Novotel Clarke Quay

Hi Kel_ly, mine is huiling..Yep, their perks are quite standard lor. Have u spoken to other hotels? If they r able to give u wat u wan, then must see wats ur priority liao..For us 2009, i find that to change the menu is very ex...Must see wats more impt to u? Cost per table, perks, wedding-up, menu etc?...

Hi R&J, glad that some issues have been finalised. So u'll be engaging someone to dress up the ballroom further? keke...I tink its better to call T-dragon first? In case when u walk in, alot of customers, then it'll be hard for u to talk to them...

Actually, can understd why Kel_ly feels the perks not enuf. Cos the 2009 prices have increased quite abit..but perks remain the same *shrug*

Hi Cheeky_Chick,

Yup, have spoken to some hotels but definitely, they can't give the prices that NCQ offers for a weekend. I used to think wedding deco and ballroom is very important but after reading so many threads in this forum, I think even some of the 5 stars deco are also so-so only.

Anyway, food wise will be more impt to me and HTB. To me, NCQ's food is quite nice and has flexibility.

However, I still have a concern over the coordinator. I feel that Huiling seems to be overloaded! She seems to be the co for so many of us. Wondering other than Jaime and her, is there some other coordinators at NCQ?

Hi Kel_ly,

Yes, I agree with you. She seems to be working on one man show. I am also BTB in Sept 2008. Yup, they are quite strict in the perks unlike some other hotel which are more flexible. But heard previously that sometimes she is not very 'friendly' towards the couple.

Anyway, do anyone know whether we have any ballroom theme to choose from?

Hi Cheeky_chick, can you help me to update my AD date under your list? Thanks 23 Sept at Phoenix.

Kel)ly, agree with u on the wedding set-ups for certain 5* hotels. I've been to quite a few & was sorely disappointed. But surprisingly, able to see wat i like at NCQ. I tink..Jaime on maternity leave? Cant rem also..From wat i noe, only got Jaime & Huiling...

Hi Moon, wat u mean by ballroom themes? I only know got floral or crystal theme. Then u can choose the colour of the table cloths. Not sure by Sep 2008, got new colours anot as Huiling told me 2009 will have new choices.

Updated List!

(( YeaR 2008 ))
Bubble-bell 24-Feb-2008, Sun, Phoenix
yesfeb 29-Feb-2008, Fri, Phoenix
merribell 29-Mar-2008, Sat, Phoenix
bernice 30-Mar-2008, Sun, Phoenix
tevetoh 19-Apr-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Yvonne 3-May-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Bearyxmm 15-May-2008, Thu, Phoenix
Val 21-May-2008, Wed, Phoenix (about 30)
Ting 25-May-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Kelluvjer 30-May-2008, Fri, Phoenix
Sharon 31-May-2008, Sat, Phoenix
henyve 07-Jun-2008, Sat, Cinnamon (Abt 22)
Rac 07-Jun-2008, Sat, Phoenix (about 35)
Fantasy 15-Jun-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Lara 19-Jun 2008, Thur, Phoenix (about 30)
lingandyang 21-Jun-2008, Sat, Phoenix (30 tables)
Joyce 22-June-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Joy 28-Jun-2008, Sat, Phoenix
R&J 06-July-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Vividz 20-July-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Stef 27-July-2008, Sun, Phoenix
kc 6-Sep-2008, Sat, Phoenix
eden_dream 6-Sep-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
TomC 12-Sep-2008, Fri , Phoenix Ballroom
Flora 13-Sep-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Gina 20-Sep-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Dawson 21-Sep-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Ryan 22-Sep-2008, Mon, Cinnamon
Moon 23-Sep-2008, Tue, Phoenix
Happiness&Bliss 27-Sep-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
Jelly Beanie 28-Sep-2008, Sun, Phoenix (35 Tables)
Jiahui 5-Oct-2008, Sun, Phoenix
ChunChun 10-Oct-2008, Fri, Phoenix
Michelle 18-Oct-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Miseep 31 Oct 08, Fri, Phoenix ballroom
Gina Wee 1-Nov-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Maltese_lover 1-Nov-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
youkie 2-Nov-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Alyssac 8-Nov-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
Funfun 11-Nov-2008, Tue, Phoenix
Blurgroom 16-Nov-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Ivy_sammc 22-Nov-2008, Sat, Phoenix
suzukai 30-Nov-2008, Sun, Cinnamon
adathong 5-Dec-2008, Fri, Cinnamon
earthsea 26-Dec-2008, Fri, Phoenix
Ann 27-Dec-2008, Sat, Phoenix

