Novotel Clarke Quay

eden_dream

funfun: nope i am not the crystal girl hehe only went there with my fiance haha. maybe u meant the 1st lucky draw? there were 2 lucky draws.. the 2nd one was at 5pm or so for those that signed up a package i think..

yup i was surprised to see the bridal suite as well as i thought it was gonna wow me from the past reviews.. but the sofa looks kinda erm... old and "plasticky"

diorsnow

hehe.. most of the times i only read the forums, but seldom post. :p Unless i have something to post..keke..

Ya i think yesterday's wedding show was borrring..nothing exciting..

Yeah i remember when Jamie show me the ballroom its not so small one.. And the bridal suite, i have been hearing so much raves about it.. but when i saw it yesterday... disappointment..
Wasn't impressed at all.. (sorry for being so frank because i have been hearing so much good reviews about it, thus high expectation)..

My AD is on 29 November 2007

Anyways u all went to Jasvry to print ur cards? Alamak.. I didnt know can go to other printers, already paid deposit during our first visit.

crayongal

erms... okay.. heh.. anyway, dear gals.. i wasn't at the wedding show. so didn't see yday's ballroom.. hearing frm wat u gals say.. they blocked part of the ballroom therefore, it appears small? heh.. but there are no partitions or pillars rite? how did they do the block? haha..

but anyway, not to worry.. the actual size is really quite spacious!! hehe =P i've seen it.

erms, as for the suite.. when i saw it during my sign up of the package.. it looks okay to me. plain but quite nice n cosy. erms, hearing frm some past brides.. the suite will be decorated on yr AD la. so dun worry. haha.. it is meant to be small surprises! =)

crayongal

hey geo_win,
oh... so usually u're reading la. hehe

hmmm... well, dun worry lor... i guess it'll all work out fine on your AD. u shld be pretty busy wif prep now eh.. since yrs is in NOV this year. keke.. =)

ya.. for printing can do wif other companies.. but card still frm Jasvy lor.. =)

so, Anne... and erms, whoelse went for the show.. did u all win anythg ? keke

jiahui

Me attended the show too. But arrived around 4pm.
Coz got to wait for my fiance to knock off from work.
So we missed the first half of the show.
But at least just in time for High tea.
Also congrat to those lucky draw winners.

After watching "A Little Dream" performance, my fiance is thinking to engage them for our AD entertainment.
Anyone has any idea the rate of engaging them?

diorsnow

Thanks~ looking forward to it~!!

I need to know.. 1st March in from entrance to the stage.. how long huh? (need to edit my songs) keke.. Thank you!!

funfun08

hi Jiahui,
We oso tot of engaging them..
After talked to Hsin Yeow (vocals), He patiently explained to me the prices and what idea I can do wt them. I managed to copy down the rate for 3pcs band (either 2singers +1musician or vv):
1st set of 45min (10-12songs) = S$600
2nd set of 45min =S$450 (starts after toasting)
3rd set of 45min =S$450 (usually after 10pm)

When I go back to ask for 4pcs band rate, Bevlyn was 'teasing' y I copying the rate as she will mail it to me. PLS lor.. how i know u will mail it to me. She abit rude when she talked to me lik tt... I abit shocked and walk away, sigh..Mayb tts her true face, but i dun need a singer lik tt.. Then, keep on hearing her loud laughing when ppl giving wine edu and lucky draw.. pls lor.. can respect others on the stage or not..
May still engage this team but not her.. I dun wan my AD to be ruined..

snowbell09

Let me know if anyone is interested in the $100 voucher from RhXXX Media to purchase RhXXX Media's Animation Montage at $700nett (usual $800).(replace XXX with ema)

I also have a $50 voucher from GOBI valid til 31 March 2008.

Negotiable.

jiahui

Hi funfun

I'm also shocked to know the feedback about her. Really need to think twice then.
Anyway, will consider.
thanks for providing the info.

funfun08

Jiahui, Sorry to let u know this.. but this is the true personal exp...sigh.. I seldom comment ppl but truely felt i've been humiliated =(

I oso hope this is not 'her' coz i love the first song forgot the song name when they perform..
sigh...

