Orchard Hotel

bigkev1981

Hi geminiger, mine is 17 May 09. Had gone through several days of waiting before locking down this day as there was suppose to be a dnd in one of the ballroom. as i needed all 3 ballrms, took quite sometime before getting the AD. the next best day for my wife and I would be in dec 09 but dun want to wait too long, bcos we have bought our hse and is already in the midst of renovation. when is yours. i may setting up a blog to document the hse and wedding prep.

geminiger - i think their theme still the usual 3, 1 dark color one, 1 is crystal theme if i dont remember wrongly.

for those who want to see photo of Ballroom 3 can go to my multiply.

id: ultrajoleen

geminiger

hi kevin: mine is on the 16 may...one day before urs...taking ballroom 3...

joleen: the crystal one is the bell at the center stage one right?

spikez_rulez

Anyone having their AD in orchard hotel on 3 Oct?

Understand from my friend whom had their wedding before at OH mention that the holding area is very messy when 2 weddings are held at the same time. Guests went to the wrogn room etc... kinda funny though!

Any comments?

geminiger - yes the crystal theme comes w wedding bell. how u feel? honestly speaking i dont like any of the theme but then once again, i dont agree to topping up to have special set up lor.. =(

so which theme u probably thinking of having?

spikez - such situation cant be helped as 2 different wedding takes place. so most importantly we need to inform our helpers manning the reception to be extra cautious to check with guest if they are attending so n so's wedidng..

escalator will lead to ballroom 3 directly which probably going to be more straightforward ba...

which ballroom u taking??

geminiger

hi joleen: i think i will be taking the crystal theme...not much of a choice right? there is one with red and black colour theme one but elderlys might not like it..

did they throw in free montage for you?

spikez: yup..agree with joleen..there will be two weddings on my AD also...felt abit sian coz think will be messy but no choice..mine is ballroom 3 so think not so bad since it is nearest to escalator..

geminiger

762932.jpg
762933.jpg

joleen: i saw this from someone who has posted this here..is this the theme u r referring to?

yup this is the theme, i find this is the most dainty them out of the 3. ya initially oso tot of using the black color theme.. but think think... like dont really blend in... cos i would like something like crsyalite theme but their layout dont really look so glamourous kind hor.. hope next yr they can change theme. lol

i got the free montage. will u be using it? i thinking will pass them the photos to prepare but we will do our own version as well... kakaka

do u remb where will be the projector?? 1 or 2 ah??

geminiger

joleen: ya lor..i guess this is the "best" so far..they have been using the 3 themes for more than two yrs le right? hope they can change to something better for next yr..

yup..will be using their montage ba..too "lazy" to do it on my own... :p

the projector will be only 1 for ballroom 3.. it will be placed at the left side of the ballroom (not at the center of the stage coz the bell will be blocking)the screen will be quite big hence dun need the projector thingy is an issue..

u still rem the wedding favours for guests?? i rem a luggage tag, a cherry-like photo holder and one more which i cant rem le...think i prefer the tag..

but those sitting near to the entrace will be able to view the screen????

yes the luggage tag n card holder
i love both lei
i hope ny my time they have tons of it lor
u think they will replace or not
partly sign up cos of these lor... =(

geminiger

nope...think it is opposite the entrance...so shld be ok..u have their floor plan? i can send it to u if u need..

my hubby dun like the card holder..i dun know if they have more in 7 months time...sian...

u think we have made the rite choice choosing OH? frankly i abit sian now with another wedding beside mine...

bingo99

hi suzanna

my AD is also 26 Dec 2009. Call up OH yesterday and they says the ballroom is still available. Will be going down to see the CO later this afternoon.

tksl

hi bingo~ hee.. if u really sign up, then we will be neighbours for the night..

aniwae, i took up ballroom 3. the small one. think the only ballroom left will be ballroom 1 + ballroom 2, minimum 40 tables.

let me know on the updates of the meeting ya?

bingo99

Hi Suzanna

The ballroom is nice. ya. left ballroom 1 and 2. I am still considering to take up anot. my concern is that it is a 8 course dinner and not 9 course. not sure if my guests will be full after the dinner anot. and also not sure if the dinner will end too fast as only 8 dishes (faster than the photo taking session etc).

