic, so it was quite easy for us, cos my hb drives, but I think no problem to roll it cos the lamination protects the poster.

I dun think u can just let it go like that, cos the paper is too soft to stand on its own. I just buy the frame from ikea, a bit bulky but i think still management. The frame is 50cmx70cm.

Many thanks Icy for the advise! Time to head down to IKEA!!!
Think your wedding is taking place this Fri rite? All the best and hope you'll have a smooth wedding! Wishing both of you a blissful marriage together!

hi iso,
i email to u b4 tat i signed the package last year but i nv get wine waiver too, nt even partial! i think its up to individual's neg skill & also the coordinator.. i was told tat ur relative is working in PP tats y u r given wine waiver. frankly i dun think its true coz tats not the story u told me but i just accept watever PP give me lar since i hav no power to neg anymore coz i have signed the contact..

Hi Sharon,

I was told the same thing too! I was told that the person who got the wine waival has some connections to PP, that's why PP has no choice. Looks like the PP coordinator has not been honest to us. Why come up with such an excuse to brush us off??

ETO,
No problem, I found another frame at ikea very nice, teh one with mounting frame.. and the good thing by paying extra $4, the material is glass instead of plastic.

Thank You, 1 more day for me. :p

Hi sharon,
i signed up with pan pac last april. i got waiver for 48 bottles of wine. i didnt know that pan pac has got free waiver for wine!!!

Hi Icy,
I chose the A2 size poster. But I guess i can't get the frame since that will acts as my signatory poster, right?

You big day is tomorrow. Congrats and don't be stress. Months of prep work are finally going to be materialise tomorrow. Yea!!

hi ryan,
dun b too upset tat u never get full wine waiver. u will feel better just thinking of me whom signed up last yr yet dun even have 1 bot of wine waived!
anyway, may i know how many tables u have?

hi ryan,
i think ur 48bot wine corkage waiver should be enough for 38tables therefore u dun have to worry abt paying extra.. so envy u got corkage waiver.... i still have to pay $500+++

im new to this thread. Im also considering Pan Pac
anyone can share with me regarding the service of coordinators, the setting of the dinner as well as the food? I've never been to Pan Pac before.. hahhaa so mountain tortise...

saw that there is a pacific ballroom and ocean ballroom. but grand ballroom need at least 50 tables on weekend.. so many.... cannot afford

are most of you getting the ocean ballroom?

Hi sharon,
pls look on the bright side.i got cockage waiver because of the old package which i had signed up during last year.all hotels have their good and bad,sometimes i feel that its very hard for pan pac to satisfy everyone.

hi ryan,
the problem is i also signed last yr! Iso signed this yr and she got corkage waiver i think i should go and commit suicide liao! actually i dun dare to let FH know tat other ppl got corkage except us, sure quarrel one! coz he view all this research as my duty..

hello all
we are thinking of PP.
is Pauline that hard a person to ask for corkage waiver? spoken to her though. I am looking at the sats of July 2006. any one knows of any good dates?? given a choice, for 2also similar hotels, Merchant Court and PP, which hotel would fetch more red packs?

Sharon,
how did u negotiate for the 500+++ flat rate? is it better?

hi ryan,
i signed up wi pauline.. i also want to know how come leh! i was told tat only ppl who sign up in 2003 or earlier got corkage waiver apparently its another lie fr PP again.. watever lar! mayb it was a big mistake signing up wi PP.. unfortunately its stated clearly in the contract that can't transfer..

hi mgt,
i did not neg for the $500+++ flat rate, PP offered that to me coz they die die also refuse to waive my corkage! its seems better than their initial offer of $30per bot...

hi sharon, i think most of us who got the waiver is becos we signed with Johnny and not Pauline. Dont be sad, sometimes when we get married all these merchants out there are just making use of us to make a profit hehe, I have this experinece before with my BS, everyone pays 3388, but i paid 3788 for the same package, hehe also dont dare to let my hubby knows.

dont worry so much, pauline is strict, but responsible, she answers email very promptly, i tink all this is impt.

I am back from my wedding at PP. :D I still getting feedbacks from friends and colleagues. seemed like service not so good for my case, like shortage of staff and then food is great.

Hi icy,

glad that you can finally relax now. Care to share some of you photos as well?