Hv anyone heard Wedding Harmony? *similar to little dream i tik
http://www.weddinginharmony.com/

not_firmed

wow.. lucky divisan ya...
me n hb were so boring there on the wedding show.. nothing much to "wow" us... and we were standing there for the first part of the show when all of the ppl go n eat then we manage to get a seat...

Did try much of the high tea as well.. the queue was so long that make us forget it...

tinggy

But i dun think the band that was singing yesterday was good at all, abit cant make it leh.

I saw the actual Phoenix ballroom with a wedding dinner of ard 46 tables. The space is ok. Maybe the stage made the room look small.
But i m disappointed with the floral decoration in the ballroom. So simple, the pink colour rose cant stand out, so much green on the floral arrangement. I think i should email Novotel to invite other florist in.

koko_coco

eden, were u sitting in the area near Feline's booth during the 2nd draw? u mentioned ur date was just booked by someone else.. wondering was it me.. but i hope its not.. cos i booked rather late.. i've booked NCQ for Sep 08 too..

i missed the Feline show.. cos i arrived at abt 3.40pm.. then saw the long long q for food.. so i din eat anything there..

my thoughts abt the Bridal Suite: the wedding coordinator told us that we would not regret choosing NCQ after seeing how their bridal suite is like.. the lady who brought us around the bridal suite also said the same.. but i wasn't impressed at all.. its smaller than i thought.. the deco with the roses is also very common n normal..

Ballroom: looks so-so only.. also think that the table cloth and table deco doesn't look as nice as from the website.. quite disappointed..

anyway, the price and package was attractive enough for us to decide on NCQ.. since we have already booked, just hope that everything will turn out fine n goes smoothly on our wedding days.. ;)

koko_coco

Vanilla 20-Sept-2007, Thu, Phoenix
Shugar 29-Sept-2007, Sat, Cinnamon
Rine 26-Oct-2007,Fri, Phoenix
Tweety 27-Oct-2007,Sat Cinnamon (about 25)
Belle 03-Nov-2007,Sat Phoenix
Caitou 23-Nov-2007, Fri, Phoenix
Rene2803 24-Nov-2007, Sat, Phoenix
Eemoo 25-Nov-2007, Sun, Phoenix
DiorSnow 29-Nov-2007, Thu, Phoenix
Doric 2-Dec-2007, Sun, Phoenix
Divasan 13-Dec-2007, Thu, Phoenix
Crybaby 21-Dec-2007, Fri, Cinnamon
Michelle 30-Dec-2007, Sun, Cinnamon

~bliss~ 03-Jan-2008,Thu, Phoenix
Raycia 26-Jan-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Bubble-bell 24-Feb-2008, Sun, Phoenix
yesfeb 29-Feb-2008, Fri, Phoenix
merribell 29-Mar-2008, Sat, Phoenix
bernice 30-Mar-2008, Sun, Phoenix
tevetoh 19-Apr-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Bearyxmm 15-May-2008, Phoenix
Val 21-May-2008, Wed, Phoenix (about 30)
Kelluvjer 30-May-2008, Fri, Phoenix
Ting 25-May-2008, Sun, Phonenix
Sharon 31-May-2008, Sat, Phoenix
henyve 07-Jun-2008,Sat Cinnamon (Abt 22)
Rac 07-Jun-2008, Sat Phoenix (about 35)
Lara 19-Jun 2008, Thur (about 30)
lingandyang 21-Jun-2008,Sat, Phoenix (30
Joyce 22-June-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Joy 28-Jun-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Stef 27-July-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Flora 13-Sep-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Gina 20-Sep-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Jiahui 5-Oct-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Michelle 18-Oct-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Gina Wee 1-Nov-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Maltese_lover 1-Nov-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
Alyssac 8-Nov-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
Ivy_sammc 22-Nov-2008, Sat, Phoenix
suzukai 30-Nov-2008, Sun, Cinnamon
Ann 27-Dec-2008, Sat, Phoenix

pooh83

HeY Girls,

The bridal suite really that bad meh? Remembered when Hui Ling brought me to the room it wasen't that bad lei... still got jacuzzi room de wo...

funfun08

kc...

