Orchard Hotel

orchard

Have anyone out there attended weddings held at Orchard hotel? Is the food good? What's there to bargain for? Me like the high ceiling very much but ballroom decor a little old. Please share your thoughts with me. thanks.

hwey

I attended one in Jan this year. Not impressed by the food. The only advantage is that the food are Chinese food but halah style so you can mix all your friends together regardless of religion.

eli

The new orchard hotel package is 718 nett for weekends. For that price, you may want to consider hilton which is 718 nett or hyatt which is at 724 nett.

I have not really tried the food yet. But I did see the ballroom when it is fully decorated for a wedding dinner. We pop in on one sat evening just to see the setup. It looks quite nice, especially with the chair covers, which is included in the 718 nett package.

I confirmed my booking with them just before their new package which they introduced about 2 sat back. My package was 688 nett for weekend. But it does not include chair covers. I tried to bargain with them, however there is not much that they will let you bargain for. Example, the most they will exchange are the complimentary beer for dinner voucher for 2. Or The extra nite you have to be converted to another room of the same day. But parking is up to 50 percent of guest confirmed and cards up to 75 percent. But if you need another 10 cards, they will give you free. We tried to bargain for other stuff, but was not really successful. This could be due to the fact that we were not really good bargainers. 8P

Do tell me if you were able to bargain more things. I will try to add those items to mine.. 8P

monica eng

Hey,
Been to Hilton last year, didn't like the food there and the ball room looks pretty run down now. I'll give 6/10 overall.

orchard

Thanks eli for your detailed info. You mentioned that you get an additional night free in another room(not bridal suite) is it? Me only get one night stay only which is the actual wedding day itself. I wanted to bargain for more. Please confirm if that is true. My package is the same as yours except for the one additonal free night that you have. We are taking the additional beer supply as I thought it's better to have more than less.
I would love to have white seat covers but guess it just adds on to our budget and we had to give up the idea. Wonder if you have any other suggestions to bargain for more things?
Have anyone out there sample the dishes yet? We don't like pork in the menu, not sure if we can change it to something else. They say can only choose those item from the two menu provided only. Anyone have any ideas to make the ambience look better since now we have to go ahead without the white seat covers? Please advice.

eli

The extra night was due to some promotion that they had. If you pay up on the bridal show day, you get an extra night stay in the bridal suite. But we are going to exchange for extra room on the same day for the helpers. If you do not take the beer, they will do the covers at $1.50 per chair i think. But it does not really not look that bad without the covers. We took a look the other day at one function that does not have the covers.

We did not want pork in the menu, they said that they can subsitute the pork dish with something else of equal value, not in the menu. Eg another vege dish or some sotong ball stuff. Maybe you can ask them about that?

chin leng

Hi Orchard,

I think it is alright to have an extra barrel of beer (it does depend on the number of guests). I had 330 guests and the first barrel was drained just before the first dish. People tend to drink beer while they were waiting. The flow of beer slowed once the dishes started.

orchard

Thanks eli for sharing your experience. Guess you must have gone for the food tasting. Must you tell the restuarant before hand what you want for that nine course before you go for food tasting? Please advise. Thanks.

isaac cheong

Hello, everybody.

Anyone has comments about the banquet service at Orchard Hotel???

By the way, Orchard, when you mentioned that the ballroom decorations for Orchard Hotel are a little old, what do you actually mean??? Are you refering to designs that are outdated or to decorations that are physically worn out???

irene

HI aLL,

I read that our TCS actress Lina Ng is holding her dinner there(11 of Sept'2000). She shared that she like the spacious ballroom and her friend Pan Ling Ling had hers there too.

pat

Hi Eli,
I have made a booking at Orchard Hotel as well. I got the extra nite and the 30 litres of beer, but could not 'squeeze' any other thing from them. I have wanted a white seat cover but they refused to give in. Did U have another additional barrel of beer? ( on top of the 30L)
P/S: Chin Leng, is 30L of beer enough for @300 guests?
When is your weeding? Mine is June 2001. Maybe I can consult U if your wedding is held before mine.
I will be having Ballroom 3 as I have less than 30 tables, has anyone tried that ballroom? Is it wierd to have that partition? Did they cover up or decorate that partition? Really worried that it might look horribel. I think I worried so much of the wedding that I suffer from insomia.

eli

Erm..did not bargain anything from them. You got the 688 package? They said that white covers are rented from 3rd party, so they cannot put it in. But if you forgo the beer, they will give you the covers at a cheaper rate.

