Novotel Clarke Quay

chantique

I'm NCQ BTB also!

just wonder if anyone will use keyboard or other music instrument? I check with huiling, and she said the sound system cannot support it,..is it means I have to rent myself? any reference for sound system and red carpet?

huhu

I am a NCQ btb too. Just send back the contract to Huiling

Regarding the room rate thingy, mine worse, the contract din state at all. But verbally, huiling told me its $195+++

aaronjas

We went down NCQ this evening to meet Huiling to take a look at the place. I must say that I find her a plesant lady who was professional and answered many of our queries. She brought us to all the ballrooms and even the suite for a look. She also gave us some suggestions about how we could hold our solm. She also talked through the package well and presented quite a good deal when we presented her with the possibility that we did not want alcohol for our dinner. We 'pressed' a bit more cos we felt alcohol stood quite a big amount and she told us that she will try and see what she could do for us. She diligently wrote down the points that we talked about.
Overall, she gave us a good impression. I was expecting a hurried person who will always be examining her watch but she turned out to be really nice.

happinessbliss

Hui<My contract also nvr state lor... I regretted not asking Huiling to state everything dwn black &amp; white...now she retracted stuff that she promise us...

Anyone knows if I could change my coordinator? My husband and I feel that we had enough of her... but we did not want to create a big scene, so how???

tinggy

I also having the same problem as you. My package has two nights of Bridal suite. But when i ask Hui ling can exchange one night of bridal suite for 2 standard room for my parents. Hui ling replied cant. One extra night suite can only exchange for 1 night of standard room stay. The math is simply not correct. How can a suite exchange for 1 nighte standard room.

I just realise my contract also state $195++ per night but she quote me $225++. I just emailed her whether i can enjoy the room at $195++. still waiting for her reply.
But as you mention, the contract didnt state subject to change. If she is not gng to give me at $195++. I will write in to the management. If the contract is not gng to hold, then we should complain to CASE. hahahha. sound abit too serious. Let wait for her reply.

xuer21

ya i will too... not wanting to make a big fuss out of nothing.. but hor.. to us brides right.. $ is very impt to us.. how can say increase means increase....

crayongal

hmmm... u gals seem to be having quite abit of prob with the helper's room... hope it gets settled soon.. but actually, i think if you have guests and u book the room via online - asiarooms.com or something.. would it be cheaper dat way?

anyhows, jasmine - u are not taking alcohol.. as in beer and wine all not getting ? so, wat would she be giving in exchg for these ?
shld be quite a gd deal rite.. but they'll calculate based on their cost price for these items la.. i heard barrel of beer, tho' they charge about $600++ it is actually abt $300++ cost only... blehs..

aaronjas

Hi stef, we're not taking any alcohol at all. Eh, she offered a day room for helpers and also fruit juice added to soft drinks and chinese tea. But we're waiting to see if she can give us more stuff. Yeah, it's true about the cost price thing. But we're keeping our fingers crossed.. hehe

rjwedding

think this matter will be sorted out nicely when jamie is back.. think i will wait for her to come back to check with her regarding the room.. what designation is huiling?? since jamie is the banquet sales mgr, think she will have more power..

surelylook09

Hi all Novetel Brides,

Novetel is one of my choice for venue,actually planned to go dwn with my hubby you discuss further with them this weekend.Please advise if there is anything that we shld look out for? Are there really so not able to nego?
Really appreciate if someone could help...

dawson

I think most of us are confuse on the helper rm chargers. i guess we should follow the pirce that stated on the contract.

xuer21

Hi Xiao ding dang, its not we dun wan to follow the price stated but the fact is Huiling or the other coordinators are not following, so what we can do besides enquiring.. no choice lo... till now I've yet to receive her response...

gal80

Hi R&amp;J,

any idea when will jamie be back? In may 08?
Is there really no other coordinator other than Huiling?

Hi Ladies: Also is it an impt factor on who the coordinator is? Dont really want to liaise much with her even if I am to sign up with this hotel as in given that her answers are all 'no' which is expected during our meet up but that alone is disheartening. Like cant expect that she will do much for me in terms of value-added service of her own accord. She did not even offer us a drink whereby we did receive one from other hotels we visit. Not that we are hard up for a drink but that is what we call service lor.