11-Nov-2008,Tue,Phoenix

Gina,
To me, coz this is the only hotel tt we neg , i feel is ok for the suite. Only the ballroom deco abit old...

Previously looking at Changi Beach Club's restaurant... new reno..

xuer21

haiz.. i nv go view the room yesterday cos busy trying to get out of the crowd... but when i went to view the room without the deco.. my sis was saying its not very nice... as in the room is very common lor... not like a bridal suite at all.. but hopefully.. after the deco.. it will turn out better.. but now some of u are saying its not very special... pengz...

crayongal

hehs..
michelle.. when i went to see it (when i signed up my package 2 mths ago) oso was without wedding deco or anythg..so it looks like yr normal suite.
2 parts ... the bathroom has jaccuzzi... erms,pretty spacious.. so i was quite satisfied. also, i heard dat they would decorate the room abit on yr AD.. so, ya.. dun worry~ keke =)

xuer21

hehe.. stef, actually on that day when i view the room, huiling was explaining to me how the deco will be placed and so on.. and she even stated that they will make it very special... but hor.. if the room is decorated yesterday for viewing and.. like what the rest says.. nothing special... i guess i will be very disappointed...

samanlyt

Glad you enjoyed the show. The list for 2008 seems to be growing aldy
Was surprsied by some comments abt the bridal suite, I find it ok lei when i was there last yr. I like the ceiling decor, the candles, but seems a bit 'dangerous'.

Hi funfun,

Hmmm,Bevlyn is quite a ok lady la...I do not know her personally, but have converse wif her thru countless emails, and I find her ok and veri accommodating to our requests. So we hired the band, after watching their performance at a gal pal's wedding.
Guess she was jus teasing u abt the e-mailing. I get teased often abt 'kiasu', 'sua-ku' or silly..hehe. Dun take it too personally la. They have other singers lik Hsin Yeow too, which you may wanna consider.

xuer21

hi vanilla... haha.. ya the candles seems dangerous... what happen if it drop down..

hmmm who is Bevlyn??? is she the one who sing the girl part on the stage???

samanlyt

Hi Michelle, ya lor, reali looks nice but a bit unpractical la.

I wonder is there's any new colours or pics for the table cloth to view? Cos there were only two colours to choose from last yr. Gold or red. The new colour - grey sounds cool.

Yup Bevlyn is the female singer in the band. Am not at the wedding show yesterday, missed it.

xuer21

icic... personally, i feel that her singing is ok la.. but her chinese songs cannot make it... but i find it quite entertaining though... dunno wan to engage their service anot le... Vanilla , did u engage their service?

funfun08

Vanilla,
ooh.. u engaged little dream?
is true tt Benlyn not so gd in mandarin song, hmm..Personally I feel tt if you r working in service line shld hv a decent manner to serve ur potential customer...

Furthermore, email can't represent a charactor of a person..

But nvm la.. I'm ok liao..
I do lik the band.. hv the romantic feel and Hsin Yeow know how to sing cantonese songs... hehe...

xuer21

hmmm... so funfun, u intending to engage their service?? maybe Benlyn is just trying to be more "close" to clients???

the charges u mentioned earlier on hor... after the toasting one.. is made up of how many singers?? just Hsin Yeow and how many ppl accompnaying?

eden_dream

kc: yup i think i was sitting near the Feline booth haha.. U saw me? hehe

My date is on the 6th of sep 2008.. How abt urs? I booked it really late just b4 the grand lucky draw (Huiling managed to put our name into the lucky draw at the very last min).. We originally wanted the Phoenix ballroom on that day and while we spent a few min discussing it and already started writing it down, Huiling told her that another couple just blocked it only!! quite disappointed but i guess its alrite as we settled for the Cinnamon then since the nxt avail sat is pretty late i think in end oct already..