I just went to my boss's wedding on monday, who had his dinner there and had the same menu as me. The food was not bad, however certain things which i may want to change. The room looks ok even without the covers. Most pple first impression, wah look nice, but after that the cover become a bothersome. Service was ok. The garden setting was ok, but I would choose the other setting. But they had a very nice ice carving of 2 angels.

Dont worry, I am also using ballroom 3. Once they put in the partition, it just looks like another wall. You will not even know that that it was even partitioned. It looks ok. I have seen the ballroom after it has been partitioned. Don't worry so much. With ballroom3, the environment is quite cosy with the decor. If you got the 688 package, it is already quite a good deal. Don't worry so much. If you really want the covers, you can change it to the 718 package. That includes the white covers.

My wedding in may next year. Smile.

chin leng

Hi Pat,

My wedding had 330 guests and the first barrel of 30L beer was consumed just before the first dish. So a second barrel of 20L was opened. Usually, the guests will drink beer while waiting for the dinner to start. Once the dinner starts, the consumption of beer is reduced.

Whether 30L of beer is sufficient for your wedding also depends if your guests like to drink beer.

Anyway, Pat, just relax and enjoy the wedding. Don't loose sleep over it, you wouldn't want to look like a Panda on your wedding day, right? :)

pat

Hi Eli,
So, I can consult U!
And yes, I got the $688 package and their story is the same for the seat cover. However, I understand the $718 package includes seat cover, as well as unlimited supply of beer, so it might works out the same.
I might choose the romatic setting with whale/dophin as the ice craving. But the invitation cards are horrible, do U agree? I hope they will change for next year. Have U taken any bridal package? If yes, care to share with me?
Keep me inform on what I can improve or change, ok?
As for Chin Leng, thanks for yr information.

eli

hi pat,
The beer is not unlimited for 718nett. It is 30 lit per 20 tables. I double checked with the brochure. Don't worry, not having seat cover is not a big deal. Alot of people dont really remember whether you have seat cover or not at your wedding. They will be busy catching up with each other or enjoying the food. So long the general ambience is ok, food is good and service is good. People will remember that. Because i realise after going to so many weddings in the past few years, I cannot remember which one has covers which one dont. But i remember which one has bad service and bad food. So I do think it is an unneccessary expense. The amount you save from not getting the covers can be used to hire a professional photographer to capture the day, which i think it is money better spent.

Hm. I thought they got 3 kind of cards? Besides the copule one, which looks abit odd. The rest looks like the same as the rest of hotels I thought.

Yep I have taken a bridal package.

elcube

My fiance and I signed up for the $718 nett package on 12 Oct. Besides the items offered in the package, we managed to increase our invitation cards to 75%, car park coupons to 65%, a superior room for our helpers from 2-8pm on that day. We booked for Ballroom 1 & 2 cos we have 400 estimated guests. So we have 2 30L barrel beer. They had added a clause that if we hit 50 min guaranteed tables, we get another 20L barrel beer free. As for the cards design, I also find it plain and common. Hope they can get nicer and newer design soon before our wedding next year Aug. Frankly speaking, both of us are also lousy in bargaining stuffs. Wish my mum was there.. *hehehe*

I have questions too. Did anyone notice their sound system? Clear? And did anyone try trading the Video presentation with something else?

jordan

I just got hold of the brochure. The package do include unlimited flow of beer and white seats cover.

Just to check, anyone tried the food recently? Is it enough for everyone? I don't want my guest to still feel hungry after the dinner!

