Orchard Hotel

cherlinjo

Hi ladies, any one of u having ur banquet on 6 June? I'll be using the grand ballroom... just wanna be prepared if there's anyone using ballroom 3 on the same day.

noella

jolin, tink some time back, someone did post a list of those holding their dinner at OH.
Try scrolling n see or anyone can repost it again?

vaquita

Hey hey OH BTBs. Happy "niu" year!!

noella, oops sorry! hahha it was lovelee who PMed me.

Lovelee, can you PM me again? didnt get your msg on your F&E Japan trip. Thanks a lot!

hey i was thinking, does anyone know anything or know any link on OH food/ menu review? when it comes to other hotel menus, i see a lot of forums/ links with comments and even pictures of the food. But for OH, i can't seem to find any.

noella

Hi VV...no prob ;)

Not sure...maybe can ask those whose weddings r over can post some pics to show us.

sean_ng

I have the following items for sale from my wedding last Friday.
All items are brand new and only bought few days before my actual day.
Please send me an email at seanngyl@gmail for more details.

1) Martell VSOP, 70cl, duty paid, 8 bottles, $70 each

2) Berri Estates Cabernet Sauvignon, 75cl, duty paid, 22 bottles, $18 each

geminiger

hi, anyone has any comment on the montage provided by OH? Abit concerned if i shld take up their montage despite that its in the package?

annannx2

hi noella, thanks for the recommendation, we are still thinking where to go.. sigh.. uncertain if we can take leave together.. anyway, how's your planning coming? confirmed your wedding venue?

noella

Hi annannx2,
planning...haven start to plan...wahaha....we too busy n slack in wedding preparation...haha
But MTM my cheongsam evening gown...looking forward to it

Wedding venue will be at Orchard Hotel

deppster

Looking for Orchard Hotel Couple on 16 Jan 2010....any chance of swopping your date with me?

My wife's birthday falls on 16 Jan, so I really want to hold our wedding on 16 Jan...

lovelee > can share ur Japan F&E itinerary w me as well? m considering btw japan n aust for honeymoon since usa seem so exp to us right now... [email protected]

noella > how much is ur rebate, i guess this kind of thing is "heng heng only lor" dont feel so bad abt it la. most importantly everything on the night goes on well will do!

the montage is cute n nice =D

btw anyone has recommended song album for wedding to introduce? i m terribly poor in music....

deppster

Looking for Orchard Hotel Couple on 16 Jan 2010....any chance of swopping your date with me?

My wife's birthday falls on 16 Jan, so I really want to hold our wedding on 16 Jan...

Pls contact me [email protected]

Appreciate your help.

justice711

hi, I got a wedding package for Orchard Hotel to let go. It has an open date for 2009. Currently Orchard Hotel has a promotion price at 969 nett. I am willing to match that offer depending on how many tables you have. Do email me @ [email protected] if you are keen to find out more. Thanks

hunnybib

I agree with swishingstar post on 14 January. Once Orchard Hotel gets your biz, the rest doesn't matter anymore. I was a walk in customer at OH because it was recommended by a fren, so I did not enjoy any rebate, no discounts like at the fairs. But till then I was still "ok" with their service (not totally satisfied)... cos swishingstar was right. Once you pay up your deposit, most of our request were faced with no-no, even if it means jus having alittle more time than others before the dinner to have our rehersal. We requested more time because we will be holding our solemnisation jus before the dinner, so I was afraid it will be too rush for the rehersal as well...but the coordinator refused & brushed it off by saying there will be sufficient time.

Till then I still accepted this service cos of the nice ballrooms they have...so I highly recommended it to my fren. My fren went to the road show only to find out that she will be paying much less than me cos of all the promos. So I went back to OH to see what they could offer...cos I was taking 2 ballrooms & that equate to a big savings for me if I enjoyed the promo. Without any effort to find out & speak to the bosses, our coordinator rejected us with a NO IMMEDIATELY, saying "There's nothing we can do"...without any effort to TRY. This we get, after recommending frenz to them. On top of that, we were rudely greeted with contract literally thrown back at us. How do you think I should feel?

