Orchid Country Club

jonathan,

yes, i had sent email to OCC sales this morning to request for their 2009 pkg. i told them my AD is on Dec09, so hopfully will get their reply soon.

me and my bf fall in love with the ballroom when we attend a friend wedding at Yishun Lake restaurant downstair 3yrs ago. he refer nice and good food serve to guest and i wanna a ballroom. haha.. and this also make a combination for both of us requirement.

yes, for my family side is okay. has not talk to his parent about it now, planning to inform them next years maybe after CNY. having problem now as we are going to consult a shifu which friend recommend us. worry that his parent got their own shifu too. scare they will b upset or unhappy if we proceed on our own account.

well, its give and take, anyway my hb not very merticulous in terms of the details, he jus care abt the overview n overall of things. So i just shortlist n he will go thru with me.

jon, can share wat dishes u chose? hehehe! i miss the food there lei, i only ate during food tasting, tho AD they got keep the food for me n bring it up to my hotel rm, but I ald too tired to eat.

suelynn> Oh the menu no problem can share with u but will update later tonight as I dun have the information with me at the moment kekeke. At least u eat during the food tasting, was too full by the 4th dish that I only sample a little bit maybe it is a lunch that is why find some of the dish a little bit too heavy bor. Hopefully can eat on our AD hahaha :o)

Piggylover> Think most probably it will be OCC sales manager Andrew who will reply u bor. Went through him when I booked my banquet after that OCC assigned David to be my coordinator.

My wife loves the ballroom also that is why that is the only option I guess when we first went sourcing around for banquet location. Hmm better to check with your in-law-to-be abt the shifu thing in case they got someone else in mind to consult on this. Maybe u can consult the shifu your friend recommends after u have informed your in-law-to-be. Just my two cents worth......

suelynn & jonathan,

hmm... i jus got reply from OCC, Selina for the pkg. it seem quite expensive as compare to the website info. requesting if they can help to
tentative reservation for my date now.

jonathan - which menu did u take up? wat is their rang?

i can see from the basic menu already cost $800+. if i wanna requset upgrade my room to president suite gotta chose from the 2nd or 3rd menu which cost abt $900 to $1K...

jon, we all also very full during foodtasting, we had 11 ppl yet cant finish, we ta bao the lotus leaf rice. I love the yam scallops n the prok floss prawn......

piggy, honestly the bridal suite is nice n big enuff le, no pt choose a more ex menu cos of the presidential suite. If u wan , jus add $400+ to upgrade to tat, but the menu is $100+ extra per table lei, times the total number u have, its alot of $

Piggylover> Er how come the menu u have choosen is expensive? For us we go for the $608++ menu with 4 hours of free flow of beer. But after adding up the ++ and the wine, it is abt $800 per table. Like what suelynn has mentioned dun think it is worth to choose a more expensive menu becos of the presidential suite. Might as well add the additional $400+ to upgrade. Hmm for the price range think I have it somewhere at home. Check and get back to u again.

suelynn, she reply me with the photo of the room too. she advise me to do it when having dinner in the hall. but i wan in the day time for video shooting.

hw is their pkg offer to u? issit oso very high?

suelynn> Yah lor the food portion too big liao eat until piangz even my uncles who went along find the portion bery big for a 10 persons table......

piggy, my package is very basic de. After adding all the +++, its abt $700+ for me, I dun have free flow beer. I had 9 dishes inclusive of dessert too. I had my solemnisation abt 1.5 yr b4 my AD. So I din really bother abt the suite, since its big enuff,I just left it. U can have solemnisation at the cocktail reception area, tink it wld be nice too. Alot of ppl have it at the stage abt 1 or 1.5 hr b4 the dinner starts.