Heard that most hotels are being booked. So please reply asap as I need to book my banquet soon. (My wedding is in Nov next year) Thanks!

cp

hi,the free flow of beer is given for the wkday package only.

anyone can share with us the service and quality og food?

monica eng

HI all,
I just went for a wedding dinner last night at Orchard Hotel. Pleased to say that the food has improved since the last time I went. It's not unforgettably fantastic. But I'd say it has improve. Incase anyone concern bout the food.

viancis

hi monica,

i'm Vivianti, the one that query for your photo service one month ago.

did u go to orchard hotel to do photography or attending ur friend's wedding?

how was the decor and service?

I'll be having my wedding there on 22 september.

i will contact u to arrange to view ur portfolio on march. can?

thanx.

monica eng

Hi Vivianti,
I attended a friend's wedding. They had like 60 tables. Decor is simple and nice. They had sit covers. I find that the food came out very slow but they clear the food very fast. Like they would carry up the plate, as they are getting ready to leave they ask you can clear or not. But because they already holding the plate so very paiseh to say "EH!! I want the Drumstick!!". But food improve from the last time I went. Wedding started very late. Almost 9:30pm somemore got slide show. We were so hungry. The guys were so tempted to order white rice. : P
We left at almost 11pm and at that time the desert still not out yet. But very tired leow.
So if you have alot of tables make sure guest come early.

viancis

I attended my colleague's wedding last sunday at orchard hotel.
the dinner starts at 8.30pm, actually it was a bit late because the couple did the matrimony ceremony first.
dinner ended at 10.30pm.
so maybe different couple will have different timing.

food wise, some said nice, some said no. difficult to please everyone. but i found the service was good, the staff were adequate.

sereneoh

this is Serene Oh..seem like there are some good and bad comments about Orchard Hotel..any advice for me since i am trying to decide between Meridien or Orchard??

m&m

Anyone who had their wedding or will hold their wedding at Orchard Hotel?

I concerned abt the corkage etc.

bluz

Hi M&M,

U need not really worry about corkage unless u r bringing Wines. If i remember correctly, they charge $30 for each open wine. Not sure abt their house pour thou...if not, beer r free flow..

bluz

Wondering how's the quality of food for orchard hotel recently? anybody attended recent wedding there or going to hold their banquet there?...been thru the thread & realised that there's a no. of negative comments on the food..

found their ballroom x bad & package is pretty comprehensive too...surprise that they include a video presentation in the package..how is it like?

mary

Anybody signed up with Orchard Hotel recently? I am in the process of signing up with the sales manager, William for a weekend package. Anyone care to share and advice whether there are any freebies I can still negotiate with him on top on the contact?

Thanks alot!!

tecfib

Need some comments abt Orchard Hotel. Please feel free to voice out any gd n bad pts abt them esp their food, decor, service staff etc....

Oops & also esp their ballroom 3. Would you all think it would cause confusion if there is another wedding going on in the bigger ballroom?

Your info would be a great help to us in considering them for our wedding. Please comment.

Thanks!!!!!

ssl

Hi TecFib

My wedding is in Sept and I'm occupying Ballroom 1 and 2. Think Ballroom 3 is the one just infront of the escalator right??

according to the holel lady, they will put those stands to separate the two ballrooms. the reception area for ballroom 3 is outside along the escalator side (horizontally). For Ballroom 1 and 2, reception area is bigger.

There will also be waitress stationed at the escalator so once the guests comes up from the escalator they will ask the guest which wedding they are attending.

Hope my explanations help. I believe i cant control the crowd so i have to leave to the experts to do it. believe the hotel will have enough experience to handle such situations.

Are u having your banquet there as well??

The reason for choosing orchard hotel is cos of their cheap rates and good food (hubby ate there before and say its nice) and of course the popular pillarless ballroom.

btw, they are having bridal show this sunday. if u can , maybe u want to pop by to see but i think must register.

a&k

To all couples, i have my wedding here & its was a very wonderful night in my life time. Everything when soothly & the banquet manager, its so expert is the timing and co-orindation.
And the catering sales manager also very trustworthy that they stay back and make sure my wedding goes well. Thanks to the sales manager, while i was making a decision bewteen Le Meridien and Hilton and Orchard Hotel. Well by the way,
their bridal show is on this sunday 14 july you guys getting who still finding a place to host your dinner, get down to the Orchard hotel and check it out and maybe there will be more freebies
and they have free shuttle bus from the Orchard MRT & City Hall MRT to the hotel. SO GO FOR IT, BE 4 ITS GONE ;-)

viancis

i also had my wedding there last year sept.

i used the ballroom 1 & 2, and there was a wedding on ballroom 3.

yes they will use some kind of barrier, like those cinema kind. not ugly. and don't think there was a confusion also.

every went well. i love everything about it.

