Orchid Country Club

i tink our thread has been dead for sometime, hardly so many posts, kekekek!

Michiko, the wedding day itself lagi tiring.....ur invites collected ald? better send for printing within these 2 weeks if u havnt.

hi piggy lover & Jonathan

Ya they quoted me very high..imagine the cheapest package already 810 nett..Actually the reason i chosen OCC is becoz i thot i saw from the website, its onli 608+++ so still affordable and i no need limit myself for the number of tables..
Summore my tinking is OCC is onli a country club..y the price so ex lor..sigh..

since its so expensive..i chosen one of my dream hotel, novotal..Yday me n bf went to walk ard the hotel..very nice..hehe..bt this hotel max i can have onli 50 tables and its at clarke quay..location wise confirm better thna OCC

Actually we also considered meritaus mandarin bt mid 2008 they close down for renovation until 2009..we intend to hold beginning 2009 so i gif it up..

joyce, novotel the ballroom is nice too, but the exterior i din really like, but anyway its too small for me also.....Cos I had abt 50+ that time when we estimate the number of tables. So out for me.

joyce> Novotel is nice but dun like the exterior and it din not meet the number of tables for me as I have around 55 to 60 tables. But do take note if u take Novotel, there is a tendancy to have jams regardless of weekdays or weekends at the road leading to the car parks. Must prepare that some of the guests will be late. Think the 608+++ package is only applicable for this year bor, even when I first signed up the price also increase too........

joyce, hav u compare other pkg yet? my bf tik OCC is still ok wit the new price. his tiking most impt is we like the place & food is gd.

but i still wanna compare it wit other places to knw the diff of it. sad... gotta wait till next yr den can place deposit.

hi jonathan..

haha tt means faster get married so tt package will be cheaper..occ is nice lor..i worked there few yrs back...

hi piggylover
acually me n bf chosen occ, novotel, rasa sentoso..bt sentosa alot ppl say inconvenient then novotel can onli hold max 50 tables..then nw realise occ so ex..so tink we book novotel..have to min number of tables to 50 laio lor..yday i went to the recep then to their ballroom..i feels tt nt bad lor..at least quite grand to me..

i visted hilltop b4..the ballroom is nice bt hor their carpet smells..haha..their ballroom can win other hotels ballroom bt carpet smells..no free room to stay also..location also too west...no red carpet also...haha

im placing deposit maybe end this yr for 2009 dinner cuz my hse will onli be ready maybe mid next yr..at first wanna complete all by 2008 bt abit too rush and those fortune teller says tt dec is nt a gd yr for us so change to 2009..sigh

suelynn> no. only meeting up with my coordinator this sat.
printing take 2 weeks is it?

joyce> Hahaha shld have get married when I first know my wife 7 seven years back. Think the price will be even cheaper hahaha. Besides my wife loves the ballroom that is why choose OCC :o)Oh u used to work in OCC but as what position?

joyce> Dun like Rasa Sentosa becos of the L shaped ballroom. Er for the Hilltop din know that their carpet smells hahaha. But the thing that put me off is the additional charges of $1.2k just to use the ballroom lor. Find it ridiculous lor. Besides it is quite a distance from the mrt station also. Parking is another concern also.

michiko> Er think better make a trip down to the printer fast, now it is the peak period for seasons greeting and wedding invites printing. Worried that it might not be able to get it on time then u will have problems distributing the wedding invitation cards lor. Understand if there is a peak printing that mean your printing might delay by 3 to 4 weeks instead of the normal 2 weeks.

michiko> Er for the printer it is up to u where u want to get. The one recommended by OCC is Focal Ad, they provided free map for the wedding inserts.

hi jonathan
hehe..last time as banquet waitress (part time)..ya actually occ nt bad..i also like occ..bt no choice..too ex..cuz my boy onli 25 still studying..dun wan stress him too much..our budget per table is actually 800 and below..then i also gt mani frens stayin in the west..quite troublesome lor..
As for hilltop actually when i got out of the lift, i smell sumtink..i thot i sensitive..then hor i heard ppl telling the mgr tt they shd do sumtink to the carpet..it smells..haha..the exit lift there..then i go hill top forum..also gt ppl complain carpet smelly..

hi piggy lover

Ya lor..the shifu told us to geth married next yr ard sept bt hor abit rush for us cuz hse maybe nt ready yet..his dad was asking us to get married first then stay at his hse while waitin for our hse (maybe reno)..bt i dun wan lor..haha..i rather postpone wedding..so his mum went to check again..say if 09, have to wait till chinese new yr over..

jon, liddat I shld get married 10 yrs ago when I and my hb got together le la,kekkeke!But still studying. Hilltop with the $1.2k still cheaper lei, but its nt as class la the venue. Rasa max also abt 50 ba, n the shape makes it very hard for guests at 2 ends to understand wats goin on.

joyce, wah ur bf, so young ah?No pt spend so much n end of the day in debts after AD. Its jus a day affair, its the days after the event that matters.