My only thoughts were that the Cinnamon ballroom looks pretty small to me when i went down to view it... And the reception area not as nice as the Phoenix area..

youkie

youkie 2-Nov-2008, Sun, Phoenix

adding myself to the list, booked before the wedding show but didnt have time to come in to update

samanlyt

Hi Michelle

Yup, i've engaged them. Find her singing ok la. The songs I've mostly chose are English songs, so I have no worries on that.

Hi funfun,

Yup. Ya true emails cant reveal much, but I do believe word of mouth/feedback do reveal a lot about their customer service. I agree wif Michelle, mayb she's just trying to build rapport or be candid with her customers. Just my two cents worth. No offence.

xuer21

vanilla~ ermm mind if i ask how much is the package that u took up from them?? i feel like engaging their service but hor.. i dunno how to place them in between the toasting and everything else...

vividz

wow, so many posts ald.

The date I wanted was already booked also. So from Sept change to 20th July.

Quite disappointed with the bridal suite, the room and tv so small. The furniture looks old too but the jaccuzzi was nice.

As for the ballroom, it looks quite common. We signed up cos it's pillarless and the price quite ok.

I agreed with u all that the grown looks ugly.

eden, u so lucky, last min signed still can get the first prize. I was quite tired waiting for those to sign up last min, but since ald sign so wait lor, nvr tot it so long. Almost fall asleep there, haha. Waited so long but still can't get anything, disappointed.

I signed up wif Huiling too. I was looking for Sept date too. She told me 6th Sept still available, I dun 1 cos not sure if a gd date for marriage. So got the July date which I know is gd for marriage. btw I checked 6th Sept not a gd date for marriage, got it from website. Anyway, I also dun really know how true. Cos I saw some not gd date but the fortune teller told them is gd. So it's really hard to know whether is gd or bad. For my date, my mum said not gd, cos it's chinese 6th mth. Hopefully dun have to change. So dun update mine first. Headache!!! =(

pannie

Wow... so many postings. Slept from yesterday afternoon till now then woke up. Too tired liao.

Been to the wedding show. Was also mentioning to my hubby that the ballroom look small compared to that day when we view it. He said that it was because of the stage. It was pushed forward to make room for the models to change their gown and the stage was huge. That's why it appear smaller.

Ate most of the food. Nothing really impressive. Hope that's not what I will be getting for my wedding banquet cause I really don't like it.

I loved the chocolate cake most from Gobi. Went to their shop at Central to buy some after the wedding show. Hehe!! The 3 tier chocolate really expensive loh... but nice. Thinking of replacing tat for my wedding cake. Now deciding between using the chocolate or the cupcake.

Those who have won prizes from the lucky draw, congrats. You all so lucky. I didn't win anything. But then the prizes were not so fantastic. Thus was not disappointed at all when I didn't win anything. Was hoping like discount voucher for wedding banquet but didn't seem to have any. Hehe!!

As for the bridal suite, I didn't went up to take a look. Too tired liao after all the standing at the ballroom. But I love the room. Thinks it's quite ok for me. Hope I get one on a high floor and facing the Clarke Quay one. Decorate or dun decorate the bridal suite, not impt to me cause I will be too tired to take note on that day liao. But of cos, if beautifully decorated, then I will consider it as a plus point loh. Hehe!!

I loved the feline concept of black wedding gowns. Me a very "black" person. Loved black. My colleagues were saying that finally I won't get a chance to wear black during my wedding. Now I am going to prove them wrong. But still, I won't use all black. I saw a design I like in Blissful Bride Sep mag on Page 206. It's a white gown with black design on it. Loved that gown. Would design one like that.

