Novotel Clarke Quay

I see...ya Jamie left liao

anyway HL I think also got her fair share of couples liao (based on the list above), maybe wld be a better idea if some went to Kevin instead. Like that then they can concentrate on serving their customers better

Thanks Thommy, for the comments, haha, yah, my hubby is Canadian. His family really enjoyed the wedding.

Ixoral, I used a freelancer PG and VG duo. Very reasonable rates and nice guys, let me know if you're interested in their contacts
They were really useful, they knew the customs and wedding matters better than us!

My PG gave me back my photos within a week after the wedding. There were over 900 photos all in high res, and he printed 300 5R in an album for us as well. Really nice guy, he also brought his own laptop and projector on the day just in case the hotel one broke down.

Hi earthsea, i would like to c ur photos too... but me dun know how to pm u....

queen, sure, we shd keep each other update on our progress ;) since both of us same date... can oso share on e comments on e food tasting...

earthsea: can see that from your pics haha. Nicely taken!

Mine sharing with me ur contact for ur PG/VG? Me also looking ard now for PG/VG hee

earthsea, thank you so much for sharing! u look beautiful n ur hubby dashing too! hee.. envy.. such a lovely couple!

how did u get permission to shoot in the book store?

can I hv ur contact for VG too? we hv a very small budget.. so still searching for a more affordable 1..

cheer, click on her nick and scroll to the bottom, u will see a "Click Here to send a private message to xxx". Click on that and u're done!

evergreen ->> my coordinator is kelvin, pls update

finally, i received my draft contract. haiz, previously i've emailed mico to request to upgrade to bridal suite, but she dont allow (unless min 20 tables)... sob sob... do you guys tink i can ask it from kelvin?

btw, anyone here taking cinnamon room with 18 tables and manage to get to upgrade to bridal suite?

W&L: huh? how come still need to request to upgrade to bridal suite?? we got it w/o even asking Mico for it leh...ours based on min 16 tables somemore in Cinnamon room also.

Once contract is signed liao, very diff to negotiate for anything le...u can try though, no harm.

W&amp;L: initially HL also told me cfm 20 tables then she gimme the upgrade to bridal suite. but i asked her i cfm 19 tables first, later sure increase one. then she throw in the upgrade too. I'm sure u can still ask for it. Tell him u got several friends also hold in NCQ with <20 tables and the other coordinators just gave w/o asking! hehe tell him to be fair to u. :p Since only draft contract means havent sign yet right? Should be able to ask still.

W&amp;L: it's Kevin, not Kelvin...better get his name right if u wanna ask him for the free upgrade haha...

we haven't received the floor plan yet, others all recv already

i havent receive anything from them since i signed last year.. those checklist and stuff all not yet. guess i'll email HL after cny ba

i juz received kevin's reply. He said unless we take higher package (which is either Destiny or Eternity), then will have the bridal suite.

thomas &amp; ixoral ->> what's package u guys taking?

thomas ->> ur original lunch package, do it includes food tasting?

wow earthsea! just saw your photos...nicely taken!! can share your PG &amp; VG contact?

W&amp;L> last yr when I sign, no need to confirm the menu, min 18 tables...and got upgrade...mine is cinnamon also...duno this yr got change or not.

W&amp;L: ours is lunch package, only one type of menu, cannot choose unlike dinner

no, original package doesn't include food tasting, we negotiated for 6pax though FOC

Hi Thommy and Ixoral, have emailed contacts to you. Ixoral, we told Kevin we wanted to take photos in Kinokuniya and Audio House, so he went to ask permission for us.

Kinokuniya said yes (that's why they're my favourite bookstores in the world!) but Audio House said no.

I wanted to take photos around Clarke Quay too, but didn't have time. Otherwise, there's lots of nice places... Fort Canning and Chinatown also very nearby.

hey earthsea, thanks for the contacts! will certainly come in handy hehe.

that's very nice of him to ask for permission first for u!

Ours is wedding lunch so will most prob end ard 4pm or so. FW and myself oredi planned to go Clarke Quay there to take pics after our banquet is over

My sis is getting married soon and she is rather keen in holding her wedding at novotel. Can anyone here share the package and photos?
Thanks a lot!

wah...HL on leave from 21 Jan to 3 Feb...email reply ask to find Kevin...i email Kevin and he's on leave from 24 jan to 8 Feb and his reply is to find HL! Gosh...there's only 2 banquet co-ord and both on leave at the same time???

I had just completed my Wedding on 17th Jan 09 at Novotel Phoenix Grand ballroom. I had a fantastic Videographer who makes mine Wedding montage turns out to be the best compliment whole night long. I will upload to youtube very soon. Will keep you all posted.