(( YeaR 2009 ))
XueLunBaby 03-Jan-2009, Sat, Phoenix (about 40 Tables)
Wendycp 21-Feb-2009, Sat, Cinnamon
Queen 25-Oct-2009, Sun, Phoenix
Cheekychick 12-Dec-2009, Sat, Cinnamon

Hi Cheekychick,

Maybe I was mistaken. I thought there are new themes from NCQ. But anyway, seems like things will remain the same.

anyone have phoenix ballroom layout? i need to pass to my friend to help me come out with decor for the ballroom. thanks! can send to me @ [email protected].

i think Jamie will be back from her maternity leave soon.. Currently I know there's another person helping Huiling out, cos I rem e-mailing Huiling previously, and her out-of-office message got another person's contact.. think it's Chris Chong..

Hi Moon, the info i've gotten hor, was when i booked my date in Dec '07. Mayb mine is outdated info *oops* I do hope they will come up with new colours for the table cloth thou, hehe. Hopefully got black colour leh...lol.

Hi Kel_ly, i tink quite a number of couples here have Jamie as their co-ordinator. I've spoken to Jamie once before only. But the impression is that she is very experienced

Hi Cheeky_chick,

You also like black colour huh? I also like it...though I think my parents don't...haha..but it's kind of classy isn't it?

Hmmm...not sure if I can trust Huiling leh..so still considering...I would like to meet Jamie and see what is my first impression of her...hopefully, she will be back from her maternity leave soon!

i just got a e-mail from Huiling, i asked her when is Jamie back from her maternity leave. Jamie will be back in May. My co-ordinator is Jamie, she's the manager, thus she can make more decision. She's a nice lady to talk to. Currently I'm liaising with Huiling, she seems like a nice lady.. She's able to answer to all my queries, and my extra room for my wedding also able to confirmed.. But I still trust Jamie more. So i will have my food tasting in May after Jamie is back.. anyone wedding coming up soon?? i'm thinking of going down to take a look at phoenix ballroom when all the decor is up.

wow, got black colour table cloth meh?? that will be cool.. but it's true what cheeky_chick says, when turn off the lights all the colours look the same.. hehehe..

for the themes they have crystal, floral or a mixture of both. for table cloth they have red, maroon, gold and brown i think. but that was in dec 2007.

The theme for this year should be pink i think (i.e pink drapes). if they have black table cloth that would be soooo cooolz!
too bad i already had mine. :P

Hi to all... I just had my wedding at NCQ last month. Jamie went on leave half way through and Hui Ling took over. I must say she's alright except that sometimes it's kinda difficult to reach her over the fone. But if you email to her, she does reply. However, most of my stuff were confirmed with Jamie and Hui Ling co-ordinated the rest. Comments on food was not too bad too.

Having said the nice stuff, I must say I am kinda disappointed with the wedding favors they "offered" and how "sticky" NCQ could be with some of the stuff. To cut the story short, I brought my own bottled beer and paid corkage [S$5++]. Still cheaper than getting the only available 30L barrel from NCQ! They charged something like S$10++ per glass and ONLY by the glass. Otherwise, you have to get the 30L barrel [at S$600++], which makes 90 glasses. So do your sums right!

Divasan..long time no chat, lol. U mean pink drapes as in, the one for the stage isit?

Hi PP..u mean ur package doesnt have 1 free barrel of beer?....

hi Cheeky_chick. yes, my package came with 1 free barrel and 1 wine per table. just dat 1 barrel is seriously not quite enough. coz itz only 90 glasses. so you have to make provision for "more". perhaps, it also depends on how many tables you intend to have and whether the dinner falls on a weekday, sat or sun. rule of thumb is for weekdays and sundays, people tend not to drink so much. so you may not need to make provision for too much beer. the other thing is, get NCQ to serve the beer/wine only when the dinner starts. dat way you could save some money! *o*

hi R&J, you could ask NCQ for the layout once you confirmed the no. of tables. but if yours is anything like 42 or 43 tables [including 2 reserved tables], i should have the soft copy somewhere. could email to you. leme know.