Hey kc. Thanks for being so kind to agree to lend me your mag but no need liao. I read the whole mag at Kino that day. Haha!!! Kino at Liang Court still have a few copies left. But I didn't buy it. Their free gift also rose pen. Not nice one.

eemoo

hello gals...

actually, i'm quite disappointed with the show. there wasn't enough seats and they knew how many ppl were attending but provided only like 100+ seats.

i thought it wasn't very well-planned and they shouldn't make soo many ppl stand for that many hours.

also, the whole show was quite dry and boring...

as for the suite, i agree with those who said it's too simple...and hor, personally, i find it small. maybe becos i've been to my friend's bridal suites at other hotels so tend to compare...but overall, pretty upset with the whole show lor..like wasting our time like that...

belleteo

Hey ladies,

Pls do not be effected by the wedding show as come to think of it, most of the wedding show by hotel are like that as they can't possible provide so many sits for everyone especially when for certain card member, it is free somemore.

As for the deco, my personal experience is that pls do not look at the wedding show deco as it is not fully setup yet. If you are really keen, go down to take a look on sat evening look at actual set up. Go down a few times as different bride will want to have different deco, from there you will be able to see the different deco as reference.

As for the grey cloth, if i'm not wrong, it is actually other colour cloth that you can actually flip opp to use then become grey colour.

Come on gals, dont be disappointed as there are things good abt the hotel, at least they changed the plate recently and it is much nicer now. If you notice it is green colour, quite nice.

As for the "Little Dream" i myself did engage them for abt $1100 plus MC. I have attended my fren wedding and i think they cansing real well. Was quite impressed thats why i engage them.

By the way, wedding show is boring 1 la. As they want to make $$ not to for entertaining....hee hee

eemoo

hi Belle,

yes, agree with some of your points there. NCQ still has some advantages.

however, i believe that they should at least make some effort in making the whole thing successful. if they want to make $$ out of it, then more effort should be placed. by providing less than 50% of the seats is ridiculous. I've been to a couple of wedding shows, this is the worst so far (maybe there're others worse off i dun noe).

i have already booked with them, so can't regret. but if i hadn't book, maybe i will have 2nd thoughts, you know what i mean. yes, their pricings are attractive, ballroom is pillarless but somehow, those making their 1st trip there will be more or less dissappointed. 1st impressions....and it felt like they're wasting our time.

but still,at the end of the day, you might say that "it's just a wedding show"....

jiahui

Just updating the list

youkie 2-Nov-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Funfun 11-Nov-2008,Tue,Phoenix

pooh83

Dear all, these are some of the NCQ pictures i found ...hope it will change your mindset of finding the ballroom small... LoL

528524.jpg

528525.jpg

528526.jpg

belleteo

Hi Eemoo,

I understand how you feel, especially you sign up with them before you attend the wedding show. So you must be feeling disappointed but i still think that ladies out there, pls do not feel disappointed since you have already sign with them unless you really dislike it till you are willing to forfeit that $3K.
Come on dont be dishearted.

By the way, pls see below pic, it is taken on the actual day of the wedding. Is it the same as what u saw at WS.
528588.jpg

528589.jpg

doric

Gina, r these pictures of actual wedding?

Belle, the bridal suite we saw at the wedding show do nt hv the "just married" wordings, I remember last year have. They show us 2 suites, 1st one is how it look like during the day (ie. b4 wedding dinner), room is quite plain, only got sm snacks/desserts. The other room shows wat we can expect after the dinner. Not much difference, only lights dimmer and got 2 bath robes lying on the bed.

My guess for the ballroom is there might be another dinner on the same day. To save time of clearing up, they only use part of the ballroom. Actually I'm still hopeful tat everything will turn well. But just disappointed tat how cm they did nt make the extra effort to do up their wedding show? Afterall, it is to attract new couples to sign up with them mah.

I shuld be miting Jamie to discuss our wedding stuff soon, will feedback to her abt the wedding show and bridal suite. Mayb other couples who are meeting her can let her know oso, then they can improve on it. Unity is strength mah

samanlyt

I agree with Belle. NCQ, overall is considered good & affordable for a hotel. As compared to Merchant Court, the price is definitely worth it for a pillar-less & high ceiling ballroom.