Not only myself, my friend also met up with her lately (cos not wanna influence her with my opinion at the same time hoping that it may be a different outcome) and she gets even worse package perks. Also when my frd asked her abt the negative comment on service posted in the forum, hoping that she can do something or even say something consoling..but what she did was smile..(is tt the best she can do?)how to feel at ease holding it there but keeping our fingers crossed cos' each individual experience may be different.

Given that there is such a big increase in price in pkg from past yrs (which i understand it's inevitable), how can they not have factor in the servers' cost than to ask us to top up more to have 'probable' better service from more servers?

Really set me thinking..and still thinking hard how to convince myself to ignore the above factors and think of the nice ballroom n classy feel as more impt for a wedding venue

Just my few cents worth of opinion.

happinessbliss

R&amp;J< Huiling is an Executive... Her immediate superior is Jaime. I wrote another email to her after she says that they are fully booked for the rooms... I ask her to help and not only to just say fully booked... she replied and say that she will help me keep a lookout... I am keeping my fingers crossed...

surelylook09

Helper room have to pay? i thought is complimentary?Most of the hotel give it for FOC.

hmm anyway i have contact Chris Chong
(Catering Events Manager)instead as he is the one who has replied my email previously, waiting for his reply.
The other time i went down to vist the venue there is another catering manager attended to me and my hubby. Her name is Linda Bakar, i find her service not bad too.She actually told us that we can contact huiling if we wan to further discuss on the pkg.But think i will not contact her after hearing from the negative comment from you girls here.

rjwedding

i'm not too sure when Jamie will be back.. i know she will be back in time for my wedding in Jul.. hopefully she will be back in May.. in time for my food tasting.. hmm.. probably i try contacting huiling to see what she says.. i didn't liaise with her before.. anyway i need to ask about the sound system, so i will give her a call..

anyone had any entertainment during your dinner?? i'm thinking of having something new, but don't know what i can do.. my MIL says wanted something more lively, instead of the boring kind of dinner.. now need to crack my brain for it.. can give me some suggestions or idea??

gal80

Hi dottie,

hope u get to speak to chris instead and have better experience with him.

Anyway Linda is quite new, if I'm not wrong, she wont be able to handle ur query so she will definitely refer u to Huiling.

Hope that I can hold till the wedding show then definitely will get better perks.

ttbrides

hi all btb,

my wedding coming up in 3 mths time, i seldom post msg, but after seeing comments on helpers' room, i would like to share my corrspondent with huiling, this is her reply recently:

"As for the one night stay (Standard Room) is priced at $225++ per room per night, while day-use is priced at $115++ per room from 2pm to 6pm (Standard Room). Please do let me know once is confirmed. (Note: All rooms are subect to availability upon confirmation. Thank you."

my contract also didnt state anything about helpers' room when i sign up with them last year. now im waiting for her to get back to me on the price of the room from 2pm to 8pm. then i share with u all the pricing.

bernice

Actually dealing with huiling is a pleasant one for me.. although the helpers have increased prices and timing have change to 6pm instead. Actually if u do not have sword bearers, helpers room till 6pm is fine. She is offering me conference for the sword bearer to rest and ice water for them to drink.

ttbrides

hi bernice, thanks for your information. i do have sword bearers too, so im asking them to extent till 8pm or so, so the bearers can change after the 1st march in. may i ask how much is the conference room? thats mean after the helpers' room is return at 6pm, the sword bearers will use the conference room after that?

btw, when is your wedding, also in june08?

gal80

Hi dottie,

their wedding show is usually in Sept..but if u worried that the date is taken then u should block/reserve the date with them first then if they cant hold the date for long then u may decide whether to sign up first or not.

Usually they will hold till someone who wants the same date as u and is ready to make payment then they will check if you want to confirm &amp; make pymt or release the date to the other couple.

If you are not so particular abt the perks and the date is very impt to u then u may just sign up cos lately Novotel has been a hot favourite n ur date may be taken up even before the wedding show.

suzgal

Hi Ting,

can share if you sign up at the wedding show? thats y you are entitled to 2 nights' stay?

Any free table for min 30 tables confirmed?

Rgds

bernice

crystal, my wedding on 30th mar 08 soon to come. i did not booked the helpers room since it is until 6pm only, and the conference rm is FOC.

surelylook09

hmmm....Huiling is the oni coordinator there....she just called me. Chris is juz helping her to reply email only.
Meeting her nxt Sat..... :S someone already blocked the date i choose, they will hv higher prior.......

chantique

just wonder if anyone has any idea how to get the red carpet (or the one with fake flower intact)? also anyone rent a speaker for music?

