Novotel Clarke Quay

Hi All, me and my hubby some sort of have choose NCQ for our wedding lunch coming up this 29th nov.. but we have not called our coordinator yet. just before i sign up, anything to take note or remind our coordinator?

Hi Vi! Mine also wedding lunch hee

no need, upon signing up with them, they will assign either Huiling or Kevin as ur coordinator. They will liaise with u everything till ur big day. Just make sure the terms of the contract are ok and it reflects whatever 'freebies' that u have managed to negotiate from them.

hi thomas! thanks for the deposit thingy! we are served by huiling when we went there to take a site visit. guess will go back to her. actually not much freebies, all stated clearly on the quote. how about wedding favours? huiling told me there will be new favours coming up thus she never show it to us when we are there.

Hi, I think they will confirm the favours w you nearer to the AD, say 1 or 2 mths, cos they might have change or have new ones...if u are concern abt the favours, can still ask her la...

for the contract wise, see if u want them to put in the rates of rm or the corkage pr...cos till then maybe revise?? not sure...so far no complains abt this.

icic, cos thinking of buying our own favours, nvm, will check with her when we go and sign up. thanks alot guys and gals!

vi: no prob! yup, freebies are quite rigid, can't really squeeze them much too. Wedding favours I must say they do have quite a lot of variety, in fact more than those other hotels I went to when we were sourcing for our banquet venue hahahahhaa...heard from her that there will be new favours coming out next yr too! She will let us know by that time and we will get to choose hehe

Good Morning all! Wah thomas, now then i realise ur wedding is mar 2010!! so fast booked ur venue liao! haha, mine planning nov 09 and yet i have not booked. still have to keep chasing my hubby to speed up! will update u guys the outcome once i sign up. thanks!

Hi all, i juz had my food-tasting session last nite.. all went quite well, both set of parents/families are quite happy with the food.. jus sharing with you guys, here's the menu we set and my personal comments:

(1) Grand Lobster Platter (Spring Roll, Jelly Fish, Mini Octopus, Egg Omelet): Presentable. Everything is nice except for the Jelly Fish, some portions tasted quite bland. Will be asking for more spicy sauce to be added.

(2) Braised Premier Moon-Cut Shark's Fin with Fresh Crab Meat and Roe: The soup texture was pretty good, not starchy. The fins and roe were definitely visible, hope the same standard is applied on our AD next month. Qty wise, it's juz one serving bowl per person.

(3) Roast Crispy Chicken flavoured with Deep-Fried Garlic: Everyone loves this dish! May not look that good, but taste great!

(4) Steamed Red Garoupa "Hong Kong Style": Great dish too, even my HTB who doesn't like fish find it tasty. The fish is of a good size and bery fresh, hence, the light soya sauce complimented well. Hope the standard remains unchanged on my AD..

(5) Vegetarian Deluxe: Our mistake, thought of trying it out since it appear to be the most exp veg dish in 2010 menu. The dish uses quite common ingredients which may not be presentable for a banquet. Will be changing this to spinach or broccoli for our AD.

(6) Poached Live Prawns: Qty and size of the prawns were good, hope it remain unchanged. We are sticking to this, for presentation sake, despite the hassle of peeling.

(7) Wok-fried Ee-Fu Noodles with Yellow Chives and Straw Mushrooms: Tasted ok to us as well, but qty wise, it's juz one serving per person. Mixed comments here, some family members says we should have more in case the guest din have enuff to eat, some family members says ple dun normally finish this dish.

(8) Yam Paste with Gingko Nuts: They mixes the sugar syrup into the yam paste to form a smooth paste (not the thick kind we usually eat tho). Taste wise it's ok, but what I find disturbing is the qty. It's again one serving per person only.

Overall, we were pretty happy with the food quality, all the dishes tasted pretty nice. But I'm not sure if the food tasting session standards apply to all the AD tables. What I personally felt uncomfy was the qty. I felt they were a little short, every dish was wiped out. We had 9+1 persons last nite, and my HTB's little nephew only had a mouth or two for each dish.

Hope this review helps you guys on deciding your dishes! =)

Hi Starskyz (starskyz), heard that the portion are all just nice one hor. also worried my guests are still hungry after the last dish.
Did u ask if we were to ask them to make the portion bigger, what are the charges like??

vi, most if not all the hotels are booked for end 2009 weekend banquets, prob those still available for bookings are only weekday dates. Better act fast if you still intend to hold urs in nov 2009...I booked mine during BOWS mah hahaha...

star: hmm ur post confirms our fears that quantity is really not enough...did u ask them to increase the quantity for ur AD next mth? Not having enough food to go round is really a disgrace to us Chinese...older generations are very particular abt this, dun let them have a chance to talk behind ur back when everything is over...

Me and my FW have actually asked them abt this when we signed up with them during BOWS, they assured us it's def enough for 10 pax. Told us to remind them again when we are having our food tasting.

vi, they did not mention anything abt extra charges when we asked them during BOWS. Can't update on this until my food tasting next yr.

