Novotel Clarke Quay

suika

Yes Belle.....emailed her last week to confirm oni....i'm taking the 689 1.... heehee

you changing any dish???

samanlyt

Hi michelle

Ya lor, i expect things will turn out this way la, cos by then the dinner ends, we are more concerned abt the $$ counting ba..heehe

Hi belle,

So qiao again, ur food tasting falls on my AD.

suzukai

Wow....the threas is so fast. i got prob with interent. I went to the WS. The only thg i dun like is the Q for the food. So i didn't try the food at all.

HuiLing didn't tell me tat the bridal suite is open for viewing...quite upset abt it.

I've decided to engage a band...most likely will be little dream.

As for the animation, my FH loves it a lot. so may also engage such service but still working out on the selecting the co.

As my AD is Nov 08, i wonder should i engage such service so early.

xuer21

hey.. just wanna ask for some opinion.. is it advisable or common that a cartoon animation to be played before 1st march in and later a express video highlight to be played b4 second march in.. will it be too complicated???

koko_coco

hi eden.. i was the one who booked just seconds before u.. this was the earliest sat available for phoenix.. we wanted earlier, but all full when we wanted to book.. hehe..

vividz

ya, I agreed that the prize were not so attractive, mainly onli vouchers, but if u win can sell off to get some cash, not too bad also. Luckily the admission is free, at least not so bad. Did not have a chance to taste their food, I saw the queue so long, too tired to queue up.

Oh ya, abt the chinese 6th mth calendar, I just know from some of them that, cos 6th mth is also called half mth, so it's considered half mth wedding. So ppl believed it will shorten the wedding life. Maybe that's y my mum dun like. For me, I dun really believe.

Suzukai, Huiling did tell us we can view the bridal suite, maybe too many ppl ald, she also forgot she told u ald a not. The mc also got asked if we had went to the bridal suite and the ballroom downstair to take a look, maybe u miss that. =[

diva79

suzukai >> just to let u know that i am selling off our $300 animation voucher in case u might be interested.

vividz>> agree too. prizes are mainly vouchers. but we cant do anything with it since we do not want to engage their services. *haiz*

our only complain is that the wedding fair has too few chairs. let a lot of us standing...otherwise the food etc ok ba..

rine13

wow!! it seen like the thread are talking about the bridal show recently..Had nt being following the thread it seen like im lost in here..haha..
Well..anyway i going for my food tasting soon..dun knw wat dish to choose..anyone cn advise?

vividz

divasan >> ya, quite surprised to see so few chairs only. lucky we went in early so manage to get a seat. maybe they want u all to walk around to take a look on other stalls too. =P

I haven't decide on my BS yet. So many BS to choose from quite headache. anyway, my hubby said dun need to find so early. :>

funfun08

xuer21>> my FH gv me a green light to engage music band after little dream performed... But not sure shall I take them or wedding harmony...

By the way.. Hsin Yeow (vocals)told me tt if u only taking 1set of 45mins, singer will not be him or Bevlyn wor... mayb those interested can re-confirm with him..

Vanila>> seems like u r the next earliest bride for NCQ, remember to take some pic on ballroom n suite when ur AD dinner ya! =)

funfun08

Hey... sorry to pop in again..
for those who remember the 2nd time little dream on stage, there's a Lee Ein Ein (keyboardist) is fr superBand, Amber le.. [http://alittledream02.com/musicians.html ]

No wonder she soooo pretty!!!
My Fh and me still discussing to get 2singers + her.. Guests c pretty gal oso happy ma.. =)

eden_dream

kc: hahaha coincidental!! we would be having the same wedding day! yup that seems to b the earliest available sat and after that the nxt one i think would b v late oct.. thus i decided to stick with the 6th and go with a smaller ballroom.. actually i havent even plan the guestlist or what yet! hopefully enough tables!

not_firmed

wow.. the thread is moving so fast... sad to say that i could not log in in the office hour anymore as the company block the page.. haiz...

talking about the wedding show.. so many of us went there but didn manage to organize a meet up, such a waste...

vividz

ya, I went there at 1pm, blur blur nothing to do, also dun know wat to do, so boring.