i going to see Le Meridien later this evening. Will decide between these 2.

wat make u choose OH? can share with me? the perks she offer is quite standard. nothing fancy.

geminger - i have no regret so far.. as we already well aware of the our neighbour lor.. no choice la.. cos we dont have many tables so not a lot of reputable hotel can do it de...
u dont think like this, be happy to look forward..

i really hope their wedding favors will still have wor...

yes please send me a copy of the floor plan.. my email is

tksl

hi bingo.

i signed up with them while they were still having their 2008 prices + during their wedding show. my partner and i juz felt comfortable with it, so we juz signed up on the spot lo..

dun make a hasty decision.. afterall, its a big big sum of money..

jo23

Hi, I m an ex bride of OH! A happy and satisfied one indeed.
We had our wedding at ballroom 1 and 2, beside us, there were another wedding at ballroom 3 and also solemuniation wedding at 1 or 2 of the function rooms.
Dun worry abt hearing e other ballroom sound, basically we heard none.
Dun worry abt mess up with another wedding beside u cos beside ur recept, ur photo helping to guide guests to the correct ballroom, there are also OH helpers ard, at the escalotor, at the lift asking guests, which ballroom are they heading to and lead them to the correct ballroom.
As for the themes, i signed my package with them in 2006 for my wedding on Nov07. They shown me a series of themes. After which, when the date get nearer, i was shown a new series of themes to choose from. Thus i believe the themes used now is consider less than 2 yr old?

The banquet manager will be able to assist to gauge the flow and speed of the serving of course to ensure everything run smoothly. And also the serving was alot that some of my guests even tabao the last dish cos no more space for it!

It will be a great experience there, just enjoy urself, dun worry gals!

spikez_rulez

Thanks for the comments Joleen / Germiniger.

Mine will be in ballroom 1 & 2. Jus hope on that actaul day things will not be too messy... hee...

when is your AD?

tris_toh

Hi Joleen, my CO is Haze. She very friendly lady.
I also tink that 9 course menu will be better, but they only offer 8 course.

bingo99

is a 8 course dinner. actually quite expensive for 8 course dinner. normally is 9 course. i talk to the CO. she says can add another dish to make it 9 course but will be extra cost.

geminiger

joleen: ya..agree with you..we signed up knowing that we might have another wedding next door..hence just make do
check out ur mail!!

jo: thanks much for sharing!! mind to share with me some photos of the ballroom at [email protected]?

spikez: mine is on 16 may 09..anyone out there taking the same date as mine? :p

tksl

bingo, my one is 8-course dinner, and it doesnt include dessert leh. i dunno whether you have the saturday package, got one more dish leh. think its abalone.

Jo> great to hear about the positive thing to clear our queries. m sure it does make many BTB here a lot more settled... =D that include me

Yup i mentioned to my hubby that must make sure the blown up photo must be put in the correct place. BTB oso need to make sure brief ur helpers about it and if cant find the names on the list, dont panic n politely ask the guest if they attending the correct wedding wor.. =D

so no worries all BTBs...

i cant remember if my is 8 or 9 course but my is a weekend package, got the abalone de... still thinking which dish to swop..
did any one here took the weekend package? any suggestion which dish to swop is the best?

Tris > great, mine oso Haze... =D so when probably u deciding to meet up w haze to discuss the wedding thingy? i got no clue when wor...

bingo99

Hi Suzanna

I have checked and double confirmed with my CO. She told me is 8 course dinner with dessert. I read the booklet she gave me. Is 9 course. Sign. Maybe she is blur. Feel that she is not professional also.
Anyway, I have signed up with Le Meridien. Not your neighbour for AD liao.

chewawa

there's also another wedding on my AD. i'm using ballroom 3. also has the same concern that the reception area will be v crowded.
my AD is on 28dec08. there are wedding dinners back to back from 26dec. it's during festive season, i'm afraid it will be taxing for the OH staff. so if have enough manpower, i'll place more relatives, friends n colleagues at the reception area. at least they can help to guide the guests to the right ballroom.

has anyone seen their bridal suite?