Hehee, i already hold the date and room. thus should be quite confirmed. Just that need to go down again to do all the paper work.
i remind them again about the food part. ya truely a disgrace if your guests left still feeling hungry. worst to worst, i try to add another dish. already upgraded my fish for additional $40 per table..

hi all, any of you enquire abt muslims and vegetarians? i just got this from huiling: "Note: Each person will be chargeable additional 10% of the package with 5 course menu" for halal/vegetarian...

so the table with a muslim or vegetarian will be (example) $800+$80? if 2 in that table will be $800+$160? that would be scary...

anyone can help to clarify?

table arrangement will be impt. Would recommend either one table of muslims/vegetarian or if not enough to make a table, you can add in one person, to make it 11 persons, i.e. $package + 10% package price.

Do not ever put 8 chinese and 2 muslim, etc.. cos the package will be the same price for the 8 person + 2 muslim (20% of the package price)..

vi: I see...that's good. What fish did u upgrade to? red garoupa like starskyz?

aroh: yes u are right, so either u convert one table to all muslims/vegetarians (no extra charges for that) or try to minimize the no. of muslims/vegetarians in that table. The more u add, the more u have to pay if u can't make up a full table...

for us, my FW has a muslim colleague so no choice, we have to pay additional 10% for her (on top of the nett table price)

evergreen, so if it's 9 chinese + 1 muslim also $800+$80? 10 chinese + 1 muslim also total $880?

if all 10 are muslim/vege? $800 or $880 or $1600?

I did my food tasting before CNY, and I had no major complaints from my family about the food.

I changed my seafood dish to the yam ring, and did not regret the choice, as my hubby and I (both yam haters) actually found the dish quite delicious. One word of caution though, if you are taking the yam ring, you might not wish to take the yam paste as dessert as that could be yam overkill.

My food tasting was actually delayed for almost two hours as some of my guests were caught in a jam. However, even though there were 10 super-hungry adults on the table, the food portion served was definitely enough during the food tasting. Only the sharks' fin and dessert was served in individual portion. The rest were all placed in the serving dish on the table. My hubby and parents were able to get extra portions of the yam ring, and there was left over dessert in the serving bowl that was about 1 portion's worth so my uncle had two bowls of dessert.

The ee-fu noodles, we told the waitress to just leave on the serving dish. All 10 of us filled our bowls with noodles, and yet there was about 1/4 of the noodles remaining (so we tabao :D).

Overall, I would say, 8/10 for the food tasting and quantity.

aroh: if u can convert one table to all muslims/vege, then it will be the nett price of ur one table i.e. $800 (no extra charges)

9+1 or 10+1 is the same price as long as that table, not all are Chinese. The extra charges is bcos the chef still has to cook separately for those muslims/vege and it's a lot of work just to cook for 1 (or 2), so that's why it's chargeable at 10% more.

zero: my thoughts exactly! We have changed to yam ring, so dun think dessert will have yam paste again. Prob will settle for the mango sago or sth else...what dessert are u having? nice to hear from u that the portions are enuff though

ar....still blur...hahaha...after lunch i call huiling to clarify...then ask her confirm it with email so no confusion...

thanks guys!

i upgrade the fish to normal garoupa. red garoupa more expensive right?? wah.. did not know that muslim table is so expensive le.. cos thinking give voucher (like those babies' full month voucher) to my malay colleagues. cos i've checked with one of my malay colleague, they understand that its a problem to cater for them. thus they dun mind not attending.

aroh: aiyo how come u still blur? tot I explained everything to u so clearly liao? hahahahhaha....

Vi: I see..it's not a problem to cater for them as long as u got $$$...$$$ talks hahahhahaha....

i work better with examples...sorry ah...my brain cannot turn that fast...

ok...i put these examples u guys help mi fill in price: (assuming $800 per table)

1. 1 table of 5 Muslims/Vege = $800?
2. 1 table of 8 Ch + 2M/V = $960?
3. 1 table of 10 Ch + 2M/V = $1160?
4. 1 table of 10 M/V = $800?

1. 1 table of 5 Muslims/Vege = $800? by right it's 80*5=$400 (Usually, will try to fill up the table to 10?)
2. 1 table of 8 Ch + 2M/V = $960? $960
3. 1 table of 10 Ch + 2M/V = $1160? $960
4. 1 table of 10 M/V = $800? yes

quick update for all..