Hi PP,

Own bottled of beer? You mean those bottle of Tiger beer or ... ? Can we do that? It sound like a good idea.
My wedding is on sunday. i am having abt 48 tables. Haiz... Due to high demand tables from parent side. And most of my crowds are drinker. Was your wedding of 42 or 43 tables very packed at the ball room?

hi PP: yes, i've just got e-mail from Huiling on the layout, but her only till 37 tables, but I'm looking at 40 - 45 tables, can I have urs?? my e-mail is [email protected].. thanks!!

hi kel_ly: Jamie's e-mail is [email protected]. even u e-mail her now, you will get her out-of-office message. She will only be back next month.

yes Ting, i brought my own bottled beer [tiger/carlsberg] @sheng shiong to NCQ. however since my dinner was held on sun, we only drunk a further of 16 bottles. as an estimate, 1 bottle makes about 3 glasses. so i paid like $160 [beer + corkage] in total, i think. pls do ask huiling to quote u the corkage. then work out how much you may need. if you can get the beer on consignment, it would be good. so that you can return the unopened bottles.

i had 42 tables. on paper, looks rather packed. but not too bad lah. dun have to walk to far from table to table! but 48 is like almost max.

hi R&J, will email the 42/43 tables to u. i've downloaded huiling's email to my home PC. so do not have the 45 tables layout with me now. sorry.

but hor .. i got a question. How they serve the bottle of beer? Like coffee shop pour with the bottle or in the jug?

Hi PP, thanks for the information! Definitely very useful...im only have 18 tables thereabouts but its on a Sat. U r rite dat one extra barrel is $600++ *faint* I rem some brides here discussing, scarly open 2nd barrel and cannt finish!! Ur idea is a good one..buy bottle beer *thumbs up*

Hi everyone, I was not here for quite a while. miss out quite a lot. my wedding on july, got the checklist from Huiling too. Have not contact T-dragon on the wedding card yet, will be doing it by next week, hopefully their schedule not so packed.

http://www.tdragoncards.com/

someone ask wat freebie we can request from the printing company, I'm also interested to know, can let me know too. my hb & I not so gd at bargaining. from the website i onli saw the overprinting quotation, can anyone email me wat they quote? my email is [email protected]. Thanks.

Hi PP,

A quick qn. is the cockage[S$5++]quoted by Huiling separately or included in the contract? There is no mention of the beer bottle cockage in the contract. If thats the case, I will email her and check with her. Am I right to say that the cockage should be around $5.85 per bottle? I think it is much more cheaper than to obtain the whole barrel which is $600++. Very expensive.

Hey, do you mind sharing your experience on the wedding flavours and the 'sticky' issues you have encountered with them? I will be discussing these with them in due course so I want to be more cautious... Thanks! =)

Hi Moon

My contract did not state the corkage for beer as well. And i didnt think to ask as we dun expect to get another barrel of beer our 18-table dinner. It would be good if u could cfm this with Huiling
PP has made a very good point abt the beer pricing...

Btw gals, i have another question. If i decide not to use their wedding cards, would there be refund? Like, $1 per card or something? Cos its highly possible i wont be using theirs...

hi..

i am new in this thread.. also face difficulty in getting Huiling, but there was a lady by d name Cynthia.. probably is her assistant.. also very busy person..

hi for those who enquire with Huiling regarding the corkage for the beer one... can inform me also.. cos i also think my 1 barrel of beer is confirm not enough one..... so need to get extras...

Hi Mashi, my contract states dat free flow of beer is possible only if give up the 1 free bottle of wine per confirmed table. How many tables are u having??

Hi Cheekychick,

I will be having ard 30-35 tables.
Due to I believe tat there will b quite a no. of drinkers, thus need to find ways to nego for free flow of beer so tat i do nt need to worry abt the topping up of cash for beer in the later part of the banquet...

But to give up 1 free bottle of wine per confirmed table mah, nt sure worth to do it or nt.
haiz... still tinkin. will be miting huiling next wk to view the ballroom n discuss abt the package...

c wat she offers then...

Mashi, i tink u will sure need more than 1 barrel. If cannt get free flow beer w/o sacrificing the 1 free wine per table, do rem to ask for corkage for beer. In case open 1nd barrel of beer ($600++), cannt finish the whole thing, then jialat liao...

ya lor.. so now is trying to c wat can we do..
haha.. c wat we can get fr huiling.

anyway, i have not confirm my venue yet.
so will source for different place quotes then decide...

hi Ting, Cheeky_cheek & Moon - my contract came with 1 free barrel + 1 botl of wine/table. corkage of bottled or additional beer served in glass is not stated in the contract. u have to inqure from NCQ. make sure they give it to you in email [in black n white mah]. just my thot that unless you have great drinkers, otherwise, dun even think of getting the additional barrel. itz 600 bucks +++!!! datz almost paying like 60 bottles of beer [180 glasses] + corkage! like i mentioned b4, try consignment if you can. so that you can return un-opened beer.

