Orchard Hotel

mrs_tan_to_be

hi sotong gal,
i think i will give up on orchard hotel. HIPV give me alot of great perks and better than orchard. guess no fate with them...

Thanks anyway!!

geminiger

hi hui ling: missed ur msg as i was not online the past few days..not sure if there will be any perks since wedding show is over. anyway, u mentioned that HIPV offered more perks? just curious what did they offer? tot OH's perks is already very attractive

daphne_ang

Hi, I have been to Orchard Hotel for my company's D&D and I think the food there is good. How's the package at OH like?

And I'm curious about the perks at HIPV too, care to share? Thank you.

smallbell

Hi, am going to sign up with OH on 3rd Oct 2009, ballroom 3. Am concern about the noise bcos, ballroom 3 is next to ballroom 1&2. Any comments?

Checked with my CO, Elleen.. she say no issue because ballroom 1&2 stage will be at the far end of my ballroom.... Not v sure though........

sotong_gal

hi bell,
hmm.. should be no issue..
maybe u might wanna check with ure CO whether is ballroom 1&2 taken up tat day..
Just feel that if there's 2 weddings on the same day.. the escalator area will be a bit crowded..

smallbell

Thanks Sotong gal..
Well there will be another wedding/function.. cos its a Sat..
Well keep my finger crossed that everything will be okie =)

xxling

Hi All, one of the terms & condition stated in the contract stated as follow:
Damage or Loss (Hotel) - the client or any person attending the scheduled funtion hall shall be responsible for any loss or damage to ALL hotel properties, & the cost of replacement/repair may be included in the final bill

Is this normal? This is a very disadvantage against us right? Eg. accidental spillage of wine in the ballroom

Pls advise

tksl

hi Zero, i spoke to my coordinator abt this.. i tried v hard to remove this term.. but unfortunately, OH is very strict with this ruling.. my coordinator did tell me that investigation will be made and that they will not bill us if the fault does not lie with us.. i guess this clause is juz to protect their rights and i believe most hotels, if not all, have this clause

xxling

Thanks Suzanna! at least we know we are not alone facing this "disadvantage" clause

One suggestion is to do a thorough check with the ballroom prior dinner to ensure they don't accuse us for any damage not done by us. So when is your AD?

tksl

np zero!

hmm. i agree with you.. but leave these things to our xiong dis and jie meis.. we are supposed to be pretty pretty on that day.. haha

aniwae, my AD's 26th dec 09.. yours?

xxling

Waa Suzanna, yours is a nice date after Christmas! Mine is 21Sept09
Since my big day come first, i shall keep u update on any happenings on my AD and preparation etc ..

BTW, r u required to settle the full bill straight after the dinner?

dear0724

hihi.. my AD is 27th Dec! N i heard tt there is another wedding on the same date.. guess it will be v crowded..

BTW, can anyone advise on the food and service of the hotel?

ngohyeo

Hello, mine on 10 Dec 09. looks like a few of us are Dec BTB, heehee.

ok! Feedback from my frens they mention their food quite good. Service not quite sure thou

tksl

zero.. after christmas i also scared ppl too drunk during christmas den no-show leh.. stress also... btw, the bill is to be settled after dinner.. think by cash or credit card.. card more worth it la.. can claim points mah..

celest.. i never hear anything abt weddings in dec 2009.. i asked my coordinator.. but she say dunno yet.. haha.. which ballroom u using? me using the smallest one.. ballroom 3 i think.

food-wise, its good when i visit as a customer.. but dunno if mass-production will result in "less-than-satisfactory" taste.. but i doubt so la.. coz their chinese restaurant is well-known one...

chewawa

my AD is on 28 dec. i'm taking ballroom 3 too. oso hv the same worry of filling up 25 tables cos friends and colleagues may not be back from their vacations.

heard that their services is gd and food not bad. any idea how many months in advance we'll start to confirm the theme for the banquents?

dear0724

Mine is Ballroom 1 and 2.. hmm.. actually i went there for wedding dinner twice after i sign up wif orchard. Seems like the food and service are not up to standard.. and my frens mostly agree.. so i m quite disappointed then.. haiz.. hope everything will be ok during my big day! hehhe

Btw Suazanna, my wedding is on 27th dec 08, not 09!=)

xxling

Suzanna, dont worry. 1 week before, double confirm with your guest & the day before ur AD, remind them again. Should not have problem

Hi All, i attended wedding twice at OH too. Food is good however service is bad

Becoz all the waitress r part-timer & 1 waitress serve/handle 3 tables. So service is slow & they r not so attentive.

