Orchard Hotel

xxling

Hi Joleen, my cordinator also Haze. She say they no longer provide montage as option lehz.. Don't know is it too many people unhappy, so they provide back again..

zerozero, when did u signed up. cos i believed most of us here signed up in their last yr 2008 bridal show.

u got to check, unless u really like to have montage i am sure u speak to haze and see if she can squeeze u in since i just decided to opt out of montage couples of days ago after discussion with hubby.

Good luck to u.

the chef is Hua Ting Restaurant if i m not wrong, quite reputable. =D everyone kn orchard hotel for Hua Ting Cantonese Cuisine

swishingstar

I kinda regretted signing up with Orchard Hotel.

Before signing the confirmation, coordinator was nice to us. But after paying the deposit till now, every requests we made or help needed from them were rejected.

And now they want to take away the photo montage and try to pacify us with just $100 worth of printing cost.

Also heard negative feedbacks like serving size and taste of food served on actual day and food tasting will be different. My friend attended one wedding recently and told me that the fish they served was not fresh etc...

Although the ballroom has indeed its selling points, but I believe good service provided by the coordinator is very important too. Which, on my case, is not satisfactory.

I would definately tell my friends to think thrice before signing up with them..

geminiger

sorry for the late reply as i have been very busy... met up with coordinator at OH on sat...she said that they still offer the montage if couples are still keen...think they have "regretted" the decision to take away...

swishingstar

Well, I rather not say, in case they are reading this forum (which I think they are) and they will 'blacklist' and not help me even more.

I was initially highly recommended to OH because of the high ceiling ballroom and a very nice coordinator called Annie. But when I went to enquire, Annie already left.

We still signed up with them, due to the impressive high ceiling ballroom. But like I say, their attitude towards us changed totally almost immediately after we paid the deposit. Whatever request we made after paying the deposit, the answer is always 'No'. It has been very frustrating but I didnt say anything as my hubby kept consoling me saying that we didnt make a wrong choice.

But taking away the photo montage was the final straw. We called the photo montage supplier and found out that the photo montage cost $300 and OH tried to pacify us with just $100 worth of printing cost. Even my hubby was upset and disappointed...

Anyway, there are only 2-3 coordinators at OH. If you think your coordiator is good, then probably my coordinator is not the same as yours.

Maybe not everyone will experience what I went through. I have a friend who worked as a wedding coordinator in another hotel before and she told me that they will look at the couple and decide whether to help or to reject.

Almost everything can be done if they are willing. But if they dont like you or think that you can be taken advantage of, they will not help you at all. One very good example is whether you are allowed to view the Bridal Suite.

Anyway, much has been said. I just hope every OH bride will have a good wedding day. I just cant wait for mine to be over, and pray hard that OH will not disappoint me further.

swishingstar

Not necessary. That is only one of the example I can think of.

When I told my wedding coordinator friend whether she allowed couples to view the bridal suite and even use it for photoshoot, she said, "why not?". She was puzzled that since there's no extra cost involved, why OH refused to let me even view the bridal suite, not to say use it for photoshoot.

But then again, maybe different hotels have different policies. That is why as I mentioned earlier, I would ask my friends to think thrice before signing up, because its not only the high ceiling ballroom is important. There are other factors to be considered as well.

And with the current economy, I am sure couples can find hotels with better service, good deals with affordable price and an impressive ballroom too.

dear0724

I just had my wedding in Dec with OH. Let me share my experience with u.

Initially, I am also very concerned about their after-sale service and the dinner due to the negative comments read here. However,my own experience proved otherwise.

First, I requested my coordinator Haze to avail the ballroom for rehearsal twice before my wedding. She is very willing and really put in effort to try to slot me in whenever dates the room is available. She will always wait for me patiently to reach and answer to my queries. Most importantly, I can see her desire and willingness to help me in all areas and provide me with the most cost efficient and best solution. When I request for anything, she will try her best to accomodotae to it (of cos, must be within her limits).

We personally find that although Haze is considered new, we really admire her patience and understanding and promptness to our requests. She is always fast in her email replies. A BIG thumb up for her patience and great customer service! We really think she make us really v welcome and she is like a friend to us!

Next, we also like to praise the banquet manager, Oscar. He was with us throughout our rehearsals, taking note of what we need (eg the songs tt we wan to play , the thing we wan to perform). We were there till 11 pm, but he still stayed with us patiently and give us alot of ideas and suggestions on how to start our perfoprmance, how to march, how to carry me (the bride) up the stage. Really thankful to him. N he's always full of smiles. Even though we keep apologising for making him stay till so late, he is still smiling n humbly said , 'this is my job'.Really can feel the passion he had in this job. We find it very comfortable to work wif him throughout the whole dinner too.,Even my helpers are full of praises for him, saying he did a really gd job!

I dun really get to eat the food. But so far, my guests all had positive comments. Overall,we really enjoyed our wedding here, with the help of Haze and Oscar. Whenever there is any hiccup, they will assure us and fast to respond. Many of my guests commented that this is the best wedding they had ever attended. I believe, things wont go so smoothly and well without Haze and Oscar! Thank you so much! You guys really did a good job!