eden >> phoenix rm so hot, actually got consider the smaller ballroom too. But I got too many friends, so I worry not enough, haha.

eden & kc>> so both of u might see each other on the same date, since the bridal suite is quite near & it's on the same floor too. ur friends might knock onto the wrong room, haha. ^-^

eden_dream

vividz: yah phoenix room is really hot.. i love it cuz the reception area is also nicer hee.. and would be more spacious in the ballroom.. i think i will try to work my way around the guestlist haha make it a smaller, cozy event then..

yeah im wondering if kc and i would bump into each other haha

i really love the gobi stuff.. anyone thinking of changing their wedding favours to use gobi? huiling said there could be new favours coming out... dunno isit worth it to exchange NCQ's favours for a helper's room instead..

vividz

gobi stuff? wat's tat? new favours? helper's rm?
we didn't really talk much with Huiling cos many ppl waiting. Mind to let me more?

eden_dream

one of the vendors there.. called Gobi.. selling macarons and chocolatey stuff

http://www.gobi.com.sg/

i was asking huiling if i were to get my own wedding favours instead of using theirs, what can they offer me in exchange? For the Cinnamon ballroom she will offer a helper's room from 2-8pm (i think) and for the Phoenix room, can get overnight stay for helper's room..

Huiling was saying that they may have new favours but dunno when as it's not firm up yet.. since ours AD is rather late next year, maybe we will have more choices then...

crayongal

wah.. again so many posts.. hehe..
hmmms.. Belle is right... i guess the wedding show may not be as gd as wat was expected - esp.the seat issue (haha.. i wasn't there but so many of u complaining abt dat~ keke..) erms, but i guess overall.. NCQ is still a gd deal.. and i'm sure during our AD.. it'll all go well. i've heard so many positive comments abt them from brides who've oredi had their wedding there. =)

anyhows, the table cloth color.. ya.. when huiling show me..it was a flip over thg.. so i tink got 4 colors? not sure for now.. maybe Belle can chk it out n let us noe.. hehe... (when she goes for food-tasting) .. btw, erms.. jamie/ncq will contact us few mths before AD to confirm the food-tasting n other details..etc rite? hee..

oh, lastly.. i did also ask huiling abt the bridal suite before... and she say the hotel will arrange to clear the room abit.. n deco .. so dat after the banquet, we'll go into a cosier rm. hee.. =) nice!

crayongal

oh... oh.. forgot...
kc .. when is yr AD? i dun see it on our list of ncq brides le.. hehe...
or did i miss it? hehe

btw.. i didn't noe we could sorta exchg the wedding favours for smthg else.. so, ya.. for Phoenix ballroom can exchg for overnight helper's stay sounds quite gd.. =)

eh.. i hope they've got new favours for us to choose! hee.. mine is slightly past mid-next yr.. so hope new favours are ready by then. keke

eden_dream

nope i only managed to get a helper's room from 2-8pm as mine is the cinnamon ballroom.. i think the original package does not have the helper's room.. if yours is the phoenix one, you can try to ask for overnight stay for helper's room if you dun want to use their favours.. but i havent really confirm yet as i wanna see what new favours they have nearer my AD before i decide to source for my own..

koko_coco

Vanilla 20-Sept-2007, Thu, Phoenix
Shugar 29-Sept-2007, Sat, Cinnamon
Rine 26-Oct-2007,Fri, Phoenix
Tweety 27-Oct-2007,Sat Cinnamon (about 25)
Belle 03-Nov-2007,Sat Phoenix
Caitou 23-Nov-2007, Fri, Phoenix
Rene2803 24-Nov-2007, Sat, Phoenix
Eemoo 25-Nov-2007, Sun, Phoenix
DiorSnow 29-Nov-2007, Thu, Phoenix
Doric 2-Dec-2007, Sun, Phoenix
Divasan 13-Dec-2007, Thu, Phoenix
Crybaby 21-Dec-2007, Fri, Cinnamon
Michelle 30-Dec-2007, Sun, Cinnamon