sillydolphin

Hi all, I just returned from my mini honeymoon and had my wedding dinner at orchard hotel. Everything went very smoothly for me and my hubby.... Had putting green as our solemnisation place. good weather, nice location. Alll guests say nice! Had very nice feel of my solmenization. Food for dinner i would say is very individual. Maybe not as nice as last time, but still not bad. Afterall, different ppl taste. this point i am very certain therefore i am not too concern on this. service wise, have not heard any complaints from my guests. But the service of my corrdinator Annie and Banquet executive is Reallly good! Annie is easy going. No attitude. Oscar Wong, our banquet executive on the wedding nite is really great! he liaise more with my hubby and my hubby was very happy with his service and gave him a big ang bao. He played a very imp role on the nite and did it very well. Our suite is not bad, nice. Just a message, try not to allow too many ppl to your suite. cause its already a busy evening and some friends or relatives will just dash into ur room and bed and prevent u from doing things fast. Overall for my wedding everything went very smoothly, just some human factor issues which made tt day not so perfect. Well, that's human. cant be helped. anyway tt's my feedback. Great relieve after wedding. Gals... hold on and enjoy your wedding nite! Orchard hotel is good...
))

chewawa

Hi dolphin,

i'm also holding my solemnisation at the orchard hotel b4 my wedding dinner. can chk wif u wat's the capacity of the rm and do u get to choose the decoration of the rm?

u mention abt the food not as nice as last time. r u comparing to that during food tasting or when u attended a wedding there?

sillydolphin

hihi... i had my solemnization at putting green which is open air place at 4th floor. They would use the same decor as what u have chosen for ur ballroom. I cant remb if they have placed the flower stands but the colour of the chair cover and table cloth are the same as wat i have chosen for dinner. Its big but i only cater for 35 pax cause i only invited close friends and relatives to our ROM.

Food, i mean comparing to years back. Years back its very nice i heard. But now not tt bad too. Places like fullerton may sound nice, but i really dun think the food is nice. But then again, there are ppl who thinks tt the food is nice. so its very individual. Food tasting, the food was not as good as actual day. Esp the shark's fin. But they did take our comments and make it better.

No worries gals, orchard hotel is good. My hubby and I had very happy wedding dinner there..

juztea

Hello, are any of you worried that if you take ballroom 1 & 2, then the Ballroom 3 have another wedding? Will it be very cramped & noisy, dont want later i march in, can hear next door yum seng le..

jummiss

Actually I've registered to this site for quite awhile and has been learning alot from just reading the posts. Now its time for me to be apart of it..

I am thinking of doing either a buffet lunch or sit down dinner at Orchard Hotel. Does anyone has any info. on 2009 packages to share?

Please send them to [email protected]. Would really appreciate the help. How early do we have to reserve the date anyway?

Thanks alot..

Regarding 2009 package, i have been there and find the package nothing fantasic. Prices is steep with no hotel stay .... disappointed, in the end i took up rom package with RP

tksl

garfield, what do you mean by no hotel stay? u mean the bridal suite not provided meh?

anyway, anyone here whose coordinator is haze? mine had some change, so its changed to haze now.. I have yet to liase with her.. juz wanna know how she's like. :p

ngohyeo

suzanna: mine is Haze, i find she's veri approachable and friendly too. So no worries.

dolphin: issit FOC for using the venue at 'Putting Green' on ur AD?

ngohyeo

suzanna: mine is Haze, i find she's veri approachable and friendly too. So no worries.

dolphin: issit FOC for using the venue at 'Putting Green' on ur AD?

tksl

ashes, my deposit was 5k.. i think roughly this price one.. 3k-5k is a good estimatation...

sotong_gal: confirm muz pay for putting green venue if i wanna use it for my soleminzation before AD? my previous coordinator say no need leh~

sorry gals, i seldom log in here to check

anyone still needs the package? terribly sorry abt it.

i m oso using ballroom 3, but guess shd be ok since the escalator is directly to our ballroom..

Noise level, i seen other bride comment that there isnt, so can only cross finger..

My coordinator oso Haze, pretty nice lady but can be little bit sotong at time but very helpful =)

U mean the package now dont come w free bridal suite?

sotong_gal

suzanna,
sorri for the late reply..
hmm.. i called to ask them.. they say need wor..
i tink u better check with ure coordinator..
so when's ure big day??

crab_era

Does anyone have a video montage (done by OH) that I can have a sneak preview on? it's one of the perks they are giving for the upcoming wedding show.

Also, anyone corresponded with the coordinator XueLing before?

wat is putting green venue?

any one w AD coming up soon? is the door gift still the same? i worried all finished le cos my AD is next yr Sep

prissie_tan

Has anyone already held their wedding dinner at ballroom 3?
Would like to see pictures of the layout.
Me & HTB are interested to book with OH but worried the tables will be cramp as the ballroom looks small & longish.

treegirl

I understand ballrooms are all joined together..will there be any confusions if 2 weddings are held and any instances where u can hear what is happening at the other ballroom?

geminiger

i have confirmed my booking for ballroom 3 with OH for next yr and understand that there might be another wedding at ballroom 1 and 2.

my concern now is not sure if it will be "messy" that day with two weddings going on

huangren

Any one knows about the term in the contract that says hotel has right to change location and if not accepted, customer has to pay cancellation fee?

tris_toh

I also signed up with Orchard Hotel for my Wedding.
My AD is 27 Sept09 & is using Ballroom 1&2.
Hope my guest dont walk into wrong room on tat day.

geminiger

eugene: i was just looking at the contract..nothing like that mentioned in the contract..except the charges to pay in any event that we cancel the wedding 3/6 mths before the AD...

trish: have u check if there is another wedding going on for that day?

bigkev1981

Hi all, guess i have to say i have been using this forum quite alot for research purposes. I have signed up with OH for my AD in May 2009. Was wondering if anyone here negotiated for better terms or incentives from OH