Do let me know if you guys want his contact. Very reasonable too.

by the way, I do have some comments on my Wedding Dinner. I will let you guys know as I am not currently settling some issues with them ;(

Thanks Earthsea for the link. very nice pictures!!

I also heard about both taking leave.. but Kevin says there will be no wedding for the 2 weeks during the CNY period. So i think this explains why both wanna go off tgt. believe they have corporate events ppl to answer their queries..

Jaslyn > Congrats! don't mind if you can send the contacts for your VG over. Looking for one also..

Will wait for your comments for the wedding dinner..

Hello brides to be and especially those who have chosen Novotel..i have shortlisted this place and would like to know if the food is good?
Anyone manage to get free flow beer?? Though i read the perks is only complimentary 1 barrel of beer only.

And is Phonenix Grand Ballroom pillarless? Any pictures that you can share esp for those who have held theor wedding there before?

Hi Winnie,

Welcome to this thread!

Me not BTB but can I give my 2 cents here? keke

Food is good as it is prepared by renowned chefs from Dragon Phoenix Restaurant...their specialities are the Yam Ring and Lotus Leaf Rice. Majority of us here have tried to negotiate for free-flow of beer but failed, they are rather rigid when it comes to perks. You can try though, no harm hee.

Phoenix Grand ballroom is pillarless and has high ceiling, very nice and cosy feeling...u can go see for yourself before deciding. After we saw both their ballrooms, my FW and I were sold and we changed our venue to NCQ keke. As for pics, u can PM Earthsea, she just had her wedding at Phoenix Grand Ballroom last month only

p.s. while u are there viewing the ballrooms, u can request them to show u the bridal suite as well, very nice!

hi thomas..thanks for sharing. HTB and i are planning our wedding on Oct 2010 ...so now shortlisting the hotels.

comments on novotel sounds good !
if not you and FW wont choose too..hee hee

Yup i ve PM earthsea. hope i can get to see the photos. i love high ceiling too. BUt are there chandeliers?
I have never been invited to any wedding at Novotel. So i just hope to find out more.

Btw read that you are holding a wedding lunch. Able to send me the quotation. I have only the dinner quotation. Can PM me directly?

hi winnie, no prob! Shortlisting is a fun but quite headache process, we've all been thru this so savour it while u can! haha!

yup although outside looks nondescript, but inside is really nice cos they have just completed major renovations last yr, same as Liang Court who is next to them.

Chandeliers I think have, can't really remember sorry...maybe Earthsea can advise u on this? She shld be able to remember it better than I can haha

Yup we are having a wedding lunch...no need to PM haha, below are the details:

$698 nett per table, min 16, max 24 (for Cinnamon Ballroom)

Only one menu, cannot choose

Standard perks:
Complimentary one barrel of beer (30 litres)
One bottle of wine per confirmed table
20% of confirmed attendance for carpark coupons
Complimentary wedding cards based on 70% of guaranteed attendance (excl printing)

The other perks like wedding favours etc. I did not mention cos they are pretty standard as in every other hotel...what else do u need to know?

Hi Hwee Hwee,

Congratulations! And you are so beautiful in your gowns. I am taking cinnamon ballroom too. How many tables do you have? Do you get to choose the cake? I remembered there were red roses deco on the cake previously.

Wish you a blissful marriage.

hwee hwee >>> thanks for sharing. Very nice photos !!
The ceiling is not very high right? No chandeliers from the photos i saw. But is ok..not really my big concern for all these. The stage isit bug enuff? seems quite ok as you can still play games.

And one projector enuff to view the montage, etc? Its free isn't it?

My concern would be warm and nice food for my guests and my budget is ard $800 per table.

Hwee Hwee...any comments abt the food and everything on that day? isit ok. Do your guests drink a lot of beer? i m afraid if not free flow..we need to fork out a lot more. Times are bad and must budget yet have a nice and memorable wedding still. Hee!~

Are there any theme that we can choose at Novotel?

Thomas i agree that outside its looks "Outta" but inside is nice. I attend seminar there b4...1st impression also "why this place so ugly from outside" haha...inside then i was "not bad" cannot judge a book by cover...haha...

and since Liang Court has been renovated though i haven been there..the feeling that guests will have will not be that bad.

Thomas your wedding lunch package looks attractive to me *smiles*

btw thomas when do you sign up huh?
wedding show @ the hotel or wedding exhibitions those suntec kind?

I heard if sign up at wedding show at that hotel sometimes can get $1k or $2k off total bill...woohoo...but seems that novotel quite strict in their perks...i wont really expect a lot since all have commented on that...