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>Ballroom</TD><TD>Coordinator </TD></TR><TR><TD>zer061zer0</TD><TD>01-May-09</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>poohise</TD><TD>03-May-09</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hui</TD><TD>08-Jun-09</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Huiling </TD></TR><TR><TD>Michelle</TD><TD>27-Jun-09</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>aroh</TD><TD>20-Sep-09</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Huiling </TD></TR><TR><TD>Queen</TD><TD>25-Oct-09</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Huiling </TD></TR><TR><TD>cheer</TD><TD>25-Oct-09</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Huiling </TD></TR><TR><TD>mmelody11</TD><TD>15-Nov-09</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Genevia</TD><TD>15-Nov-09</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>ixoral</TD><TD>21-Nov-09</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Huiling </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ger Lim</TD><TD>04-Dec-09</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>W&amp;L</TD><TD>04-Dec-09</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>juju</TD><TD>10-Dec-09</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>bahamass</TD><TD>09-Jan-10</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>evergreen</TD><TD>10-Jan-10</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>twinkle</TD><TD>16-Jan-10</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Huiling </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fiona</TD><TD>23-Jan-10</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>natelyn</TD><TD>13-Mar-10</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>Thomas</TD><TD>14-Mar-10</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Huiling </TD></TR><TR><TD>Happy Girl </TD><TD>12-Dec-10</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin</td></tr></table>

When i booked my banquet on 15 nov, i think is a good date bcos it is deevapali and following monday is a PH. They jus announced that deevapali is changed to 17Oct! Faintz! Now my guests have to leave early on tat day bcos next day is a working day liao.

you mean the date is out? where did you see it?

i just went to MOM website and it says
"The 15 November 2009 date for Deepavali needs to be checked against the Indian Almanacs when they become available. The Ministry of Manpower will announce the confirmed 2009 Deepavali Holiday date once it can be determined."

genevia...oops...feel sorry for u...did u pay extra cos it's PH? now it's not PH anymore can neg the price?

evergreen, it's in today's Today...think other papers will put that as well...something abt 2 "no moon" days this year then they decided to take the 1st as deepavali rather than the 2nd...that's y moved 1 month...

i just called HL...if a table all Muslims/Vegetarians...charges will be based on number of people. example 2 and 3 will both be $960...

yup...hee...my mistake for $1160...somehow calculated as $1000 + $160 when it should be $800 + $160...now clear already...phew...thanks hor!!!

too many things in my head now lar...work plus planning for actual day schedule...making sure nothing gets missed...

We sort of anticipating that the Deevapali date may be changed so we did ask Kevin if there are extra charges on tat day. He said the PH charges only applied to Xmas eve+day and New year eve+day.

BUT what we din anticipate is that the date can be one month different! Faintz.

genevia, look on the brighter side.. which means the chances of your guests telling u that they have booked tour on the long holiday.. is not an issue now! hehe.. at least u may not get such a lame excuse when date draws nearer.. ya!

xlan, point noted. Haha.
Come to think of it, is not a bad thing afterall.
Because if next day is a working day, the guests will have to be punctual else they will have to go back late. And i have more time to rest at night..wahaha

yeah...since u din pay extra unlike me...hahaha...enjoy the process and hopefully can get into bed by midnight lor...

my day gonna start at 5.30...7am need to reach wife place already...hope can have a nap before ROM which starts at 6pm...

zero: thanks for the headsup! Will choose cream of mango with pomelo also hehehe

genevia: that's what me and my FW thought of too, that's why we ended up taking lunch over dinner cos we don't want our guests to start leaving even before finishing all the courses as next day still have to work/go school. No regrets taking lunch cos that means that we can also enjoy the bridal suite longer wahahahhahaa....and also go out to Clarke Quay area after our banquet lunch and take more pics hehehe

Thomas: Lunch is a good idea too and you get to enjoy the suite!

Actually, i was contemplating of getting another night for the suite bcos sure cant enjoy it on the first night. But is so ex! Haha..See how nearer the date. Hee.

Wanted to ask those brides who held their wedding in Cinnamon ballroom. Is the march in very short?
As i am going for my gown fittings soon, i was thinking of getting a long train gown but suddenly remember the march-in in cinnamon ballroom seems a bit short for my guests to see my long gown.
Can ex-cinnamon brides share? Thanks.

heh.. ya, i same the same tots.. i might extend another night... then got more time to settle down and enjoy ourselves.. hehe.. the pricing given to me for extension is $300 plus.. but below $400

same here... thot of extendin another nite... but e price of $380++ was discouraging..... as it s quite x.... can go for a short trip to batam/bintan wif tis price....

genevia: haha thanks, we tot so too

ya, for u gals who are having dinner, by the time everything is over will be almost 12am le...after that go shower and will just drop onto the bed cos so tired after a long day. Don't think can enjoy the suite much also, then next day must check out le. Extension is so exp, not worth it so we dropped the idea, rather save the $$$ for other stuff. Lunch is good, after finish everything will only be ard 4pm or so, then the rest of the night belongs to us liao hehehe...

zero> glad to hear that your food-tasting session portions were more than sufficient.. dunno why mine didn't seem so.. perhaps i'm just suay or our families are all big-eaters..

thomas> yah, i think i'll hi-light the food portions to my co-ordinator when we meet. i rather see some left-overs rather than non on the dishes.

yup, I will def highlight to them and make sure there's enuff food to go round on my big day. Don't want to be remembered for all the wrong reasons.