Ting, i m not sure how they served the bottled beer. too busy to notice! but make sure you get a fren to take care of the beer for you. so that the service personnel do not open the beer FREELY.

as for wedding favors, they dun really have very nice stuff. for those whose weddings are coming up, pray that they have new weddin favors! what i meant by NCQ being "sticky" is - they will STICK to the contract. even if you try negotiating, they will tell you nicely that it cant be done lah. whether it is waiving the corkage for beer or wine or whatever. note that it is not the fault of huiling or the staff, for that matter. itz juz the way the hotel works...

one last note about printing your wedding cards. i collected the cards from the appointed printer and got someone else to do it. from the thread, looks like NCQ has appointed another printer. the previous one was expensive, unprofessional and almost rude! so i chose the cards, bought my own tracing paper [@fancy paper]and got a printer fren to do it. all in all for 320 cards, i paid like <$150 [for 500 copies]. unfortunately, he doesnt print wedding invites. juz doing me a favor only. oh yes, do remember to print extra. i assure you you'd definitely need it. to save wastage and if the design of the card allows, dun print directly onto the card. coz once you write wrong name etc, the card would be wasted. pick those design that allows you to print onto an insert. then print additional inserts so even if you make mistakes, you can replace the inserts and NOT the cards!

hi PP, so we can collect the cards from the printing co and print our inserts from somewhere else is it? i'm thinking of printing the inserts in malaysia..

hi R&amp;J, i did that. however, do check with the people providing the cards now. mine was provided by another company. and the varieties werent fantastic.

saw t-dragon's website. thot they have a good range.

PP, the previous co is Jas*y rite? Heard un-favourable comments abt them as well in another thread...Im doing my own wedding cards &amp; printing at JB thou. You r rite abt the corkage part. I've been thinking, how to 'monitor' them abt the opening of wine? Very hard rite? Reali need frens' help for dat...

Juz have a mit up wif Huiling today. She informed that Even if u give up the wine for each confirmed table, they will give u 1 more barrel of beer. Not free flow.

So I tink is nt worth it lor. to give up the wine/confirmed table.
N u all are rite. NCQ very strict wif their perks,
Basically cannot request for more perks fr them..
haiz...

Dear CuteBubble,

Oh reallie ???
Actuallie this date is not my best date.
My best date is 14th Sept 2008 (Sunday), according to my shifu who listed a list of our auspicious dates.
My HTB and I insisted on a weekend and under this list, this is the only weekend available.
Due to the fact that I did not start planning for my wedding earlier, this date (14th Sept 2008) had already been booked even before the previous NCQ Wedding Show on 1st Sept 2007.
I knew about the unavailability of this date in many many many hotels thru a forum fren (whose best date is also on 14th Sept 2008).
After I have gotten the 1st list of our auspicious dates from shifu, I immediately got him to give us another list of auspicious dates.
Under this 2nd list, 3rd Jan 2009 is the only weekend available.
So when I met Jamie on 1st Sept 2007, I enquired if I can book this date during that Wedding Show.
To my sadness, I cannot.
So I kept reminding her about my "booking" of this date, so that she can inform me once the Year 2009 menu is out.
She mentioned to me before that it is still based on first-come-first-available basis.
On 5th Dec 2007, email notification (Year 2009 menu) was sent to me.
The very next day morning, I booked with Jamie loo.
It is reallie a long wait for me.
Coz if I cant get this date, I cant start any wedding planning.
I agreed to the booking in Dec 2007 thou I know there is an upcoming Wedding Fair on 4th Jan 2008.
At that point of time, the most important thing is to book that date and I dun care if there is any additional throw-ins for me.

Fortunately, I am still considered eligible for the 4th Jan 2008 Wedding Fair privileges.