If its nt becos of us being together for too long, we need motivation to work for our AD, we wld have done the solemnisation together with AD.

suelynn, the standard menu will be ok too. gd idea to hav it at the cocktail area, i will think abt it while waiting for their reply of the function room. i will discuss with my bf tonite again.

suelynn> The banquet menu for my wedding are:

1) Assorted Cold & Hot Combination
Jellyfish
Japanese Octopus
BBQ Gold Coin Chicken
Prawn Salad
Vegetable Spring Roll
2) Shark fin soup with crab meat and shredded chicken
3) Fresh red garoupa with superior soya sauce
4) Braised sea cucumber with flour skin in Sze chuan sauce
5) Deep fried prawns topped with crispy cereal
6) Deep fried chicken
7) Braised spinach topped with bailing mushrooms and beancurd skin
8) Fragrant lotus leaf rice
9) Hot yam paste with gingko and coconut cream

Love the lotus leaf rice and the sea cucumber! :o)

jon,our dishes almost the same kekkeke!1st dish is exactly same! I had scallops coated with yam instead of ur 4),deep fried prawn with chicken floss instead of 5), 8 treasure chicken instead of 6). Ok I am ald hungry after typing all these! hee!

jonathan, thx for ur info.

wow.. there's diff on the pkg price as compare to nw and 2yrs later. i can see the menu is almost the same too.

wanna check with ur abt the deposit. hw much did ur pay to confirm ur AD dinner? they had advised to put a $5K as deposit, im wondering if we can negotiate with them for a lesser cost as i m planning for 2yrs ahead. some of the place will request $2k upon confirm booking and balance $2k before 6mth of AD.

i hav no ideal abt the tentative reservation. any of u knw hw is the proceduce? do i nd to make payment to them 1st as to secure my AD?

i 4get to ask if ur have any ideal for the wavier of corkage charge for duty paid hard liquor or wine. hw can we recogise between duty paid and duty free for both hard liquor and wine?

my frez told me can see it from bottle, if it is bought from local the bottle shd b 750ml as compare to duty free bottle contain of 1 liter. if we bring in for our AD of those duty free product, what can they do to us? fine us? can we let them knw if advance if we are bringing it with us for our AD dinner?

Piggylover> Oh for the deposit is $4k, think u can tentatively put a downpayment to secure the date first bor. By right no duty free wine or hard liquor are allowed to serve during banquet. As this is against the law, think most of the hotel have strict restriction on this. Er not too sure abt 750ml or 1 litre bottle thing but think there is a duty free stamp on the bottle bor if I remember correctly.

suelynn> I love the Braised sea cucumber with flour skin in Sze chuan sauce something different and the taste is quite all right not exactly too spicy also. Then the fried chicken is my and my wife favourite food mah so must at least order something that we like hahahaha

jonathan, u mean u put $4k as deposit. hw come they request $5k from me? issit cos of my AD is too far frm nw...

gotta discuss wit them for it ba.

Piggylover> That one I got no idea cos my inital deposit is $4k, I booked mine abt a year ago there might be some changes bor.

hi suelynn, my AD is on 3rd Dec this year.. only 2 months left. Till now OCC has not contact me yet thou i had sent an email to them..usually how many weeks in advance they will contact u?
Btw, how many tables u can set for reserve.. now quite headache with the tables as my father side cant confirm on the attendance.
I also very worried abt the attendance as mine is on a monday. OCC is also quite far. Dunno my relatives know how to go anot...

piggylover, their requirements change over time de. their deposit used to be $3k 2 yrs ago. Regarding duty paid liquor, for me I used DFS one and so far its ok, as long as there is no stamp on the cover then its ok. There are some batch of martel with dfs logo, so we din use those. I had waiver of corkage of 1 bot per table plus 20 bot extra for both wines and hard liquor.

michiko> Hmm for my case got email my coordinator for update in between. Besides who is your coodinator? Have u choosen the theme for your wedding banquet yet? Food tasting? Wedding flavours? Wedding invitation cards?

suelynn, they offer me only waiver of corkage of 20 bot for both wines n hard liquor (max 20 box). im wondering if it is enough for 40tables if got mixture of both wines n liquor..

any idea hw much shd we put for tentative reservation?

michiko, I had been liasing with my coordinator abt 2.5 mths b4 the wedding, to arrange for food tasting and to discuss on themes etc. She is emily, very prompt in following-up.

tentative reservation, no need put $, just that they will only hold dates for maybe 2 mths. I tink since its 2 yrs away, better nt commit so fast, u shld look at some other plcs, before u are very sure u wan OCC.

piggylover,

wow! the menu starts from $810, or $880 or $998. comparable to middle range hotel rate.

why not u contact occ on the tentative date reservation while waiting for your shifu to check the tong shu? they should understand.

if u are VERY sure and firm that u WAN OCC, then u can sign the contract after u have finalised the package. u have to pay depo$it to secure then.

think u can refer to the past posts as some mentioned the max number of corkage waiver.

ribena, ya lor. the pkg is high enough for a hotel ballroom which was wat im tiking too yest. but aft discussing wit my bf, his tiking is tat all other places will oso mark up their price for 2009 pkg. as for the tentaive date reservation, it can only hold for 2mth rite? but mine is 2yrs later and i can only confirm my AD by Jan08. so gotta pending 1st before i can proceed le...