Note: btw, we did not use the montage in the end cos our fren offered to help us do.. and she is working in animation and designing line.. and want to start helping wedding couples do montage. Ours is her first montage- For a beginner, she is really gd!!!! My frens attending my wedding and getting married soon had start contacting her to engage her service. below is my montage link. If anyone interested, kindly leave a msg here! Thanks!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XXrXs0ebLnc

annannx2

i must say that i agree with celeste here with regards to the good experience we had at Orchard hotel,my wedding manager was Xueling.
Firstly i am stationed overseas prior to the planning of our wedding. it was really tough as both me and my husband were unable to view the venue as much as we wanted. but of cos we heard good comments on their food and the beautiful pillarless ballroom.
we were definitely glad and thankful that Xueling handle and took great care of our wedding right from the start until the end.
the planning was really tough but luckily she was always around till wee hours (and i mean as late as 10 plus and 11 plus in the evening in singapore) to answer to our endless queries. Her response to my emails were always prompt and we could always count on her anytime. She is definitely patient towards our numerous overseas calls despite the time difference in Australia and Singapore. i guess being so committed to her work and responsible towards couples like us is really important.never have i heard her sound tired or unwilling to speak to me no matter what time i ranged her.
she even came back on her off day just to see me & my husband to assure that our rehearsal goes well, i must be embarrased that i have took up few hours of her time on that day, but she was always full of smiles and attentive us.
she often have to liase with my in-laws in our absence, and again, my dad was nothing but full of praises for her attentiveness and friendliness.
even my "brothers & Sisters" complimented on her fantastic job and pleasant personality. there were also friends who asked for her contact details as well to plan for future weddings!
the long march in was nerve-wrecking but her presence thorughout the evening surely made us felt assured.
the banquet guys were also extremely helpful and accomodating, service was very prompt as well.
I was pleasantly surpised that Xueling was still around to thank our guests at the end of our dinner. she definitely deserved all the good comments i read above in this thread.
The dinner was not the end of this wonderful experience, she even took the effort to meet us before we depart the hotel! Even till
I am pretty certain of her positive passion and her service was definitely way beyond any wedding couple's expectation. even after my wedding was over. she still sent her regards and remembered my birthday!
I guess couples out there should just put their mind at ease as our wedding planners were just fabulous!

noella

It was assuring to hear from celest n annannx2

Well, my dinner is not over yet. I hope tat after the whole wedding event, I will be able to share my joy n experience with all of u here.

Looking forward to my wedding with OH :p

dear0724

Yes, I think it is only fair for us to share the gd side of OH! Rest assured! You will definitely enjoy it! Enjoy ur wedding process with a happy and open heart! =)

noella

BTW, Celest, u r not OH staff hor? :p

Be it gd or bad, we can share our experience with each other.
If it is gd, it will definitely be a memorable event for the rest of the couple's lives.
If it is bad, we cant restart everything rite but to move on. What we can do is to share our opinions/feedback for other couples who are sourcing out for hotel venues. They would be the one who judge where they will hold their wedding eventually.

dear0724

haha no la! siaoz.. haha.. i jus had my wedding on 27th dec2008! Go see my montage le... hehe helping my fren to advertise her works!=)

noella

wah....my ROM date le....hehe
Celest, joking k, no angry wor :p

I know of some hotel staff, they actually log in as some mystery person to give gd feedback abt their own hotel but ended up nowhere to be gd...hehe

dear0724

haha dun worries la.. i understand ur concern.

Btw if any of u worry about the sound thing rite , ie. if there r two weddings, will it be affected? I can guarantee.. totally no sound from the other wedding! But ah, if it's Dnd , then confirm v v noisy! I can witness! cos there is a dnd going on during one of my rehearsal.. wah piangz... super noisy.. hehe so can onyl pray n hope u dun clash with some Dnd or company event lo..hehe

tksl

hi Celest, saw ur friend's work. its really cute and funny. do you roughly know how much ur friend charges for this type of freelance job?

im still considering the montage that's foc by OH. but i can't seem to get a smaple of the "work". so headache lo.

annisan

Hi Celest> Mind intro your friend hu help you wif your Montage? Its so cute and funny! :) give leave me his/her contact/email address? =P my email address [email protected]! Thanks... and btw how much is Orchard Hotel per table price yah?

annannx2

hi girls i guess everything will be just fine. don't worry.. =) anyway anyone apart from celeste who have held their wedding already?

annannx2

alright.. so i guess you are also a bride at orchard hotel. i didn't even have the time to read through the discussions when i was planning.. trying hard to juggle work and the wedding together was not easy... wish i could have join this forum earlier ... =P

noella

Really nt easy. My hubby wanted to take own sweet time but I say the process of planning is torturous lor...so many things to do...haha...
Faster get it over n done with

annannx2

hm... i would say that a wedding is torturing when you have to count the number of persons, which uncle and aunties, where to sit etc etc.. to RSVP.. sigh... but for me it's over!!! =) but again, of cos it was fun as well...

