Orchard Hotel

thiasy

jaq.. oh, i didn't know they have the western style sit down dinner. hmm.. i booked the chinese one.. is both of the same pricing?

scoring_gal

Hi jac, i heard that they will serve dessert buffet during their up coming wedding show.

Ms little, I also keen with their package and most probably will sign during the wedding show

anyone going to their wedding show?

staybeautiful

Hi all, I just went to check out Orchard Hotel today. I really like the ballroom because it is really quite nice, high ceiling and pillarless. The only concern that I am worry is two weddings held on the same day.

There is a possibility of sharing the reception area unless I take up the grand ballroom, but it is quite difficult because the minimum tables is 60. So if there is another wedding held at ballroom 3, there will be a possibility of seeing two brides and guests may be quite confused.

Any experiences like this before at OH?

bluerosie

my AD also have 2 couples in OH, I taking ballroom 1 & 2 while the other couple taking 3..the reception area is different..ballroom reception is juz in front of the escalator but 1&2 is further in...my coordinator ensure us that there will be alot of usherers on our banquet to usher pple who r in ballroom 3 n 1&2..so shld be no problem

hitsuji123

We jus completed our rounds of food tasting...! I must say Hua Ting restaurant got standard and the dishes portion are generous enf... Hope they maintain their high level of standard on our AD...

The greens retain their colours very well and not too oily or too salty...

juzgurl

Hi Miss Little, am also interested to hold mine at OH and saw that you too took weekday. May I know your wedding date and which ballroom you took?

tianai83

Dear Jaq & NCKB,

Thank you so much for your kind reply.

May i know how's she? Cause I have heard some comments on the wedding coordinator in OH from the previous thread that they will not entertain you after sign up with OH.

But i find Haze quite all right. So would like to know how's working with her?

hitsuji123

We felt Haze is soft spoken, friendly & accomodating... We believe she is dedicated to her work as well... As eariler post have said ba, not to worry too much... E'vy hotel there's sure bound to have good and bad comment if you do a search on them.

As not to spoil market, sumtimes they have to "stand firm" and not to give in to certain request.

I should think its a 2 way flow thingy... Nice to pple, pple nice to u lor.. That's my humble opinion..

bluerosie

aiai: so far she is v prompt n willing to accomodate my requests..she is helpful as well n very poor thing , always work till v late..lol..

radiusjoe

Anyone has OH's 2009 package details to share? What are the perks available? I've read in other threads about 12% rebates. Still available? I'm thinking to hold my wedding this year-end.

evelove87

f/u = follow up. i went to view the ballroon. like the venue. package as they currently have this free flow beer and wine promo and rebate for every table booked b4 19th Decemember. Most importantly, the ballroom is pillarless and grand!

happybride12

hitsuji123 & shen0005:hi.can both of you post photos of your wedding after your wedding (abt 19 more days to go =)) cos would like to see how the both of you manage the reception area? me taking ballroom 3 for next yr. thanks in advance!

baobei07

Hi Karen, you mean you are a OH bride and had your wedding there? Hays is Haze? I also love the ballroom coz it is pillarless. Anybody taking banquet in 2011??? ???

evelove87

I am not a OH bride. still deciding between Grand Corpothorne, Noble House and OH now. I am looking at 2011 banquet. Jes(baobei07) which date are u looking at for 2011?

bluerosie

anyone here taken ballroom 3 on 25 Dec 09?

has any encounter problems with their PA systems for those already had their AD there?

pinkglove

hi joe, u can email the coordinator to get the package or just go to sporebrides OH wedding show to download the package details. =)

I'm keen to choose OH as well, just that do not know when'll be a good time to sign up! Miss Little's perks are good! Anyone seen the bridal suite before? Any feedback? Cos the hotel website's photos quite limited.

baobei07

I am a OH brides for 2011. OH have nice ballroom and nice co-ordinator too. Sad to say that I have not seen their bridal suite, but based on the photos that was shown to us seems nice and big... ... As for the food, not sure yet because i have not gone through their food tasting... ... They are having wedding show on 19 Dec and you may wish to register (with a cost). They offer according to the wedding show perks... ... I just cross my finger and hope that my AD will go well... ...