~bliss~ 03-Jan-2008,Thu, Phoenix
Raycia 26-Jan-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Bubble-bell 24-Feb-2008, Sun, Phoenix
yesfeb 29-Feb-2008, Fri, Phoenix
merribell 29-Mar-2008, Sat, Phoenix
bernice 30-Mar-2008, Sun, Phoenix
tevetoh 19-Apr-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Bearyxmm 15-May-2008, Phoenix
Val 21-May-2008, Wed, Phoenix (about 30)
Kelluvjer 30-May-2008, Fri, Phoenix
Ting 25-May-2008, Sun, Phonenix
Sharon 31-May-2008, Sat, Phoenix
henyve 07-Jun-2008,Sat Cinnamon (Abt 22)
Rac 07-Jun-2008, Sat Phoenix (about 35)
Lara 19-Jun 2008, Thur (about 30)
lingandyang 21-Jun-2008,Sat, Phoenix (30
Joyce 22-June-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Joy 28-Jun-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Stef 27-July-2008, Sun, Phoenix
kc 6-Sep-2008, Sat, Phoenix
eden_dream 6-Sep-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
Flora 13-Sep-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Gina 20-Sep-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Jiahui 5-Oct-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Michelle 18-Oct-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Gina Wee 1-Nov-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Maltese_lover 1-Nov-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
youkie 2-Nov-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Alyssac 8-Nov-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
Funfun 11-Nov-2008,Tue,Phoenix
Ivy_sammc 22-Nov-2008, Sat, Phoenix
suzukai 30-Nov-2008, Sun, Cinnamon
Ann 27-Dec-2008, Sat, Phoenix

eden_dream

oh yah actually if you calculate the cost of getting your own favours, most likely it would b more costly than getting even the overnight helper's room.. in a way unless you really want to find something more unique for your guests to bring home, it's not exactly a fantastic offer.. but haha at least can negotiate for abit of perks.. think that is probably their max that they can offer already for the exchange.

koko_coco

hi stef, i have just added myself to the list.. 6th Sep 08.. hehe.. this was the initial date we chose.. then was hoping to get an earlier date like June or July.. but its all fully booked.. so, back to original plan for the date.. hehe

we had actually estimated abt 28 tables.. but she told me that if i wan to book only 28 tables, i won't get the 1 table free (for bookings of 30 tables n above), and have to choose at least the 3rd package for food.. after some considerations, we went back to her and booked 30 tables and got 1 free.. hehe.. intending to ask my mum's frens if we really can't fill the 31 tables cos she really has many frens.. haha

eden.. Cinnamon also fully booked until Sep 08? wow.. NCQ is so hot.. we might just bump into each other.. and our guests might go to the wrong dinner too.. so we muz place our pictures at prominent places.. hmm.. just worried that our parents' friends might not know us from our pictures and go to the wrong place.. hehe..

most of u went to huiling? any other co-ordinators?

Vividz, did u also book NCQ?

vividz

kc >> ya, I booked NCQ on 20th July. I wanted 14th Sept at first but long ago booked by ppl. Another date I want is 27th Sept, also booked. Cinnamon too small cos I have lot of friends, so in the end I took July. When I booked 13th and 20th July still available. My hubby said 13th not so nice for wedding, so we choose 20th. I booked during 4pm so still can get July.

koko_coco

Vividz 20-July-2008, Sun, Phoenix

pooh83

What is the wedding favours that is offered to each guest ? The couple bears handphone strap is it ? how much does it cost for the bears ? Any cheaper alternative ?

vividz

thanks, kc. But my mum objected to tat date, due to the lunar 6mth thing. sigh...

oh, wedding favours are those for each guest 1. Huiling's desk have some, she said will have more to come, so she said when the date is near then show us. not sure how much, need to ask around for those who ald married, they might know.

belleteo

Hey suika,

Mostly i am taking the 728 package. Mostly i will be choosing the list as shown.
1) Braised Chicken stuffing in Oyster sauce
2) Deep firied soon hock
3) Vege changed to yam Ring
4) rice changed to noodles
5) Dessert should be mango pomelo

How abt you? What you choosing for dessert?
Any comments abt their food or which is nice?

eden_dream

kc: not sure if Cinnamon is also fully booked til Sep 08 as i think she was telling me abt Phoenix all along as that was our initial plan.. but anyway i think many Saturdays are already not available for both, thus we decided to take Cinnamon.. end Oct abit too late and timing not v good for my job..