SSL, if you meeting us on friday night, i bring my photos for you to see loh. since you will be using ballroom 1 & 2 also.

ssl

Hi viancis

surprised to know that u also use orchard hotel leh

me not coming on fri lah. i live city area so too far away from woodlands cos sat have to go out at 9 cos got something on. this weekend pretty busy.

guess we have to meet some other day. would prefer dinner though. heehee. i've seen the ballroom liao.

very excited hor.

viancis

SSL,

why surprise?
they offer a good deal, good food, nice ballroom, and nice staff.

i just wonder why it is not popular compare to other hotel in orchard area.
no regret for me to choose this hotel.

ssl

hi viancis

probably cos it doesnt have a nice and good outlook. and hotel is abit off the road and MRT so people wont think of it yet.

But when it comes to talking about pillarless ballroom, i think it's being mentioned many times.

There has been alot of changes in their staff turnover. But so far, the lady serving me is very nice to me and hubby.

tecfib

Hi SSL

Yupe, ballroom 3 is the smaller ballroom which is juz infront of the escalator.

Yah i would be going for the wedding show this sunday. u?

Still deciding on whether to hold the wedding there or not. When is ur wedding n which package u taking? Maybe can tell me more so that if i decide to use them then can bargain for more perks. Hehehehe...........

Viancis

On the day of ur wedding, is there any confusion or chaos since there are 2 weddings?

Hope u can share wif me more of the situation as well as their svc staff n food. Btw is Chin chin ur catering mgr?

ssl

hi TecFib

Yes me too. my wedding consultant ask me to go and see the new ballroom decor lor.

My wedding is 24 Sept and me paying $638 per table. Err. cant really remember leh. can only remember free flow of beer.
is chinchin your consultant??

tecfib

Hi SSL

Ur wedding is this yr 24 sep? wkend or wkday? yah the most attractive perk is the free flow beer. hehehe.....

I met up wif her si she shld be my consultant if we sign up wif them. How's her service?

ssl

Hi TecFib

Yes my wedding is this year 24 Sept and its a Tuesday. My consultant is not chinchin. Its another lady but she's resigning so i will be assigned another consultant.

jady

is the free flow of beer included in the pkg? my wedding is Oct next yr..but I'm now starting to do my research on some hotels which I've shortlisted. Thks for any advice.

viancis

the service was good. my consultant is Brenda.

i don't think there is any confusion on that day because no feedback regarding this. as we are using the bigger ballroom, so most space are for us.
i can see all our friends and relative able to differentiate which wedding is in which ballroom. so no worry.

somemore i was in the reception since 7.30pm so they all can spot me around.

mermaid

Hi SSL/TecFib/Anyone,

I'm new joiner to this topic, hope you don't mind.

Me also considering Orchard Hotel after my visit to the bridal show last sunday.

SSL - your wedding's this year and it costs you only $638 per table with free-flow beer? That's a good deal, right? Cos when i was there last sunday, the weekday offer was $650 nett (after discount of $18 per table) with free-flow beer, extra night in bridal suite, all seat covers for next year's banquet. However, booking must be confirmed before end of July and deposit made using Citibank card.

Not sure how good this is? Do all hotels give free flow beer on weekdays booking (I thought I read this somewhere in one of the topics in this forum)? Can anyone advise? If they do, then Orchard's offer isn't that attractive at all given the fact that we have so little time to consider (leaving about just 2 weeks to month end). I'm really tempted to sign up with Orchard Hotel if free-flow beer is really exclusive for this offer.

Also, i heard about 3 years ago, there was this big incident about food poisoning during the banquet at Orchard Hotel. Has anyone heard about this before? Can someone pls comment on the quality of Orchard Hotel food these days?