Piggylover> Wah din realise the menu start from $810, $880 or $998. Like what Ribena mentioned it is comparable to some of the hotel. But if u ask me abt the ballroom think OCC is the only one that look great as compared to other hotel from my point of view. Think u just get your shifu to find the date first then check with them again next year bor........

jonathan, if wanna compare can see the jump is alot from this and 2yrs later.

i called OCC to enquire if there is any wedding show will be holding this yr. This year there isn't any but maybe next yr there will be.

the deposit of 5k is fit not able to negociate and for the tenative reservation can only hold for 1 mth for me. they say if unsure of the AD, mayb go back next yr for the booking again...

hur suelynn, i have already put my deposit with OCC..
think u got me wrong. 2 mths later will be my AD.
Jon, no. nothing was done yet. I think my coordinator is sleeping... :P

michiko> Hahah finally the way u phrase it that your coordinator is sleeping. for my case my theme was confirmed in July if I remember correctly. Wedding invitation cards collected on the same day also. Wedding flavours also settled too. Then food tasting is last month lor cos need to put everything on hold becos of the chinese seven month then. Er your coordinator is ?

oh.. i got it... think your 2nd reply is for piggylover..hehe...
anyway, are we affected by the raise in the menu price? i mean for those who had placed deposit?

piggylover, tho the ballroom is quite spectacular, u must be prepared to make huge loss if the cost is so high. Its about 15 to 20% increase from nw....... cos ppl usually wont give alot angbao $ for country club as compared to hotels.

michiko, yah 2nd reply is for her. urs ald done deal lei, so whether they change price or nt, doesnt matter, still stick to wat u sign.

suelynn, yes i had calculate an estimate loss yesterday base on per table and overall. if it is ard the amt, tiking is still acceptable for time being. but mayb will look ard other places as to compare their pkg too.

michiko> Once u signed the contract, that mean confirmed that place liao. But of course GST, service charges are still based on the day of the banquet lor. Er no idea who is Rendall cos my coordinator is David, nice chap, accommdating and always prompt us abt stuff. Even some of the requirements I have make he go the extra miles to get it fixed for me :o)

jon, so u mean even when we sign the contract is based on menu say $588, $688 etc.. now we can only choose the menu that has increased in price?

michiko, did u send call her or send email for the arrangement? she there is no reply, can CC to someone who is able to make decision on this matter. faster contact the person as ur AD is just 2month ahead.

Ya lo me at first also wanna hold at occ..bt the price is too expensive..imagine 800 plus per table..haha..my ad i plan 14 feb 09 bt too ex

michiko> Oh think I make a mistake what I am referring to is that when u signed the contract, the menu will be based on the package u have signed. Basically that mean u have "locked" the price of the banquet.

As for your coordinator better give her a call dun wait anymore cos not much time left and u will have quite alot of things to do. Besides have u finished your PS yet?

Michiko, I nvr heard of ur coordinator b4. Tink u shld drop them an email n arrange to meet them asap le! Ur AD PG, VG gotten ald?

phew...scare me... nearly fainted....:P
ya..finish my shooting..tiring sia... n pity my hair..imagine need to change so many hairstyles in one day..

I had contacted my coordinator..meetin him soon.
maybe my hubby n i are e relax type... then one day i pop the qn to him... i think we too relax leh.. seems like many things havent do yet hor... then he look at me..yahor.. 2 more mths only..hehe...

michiko> Aiyoh think both of u super relax kekeke, PS is like that one lor bery tiring need to put makeup and change hair style. But guess u must have enjoyed your PS :o)

jon> ya.. and when we were doing our shoot outdoor.. this ang mo lady super friendly and even invite us to her house for photo shot..she has a beautiful house. When we were leaving, she even said that we could use the house to party if we want cos her hubby n her seldom at home.. aiyo.. we were quite taken aback by her friendliness/ but maybe she is an american, very outgoing.