Orchid Country Club

bobochacha

haha..eh..me this coming Fri already..haha

headache over the guest list..

hope everything turns out well..

anybody taking their bugy car for march in??

piggylover

Chris, congrats to u too! wow.. so envy all big day coming ler. mine still hav 2mths to count down..

dont worry! im sure everything will turn out great de! jus handover ur information to ur helper, gotta enjoy ur big day ya!

bugy car is for 2nd march in rite? i wanna get it but htb say abit fast to reach the stage but i tik is really special whereby other places dont provide tat. =)

bobochacha

Hi Piggylover..

my emcee also advise us to take bugy car for 2nd march in coz 1st march in must be slow for all ur guests to admire u..

my hubby just went dwn last wk to walk..takes abt less then 3mins to rch the stage..

if uses bugy car..i think will be fast..

ya i also think their bugy car is special..was thinking whether can ride a bike or others in also..whahahah

piggylover

hi chris,

yup yup!! bugy is very special!! shd try out tat.. hmm.. ride a bike?? i dont tik so ba, tat wil b much more faster ler. lolx..

huh? walk in nd 3mins? really long time but i love it. whahhaha..

bobochacha

hi babes..just finished with my wedding..

lucky my hubby tested out their DVD player etc system..it was not working..

the food was disappointing..but was expected as it will be diff from FT..my guests said the fish was overcooked..meat too tough..then prawns shrink..and teisin cabbage dont work with the old ppl..

but overall the banquet manager Devan was a very nice guy..he helped to make sure nothing crops up..and he was the one who performed the fire thingy for the 1st dish

oh ya and the complimentary room was big!!! it's like a suite!! worth it..

for the 2nd march in..we took the bugy car..Devan drove very slowly for everyone to admire..everybody said we looked like mr and mrs president in it..worth to take..

piggylover

hi Chris, wow.. u must had enjoy urself on ur big day!

DVD not working?? *blur* so hw ur play it? use laptop?

Oh no... food not nice.. really sad to hear tat. i will b having my FT in early nov. haiz.. hope FMIL will not find problem on the food, if not i really faint liao..

when do u get to meet the BM? on the AD itself?

Yes yes, it is the bridal suite which i went in during the wedding show in july time. but abit dissapointed when there is no bathtub.

u too the bugy ride!! tat great! can i ask u hor, estimate abt hw long (time) for each 1st n 2nd (bugy) march in? im in mid of gather the song, so work like to knw the time frame to allocate.

TQ ger! =)

bobochacha

HI Piggylover..

my hubby just told me PA system not working..but after checking it etc..it's working again..means must double check everything..

not all the food are bad..but alot of my friends even in hotels..FT always the best..but think AD think too much tables or wat..food turned cold or wat..but overall was still ok..

i think those people will understand..

My hubby got to meet the BM on the AD..

haha..u wan the bathtub to have ur 'yuan yang' bath??hehe..ok ah..as long can accomodate the bros and sis to have a rest..

i never estimated the time eh..i think ard less then 2mins for the car..

then normal march in is 3mins ba..depend hw slow u all wana walk..

our music was ard 30s..then we march in..

bobochacha

i 4got to mention..our suite room is very near to grandball rm..abt 1 min walk..

then changing room (Jade Suite) is just next to grandball rm..

piggylover

hi Chris,

Thank you for your information!

The PA system work fine is okay, tot we need to bring along the notebook in case their not able to work. hehe..

ya lor.. FT will b diff from AD, just hope the feedback are gd. FMIL is very concern as before we confirm OCC, she wanna ask outside ppl to cook. aft htb talk to her say the restaurant food are nice, den she didnt ask. cannot image on AD, if ppl feedback den really headache liao. =P

glad to knw BM for ur event is nice. hope mine will b gd too! me still hav 2 mths more to go, nw gotta start count down already. hehe..

'yuan yang' bath? no lar, jus tat the room reno so nice but bathroom no bathtub like funny like something missing like tat. hahah..

wow.. 3mins for walking n 2mins for bugy. gotta go estimate wit my song timing ler.

ur changing room at Jade suite? SC did mention before but will it b convenience especially when nd to go toilet time? cos insde jade suite no toilet rite? i will b using Jade suite for my ROM fuction b4 banquet start.