Hi Jasmine, do you get better deal for beer and wine? I'm thinking of buying wine myself and exchange that with something else (like room etc)

aaronjas

hi chantique, they stood by their exchange for juice and helper's room for 4 hours. We're not very impressed by it. Still considering the hotel and looking out elsewhere.

jiahui

Seems like we have long time never update the list. Hope the NCQ btb can carry on filling up the list.

(( YeaR 2008 ))
merribell 29-Mar-2008, Sat, Phoenix
bernice 30-Mar-2008, Sun, Phoenix
tevetoh 19-Apr-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Yvonne 3-May-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Bearyxmm 15-May-2008, Thu, Phoenix
Val 21-May-2008, Wed, Phoenix (about 30)
Ting 25-May-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Kelluvjer 30-May-2008, Fri, Phoenix
Sharon 31-May-2008, Sat, Phoenix
henyve 07-Jun-2008, Sat, Cinnamon (Abt 22)
Rac 07-Jun-2008, Sat, Phoenix (about 35)
Fantasy 15-Jun-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Lara 19-Jun 2008, Thur, Phoenix (about 30)
lingandyang 21-Jun-2008, Sat, Phoenix (30 tables)
Joyce 22-June-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Joy 28-Jun-2008, Sat, Phoenix
R&amp;J 06-July-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Vividz 20-July-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Stef 27-July-2008, Sun, Phoenix
kc 6-Sep-2008, Sat, Phoenix
eden_dream 6-Sep-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
TomC 12-Sep-2008, Fri , Phoenix Ballroom
Flora 13-Sep-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Gina 20-Sep-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Dawson 21-Sep-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Ryan 22-Sep-2008, Mon, Cinnamon
Happiness&amp;Bliss 27-Sep-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
Jelly Beanie 28-Sep-2008, Sun, Phoenix (35 Tables)
Jiahui 5-Oct-2008, Sun, Phoenix
ChunChun 10-Oct-2008, Fri, Phoenix
Michelle 18-Oct-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Miseep 31 Oct 08, Fri, Phoenix ballroom
Gina Wee 1-Nov-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Maltese_lover 1-Nov-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
youkie 2-Nov-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Alyssac 8-Nov-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
Funfun 11-Nov-2008, Tue, Phoenix
Blurgroom 16-Nov-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Ivy_sammc 22-Nov-2008, Sat, Phoenix
suzukai 30-Nov-2008, Sun, Cinnamon
adathong 5-Dec-2008, Fri, Cinnamon
earthsea 26-Dec-2008, Fri, Phoenix
Ann 27-Dec-2008, Sat, Phoenix

(( YeaR 2009 ))
XueLunBaby 03-Jan-2009, Sat, Phoenix (about 40 Tables)
Wendycp 21-Feb-2009, Sat, Cinnamon
Queen 25-Oct-2009, Sun, Phoenix
Cheekychick 12-Dec-2009, Sat, Cinnamon

moon_27

A couple of questions.

1) usually when will NCQ contact us for the food tasting and the printing of the cards

2) For NCQ coordinators, what is their exact role except to attend to our queries at time? Will they be present during the dinner too? Seems like they fare very low in terms of the services provided.

3) whether any 'spot light' on the couple during the march in?

Thanks!!! =)

sheepo79

I am abit confused as to whether there will be another additional charges per table for wedding dates there are auspicious.

Would appreciate if any Novotel BTBs would offer advice!!

rjwedding

wow.. so many questions been posted.. i see whether i can answer a few of them..

1) NCQ will send u a checklist about 3 mths before ur AD. I just received the e-mail from Huiling.. my AD is in Jul.

2) NCQ co-ordinators, or we should call them sales people (Huiling/Jamie) will attend to our queries, will be present at our dinner for a while.. on the actual day there will be a banquet manager attending to us.. Huiling/Jamie will only be there to show face (something like this)..

3) I believe there should be spot-light on the couple when march-in, if not, everything so dark how to see the couple??

4) there isn't any extra charges for auspicious dates.. but most of the auspicious dates are taken up quite fast, so if u decided on a date that is auspicious, must act fast.