So your family alright with the 6th mth thing?

Yah i think we need our friends and prominent signs to guide the guests to the right ballroom.. Kinda worried that it would be a messy day as we are just 1 level difference right? Hee..

suika

Hi Belle,

I've chosen
Appetizer
Ø Shanghainess Pork Terrine
Ø Jelly Fish
Ø Drunken Chicken
Ø Mini Octopus
Ø Prawn Salad
Soup
Ø Braised Premier Moon-Cut Shark’s Fin with Fresh Crab Meat & Bamboo Pith
Dessert
Ø Yam Paste with Gingko Nuts

The rest are standard from the menu...not too sure after tasting will we change but we've decided to settle with this first.

Had comments on Mini Octopus (some say not nice but some says not bad) so i'm sticking to it first and i'm taking the yam paste for dessert (commented by others not very very sweet just nice esp for elderly) so I'm taking this to try as everyone on my side loves yam paste. Alot had commented that the garlic chicken is very nice so i'm sticking to that to try but other commented most of the chicken dish is done nicely so i think we can rest assure on that dish...

Will keep you update once I've gone for the food tasting.

Hi kc,
The elderly will advise to avoid 6th mth & 7th mth. They say it's not good that's why i ended up taking the 8th mth.

suika

Opps....forgot to add myself in ;-)

Suika 22-Sept-2007, Sat, Cinnamon

Vividz 20-July-2008, Sun, Phoenix

belleteo

Suika,

Actually i'm rather confused, think till now most of them taking the 698 package than 728. Not really think there is much different in the food accept for the suckling pig.
How? Shd i take 728 or 698.
Abit worry of the chicken as so far alot ppl comment on the fried chicken is good, as for braised chicken like not much comment lei.

Hey ladies,
Do you think after Yam Ring still yam paste will be too much? Like abit sick of yam?

koko_coco

hi eden n suika, my mum told me not to choose 6th n 7th month.. anyway, 6th month all fully booked le, and i also dun wan 7th month.. hehe.. kinda weird to hold wedding during 7th month.. 6th Sep 08 is the 7th day of the 8th month.. so its pretty good la.. 1st sat of the 8th month.. ;)

yup eden, just 1 level apart.. maybe we can highlight the level on the invitation card.. use bold, or red.. hehe..

Belle, y not choose the mango dessert? actually i like both yam paste n the mango.. hehe.. both yummy..

samanlyt

Wau this thread moving fast wor.. I haven decide on the table cloth colour and the favours yet. Am not sure what r available this yr. Last yr was choc & keychains.

Hi funfun

Will take pics for u gals to c, for sure.

AD date drawing nearer liaoz, busy busy, I guessed suika must be real busy with preparation too.

belleteo

KC, i might choose mango but afraid will be sour. As mango and pomelo is hard to say. Depends on the food.

I check with Jamie liao. If i want to change the dish need to top up $5 per table lei.

rine13

Hi Belle
So u had finalise yr menu? I am going for the food tasting soon, till now haven finalise yet..is stuck between two package of menu now..i intend to get mango with pomelo, but afraid that not many elderly will like..so thought of getting red bean paste..

rine13

I heard that alot of gd comment on their yam paste, as what belle said earlier on the thread..too much yam im afraid guests will get sick of it..

belleteo

Rine,

Not yet lei. Havent finalise. me also stuck between two menu. Not worth to pay $5 justto change the dish somemore is same price dish lei.

koko_coco

$5 like quite bo hua leh.. 1 table $5, 30 tables $150 leh.. unless the dish really tat bad until we need to change.. hehe.. food i think i need to consult the experts..

queenly

during the wedding show i overheard huiling told a couple if wan to change dish then as long is same price no need to top up wor.

diorsnow

Hi Queen.. thats what i heard from Jamie last time also! she say as long as same price, dun need to top up. And now say this...??

can anyone confirm??

diva79

suzukai >> its now going for half price..would u be interested? selling away the pretty box makeup-hairstyling voucher 1/2 price too. if u are taking both will let go at an even lower price..

Queen >> yup dats what jamie told us last year too.