Orchid Country Club

moments0422> Yeah David is the one who everyone have good comments about. For the wedding favours, u can outsource your wedding favours think they will minus the price of the wedding favours. But cannot remember how much is the wedding favours. Er for the deco of the grand ballroom, it din gives us a school hall stage feeling lor. We use the maroon theme it was quite all right and the cocktail reception was well decorated with plants and area for guests to mingle. Not to mention there is some sofa for the guest to take a seat too. Last time dun quite like their central projector screen that is used for the video. This time we have two projector on each side, it is much better and the guests have a great time viewing the video lor :o)

hiye! good day everyone!

hee.... Jonathan, thanks for the info, i will be meeting serene tomoro for the contract information.... hope to get more specks from them...

Anyway! Other than the basic package they offer, did you request any additionals stuffs or exchange for other items in the contract?

Maybe can share with us ! =P

moments0442> Oh I exchange my one night anniversary stay for one more night in the wedding suite lor. Think that is what I exchange so far bor. Cannot remember whether the additional rooms that I have booked got discount or not.

ah!

you don't wanna head back to the country club on your anniversary night?! kekeke.... i see i see...

Ok .. tomoro i shall be meeting serene... hopefully she is able to cater what i need...

The buggy... woo... be looking forward to that...
Saw incidents that ppl mention the buggy go hay-wired the last min.. haha...

Anyway, your reception table, do u order finger food for it? i think the cocktail only serve drinks... but i think should be enough? keke

moments0422> Oh the buggy ride was fun but they did a check the day before and 2 hours before my banquet start. For reception table how come got finger food one? Thought supposed to be angpow box and guest book? For the cocktail reception they serve drinks and nuts lor. Quite sufficient lah :o)

Hi I am planning for my wedding sometime soon. In fact had attended some buddies' weddings. Heard from them that occ can squeeze for a lot of freebies? is it true? Can someone help cos i am in the midst of looking for a venue.

Last round my friend told me when got problem tell them wanna complain only they scared and then whatever we request , the pple at occ will certainly say yes. is it true?

moments> I had gold theme for my dinner and I am quite happy with it. If u are worried choose the gold cos some ppl feel the maroon sash like sch stage curtain. But I dun feel it looks like sch stage, with flowers n cake on stage etc, it looks pretty nice! There are 2 buggys, so when I told them abt my concerns, they told me nt to worry cos there is another one downstairs for backup.

Jovan, OCC is very sticky n hard to bargain, cant budge for freebies at all!

geniebottle> Think the 10% waiver is becos your friend is a member of OCC. If u are an OCC member u are entitled to a 10% waiver for service charge.

hi jon, Just came bk fr my cousin's wedding in KL. busy with work lately and sourcing ard for interior designers. Shld be getting the keys for my new plc before the end of the yr. Lookin for design ideas.

suelynn> Oic where is your love nest? Just come back to work last Friday after my marriage leave, alot of things to clear, think will be tied down by work till the end of the year. Besides check with u any idea how much is the wedding suite?

hi jon, was told by my coordinator that the cd player OCC had can only play those normal music cds and not mp3 format??...

the songs i had..some are burnt from original cd in windows media audio file, some are sent by others in mp3 format..
hai..frustrating lei.

thot it would be more convenient to burn all into 1 cd instead of bringin so many.. also scare they will be confuse..like when or what to play for 1st march in, first dish and etc...

so strange..tot now all players can play mp3? even car's one also can mah

Jon, my lovenest is in buangkok, above the mrt there. Wedding suite, u mean in bridal suite in OCC? I have no idea....

michiko, I burnt my songs in mp3 format into cd format. If u have a disc burner, u shld be able to do so. If u rip from CD, it shld be even easier.

michiko> No lah my songs are MP3 format also burnt into CD, can be played lah. Maybe u might want to try it when u go for your food tasting. Cos that time got try and there is no problem lor.

ok suelynn n jon, thanks for the affirmation. will try it out

gotta specially take leave to try out cos most dates are booked.

michiko> No problem try to go down ard 3 to 4pm during weekend that is a good time to try as they will be setting up the ballroom for function. Just nice u can have a feel whether the music will be good enough or any problems with the sound system also.

Hi Suelynn,

Cant agree with you further. i called the bloody hotline, dun seem to have anyone working, maybe the sales too good so they dun nid any more biz? called few times and no one pick up calls. beginning to hate occ too. sigh... my wife is so busy with her overseas posting that i had to juggle between work and this wedding dinner thingy.

Hi geniebottle,

I tried and they said what if occ member then they can work out something, i asked casually how come my friend one had have the 10% waived off, she said cant be and alot of rubbish. sigh.. they have no standard at all.

hmm...

I went down to meet up with the OCC sales...
They told me that only memebers and direct relationship with members wil enjoy the 10% waivers.

If we have friends who is members of OCC, they can waiver away 5% of the banquet tables.