noella

my parents are the traditional type, so even writing the names of relatives must be in chinese. And I dun mean Mr n Mrs XXX in chi...its some kind of family hierarchy. Pengz...

vaquita

hi all (especially swishingstar)

just thought to share that the "removal" of montage was a request. Cos my FH checked back with Xueling, my coordinator, she told him that it was ok to stick back to montage choice. i guess the only issue here was that OH could have indicated that there was a choice for us to retain the montage.

either way i still got to say i appreciated Xueling calling me to tell me about the change and even taking the initiative to suggest that she'll call us after I've discussed with my FH.

maybe this seems trivial, but i'm impressed with her attn to details. as annannx2 said, she's very prompt with her replies.

come to think of it, she seems to work round the clock? haha perhaps us btbs can help her join our ranks by introducing guys to her *hiak hiak*

tksl

VV, so in the end did you take up the montage? or chose the other perk? im still at a loss. i dunno wad to do..

annisan

Hi Celest> Mind intro your friend hu help you wif your Montage? Its so cute and funny! :) give leave me his/her contact/email address? =P my email address [email protected]! Thanks... and btw how much is Orchard Hotel per table price yah?

noella

Xueling is pretty young. I tink she is a workaholic lor...working almost everyday...haha
If she is not seeing anyone, anyone got bros or yandaos to intro her? Too bad, my bro too young for her...lol
(Xueling, see how we take care of u..hehe)

noella

suzanna, dun be in a lose...if u have a photography package, ask if they have videography package too. Usually, cheaper if comes in a bundle. (cheaper but at least $1.5k)

If no lobang, I tink get the montage from them. Then u no need headache ma. Moreover, if u exchange for other stuff, not worth it cos of the value much lesser.

Stay cheerful

tksl

but isn't montage different from videography? i v blur liao. i thought montage is to show ur childhood photos blah blah blah, but videography is for the AD only?

annannx2

the last time she told me she is single, she mentioned that she does not have the time and suitable suitors.. i guess she is just too busy as well. my husband also wanted to introduce his friends to her but i guess she is very shy =P anyway, prissie, her email is [email protected]

annannx2

oh yah... anyone is aware where will be good and relaxing for honeymoon? held our wedding in december but have yet to go on a honeymoon.. sigh.... was thinking of maldives.... hmm....

vaquita

suzanna> think most likely i'll take up the montage. my FH is still checking things out with the VG to decide if the montage is included in our package with him. you?

annannx2> do you dive? if not i think maldives is overpriced for a chill-out beach resort. maybe u can try seychelles? more option aside from island hopping.

Speaking of honeymoon, any opinion for a place to backpack? hmm maybe not like super budget backpack, but a place to walk around on our own. you know leisure, aimless exploration. i'm thinking of japan, but there's the language barrier. and i heard travelling free and ez will cost a bomb as compared to travelling with tour groups. honeymoon with tour group, BAH!

*lol*

noella

hi VV, backpacking have no idea, cant help much.

Actually I had my "honeymoon" with my hubby. We went Taiwan with tour group and tats the best tour we ever go so far!

Initially, it was a whole group of elders(ranging 40-70). We were afraid tat we have to wait n communication barrier, etc

However, it turned out otherwise. They were punctual. Everyone were accommodating n all very friendly. We were very hapy. On top of tat, the tour wasnt rush n jam packed with tour itinerary at all. We also got to buy alot of super nice goodies from Taiwan(recommended by Tour leader who is like a mother to us)..haha

All of us enjoyed ourselves. However, I cant comment on all group tours though. :p

i read tru many brides to be comment on the montage. i would say all these are a miscommunication somewhere... so dont be so upset by the little decision of OH. Give them the benefit of doubt that for all u know, this decision just a nice gesture from them thinking of offering more than 1 options to couple due to stiff competition among the various hotels.

Both hubby n me didnt regret taking up OH as our choice as i have to admit, nice gesture of my coordinator Haze is wonderful, she make me feel very comfortable despite that hubby came in to wedding show only say later part of the whole event when i have to snatch the golden moment when they announce the 12% rebate. She made sure that she is always within my sight tat day.

i m pretty sure there are many satisfied customers of OH.. =D

Let look forward to our wonderful wedding at OH ba!

PS: i not working for OH and also waiting for my wedding in Sep! =D

noella

Since we have chosen Orchard Hotel, let's juz hope tat everything will turn out great as its once in a lifetime.

SO envy of Joleen, managed to get the 12% rebate....my rebate so pathetic...haha

Let's countdown to our wedding n share our joys with everyone's here.

vaquita

hmmm.... how come you guys got all the rebates? when are you all having your AD?

anyway btbs, i heard that the quality of the montage is not "fantastic" as in not what we would expect to be $300++. the cost of the montage in the package is $100+, the lower end kind.

so suzanna, in the end, my fh chose the printing instead since VG/PG will normally include montage in package

thanks noella, i dinno you PMed me... weird, i didn't receive any notification. i'll go checkit out now. thanks again!