I am not a person who likes to blog, but I think their service truly upsets me, even before my wedding. We were not hard customers..we walked in to OH, looked at their ballroom, came back few days later & signed with them not needing any persuasion. When they told us they want to do away with the montage, we obediently listened & chose the printing voucher. But we are both upset with how we were treated. Like swishingstar, I will not say who the coordinator is...cos my wedding is not over yet & I want it to go on smoothly. I hope she reverts with a satisfactory answer & I want no more hiccups...

tksl

hi Joyce, i signed up with OH a few weeks before they had the wedding show with the 12% rebate. I remembered asking them whether they're gonna have a wedding show and whether they are going to have more perks. I was assured by the person in charge that they will not have any more wedding shows until end of the year. but still, within a few weeks, they had another wedding show. honestly, to prepare for the wedding show needs a lot of time.. so telling me that they did not know is hard to believe.

after i realised that the wedding show had the 12% rebate, i tried getting more additional perks too. but like you, they quoted the contract terms blah blah blah. when i asked to remove the wedding favour for another perk was rejected. when i wanted to change to solemnization date to be different from the actual dinner, they said they would charge me the standard rate that they quote other people, even though it was stated they are going to provide me a venue for my solemnization on the same day as dinner.

yes, to be honest, im upset. but when i think about it, it is fate lo. as long as the dinner goes well, we love the ballroom.. i think that's all that matters.

learn to accept it.. at least OH is a well-reputed hotel and the coordinators are nice. bonus point, food is good.

joyce, hope reading all these will make you feel better, coz you're not the only facing the "rejections" from OH. if u really feeling upset, maybe try talking to your coordinator face-to face.

enjoy the wedding preparations!

PS: dun worrie, im not from OH. im a DEC 09 btb.

swishingstar

Coordiators are not nice, and food, as I've mentioned, been commented that quality has dropped!

My friend went for a wedding dinner last year said that the fish was not fresh and waiters' service were bad.

I wouldnt say ALL coordinators are not nice, but at least I know the service given by the 2 coordinators I've liased with, are not up to expectation.

I'll understand if they have to reject overboard requests, esp if it concerns a large amount of money.

But what I've experienced are minor issues (e.g. rejecting us to view the Bridal Suite and to have my wedding photoshoot in the Bridal Suite etc.. , and I got rejected from them again when I asked for 10 additional invitation cards), yet they are not able to help.

Its true that their ballroom is nice, but I am sure there are other hotels with nice ballrooms AND good service by coordinators.

vaquita

hello! how's everyone's prep? haven't been visiting the forum for quite some time

wow swishingstar, is it that bad? if you don't mind, can you PM me the names of the coorindators? i would like to avoid them if i could.

isn't it ironic that we are the customers yet we are unable to feedback truthfully to the staff for fear of lack of cooperation on AD? -_-"

bluerosie

hi pple, my banquet will be at OH on xmas day..the service provided to me was very good tho..my coordinator is v helpful n friendly when I have many requests n comments for my AD..

swishingstar: mind to PM me ur coordinators name?

noella

From wat I know, only 2 cordinators rite? One is Haze and the other want is Xueling. Unless one of them no longer works there?
BTW, the wedding show is coming up 29 march for OH. Anyone going?

bluerosie

noella: there r others..the catering team has about 7-8 pple..I know 4 of them.
I might be going, coz my bf have nt yet seen the bridal suite yet.

vaquita

jaq, could you take some pics if you managed to view the bridal suite? been there a couple of times (prior appt, walk-in ), i have never managed to view the suite

bluerosie

vv: u inside 2010 brides thread also right n I have ur msn LOL..I already did have some photos in my hp now, taken tat time when they have this open house in Dec09. Send to u tonight.

hihi, for those who has a night photography offered by OH in the package, I heard they had change the service to a bridal shop photography. Can I know the name of it? I forgot what xueling told me. thanks.

hunnybib

yeah...wat's night photography? this is included in what package?

Hi Suzanna (btw Hunnybib is aka Joyce
)...thanks for making me feel better. At least I know I am not alone. But I do feel that not being honest with you is uncalled for. My fren was advised by another reputable hotel last time not to sign up first cos they were having a road show soon & so she enjoyed savings. This made her a very satisfied customer. I think OH has alot to learn...

Hi swishingstar...we din ask OH to give us the rates they were offering at the fair cos we know we have signed the contract so it was unfair to do that. We din ask for any discount. We din ask them to make up for the savings we could have gotten. We jus merely asked if there were anything at all they could offer to help out but we were rejected rudely & in an unprofessional way. That got us disgusted...& not becos they din give us anything. But wrt the rejections to your little requests, all I can say is OH is very inflexible...or do they look at the customer before they decide if they wanna help? Cos 10 cards is at such minimal cost...why do they say NO to it? Will such small savings for OH result in a bigger cost i.e. a dissatisfied customer?