Thanks alot ger! =)

bobochacha

I think just bring ur laptop etc just in case..but most impt is double check everything ard 3 - 4pm ah..

aiyah FT and AD sure diff..but after a few mths dwn the road they also will 4get..coz the next ques they will ask is when are u giving birth..haha

our 1st march in was music all the way until 1min30s then got singing..so we wait till ard 30s-45s of music then we walked in..our whole music was abt 330s-4mins++..then when u up on the stage..the music will still continue to play..but coz tat day when we march in..hubby asked ppl to pop those stuff..

haha..i never think of the word toilet eh..from changing to my gowns..i have never step into the toilet..no time..i also dont know where is the toilet..i just 'ren'..if so must really get ur sistas to help u out..

piggylover

Thanks Chris!!

ya lor, tik will bring along my own laptop jus incase got problem. OCC allow to go in the ballroom 3-4pm?

haiz.. mayb as wat u say ppl may tend to forget when time go by, jus hope everythings went fine. hehe..

wow.. im wondering hw long when march-in time, tik gotta go down try out earlier in the afternoon time 1st. haha.. i bot the party pop out too, tat is really fun when all join in.

u never go toilet??? *blur* aiyo.. u can still ren huh? i only hope ppl will not ask me drink if not sure gotta go toilet de...

bobochacha

Hi Piggylover..

ya after our tea ceremony..hubby and i immediately went to OCC 1st to check in and rest..then ard 4pm my MUA..then hubby went to find BM and coordinate with him everything..

we didnt even rehearsal..got no time coz solemize at 630pm..but surprisely everything turns out ok..

then the cake is fake for cake cutting..

ya coz really no time to visit the toilet..still have to change into gowns then send off guests..very rush..normally they will ask the hubby or bros to drink..

hw many tables u have? if u want to take pics with all the tables..have to turn dwn their toasting for each table if they jio ah..

bobochacha

i always cant slp the past few mths..like very nervous and excited..feel like a lot of things never do..then scared stuff crops up etc..

but b4 u know it..everything has ended smoothly..haha..

2nd dish u already need to change 2 ur EG..then yum seng..then ard 4th-5th dish..need to take pics..then ard 7th-8th need to change to my cheongsam..then 9th dish we were already standing outside to shake hands with guest..

everything happens so fast also..

just enjoy ah..heheh

christinatyt

Hi Chris,

congrats on your recent wedding!!! Must be a huge relief that everything went well.

Can I ask during your dinner, did you have time for thank you speeches? n Did you have time for pics with all the tables and how many tables you have? I have around 60 and am worried there's not enough time for PS.

bobochacha

Hi Christina..

we do have thank u speech when we rch the stage for 2nd march in..

we have 48 tables but manage to take pics with all coz our Emcee helped us to coordinate very well..

ur hubby's bro need to get ready the next table in advance for taking pics..

and most impt the guests cannot toast ur hubby..if not very hard to take all the pics finish..

by the time we took the pics..it's already 930pm++ then i need to rush to change to my CS gown..

worst come to worst u have to put not so impt guests or those willingly to wait 4 u to take pics at the last tables etc..coz usually have to take with relatives they all 1st..priority..

bobochacha

1231423.jpg

hi all..our wedding gifts for guests..very cute beany bears..i think alot of guests took back..great with the kids also..

r_d

hi chris,

congrats on your wedding!! good that everything went smoothly..

we are waiting for serene to send us the agreement, for our banquet next year nov. =) anything to advise?

the bears are so cute! you got them from OCC?

may i ask a few questions?

are the projectors showing some pictures throughout the night?

the starry night theme is one of the 3 themes provided by OCC right? how much is this decor?

where did you change your gowns, in the changing room beside the ballroom, or at the bridal suite at the building next to the ballroom?

we are also looking at 40+ tables for the banquet. will the ballroom look rather empty with the sides, the 2nd floor, and the area near the entrance empty?

thanks thanks.. :D

bobochacha

Hi Ryan..

i think the package are quite standard..

the Bears are from OCC..it's one of the wedding gifts..they have photo frames, chocs, and 'Xi' sauce bowls and spoons ah..

ya their projectors are showing our wedding pics..morning montage etc etc..pics with music throughout the whole nite..

our changing room is call Jade Suite or Foyer ah..i think this room is for small functions also..which is just beside OCC grandball room..10secs will reach..

the ballrm wont look empty ah..we also had 48 tables + 2 reserves..and it's been spread out evenly..

then OCC gives 3 themes..2 are with big 'Xi' or heart shape flowers behind ah..but we choose starry theme..it's FOC eh..included in the package..we didnt pay any extra..flowers and decorations also provided..