Just fyi, belows are the additionals added to my package:
-> Choice of either free-flow of beer OR complimentary 2 barrels of beer (throughout the event) with 1 bottle of house wine per table confirmed.
-> Complimentary wedding invitation cards for up to 80% of guaranteed attendance.
-> Complimentary parking coupons for up to 30% of guaranteed attendance.
-> 1 LCD projector with screen
-> Pre-Dinner Snacks for the wedding couple
-> 1 Anniversary Buffet Dinner Voucher for 2 pax at the Square Restaurant

** If I am not wrong, the above-mentioned are the only additionals.. **

Then, it was Jamie who told me that 3rd Jan 2009 is a hot date requested by many many BTBs.
If not, I would not have known it.
She mentioned that she received calls about once every 2/3 days, requesting for this date (3rd Jan 2009)..
Anywayz, it is just 2 days before my BirthDAY.
So can celebrate my WeddinGz and BirthDAY together..
keke..

Dear CuteBubble,

The last time when I was chatting with Jamie, she mentioned that she was puzzled to why many BTBs desired for 3rd Jan 2009 but no one wants 4th Jan 2009 thou it is a weekend.
Maybe this date is still available.
You may want to check this out with NCQ?
If you are particular about the auspicious thingy, you may want to checkout with a shifu??

SmilEz...

Well I already did a tentative booking w Huiling.

Ai ya. v tricky leh. my future MIL gave me the dates. cannot anyhow change. She
s so anxious to get us married, she proposed dates as early as May 08...we already dragged till the last available date. 3 jan 09....

Hi Mashi Mashi, my contract got state free flow of beer with no wine or 1 btl of wine for each confirmed table with 1 barrel of beer... but anyway if by then she tell me cannot then i will use the contract terms as its stated in black and white...

Hi mashi mashi.. my contract also states that free flow of beer with no wine or 1 btl of wine for each confirmed table.. they changed their contract terms already mah?? my friend enquiry about their package for 2009 earlier this year, this is still the same leh..

actually i'm thinking of getting the free flow of beer and try to look for a cheaper wine (which is on consignment) and pay for the wine corkage.. don't know whether this works anot.. dunno whether my guests will drink more beer or wine?? my wedding is on Sunday..

tink so ba.. but i dun intend to give up the wine as it will be costly to buy wine in n pay for the corkage.

But since u all say tat. mayb need to recheck wif huiling..

but i envy the additional perks tat is throw in at the wedding show. mayb i check wif huiling when is their wedding show, then decide wat to do..

if nt, really miss out alot of special perks.
haiz...

hi cheeky_cheek, yes, you're rite about the previous Company, J. really cant stand the boss' attitude. as for the wine/beer co-ordination, need to get a good fren who has the experience and doesnt mind helping you [instead of eating]. good luck!

Hello, im btb in june, 2 + mths to go. So anxious. I have collected my card from Tdragon and printed. I’ve chosen quite a cute card. I tried to load up the card pic to the forum but seems like it can’t be done, not sure if the file is too huge or what. anyway i like their service, the lady who serve me is Grace (if i dont rem her name wrongly). she is very friendly. there are quite a number of design to choose from.

Cheekybee,
currently im looking for wedding songs, I saw your website and there is a post on the wedding songs, and a link where I can download the songs, it is free or I have to pay? Pls advice.

I have also booked my food tasting at the later part of April, im choosing the menu now. Is it that if I have selected 8 items from the standard desire menu and anything that I wan to taste from the ala carte I have to pay?

Hi hi, got one more ques here, any of the brides here who had hold their wedding before and had sword bearers (military)? Cos the aisle is quite short, is 5 pair of sword bearers too many along the aisles?

Hi girls, Huiling responded to my email saying that the corkage fees for the beer is $6 NETT per btl... pengz... its more ex than the beer itself... but no matter what its still cheaper than purchasing a full barrel from them lor

Hmm..mine is also either free-flow beer (so no wine at all) or 1 free barrel of beer ($650++) &amp; 1 free bottle of wine per confirmed table. Corkage for wine is $15nett per bottle. Price of their house wine is $25++ per bottle.

Michelle, $6nett per bottle of beer is cfm cheaper than buying their $650++ barrel of beer *faint*

Crystal, urs is at Cinnamon or Phoenix? Phoenix cfm no prob rite?

ya confirm... lets say if 1 btl of beer can fill 3 glasses, then 30 btls for 90 glasses and that is equivalent to 1 barrel of beer. 1 btl of beer roughly 4.60, then plus corkage total 30 btls of beer only costs abt 318... so much cheaper than the 1 barrel of beer at 650++.....