Hi piggy

Me nt gg back to the shi fu liao..she already told us if sep 08 we cant make it then hold on feb 09..Actually me n bf nt so superstitious de bt older ppl lo..SO we just respect their effort and decision..

Hi Suelynn
ya lo..its the days after the event tt matters..
But i also wan abit grand place with budget..haha..i very fussy de..Cuz my da jie at 5 star hotel..i dun wan too simple..gt 4 star i hapi already..haha..

Haiz occ price too ex if nt i choose there..haha

hi piggy lover
i went to view hill top, dragon gate restauant and Novotel b4..

hilltop ok bt no room stay, too west, carpet smelly..
dragon gate i dun like..bt i will be attendin a weddin this oct..hehe..

At first i plan to find a place tt can holds more than 50 tables..tts y i chose occ than noVotel..bt nw occ price so ex..So we have to reduce the tables to max 50 lor..My bf mum is a msian..After AD, one week ltr have to go msia weddin again..this time round will be at restuarant..

Rasa also in my wanted list bt alot say inconvenient..i ever attended wedding there b4..Bt i nv reali look at their ballroom..cuz tt time haven plan weddin yet..hehe..

As for pkgs i compare all hotels..Furama ok bt i heard very near to nite club..maritaus mandarin also ok cuz their pkg is still reasonable..beginning 800 plus bt hor 2008 mid they close for renovation..

Piggylover> Sorry for the late reply caught up with my wedding preparation. Er my coordinator is David and not Adrew. Andrew is the sales manager. Er that mean u want whose contact David or Andrew?

suelynn> Hahahaha quite true also but think Hilltop really a little bit jiat liat. A friend of mine just complain abt the parking problems again. Apprantly there is not enough parking lot and they have to park at the MCP opposite and walk all the way up.

Rasa is the L shaped ballroom that put people off lor. Like what u mentioned cannot see what is going on at the other side. While the transporation also another hassle, that time attended a wedding there and end up me and my wife booked a room for the night lor.

joyce> Oic actually Furama the ballroom not bad but becos of the sleazy place next door, dun think the elders will like it lor. The food is all right and price wise quite resonable. Hmm but have u tried Noble House? Think it can house up to 56 tables bor cos remember my buddy has around that number of tables few years back. The only thing is the stage quite small and not high enough. Food is good and price is reasonable also.

jonathan, david is the person who had contacted aft receiving ur enquire? hmm... can u give me the person who u hav been contacting nw?

Piggylover> David is my coordinator, for sales enquiry think have to go through Andrew. He is the one whom I have contacted me after receiving my enquiry. But now for the AD program it is David who is the one coordinating with me. If u wish to get David contact will PM u.

jonathan, thx alot for ur reply. im not too sure if i got my AD to contact who for booking? Hmm.. paisai ler. do u hav both email?

hw is preparation at ur side? wow.. ur big is is reaching tis wk already. hav everything been arrange?

jonathan, thanks alot for ur reply.
paisai le. u so busy i till ask u for the info. dont disturb u liao. wishes u all the best in ur AD. do keep us update aft tat okie? hehehe.. ;)

Jon> your wedding coming soon hor. when har?

btw, anyone has idea sword bearers in chinese is?

writing my emcees script now. :P

Piggylover> It is okay lah cos has prepared early for it, now only left the cut and paste of the seating arrangement and waiting for the march in song from my wife. The rest are almost there :o)

michiko> Er think the sword bearers is called the 婚姻仪仗队or 军士官仪仗队 if I remember correctly. Maybe u can check with your hubby's friend who is married for clarification.

wow..very soon! only a few days left. should be very excited now rite =)
so after married will u still be in this thread? hehe..probably u will move to the 'life after AD' thread.. :P...or 'fatherhood and babies' thread...hehe.. :P
my hubby is in police force.
i dun rem i heard the sword bearers in chinese when we attended the wedding.i think the MC (the one speaking chinese) only says something like 'lets welcome the newly wed in...' then the sword bearers come in then the couple..
but i feel should say it lei..maybe they dunno e chinese translation so just leave it out.