Does this means OCC cater differently to couples?

but i believe from the times of the past till now, some changes will implements, i see some couples with % waiver, some with more freebies here and there... most importantly, this is the couples most memorable day... cheer up and be happy.... a happy relations with them will brighten everything... =P

moments0422> Besides the waivers thing must bring all the documentation proof b4 u signed the contract, anything after u signed the contract will not be valid even if u have relatvies who are members in OCC. Like what u mentioned must have a good rtelationship with the banquet side, things will be better in many ways. Er check with your PM is disabled huh? :o)

jovan,

hmm... i m veri sure she and her bf is not member of occ. She was rather haolian when she say she could get waiver 10%. hahah...
and she did sign immediatly..

>>scratch head<<

I have not heard OCC giving waivers freely without members endosement since 2 yrs ago till I sign up. If ur have frens who said they got waiver 10% immediately, then ask who is the coordinator and quote ur frens name. Can check one wat.

Anyway, jus drop them if u dun feel comfortable, u are the one paying not them, so nt pt getting frustrated.

geniebottle> Yah agreed with suelynn about the waivers issue, cannot be possible one lor. I am curious abt the coordinator and your friend who manage to get the wavier. Maybe u can share with us since I have one of my buddy who is interested in booking OCC as his wedding banquet venue.

ya... i just opened one....lolz... but nothing inside as yet... but i saw you and ur wife...! the avatar of yours look very nice... the 2 of your in wedding gown in for the photo shoot... =)

So are you going to upload ur banquet dinner photo in the multiply?

moments0442> Hey u just add me in your multiply list, u can see my pictures and videos from my wedding preparation until the AD morning. For the banuqet photos must wait until Dec cos that is the time I will get the photos and videos from my AD PG :o)

jonathan>>> saw ur morning highlights... nice one...hahaha.. the games is big Sacrifices though... lolz ! kekee.... BUT ... you and your wife look compatible, she looks sweet in wedding gown...

Anyway,other than Wedding venue(one big thing), anyone have any idea of good VG for the actual wedding day + express hightlight ? is searching for one now....

moments0442> Thanks for the compliment :o) The games are all right but most important is that the groom and his brothers must be spotting. Lucky all my buddies are sporting enough lor. Besides u interested in the VG I have? If u are interested can pass u the contact number. No obligation :o)

hiye... i saw the slide show with the VG initial inside..But how much do you actually pay for the package? VG the whole day + slideshow? The VG is a free lancer right? How do you find his services ? If you dun mind letting me know... =0

moments0442> Hmm for my case I got my PG + VG for around $1.7k but that is one year back. Now the market rate for him has go up to $1.8k to $2.0k for AD PG + VG. For VG alone, shld be around $1k bor. Better for u to check with him, as for his work so far, has been great and thumb up. For my VG, he is not a free lance, one important thing is that he manages to capture things that are important. Hmm one thing to take note in my multiply, only the AD morning express is done by him. The photo and cocktail montage is done by me. :o)

hiye.... i have a chat with the VG and he seem nice... but he do not have any studio for work, kindof of a home studio...i wasn't sure if my bf will consider or not... have to seek his advice..

Anyway, he have done up the morning highlight for you, took a look and it's nice... sweet in a kind of way... So do the DVD come with imprint of your wedding photos? Saw those DVD with covers and imprint with pictures is nice~~ keke...

Oh yeah... speaking of photos... your PS.. is really really nice!!!! that big big soft toy is your own de?! hahaha.... that's really unique... never saw those kind of picture before... =)

moments0442> Oh u have spoken to him, that time when I first signed up with him, also quite sceptical that he uses his home as a studio. But after going down to see his work, dun deny I am impressed. Maybe u talk to your bf and see how whether u are comfortable or not. No need to commit so fast. Hmm which DVD are u referring to?

Oh for my PS photos, the big soft toy u use is a photoshop effect where my bridal studio PG resize the tigger for us. Besides the tigger in the pictures are courtesy of the bridal studio coordinator who "t-loan" from her son haha. For those candid pictures we request for it one, something different from the normal standard pictures mah haha :o)

jonathan >> i mean the whole documentary will be film and recorded into a DVD right? for i forgotten to ask him bout this,i do see other VG packages, they actually do designation and imprint on the DVD... Maybe i will head down to his home studio if my bf agrees... hehee....

Aww....that is very nice..lolz... photo shop do wonders...such a big tigger... keke... but i must say... it's really nice!

moments0442> Hmm for the day and night events all will be burnt into a DVD. But can only see the end product in Dec. Photoshop can do a lot of wonders. Even for my photo montage that I did for my wedding also make use of software tools to get the effect I want :o)

jonathan>> hiye! Since you have been thru the whole wedding thing, from preparation to PS to actual wedding day, maybe need seek some advice from you...

How many mth before do your wife go for fitting for the photoshoot? I saw that alot of people actually went PS early...

and the does it means that for fitting, you choose the gown for the photoshoot will be the one that you will be wearing on the actual day?

Till now, actually i just choosen the wedding package and the venue, the rest to me is a question mark.. hahaha....