bluerosie

I am OH btb this Dec. Have seen the bridal suite during their open house beginning this year. Was really a huge 1 with bedroom n 'living room' 'separated' but the dressing table is v narrow n next to the common toilet

pinkglove

yeah, great to see the thread moving.. I'm thinking of OH also in 2011 =)
Jes, when did you sign up? I'm thinking whether to sign up this show or just wait for the next one cos it's like majority of the hotels don't have their pricing out yet and my htb was wondering whether we shld wait to see if there are better promotions.
Hi jaq, got dressing table not bad, cos some of the hotels we went to doesn't even have a proper dressing table..

Are you guys going to hold ur solemization tgt on AD and did you all ask for more parking coupons or other perks?

baobei07

ya, glad to see the thread moving :p
I just signed up last month, reason for signing is that the date tat i choose seems to be a "hot" day (maybe its a sat) and it is in Jan 2011. So if u are choosing a date whereby it falls on a sat, better "act" fast. You are right, most of the hotel pricing is not out yet and they are not open for booking in 2011. my five cents worth comment is that if u like it, grab it. Actually the perks offered in the wedding show is gd enough alr.

Jaq, post ur photos for us to see after ur wedding pls... ...

bluerosie

joe:fr wat i know, the ballrooms r fully booked for dec.so u haf to check w them fast which dates nt taken.

pinkglove:ah..so far I never seen bridal suite w no dressing table wor..feel OH's quite pathetic already.
I am holding my ROM on same day after my customary.But in temple.
Depends on wat perks u wan n dun wan, can neg with ur coordinator. I looking forward to my food tasting tonight.Western dinner..hope they do a gd job.
jes: will post some if able to

pinkglove

yup, am looking for sat..

Jaq, got leh.. holiday inn parkview don't have den a few others i don't really remb liao..

Jaq, Do keep us updated on ur food tasting =)

happy106

I'm also OH bride.. AD on Mar 2010.. I'm taking ballroom 1 & 2.. So far my experience with OH is pretty good, Haze is very patient towards me and prompt to my queries and request..

Going for food tasting next month.. Anyone who has been to the food tasting or AD for chinese food, let me know your feedback for the food.. I'm still having headache over the menu selection..

pinkglove

hello booy, good to hear that your experience has been good so far, I've also been talking to Haze and she's very prompt in replying emails..

Are you having your solemization on the same day as well?

happy106

Pinkglove> My ROM is over... I find that it is a bit too rush to be on the same day and I need the cert for my new home.. So I separated the solemnisation event.

toothie

Hey Booy!!

Just had my food tasting recently,A must try for their roast chicken dish!! really crispy and tender chicken..I chose fried udon, however it taste a bit burnt. I changed the noodle to the normal yee noodle, hopefully it will taste better. Overall Hua Ting food taste fine however, one issue to work on, that is their food presentation.. the presentation of food was rather disappointing... they do not really make effort to "Style" and garnishing their dishes, looks like normal tze chye stall from coffeeshop.. So I guess, you need to push a little bit more on their presentation. Have food with your food tasting ya!!

happy106

Toothie> thanks for the review.. crispy chicken is one of the dish that I temp chosen as well.. I choose yee noodle but find that it's a bit boring though, dun dare to try the udon.. Looks like must really work a bit on food presentation, but dunno how to advise on this manz.. It's difficult to teach art! Hahah..

pinkglove

hi Booy, agree that it might be a bit rush on e same day.. as for me, im a lazy bride, I tink it's too troublesome to have it on 2 separate days.. hehe.
Btw, toothie, u taking which ballroom? Have you guys heard the sound system? is it ok? Cos the ballroom's long and my htb's concern w the sound effect..
we are actually still undecided between OH and york hotel cos york hotel, though prices for 2011 not out yet but shld b sig. cheaper den OH but i prefer OH's ballroom..