Thanks much!
Mermaid

ssl

Hi Mermaid

I booked my package with them last aug. Yes their price increase abit but i think their perks are good especially if u pay using the citibank credit card.

Last time when i was doing the sourcing, not all hotel offer free flow of beer thats why we choose orchard hotel.

Well normally, its 2 weeks for consideration cos people may already have decided on orchard hotel and is waiting for the bridal show to come and confirm so that they get the lucky draw as well as the perks lor.

I think they now also offer weekend free flow of beer is it?? I will be going for my food tasting next thurs.

i think every hotel have their ups and downs. Last time i ate at Merchant Court, it was great. But saw some posting saying that the food was yucky when someone tried it two weeks ago.

so its heng suay and thats why u have to decide on the ambience and recommendations from others.

I support orchard hotel so will not be affected by any incidents in the past. since i choose it (after much consideration and comparing) i will stick to my choice.

mermaid

Thanks SSL,

Did you managed to bargain for any perks ??

Ask around my friends for feedback on services,
one responded that she just went and the service yucks, but i guess like what you say " heng suay"
will still keep orchard hotel as my first choice.

Did you managed to get any substantial bargains?
Met up with Evelyn Sit last week and had a feeling that they do not allow much room for bargaining ??

What do you think ?? And who is your co-ordinator?

ssl

Hi Mermaid.

my wedding would be soon so i guess much things are already "negotiated" liao. heehee.

mmm... my coordinator has resigned but she helped me alot in confirming my package details before she goes away. Which i'm very glad.

She's Priscilla and both hubby and myself really want to thank her for her tremendous help in making our wedding planning much easier.

I dont know who my new coordinator would be cos Priscilla will only introduce the person to us next Thurs when we are having our food tasting session at the hotel.

She did make recommendations as to whats good whats not on the food and nic nags so we are pretty comfortable. Guess everyone has their own preference and i cant control what my guest would say and feel on that actual day. but i just hope that my wedding banquet will go well smoothly.

Different coordinator will give different bargains and perks so it's not convenient for me to share here incase its taken "literally out of context" (ie. some may use it to negotiate with the coordinator)

Hope you can understand.

One tip: just make sure that whatever u discuss with the coordinator or whatever she has agreed to give u (perks or bargains) should be written down in the contract. (black and white)

mermaid

Thanks for the advice.

Hope your food tasting goes well and do let me know of your feedback.

Can i Join?? Hee.. Hee

Just joking only lah, but am sincere in knowing what you think of the food and who your co-ordinator is.

ssl

HI Mermaid

Thks for your understanding.

Sure me also looking forward to my food tasting cos will be discussing those wedding things with my parents and my hubby's parents.

so abit tensed lah. some more have to remember to taste the food if nice or not. aiyor.

Will keep you posted.

tecfib

Mermaid

I was also at the bridal show. But had actually talked to Chin Chin b4 i went to the show. Was impressed wif the high ceiling n long march in.

We had more or less decided to hold our wedding there but would be at their smaller ballroom.

As for free flow of beer I dun think all hotels provide (based on the enquires tat i gathered fr the other hotels tat i had in mind). So considering tat its kinda a gd deal.

So when is your wedding?

mermaid

Hi TecFib,

My wedding's sometime next Sept. Still sorting out the dates with our parents and considering Orchard Hotel for our banquet. Truly agree that free flow of beer is extremely attractive. Very likely to sign with them.

How about yours? Did you sign up for the citibank promotion? Thought it's ending tomorrow. So better be fast.

SSL, how's your food tasting session? Is the food up to standard? How about service on that day? Did you have a private room on your own for your food tasting?

Mermaid

ssl

Hi Mermaid

Opps forgot to mention about my food tasting episode.

It went well and the food was alright. The lotus leaf rice and the red bean paste with glutinous balls are very good. heehee

Yes it was setup in a private function room for us. Initially supposed to be at Hua Ting which is their chinese rest but that day got a guest with large reservation so they have to move us into the function room. But we are told well in advance so no hiccups.

They even put the actual table decor setting for us.heehee so we made our comments on the dishes (too salty, not nice, etc.)

Oh my new consultant is Vincent. didnt really get to speak to him cos wanted to finish the food tasting quick