What is the wine list price like?

Hi Sharon,

Don't feel too sad about the corkage. Wedding is meant to be happy. Don't stress yourself too much. Now we should look at how to cut down expenses.

how many bottles do you require? How much is 1 bottle?

Seems to me that unless you get wines that cost about $15-18 then its more worth the price...anyway it depends on the number of bottles too.

How many tables will you be having?

Will you be serving beer as well? How many barrels will be required?

Hi Icy,

Welcome back! So hows the arrangement like? How's Pan Pac service in terms of event co-ordination and everything? How's the stay at bridal suite? Would appreciate if you could share your photos with me at [email protected]

Wish u and hubby a long and blissful marriage!

Pan Pac has informed that I can collect the invitation cards next week. I'll be receiving the samples soon and decide which set of design to go for... Icy / ying11, which designs you gals selected? Any problem in printing?

hi joline,
my AD is in early sept 05. But PP has not call me to collect the invitation cards leh. Who is ur coordinator? how many card designs are there?

Winnie, nisiel, momoko and joline,
generally I get feedback like Food is GREAT, but disappointed at their service level. service is okie at first but slowly lagged back, like drinks not filled ip at request and seemed like there is a shortage of stuff.

The banquet manager is great at showing us what to do. :D the coordinattion quite well done, no mistake for media wise, they show us how to march in etc.

I am impressed by the room checkin but then better have ur breakfast arrange much earlier, they billed me for my complimentary breakfast and it is hard to order i got transfered around 2-3 times, repeating the same thing.. and anyway the some of the items are wrong. *sigh* ( i request for in-room service then, cos I was very tired)

The photos are not ready yet, I will announce again once it is okie. :D

Joline,
My cards are the gold coloured one.

Hi momoko,

My coordinator is P_____. Normally they will arrange couples to collect cards 3 months before AD. She's very responsive and efficient, thumb up for her!

For my case, I take initiative to remind them, as it is about time already. Our main concern is to get the invitation cards sent out (especially for those overseas guests) before 7th lunar month. The last day of Ghost Month falls on 3 September, by then only left one week for my guo da li, an chuang and final preparation for AD, so definitely got no time to deliver the cards to relatives and friends. Furthermore my FH is going to Japan for business trip next month, so I have to get everything carefully plan. It is always good to get more things done earlier before AD so that you have plenty time to relax and refine the progrmmes for AD

There are 2 types of card design, total 4 different colors available, but can only choose either a mixture of the "Heart" design or the "Seawave" design, or just 1 design of the invitation cards.

If you have the same concern to avoid doing things during the Ghost Month, I'd suggest u to give them a reminder call now. If not, then it is still not too late for you.

Just my 2 cents tot to share..

hi icy,

thanks for sharing the experience. By the way, do they request the songs/music to be original cds? do they accept mp3/wav format? Is there a technician for playing the media, or you got to assign a someone to do the job, especially during the photo montage/morning highlight/march-in/champaign pouring/cake-cutting? How about the background music? You compile in a cd or change between a few cds? Care to share with us your marh-in experience? Wat songs you use etc?

So you only selected one card design? do correct me if I'm wrong..

hi joline,

my uncle can get wine from the supplier.. it will be abt 12-15bucks... so if any of u gals would like to have wine, let me know ya... i will try to help lah...
if i can...

Hi icy,
all ur preparation for the yr finally paid off...guess it must have been a load of ur shoulder right? Anyway, may u and ur Hubby have a blissful years ahead.
Rem show us the pic when its ready!

Can I ask you, how's the bridal suite like? Is it big?

Joline,
Nope, they dun need original Cds, I compiled the songs I like, and let them have the Cds. They only accept CD format, so u have to convert everything to CD. There is a technician for playing the media so U dont really need to assign someone to do it.

Background music can only be done in ballroom, cocktail area is link to the whole lobby so cannot have own music. PP had their own background music if U want.

I had 2 Cd, 1 is 1st March in, Dish Presentation, 2nd March in and Champagne pouring. ANother one is background music of 1.5 hrs (obviously, I had to repeat it.. hahaha)

My 1st March in is I finally Found someone, dish presentation is Be Our Guest, 2nd March in Quando, Quando and Champagne pouring is The Way You Look tonight. I am on the jazz theme, so my background music are all jazz.