geminiger

angieng: i did...wanted my coordinator to bring me up..so far ok..my concern is same as urs..but since we are aware that there might be another wedding going on before we sign up..just accept it ba..jo has reassured us that it shld be fine

so lets hope for the best ya

i saw their bridal suite as well.. looks bit crampy as compared to their deluxe room as i had a free stay and they given me a FOC upgrade to deluxe room, viewable in my multiply. =D

how many nite stay u gal have?

geminiger

1 nite..u mean deluxe room is better dan bridal suite?? what's ur ID for multiply? i remembered they have a living room and one bedroom only right??

jo23

hi gal, as far as I know shld be given bridal suite. With a living room and bedroom seperate. Btw, I had a friend took up OH as their wedding venue too! Theirs is at next yr Mar thou.

my multiply id is ultrajoleen

my personal opinion only but their deluxe room dont have the separate room but in term of overall presentation seem like i prefer their deluxe room.

anyone requested for helper room?

great to hear more pp taking up OH

chewawa

i dun get a chance to view their bridal suite. it's always occuppied when i was there. i only know that the suites r at level 17 and there are at the same wing as the ballrooms. tt's gd at least i dun have walk very far to change my gowns.

i've got the helpers' room. it is a standard room n auto free upgrade to deluxe room upon availablity. dunno who should i give this room to.

i've selected the luggage tag as the wedding favours. it's the most practical and nice among the 3 favors. but the colour doesn't really match the theme i've selected. dun care lah.... i like the luggage tags. their previous wedding favors were bottle cap opener n mirror if i remembered correctly. v cute.

chewawa

hi geminiger, really hope the reception area will not b very crowded on my AD. cos most of the guest should be coming up by the escalator near ballroom 3 exit.

there're lifts that go straight to ballroom 1 & 2 if i remember correctly. maybe those using ballroom 1 & 2 can get their guests to use the lifts instead if it's convenient. yesterday met up wif my CO. i can check wif her again on the lifts.

jo23

Ya ya! mine was bottle opener! cute!
The lifts are at the same side of the escalator. So basically guests come from the same side be it they take the escalator or lift.

i oso like the luggage tag but dont know by my turn, still have or not.. sian lei..
i signed up partially for the wedding favors lor. =(

helpers room if realy no one to give, then u can consider asking ur parent to stay there for the nite???

btw have 3 favors meh?? tot only see luggage tag, and the grape lookalike card holder? what is the 3rd one?

yes there is lift that link to the end near to Ballroom 1 & 2
perhaps for those who worry enter wrong ballroom shd highlight to guest or ask coordinator to indicate on their notice panel.

chewawa

yup it's gd to highlight to guests of all the lifts n escalator available. cos i've heard people sit through the dinner without realising they are in the wrong ballroom. kekeke.....

i signed up OH package cos of the availability of the date we wanted, it is pillarless n high ceiling. my in-laws like it very much. the wedding favors then also was also v cute. the thrid wedding favor is an green apple candle.

geminiger

hi angieng: i didnt know abt the lift near ballroom 1 n 2..btw is urs ballroom 1/2?

i didnt get any helpers' room leh..is it inclusive in the package by OH?

i personally like the luggage tag too but the colour not very nice tot :p see if they have anything new next yr.. i heard from coordinator the cherry like card holder is an idea that OH has come up with hence "exclusive from oH"

really? i like the cherry card holder the best followed by luggage tag holder. really praying hard for the availability of it till sep next yr

gals, i heard news that F1 will start next yr on 27th Sep.. my AD! i am really worried about attendance n traffic! sad sad sad....

chewawa

hi geminiger,
i'm using ballroom 3. the helpers' room is included in the mar 2008 package. when did u sign ur package?

hi joleen, dun worry too much. the dates of F1 not confirm yet. everything will be fine. most important thing is to be a happy bride! =)

geminiger

hi angieng: i signed up my wedding package in april 08..under wedding show package..peaks includes free red wine, n total 9% rebate of total bill..but no helper's room leh

hi joleen: u mean F1 is in spore next yr too? ya..no worries for now..since date is not confirm ya..

nope it been confirmed actual day for F1 next yr will be 27th Sep, my hubby told me de.. =(

geminiger > u got 9%? wat is the max rebate %?