r_d

hi chris,

think the package i have (for 2010) is different from yours. cos we are charged for the flower decor arrangements, which included the isle, the stage, the cocktail reception area (think is at the Jade Suite), the VIP tables and the rest of the tables.

ah!! finally get to see the buggy! just like a coupe! so cool! hehehe.. lucky my FW reminded me to inform serene to add the buggy in..

serene suggested to us to walk back to our suite room at orchid lodge to change into EG and cheongsum. she said its about a minute walk, via the shorter route, and about 3 minutes walk, via the longer route..

initially, we plan to have solemnization at OCC, just before the dinner. then after much discussion with our JP, we are having it in the morning, at a monastery, a buddhist-style solemnization.. hehehe

thereafter, depending on the time schedule, we may have a PS at the designated areas, arranged by OCC. did you have time for PS?

bobochacha

Hi Ryan..

we just paid for the tables only..but we took the package last yr..

the bugy car is always stationed outside OCC grandball rm..tat time we also last min took the bugy ride for our 2nd march in..BM just start the car and off we go..hehe

but tat time it was our BM who asked us to change in Jade Suite..nearer..

we also had our solemization at OCC..there's a empty space just beside the ballrm..then they set up the tables and chairs..

we never had any PS at OCC areas eh..4get abt it..haha..i think too rush also..need to set up for dinner already..

bobochacha

and also the cards inserts..OCC provides free invitation cards..but the inserts u have to go to their suppliers at Ubi to do..i think they have OCC template..then icon i think $10 each..then ribbons..10cents ah..then insert papers also ard 10cents ah??

but my friend also did their inserts at Ubi..said tat icon is free eh..but have to tied ur own ribbons..

OCC suppliers has already help to tied the ribbon on the card..we just need to slot the inserts in can already..

bobochacha

i read previous posts saying that OCC service is not gd..

so far no complaints from my friends etc after the wedding eh..MIL also never said anything..

my friend said the service still ok..

bobochacha

ah..i 4got to tell u all that our safe box at our suite room is spoilt..end up my bro and my hubby's sis had to lobang our close relatives with big bags to put ang baos..

r_d

hi chris,

that is the same room serene shown to us. she said there are only 3 such suites in OCC.

safe box spoilt? thought they just renovated the rooms. so fast spoilt liao..

i remembered there is another room connected to this suite on the other side, and we can have it for our friends and others.. of course at a cost.. hehehe

is that your yandao?! you took the picture without him knowing ah!! hahahaha

all in all, how much does an invitation card cost, in itemized details?

bobochacha

Hi Ryan..

our suite is nearer to the Grandball rm..it's rm 405 connects with 406..

that's wat my bro told me when the safe was spoilt..when u check in maybe have to check with them..

there's no costs or what eh..rm 405 is the bedroom then rm 406 is the living rm..

we took 200+ cards from OCC..then the supplier charged us ard $200-230 (roughly there)..we have only 1 icon on the insert

r_d

Hi Chris,

i read somewhere that OCC has fire presentation on the first dish. is it true? how is yours like?

bobochacha

ya it was done by our BM..

when the 1st dish is gonna to be served..they off the lights..then got techno music..

then the BM walks in with a fire stick ah..but he just sway abit here and there only..nothing much..

r_d

woah! looks very spacious! hmmm.. the kids will have lotsa of space to run about.. hehehe

anymore pictures on the ballroom? hehe

wendycsk

Hi chris, thanks for sharing everything! I met up with my coordinator today and got the invitation cards..hehe.. Can i ask what time you state your shuttle bus? I got about 35 tables now.. looking at the pics. i think my ballroom will look very empty!

bobochacha

Hi Wendy..

coz other then the normal shuttle bus, OCC also provides a 40 seater bus for our wedding..our dinner starts at 730pm..but the 40 seater bus, we gave our guest 730, 745, and 805pm..then our friends said since ur dinner starts 730pm..then u still put such time..aint u asking ur guests to be late..but we all should know chinese wedding is never on time..i start my dinner also at 845pm..

r_d

Hi Wendy,

can you post pictures of the wedding card here? hehe..

Hi Chris,

845pm.. what time did you end? we are hoping to start at 7pm, latest 730pm.. is this unrealistic? hehe.. thinking of means to get my guests to come on time..

we can actually ask for the 40 seater bus to pick up our guests for 3 rounds?