Montage I used lover concerto and highlight is wishin' & hopin & Unforgetable. :D (all these are done by videographer. Before banquet start, I also arrange my album (softcopies) to be play on the projector, and includes slides of my guests wishes (from my online guestbook). I actually got a extra projector from my videographer as well.

Hb had a rehearsal at abt 5.30pm, I advise u all to get ur hb all changed for rehearsal, cos he will have no time to come back and change again. From there he will learn how to march in, cut cake, pour champagne and position the bride.. so we dun have to worry about anything.

March in experience wise, becos my gowns are lonmg with Can can, I almost trip and have to walk real slow. So i suggest that u all have some practice first when u get ur gown. :D

Yeap, I only select 1 design.

For wines, I ordered from Parker's wine. I had 70 bottles and used up around 60 bottles for my guests.. for hard liqor, we used around 9.5 bottles.. they really can drink. My banquet overrun. so start at around 8.20pm and send off at abt 11.15pm and then the saboh drinking continues till 12am.

Yan,
The suite is quite big, u can get ur coordinator to show u when u have ur meeting on the cards and the deco. They have living room with toilet and bedroom with toilet.. ample of seat.

Oh ya, I suggest u asked them to serve the wedding cake later after the banquet.. cos for my case we serve it together with pre-dinner and then all my guests ate the fruit cake, and I only had a bite.
then after the banquet, I feel hungry and there is nothing to eat.

Hi mgt,

May I know what types of wines your uncle is carrying? I am still fighting for corkage issues.

Will only get my own wines if partial wavier is granted.

Hi icy,

just wanted to see how's the market for banquet hong bao's doing these days...did you make some profit? Hopefully you did not make any losses.

Good morning Icy,

Just saw your "morning post", haha, you must be beaming with radiance!!! People always says that girls will always look very beautiful after a wedding.

Wow, your guests are really drinkers...I remembered that you have partial wavier for wines, so the remaining ones you bought from PP?

Did you smuggle any duty free hard liqour too?

Think the idea about the wedding cake to be served after the banquet sounds good...gotta reserve something to feel my stomach after the whole thing.

Hi moarie,

So much thanks for the kind offer. 12-15bucks is really a good deal leh! I'm now in the dilemma whether I should get wine, since free-flow beer is included in my package. About 1/4 of the guests are vegetarian, most frens and relatives are driving, and quite a number of my female frens are pregnant. Not sure what is the minimum if I can get the wine supply from your uncle. Any idea? Really appreciate your kind advice.

Hi Icy,
Congrats. Your day came and went smoothly! Next is to look forward to your honeymoon...

I also gathered feedbacks that the service has really dropped from my hubby who has attended Pan Pac's wedding at Ocean Ballroom. Initially, I thought since its at Ocean Ballroom, the standard may be a little lower as compared to using the pacific ballroom but seems like its not the case. Jialut....

Icy,
One question..do you have to ask one of your friend to coordinate the music or the technician will ensure evrything is in order?

icy,
u mean PP doesn't provide supper after the event? the wedding event is so siong, sure no time to eat one. After the event, got time but no food..

mgt,
rgd the wines, can send me the details? me looking for wines now. - [email protected]

nisiel,
I am expecting loss, and my mum took 8 tables - which is already $7K (Mum keeps the AP on her side). My hb relatives are very generous.. so we managed to cover a 1/2 of that loss..can consider it as profit already :p. Red packets are ranging from $60 to $100. Norm is like $80 which is already loss to me, cos my table is more than $80 per pax.

My contact suddenly become more wine wavier of 45 bottles, and then I buy magnum bottles. so no cockage charge for me. hahaha

Ying,
Yah disappointing to me. *sigh* but at least everyone tells me the food is fantastic. :D Me have friend to do music coordination but i think better assign him more work.. cos the technician will take over after the rehearsal, else can just conbine the duty with the main banquet coordinator.

momoko,
u can choose pre-dinner and post - dinner, we opt for pre-dinner.. else we will go empty stomach.. there is no chance to eat at the banquet.. and also no appetite to eat. :p That why I say keep the cake and ask them to serve after ur own banquet.. nice 1kg cake.. should be more than enough for u all. :D