Anyway it's an impt day in our lives so let's jus pray that OH will not disappoint us any further...

noella

I do have a minor displeasure with OH. Feel tat they are doing things according to their own ways which I dun tink is rite.

Need some opinions but nt convenient to write over here.

annannx2

hi everyone, been a long time since i log in. seems like girls here are not so ok about things.. care to share?
Noella, cheong sam is gonna be nice, i had one MTM one for my wedding too! where is yours from?

annannx2

noella, didn't reliase what was BDC till thomas said so. mine wasnt from singapore but from shanghai.... =) how are your wedding plans coming? i have yet to go for my honeymoon.. sigh.. =(

vaquita

wahaha thomas!! you are here

ya, i do visit 2010 thread, just that i don't really post anything.
it's going so fast. lost in lalangs... =P

noella

Wow, thomas, u run everywhere huh...haha....u r rite

Shanghai? u r based there? Didnt do much actually ...been really bz

Tink can only plan honeymoon for end of the yr....wanna go somewhere faaarrrrrr......hehe

smurf_09

Hi there... newcomer here... haven really got a date for my wedding so just looking ard to see...

just read some of the posts.... are we being too harsh on the coordinators? cause what i have read on the last few posts, seems that there are alot of complaints abt them... but it seems that ppl are really not well in complimenting... cause i have heard from friends that have good things to say abt coordinators in OH.. either from them or their friends... but maybe because they are not members over here... actually, this situation is not just at OH ba... think in general, ppl likes to voice out more on our displeasure than show our appreciation...

Not trying to say who's right or who's wrong... of course we would like to have our perfect wedding... just that there are always 2 sides of the story and i am sure that they would also like us to have our perfect wedding...

just feel that if we are all more understanding and know that they have their jobs to do, their boss to answer to... then we will all feel much better and have a wonderful wedding... i am sure if things requested are in their means to help/give, i believe they will...

anyway, abv are just my tots and just some points to think abt...

noella

Hi Wei Li,

Generally, people tends to highlight the negative side rather than the positive side. (But I guess this is human nature rite? :p

However,if you have seen the earlier posts, there are also some positive remarks abt OH.

Although I do have some minor displeasure with them(resolved already) but overall its been great dealing with OH staff.

It takes 2 hands to clap. In my opinion, I believe that if we have some requests but w/o being overdemanding, it should be fine. On the other hand, if OH can accede to some requests that is nt too overdemanding, tat will be great!

If differences can be discussed n sorted out, eveything will be fine n everyone will be happy.

I also do kaypo kaypo around see other hotel threads...hehe and the prob tat some couples face here are minor...seen worse case such as having cockroaches found during actual weddinng.

Everyone is here to share and learn from each other's experience be it gd or bad.

So now I am waiting for my wedding to come and share my experience with everyone!

~Happy planning everyone!~

smurf_09

Hi Noella....

what u said really makes sense... its true that there are positive remarks... like what u say, it might be human nature ba... so more negative than positive... hee..

i think everyone just wanna have a happy wedding cause its the most impt day in our live... but sometimes, when we request something, it might be seems ok to us, but maybe there are lots of stuffs going behind which we might not know... just like in our own work, ppl might not be able to see what we can see...

in short, i think there are always give and take... no one would like to make another unhappy or purposely not do anything..

most impt, is to be happy... so hope u will have ur wonderful wedding oh...

noella

Hi wei li,

Like u mention there are lots of stuff going behind which we might not know...at times, they are standing firmly on their stand in order not to "spoil market". If nt, every couple will quote this n tat, then its hard for them to say no.

I do believe that there must be giving and taking in, if nt both parties will be unhappy in dealing with each other. In the preparation process, r/s with hotel n couple will sour.

Imagine I am the coordinator, couple making demanding requests. Even if I can accede, I also "bu shuang" them, then dun give...lolz

I wish and hope tat my wedding will be wonderful...hehehe

Hope tat u have a great time finding ur ideal wedding venue n date.

VV: hahahhaa...come join us lah, it's ok if u cannot catch up lol...nope, I'm with NCQ hee

Noella: I followed VV here =P

vaquita

wahahah really? noella you followed me here?

speaking of which, noella when's ur AD? which BS are you with?
your AD must be nearing? mine's still some time away, so i havent gone into the "demanding" phase and morph into "bridezilla"
*lol*

thomas> let me go find my courage before i jump into the lalangs again =P