5) for pics of ballroom &amp; suites, probably u want to refer back to some old post last year, got a few of them posted the pics..

ok, think that's about all.. hope can help abit.

I need to print my cards now.. anyone uses other printing company instead of the one given by NCQ (T-dragon)? Roughly how much u spend on cards?? i want to make a gauge so that i can compare with other printing company. so excited now..

chantique

Hi R&amp;J,

do you using any band? if yes, do you need to rent a sound system? coz Huiling inform me that their build in speaker can't accomodate even a single keyboard. Any idea? Thanks

tinggy

i hv engage A little dream. They told me novotel sound system was one of the better one. and they hv perform at novotel before. I dont understand why hui ling said the build in speaker cant accomodate single keyboard. I am worried.

ttbrides

Dear Bernice, thanks and all the best to your wedding preparation.

dear sheepo, heres the info
DID: 6433 8637

hi i would like to ask those who had went for food tastin before, cos im going for mine soon.. i can taste every item that is in the desire package and PLUS some which i would like to try from the ala carte menu (incase i wanna change)? i just let huiling know before hand and they will prepare? thanks

lingandyang

Hi R &amp; J,

i just printed my cards too. I spent about $100+ on the printing. I felt that Tdragon's service was not bad. There were different types of printing, and will depend on which type of card that you selected. I chose normal printing so will be cheaper. If you choose hotstamp printing which is nicer and the words are a bit shiny kind, it will be more expensive.

tinggy

I have 1 extra table for 30 tables. i signed up near the wedding show and when the perks were published.
But i think huiling seems to be under stress as Jamie is on maternity leave.But recently we are pissed off with Novotel. Huiling emailed to us to be prepared that the service during our AD dinner will be compromise as we are having 48 tables. Novotel is able to hold up to 50 tables. Dont tell me they are using the same number of man power for 30 tables and 50 tables event.
For those that want to sign up with novotel,
Please think twice if you have alot of tables.

bitbit2318

I have something to check with u all regarding printing of wedding card. I am a June bride. By right should be printing my wedding card now. But I have not confirm number of tables yet. Can i just give T-dragon a estimation first? How long will T-dragon usually take to print the card?

lingandyang

HI bitbit,
I'm a june bride too. I also haven't confirmed my number of tables, so i just estimate. Normally after you selected your card design, Tdragon will send you an email for you to check the wordings in 1 week time. After you had confirmed it is ok, will need another 10 days to print the cards. I'm now waiting for my card collection.

lara

bitbit, im a jun btb too. think now u roughly know how many guests u will be having n how many cards u need (coz for 1 family only need to send 1 card), so u can estimate how many cards to print. remember to print some extras too

rjwedding

hi Chantique, i went to a dinner @ novotel before. they got keyboard leh.. how come huiling says cannot leh.. so weird.. i remember some of the ncq brides did engage some band or singers for their wedding before, they say no problem leh.. anyway i will double check with huiling once i confirm engaging a band. i'm thinking of doing so..

hi lingandyang, thanbks for your info. actually my design is to print the details on the back, then leave the front blank for me to stick my wedding photo there. u think they can print both chinese &amp; english details on only one side?? i'm thinking of engaging a wedding service company, tehy got printing services too.. so i'm thinking of getting them to do for me..

crayongal

hey Jasmine,
I think maybe u can ask them for abit more perks la.. since u dun have wine and beer.. ?
how many nites at the bridal suite do u have... coz the usual is one but during wedding shows it is 2. if u have 1 nite, den i dunno if u want to ask them for additional one?

anyway, i am july btb too.. and i have received the checklist email from Huiling already.She is quite prompt ya.. and i think so far.. the service i get from novotel is quite gd lah.. =)

eh... Lingandyang.. how many cards u got then ? estimate ? hmmm... anyway, i was also thinking of printing with someone else instead of Tdragon.. so go down and see how lors..
oh ya, do u gals noe if Tdragon does those cute..small customised ang bao ? i noe last time jasvy does it.. so some btb go down to collect cards n print ang baos as well.. =)

lastly, since alot of the brides whose weddings have past told us that zul is a gd banquet mgr.. i asked HL abt him.. and was told that he is no longer with ncq....
so , gals.. those of you having yr banquet these few mths.. pls give us feedback on the Banq. Mgr too please... heh.. =)