Hi eemoo,

Cheer up gal!
Dun be disheartened. The seats I agree is not enough for sure. But imagine, they were to provide chairs enough for everybody, then there wun be even space for the stage, or for ppl to walk around, and tat makes the ballroom looks even smaller & cramped. Potential customers may then think twice abt signing up.

Dun worie! It will be much better when it comes to ur AD with careful planning and all.

I've paid $800 + (forgot the actual price) for 'A Little Dream' for 2 sets of songs. Will start at the beginning of the banquet till the end. If you were to get them for a set, you can either get them to start during the 1st dish, or after the wine toasting perhaps.
Urs is on a sunday, how abt getting them to start after the wine toasting, cos keep ur guests 'occupied' so that they wun hurry to leave the banquet early. Tats wat I did. Just a suggestion la.

xuer21

hi Vanilla... haha cos there are 2 michelles' on the list .. mine is on a sat not sun... its next yr..
i was actually thinking exactly what u mentioned.. abt after the wine toasting.. so that the wedding wont be so bored... maybe i will contact them and see how.. btw, u mentioned 2 sets of songs? how many songs will that be? how many singers?

Hi.. ya i agree also that Novotel is consider quite affordable liao... and as for the deco of the wedding suite hor.. i rememeber huling mentioning something like it will be decorated twice.. once b4 the wedding banquet and another after... how will it look like idunno..

samanlyt

Hi michelle

Alamak paiseh...Oops. Cos i was thinking after the 1st dish, the guests will be in a realx mood liao, after some wine & food to fill their tummies, so some time after the wine toasting would be a gd timing to start.

NCQ will decorate the bridal suite as seen in Belle's pics. I guessed me n hubby would eat all the yummy food (choc and finger food), drown ourselves with champagne, wear the robes which they left on the bed, count ang ang bao $$ and leave behind a pile of mess and empty ang bao packets, then end up bridal suite becomes 'pigs den'. Haaaaha LOL

Hi Belle,

Just saw u in GHA thread!! A bit slow la, but so qiao hor..we both chose GHA & NCQ!

suika

I've been to last year's wedding show. The deco is as taken by Belle. They'll tidy up after our 2nd march-in into a slightly different deco (actually not much changes la)

It's just tidying up the room for us after a tiring night in making us feeling more comfortable after the whole event....

It's the special touch there provided by the hotel that made us decided to sign p with them...heehee

xuer21

haha... vanilla, seems that u have already prepared ur plans on ur wedding night haha.. for me sure cannot one.. cos i guess my hubby will be drunk lor.. then i think i will be the only one changing into the robe etc etc.. haha..

belleteo

Hey vanilla,

Ya lor so qiao.

Hey ladies, is good to hear good things abt NCQ again. I will be going for the food tasting on 20 Sep. I will ask Jamie abt those deco and so on. Will update you gals whenever i have any news.

Overall, i still think we get a good deal. Just as what Vanilla mention, Not easy to find a ballroom that is pillar-less & high ceiling, with that price and those freebees plus good food.
At least over the months, ppl comments abt the food is getting better and that is also very impt.

eden_dream

vividz: yah very lucky but actually i have no use for the additional gown though as i already have my bridal package.. want to sell it away but not sure if anyone is interested in getting the $5k gown for keeps..

i really wanted a sat date for my wedding and there were not many choices left.. anyway my hubby-to-be and i are not bothered about whether the dates are good or not, thus we did not check with any websites or geomancer.. anyway what's with the chinese 6th mth? quite unfamilar with this term other than the 7th mth...

huiling said that the entire aug is free from booking though cuz its the 7th month.. guess no one wanna get married then!

queenly

i was there for the show on sat too....actually my ad will b in 2009 but just go to c c look look.

ask huiling about when they will take in bookings for 2009 but she sae dunno yet have to wait til the package out then can.

suika

Hi Belle,

I'll be going for mine next week on 12th sept...heard the food is good....so anxious sia...have yet to meet Jamie up to finalize all the stuffs