Will continue my shortlisting still and looks fwd to read more comments from all of you !

Hi Winnie, welcome!
there was a wedding show call BOWS that took place about a month ago. there were perks for signing with Novotel and some other hotels.. together with some bridal shops..

If i'm not wrong, the 2010 package that novotel has now is only for 1st half of 2010. not sure is it open for booking for Oct yet.. remember someone commented that she wanted to book for nov or dec... think the tong shu is not out yet.. so they cant determine the auspicious dates..

i miss BOWS 2009 cos overseas.. sob sob.
Have to wait for other wedding roadshows. think vivocity has one on 27-28 Feb to 1 Mar. I know Holiday Inn Parkview is participating. Not sure who else...will check with the hotels. Will ask Novotel if they participating too. So i can enquire as well.

btw anyone know how the 1st dish will be presented?

Any fun fun way of presenting to amuse the guests? And during the march in..any effect used besides the typical dry nice? i was thinking of bubbles machine, dunno if hotel has. Many hotels are using it alr.

winnie,

hweex2 took the Cinnamon Ballroom, it's different from the Phoenix Grand Ballroom (smaller, not pillarless and also no high ceiling). My FW and myself viewed both ballrooms and their bridal suite/deluxe room as well during the recently concluded BOWS2009 and both of us liked what we saw, in fact so much that we even changed our banquet venue the next day by going back to BOWS to sign up with them! haha

Stage for the Cinnamon Ballroom is big enough, if u are looking at Phoenix Grand Ballroom, the stage there is even bigger! Complimentary use of the projector provided by the hotel. Too bad u just missed the recent BOWS, they had a $50 discount nett off every table (for dinner only, lunch no), so after discount each table was only $838 nett (from $888), ard your budget...

Me and FW planning to buy spare bottles of beer on our AD cos their barrel of beer is very expensive, ard $600++. I'd rather pay for the corkage ($6++) per bottle of beer than pay $600++...

NCQ currently has two themes only to choose from: crystal or flower. They told us that next yr may have new themes coming out, will inform us if there is.

Btw we signed up for wedding lunch not bcos we dun wan dinner, but bcos our AD is on a Sunday and we dun want our guests/relatives to rush off before the banquet is over (cos next day is a working day) and also we have overseas relatives flying in for our AD and if we end early, they dun have to rush back home too. Will not be so tiring for them

I heard during the first dish presentation, there is some sort of a dance routine, not too sure cos I read it from this thread. Maybe those whose AD are over can advise? They only have dry ice effect, cos my FW actually asked whether they have a bubble machine as well but they replied dun have haha. If u really want then I guess u gotta buy ur own hahaha...

Keep a lookout for upcoming wedding fairs; Vivo there's one and I heard Suntec also has.

Hwee Hwee, just viewed your AD photos, thanks for sharing with us! I'm holding mine in cinnamon too....wish you &amp; your hb a blissful marriage! ;p

Hi folks. We had our Paris-themed wedding dinner at the Phoenix Grand Ballroom on 11 January. The hotel screwed up badly on a few things (housekeeping and restaurant) but thankfully, Kevin and Liz were accomodating, quick and professional in providing solutions before and during the event. The saving graces no doubt!!.

Hwee Hwee, congrats &amp; thanks for sharing! such a beautiful couple! we signed for the cinnamon too! but recently we think we might have underestimated our guests list, so we're gg to check with Kevin again for the pheonix availability, might considering a change in ballroom if it is still available.. hope it's not gonna b a issue, else tis a big headache!

thomas> for the beer, Kevin mentioned that if the 1st barrel is used up, you buy by jug, instead of barrel.. so maybe you wanna check with them on the pricing of a jug of beer?

Hi darren, care to share more in detail?

xlan>Kevin is currently on leave.. you may wan to check with HL or Mico from the corporate events to get the availability, rather than to wait for kevin to come back from his leave. better to get this thing settled fast..

thanks thomas for sharing. Yup i m going to the wedding fair at Suntec (6-9 Feb) and Vivo (12-15 Feb) to see see.

There is dance for 1st dish ! Thats sounds fun. Cos i might be holding ard 30 tables hence i m likely to get the Phoenix grand ballroom.

I also want to see the ballroom and suites after hearing what you o say - NICE !!! PRETTY !!

Darren >>> Any photos on your wedding ? Cos i might be taking Phoenix ballroom too. Paris theme what do you mean? you created yourself or the hotel helped to meet your needs. and overall how do you rate Novotel service?

Darren> my wedding coming soon, care to share the gitches you met with? I hope it'll help me to keep a lookout on areas they may overlook on.. thanks!