军士官仪仗队... seems ok.

michiko> Yeah excited but also busy with the preparation work, final dash to the finishing line hahaha. Shld still be active in the thread bor but most probably will be mroe active in the bridal studio thread. as for the "fatherhood and babies" hopefully not so fast bor hahahah

Er for the sword bearer why the chinese MC neber say it is becos dun know what is the right words to use hahaha. But think 军士官仪仗队 seems more appropriate as compared to 婚姻仪仗队 bor.

jon>happy for u! surely your wedding will be a great one!
seekin the help of my fren who is a chinese teacher to help me translate..heehee.. she said both sound little weird, she findin out for me.

btw, for all, what is e duration of your march in song? cos OCC march in is quite long. The song should last till the couple on stage + cake cutting?

michiko> Shld be between 3 to 4 minutes to cover 1st march in and cake cutting. This is similar to the 2nd march in and the champagne pouring.

Hellow!!!

Good day everyone!
I am a bride to be for OCC next year 2008, when I just started browsing thru this thread (all the way back from year 2004 till now), absorb so so much valuable information on the country club.

Believe that each and every wedding have a different outcome, but one thing for sure, everyone is a memorable one.
Currently, as I am going thru these, just like those ex- Occ brides, I really would like to revive the thread in here, hopefully, those who have experienced the wedding in Occ, can provides any details or photographs of how your set up will be like? Giving us ideas how we can make ours as memorable as yours… Hoping to see replies in here soon!

Hello everyone!

Have a great time during my AD on 14/10/07. The food is good and the service is a thumb up 2. The food is even better than the food tasting and the standard did not drop. The only hiccups I have is that my flower girls decide to throw their flower petals at us instead hahahaha :o)

moments0442> When is your AD? My coordinator did a wonderful job for us there is minimum hassle on the AD. In addition the banquet manager is efficient, manage to resolve some of the last minute hicuups. Besides who is your coordinator?

hiye!
My AD will be 28 Jun 08 ...

Actually i just book Occ last week... have yet to settle the contract, and no coordinator was assigned to me as yet... i believe that will be after i signed the contract...

so! any photos of your wedding which can share ?? keke

jonathan, wow... u r back nw. great to heard that everything went smoothly on ur AD. The food was good than your food tasting.. great to know too. got some feedback frm my cousin tat food there not nice.

u'r getting the food frm the restaurant downstair rite?

moments0442> Er photos will take some time think alot of people got take photos but dun know who are the one. Need to look around once I got it will post it in my multiply. My multiply id is jonathanlydia. :o)

yup! no problem, will be looking forward to seeing all the couples photos from OCC...

Anyway, any good recommendation of co-ordinators?
I heard that there is a david ? that have good comments as a co-ordinator?

Correct me if i am wrong... keke

moments0442> Oh David is my coordinator definitely a thumb up, flexible guy who got he extra miles to help us for our wedding preparation. :o)

jon> great to hear that your wedding went smoothly! Hope mine will be smooth too

we will be going for food tasting soon. Looking forward for it!

Now left guest list and wedding songs to settle.

btw check w you, can we burn all the songs in mp3/wma format? they have pc there to play or what is their sound system like?

Thanks! Any other pointers will be much appreciated!

So it's david who everyone have good comments bout.... hopefully they will assign him to be mine co-ordinator also!

Anyway, regards to the wedding favors, can we get them refund us the wedding favors so that we can actually outsource from outside. . .

Jonathan, how is the deco of the grand ballroom?
As i saw that they have a stage like school hall with the red curtains, do they actually have nice theme to deco the places, or have you paid extra charges to add deco to it? keke...

michiko> Oh maybe u can consider what I did for my AD. I brought my photo montage DVD along during the food tasting. My coordinator makes arrangement for me to try the montage using their system. That is why I verify that my DVD can be played on their system.

As for the songs I burnt all of them (MP3 format) in a CD and I tried it out during the AD. But have a laptop standby in case it fails. Din notice any PC there guess it will be safer for u to bring along a laptop and backup copies of your CD.

For the buggy ride enjoy it and watch your steps. It was fun and the banquet coordinator is the driver. He keeps reminding us to hold on tight, can be unstable in the inital stage but after the drive on everything should be fine :o)